Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ryder cup

• 13-09-2006 5:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

Don't want to sound like one of the grumps. I play golf, I watch golf, I like golf. I don't like the idea of having to take a massive detour to work, everyday for a week, for a three day ego fest. I am tempted to do a Paisley on it and go my normal route next Monday and demand why I'm forbidden to travel "Berties" highway. Is it worth testing our police state or not? Would I be the only one? Does anyone in the Clane Straffan area feel the same? Surely there must come a time in this country when someone has to stand up for common sense..Any views out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

??

I live in the area and also have to change my route. I do not understand your attitude at all. It 'seems' really selfish to me.

Basically an awful lot of irish people and irish copmpanies have made money from this, both directly and indirectly. Also, it is an advertisment of ireland and irish golf, which will boost tourism in the country, which helps lift the economy, which is to EVERYONES advantage.

But, holein1club has to drive a different route to work for a week, so scrap all the good that this event will do for Ireland and its people, as 1 persons VERY SLIGHT inconvenience is more important.

Cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 holein1club

Well, well, well,

If cop on is the suggestion, perhaps you should read a little more than the drivel dished out by the minister for state wasting funds propaganda.

The viewership worldwide is actually expected to be one third of what we have been misled to believe. They will also fit into a specific category.Those people who come to our country to play golf will do so regardless of a three day pay per view love in.

This is just another sporting occassion!!! will you cop on?

Where did they close down roads and communities for the Special Olympics!!!!! They certainly didn't spend any of my money (or yours, I assume your a tax payer) on new road surfaces, a multi lane highway (which is one of the few side benefits we derive from this three day tournament)... I could go on. This is playing right into the hands of those who claim that Golf is an elitist game. It is just another few days out.

I drove to a carpark in Mount Juliet in the past to watch nearly all of the guys, including the Tiger, but there were no inconveniences to the local community. This is Mr Smurf' an co' proving their Meglomaniacal status and their ability to get those Gombeen politicians to Jump when told.

Do you realise that you are asking me to Cop on???

Anyway, I'm sure you will see within nine months the direct spin off to "Tourism" in Ireland. And all the extra Jobs. And all the extra revenue created by this most important event!!!!!!!

I am ordinary middle aged, golf playing, life loving, tax paying employer. The idea of a traffic jam in the evening would not upset me to accomodate the private hords of worshippers. Having the recently resurfaced roads closed off andhaving endured the previously furrowed surfaces for years makes a complete farce of the whole thing.

Wake up. This is only a game of golf. There will be no national benefit. I wish there was.

By the way, when did you ever get a hole in 1??

don't suffocate with your head in the sand.

holein1club

Well, well, well,

If cop on is the suggestion, perhaps you should read a little more than the drivel dished out by the minister for state wasting funds propaganda.

The viewership worldwide is actually expected to be one third of what we have been misled to believe. They will also fit into a specific category.Those people who come to our country to play golf will do so regardless of a three day pay per view love in.

This is just another sporting occassion!!! will you cop on?

Where did they close down roads and communities for the Special Olympics!!!!! They certainly didn't spend any of my money (or yours, I assume your a tax payer) on new road surfaces, a multi lane highway (which is one of the few side benefits we derive from this three day tournament)... I could go on. This is playing right into the hands of those who claim that Golf is an elitist game. It is just another few days out.

I drove to a carpark in Mount Juliet in the past to watch nearly all of the guys, including the Tiger, but there were no inconveniences to the local community. This is Mr Smurf' an co' proving their Meglomaniacal status and their ability to get those Gombeen politicians to Jump when told.

Do you realise that you are asking me to Cop on???

Anyway, I'm sure you will see within nine months the direct spin off to "Tourism" in Ireland. And all the extra Jobs. And all the extra revenue created by this most important event!!!!!!!

I am ordinary middle aged, golf playing, life loving, tax paying employer. The idea of a traffic jam in the evening would not upset me to accomodate the private hords of worshippers. Having the recently resurfaced roads closed off andhaving endured the previously furrowed surfaces for years makes a complete farce of the whole thing.

Wake up. This is only a game of golf. There will be no national benefit. I wish there was.

