Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Started judo last night.

• 13-09-2006 8:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

Just popped along to my first judo class last night. It was pretty cool.. We worked some foot sweeps and a few throws.. I'm going to stick at it. Always liked judo and now I've got the time to study it. Yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

JOb, you surprise me, I thought you were a judo-hater! Good to see you're enjoying it. I love judo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Not at all, I think judo is cool. Going to another class on thursday..

What sort of throws do you think would suit me as I'm short? I'm looking for a few to work on..

Drop seoi-nage (bad for the knees however), morote seoi-nage, o-goshi.

Thanks man.. That morote seoi-nage was the one that girl showed me last night.. I found it really easy to work with. Just forgot the name until you said it there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Morse

Great decision trying your hand at Judo.

What club are you training at?. And you know that you'll be welcomed in any Judo club, so give a few a try. You'll find some are great for instruction and bringing you through your gradings, other's are great for lots of hard randori. I try to mix them both.

Try looking at judoinfo.com its a brilliant Judo site, lots of informative stuff and a good discussion forum too.

Swords judo club have a nice site too, you'll find that link on the Irish judo associations website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭LukeyJudo22

I thought you did judo dlof?? no?

Well welcome aboard! And drop seoi is a great throw for short guys. Wear knee pads if it hurts your knees too much! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Marty Mc

This is a topic i wanted to discuss myself and delighted someone has raised it. Would judo enhance or hinder a persons no gi grappling skills if they had began grappling with no gi? I've had a number of differing opinions on this topic and the reason i ask is because they seem mainly to be 'stay away, it will only confuse you'. i can see both sides of this coin as -
    1. i will be unable to defend collar chokes etc but im sure i would learn
    2. it may affect grappling confedance if always being choked by opponents.
    3. But surely there are things that could be brought across and applied to the no gi grappling art such as position, pins, turnovers, throws, etc.
    4. Also im hardly a youngester and picking a sport up that people have been doing for years might be difficult.
    What do u guys think? All opinions welcomed.

Morse, training at ursuline in waterford.

Lukey - No, never.. Only bits and pieces from people I've met who were judokas.. =)

Marty, I'm sure judo would help you in your clinch, your base and your takedown ability.. I don't think it's going to hinder you - Some throws will have to be adjusted wihtout the gi, but I think judo will give you the creativity you need to apply them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Marty,
    I'm also considering beginning my judo career soon. My thoughts on it are that anything can add something as long as you have a base to work from. I don't suddenly put my hands up and chin down boxing style when I'm sub wrestling, so I don't think I'd get too confused with the gi-nogi thing. Then again, maybe I will!

dlofnep wrote:
    Morse, training at ursuline in waterford.

Lukey - No, never.. Only bits and pieces from people I've met who were judokas.. =)

QUOTE]

You're in good hands in waterford. Me and Darren Lyons are batsugan brothers! Both got our black belts on the same day. He's my boy we go way back. Great scrapper!

He comes up sometimes to train in Coolmine, you're more than welcome to train up here if you're ever around.

Marty, A lot of BJJ blackbelts say training in the gi makes you a more technical grappler. THe escapes from side control/mount/ etc. are more difficult if you're wearing a gi and escapes froms submissons are also more difficult. So in theory, with no Gi you may be able to use your power and speed to get out of a arm bar but while wearing a gi it would be more difficult. So this is why a lot of BJJ guys train in the Gi.

I went from gi wrestling to no-gi wrestling and tbh it took me a while to get used to it. Now, I don't think there is a whole lot of difference for guys that aren't blue/purple + belt standard. It will be different to you because your opponent will have firmer control of you and will try and collar choke you. It's all good though.

As you said you're no spring chicken and if you consider yourself an intelligent adult you'll be able to conciously adapt to the two different scenarios.

The other thing worth mentioning is that the style of grappling in judo can be a little different ot that in BJJ, Lukeyjudo and judomick had some great posts about this. THe standard of judoka's ne-waza (ground fighting) can also vary greatly.

I getting some great advice here people and thanx.

Nothingcompare, you make a great point about the technical aspect which i hadnt thought about to be honest and its raised an eye brow. The fact that submissions would be difficult to reverse is another aspect that i hadn't considered. Your comments are appreciated.

It has me thinking alot, and i would love to confere with the likes of judomick, Lukeyjudo or JK about the benifits of undertaking such a class. The first two are obvious due to their judo background and John because he offers it as a class at his gym and is a renowned ground specialist. This is merely me asking the more educated ground fighters for an opinion.

The standard of judo at a local club is very high and recently did really well in the commonwealths in June with a few first palces and after enquiring, they are known as a 'groundbased' club, apparently.

Thanx again people, and keep them coming.
    Ps Sorry if appear to be hijacking this thread, but its a topic i'd lv to discuss.

Is that Ward's judo club? They're very good.

No man, im in the far north of ireland. i dont know their offical judo club name through my own ignorance! They had one gold in the masters -73 event and few other medalists in various competitions. one of their ladies, i think, but dont quote, me got a bronze medal at the olympics. Although i could be way wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

Being doning judo for the last 3 weeks now, have to say its well enjoyable vrey different from thai but nice to be a newbie at something ang get thrown all over the place :)

Julian who runs it is very technical which is good cos i aint the strongest for judo

paddy

Might be the renbukan with Harry.

Paddy - good to hear you're enjoying it!

Lukey, thanks for the offer mate.