By the way, when did you ever get a hole in 1??

don't suffocate with your head in the sand.

holein1club

There has already been a marked increase in tourist numbers this year in the lead up to this event. This is most probably due to the increased marketing of ireland, and the international awareness.

The special olympics were attended by fewer people spread out over various venues.

The road works were conducted,partly, as part of a security operation. There are alot of high profile people attending (as spectators) this event. this is a security risk, yes, because little old Ireland is not immune to any terrorist activity as you may believe in your idyllic "iddle aged, golf playing, life loving, tax paying employer" world.

Would you rather none of the above was conducted and resulted in traffic chaos. People wandering for miles to their cars, stopping in your gateway to take a p1ss. Possible mass carnage and destruction of property in the area, which would result in even worse inconveniences. I know some of these are extreem, but they are real possibilities. And weighed against your little detour in the morning, you loose. So, cop on.

Also, what are you weighing this against. Have you ever witnessed the run up to one of the biggest sporting events in the world before? You should have been in Sydney in the run up to the olympics. Wait and see london in the run up to their olympics, it it alreay being turned upside down. Did you expect they could throw up a few directional signs and that was it? I hope you run your business better.

You really do not have a clue what you are talking about.

Prospect

Oh Dear, guess we know which way you vote. Anyway, I do have a business to run so I end this stream. For your info it is run very profitably and efficiently. Oh Yeah, been to two olympics, two world cups,(soccer and rugby) wore the green vest for Ireland in the sixties. But toyu are obviously happy in your little cocoon..

Anyway, enjoy the golf, I'll be on the shannon for the weekend watching on board or whatever hostelry I choose to enter unimpeded.

Bye bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I am ordinary middle aged, golf playing, life loving, tax paying employer.

haha, thats exactly like something Charles O'Carrol-Kelly would say! This is the third biggest sporting event in the world...things have to be organised properly, and judging by the plans, it does appear to have been. Id easily have to agree with prospect on this one, he seems to know what he is talking about. What the hell has ever got a Hole in one got to do with it? "Sorry lads, Ryder Cup has had to change venue cos this lad got a hole in one and it disrupts his route to work...somethings gotta give"-forthcoming statement from Michael Smurfit is it cos you are a middle-aged, golf playing, life loving, tax-paying employer

I'll give one more simple example.

There is no organisation of cars or people.
    So there are cars abandoned on roadsides impeding the traffic, which is pretty bad because people are looking for spaces nearer the K-Club and others are driving by to sdee whats going on, etc. So basically a standstill.

In the meantime, you or a member of your family has a heartattack at home (touch wood that never happens to you or yours). How do you propose the ambulance gets to you?

well cardigan men out there. Bet you will be the ones complaining about fireworks next week.

Seems this grumpy old man was 100% right about the exagerated viewing figures. For 1 billion read max audience 6 million.

However, for this paltry effort you supported the police state again. You probably agree with the tactics over the gas line in Mayo as well. You probably also forgive our "Bertie" for his recent EH INDiSCRETION. What a bunch of plonkers. When will you ever learn that you NEVER believe a politician-EVER!!!

Yes the Golf was great (if you are a european) and the victory over the Yanks super sweet. But I insist that there was absolutely no reason to go the extraordinary lengths they went to just to fawn to Smurfit and co for the easy access of the select few. AND LET ME PUT THIS IN PLACE NOW. I had full corporate access for the whole week at my disposal. However, I have consistantly refused to be like the rest of you sheep in this country.

Anyway, i doubt if a response will be forthcoming now that the show is over however, I do feel great in saying I told you so.

Roll on the new stadium in Lansdowne Road and the European football championship (UNDER 21). That will really give our nazis the opportunity to show their steel.

Happy Halloween. Maybe we should close every main street in Ireland to avoid crowd enjoyment.

holein1club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

i'd imagine the effort put into the ryder cup was to try and bring golfing tourism back up again, over the last few years it has dropped from 2nd to 3rd on the tourism list

Hi There,

just letting off a bit of steam. My issue was not about developing tourism- I am all for that. I just think that the figures bandied around were a little over the top as was the closing down of the area I happen to live in. I am very proud to be Irish most of the time but these yahoo politicians have a habit of making fools of themselves and, by extension, the rest of us in the country.

Gotta go now,
    cheers