Paddy - enjoyable indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Too bad you didn't go to the club you were supposed to go to. :(

Sorry John.. I woke up late so I would of been late for class. I'll make it up there at some stage. I think for now though, this one will suit me better as it's only 5 minutes drive from house.

Tonight's class was really good.. I was throw around but a green, brown and black belts.. I never felt so helpless in all of my life.. I could just about stall with the green belt.. With the brown belt anytime I tried offense I was thrown.. The black belt kind of helped me along with everything I was doing.. Some good fun but I've ALOT to learn - Which is good..

Anywho, I'm going to keep it up. Tonight was a nice reality check..

dlofnep wrote:
    Sorry John.. I woke up late so I would of been late for class. I'll make it up there at some stage. I think for now though, this one will suit me better as it's only 5 minutes drive from house.

Tonight's class was really good.. I was throw around but a green, brown and black belts.. I never felt so helpless in all of my life.. I could just about stall with the green belt.. With the brown belt anytime I tried offense I was thrown.. The black belt kind of helped me along with everything I was doing.. Some good fun but I've ALOT to learn - Which is good..

Its ok John. I'm just busting your chops. I'm glad your enjoying Judo.

dlofnep wrote:

Judo is the only martial art I've tried where I found a marked difference between the different grades.

Glad to hear your enjoying it.

Morse wrote:
    Judo is the only martial art I've tried where I found a marked difference between the different grades.

Glad to hear your enjoying it.

Same as in BJJ - belt colour is a very accurate display of that person's skill level most of the time.. Anywho, I'm just happy to be starting from scratch and learning new things.

JohnMc1 wrote:
    Its ok John. I'm just busting your chops. I'm glad your enjoying Judo.

I know buddy ;)

Training is on tomorrow morning at 11 in billy's if you can make it down.

Hmm, judo belts aren't the most reliable of reference tools. A general rule of thumb is

White - Level 0
    Yellow, Orange, Green - Level 1
    Blue - Level 1.5 or level 2
    Brown - Level 3
    Black - Level 4,5,6,7

What level is the last boss on? JK ;)

I did throw a green belt female tonight, but she was tired.. In general I think the first two belts, orange and yellow? Are just kind of learning areas - Still prone to alot of mistakes.. Green seems to be the medium area where they are starting to get to grips with stuff and becoming creative.. But obviously still not mastering anything.. After that, it's fair game.

JK - is that JK level ???? heh.

yeah that's about right. sure it doesn't matter really. throw them all or at least try to. did you do any ground wokr?

dlofnep wrote:
    I know buddy ;)

Training is on tomorrow morning at 11 in billy's if you can make it down.

Tomorrow or Sat?

Hmm, judo belts aren't the most reliable of reference tools. A general rule of thumb is

White - Level 0
    Yellow, Orange, Green - Level 1
    Blue - Level 1.5 or level 2
    Brown - Level 3
    Black - Level 4,5,6,7

morse we seem to have a lot of disagreements on this board, who are you and where do you train?

JK - is that JK level ???? heh.

yeah that's about right. sure it doesn't matter really. throw them all or at least try to. did you do any ground wokr?

Yes, we did newaza on both nights.. First night I didn't get to roll with the brown belt assistant instructor, but I did roll with two green belts.. Did great with both. Submitted one a few times, positionally controlled the other. He turtled too much and didn't protect himself at all.

I rolled with the black belt instructor tonight and did OK. He submitted me with a keylock eventually though.

Good work. Are you blue belt level in BJJ or near abouts?

Nah, I'm not BJJ blue belt level. I don't train consistently enough to maintain anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

What does the Judo Class consist of? Is it mostly fitness, kata/patterns, or free "sparring"?

I'm on the wrong side of 35 and I'd love to give it a blast but I would be interested in the sport and fitness side of things. I would be concerned that too much kata and pattern practicing might be a wee bit boring - I realise it has a lot to do with the instructor's preferences but I found Tae-Kwon-Do classes tedious because of the endless patterns that we used to do, I loved all the free sparring that we used to do in Kick-boxing classes that I have attended.

I would also be concerned that I'm over the hill and everybody else in the class would be either an expert or 7. Is it possible to join an adult class only, and then would I be out of my depth?

Drill techniques in two stages and from different motions/angles, then sparring. It's very progressively orientated.. You'll get fit in the process.

Don't worry about anyone being an expert.. Some will be begineers, some mid-level and some really good.. That's better for you, you have more of a challenge ahead of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 memtalman

dlofnep, where and when do you do the Judo classes in Waterford?

thanks
    m.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

I thought you did judo dlof?? no?

Well welcome aboard! And drop seoi is a great throw for short guys. Wear knee pads if it hurts your knees too much! :)
    Y r U welcomin HIM?

He has like 3,600 posts

U have 57

Anyways

Whats it like? Is direct fitness a big part of the class? [lots of runnin and situps]

eh... welcome aboard to judo???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

abetarrush wrote:
    Y r U welcomin HIM?
    He has like 3,600 posts
    U have 57
    ]
    57 well written posts;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Lads did ye realise that takedown is an anagram of TAEKWONDO (well almost)!
    Interesting ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 memtalman

I'll try again ...
    memtalman wrote:

dlofnep, where and when do you do the Judo classes in Waterford?

thanks
    m.

Hey memtalman - I train in the ursuline. Drop me a message if you want any details.