Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: 2X04 - "First Down" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 11-09-2006 9:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "FIRST DOWN" -

Episode Title: "First Down"
    Airdate: September 11th 2006

TV.com Summary:
    Bellick, now teamed up with Michael, Lincoln and Nika, sets out to find the money stolen by Westmoreland during the 1971 skyjacking.

Kellerman targets Sarah, who receives a long-awaited phone call. T-Bag gets a ride from an unsuspecting family. Abruzzi resumes the search for Fibonacci to settle the scores once and for all.

Next Episode: 2X05 - "Map 1213" - September 18th 2006

What did you think of "First Down"? 51 votes

0%
    17%
    Our man in HavanaChongjor elbillstraightenRollo TamasiSpider_Baby!Takeshi_KovacsSinfoniaScummyMan 9 votes
    43%
    jArgHAMossy MonkMr EAquos76WashoutpetesVillainFast_MovermatrimzeppStephen PBasqmegs_88Colm_OReillyShrimpMatthewthebigmickstvnutztywyAnam 22 votes
    25%
    CombatCowCactus Colslave1murfieMetacortexawhirGrumPyJPA[Deleted User]cowardgustavoUmaroDMBandit 13 votes
    5%
    podge3pokerwidowL31mr0d 3 votes
    3%
    keithkk16Sillyaspie 2 votes
    0%
    0%
    0%
    3%
    bountyghostdancer 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i read that spoiler by accident and the first line makes me say WTF!!!!! how the **** does that happen, lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

Just did the exact same thing, stupidity must be in the water today :o . Can't wait until the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭megs_88

cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

what times it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Airs at 8pm Eastern tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Mossy Monk wrote:
    i read that spoiler by accident and the first line makes me say WTF!!!!! how the **** does that happen, lol

just did that too! doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

i'm not going to read it, i've a strong mind ya know. you guys make me sick! I puke on your feet and so forth.

(christ, the first 10 or so posts before the show starts are getting very spammy lately).
    Does that herbal viagra stuff work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

man wtf at that spoiler.

why would anyone want to see michael in a speedo is beyond me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

just watched it....best episode of the season so far.

will discuss in detail as soon as more ppl have seen it. even spoiler tags seem to hard to resist in this ppost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

Very Good episode.

So did you think it was tweener that was gonna get caught at first? Pity about abbruzi, although with somebody else mentioning that his name appeared as a guest star then its not suprising that he was killed off.

Thought T-bag was gonna get pulled too.. but as usual he squirmed his way out.. Was hoping for him meeting up with Abbruzi again for some payback.

Thought Bellick was gonna turn them in when he caught them!

Roll on next week... Hopefully we get to see Haywire next week..

briliant

wonder if we will find out what T-Bag did to that guy who gave him a lift. he is one of the most evil characters on tv in some time

what i liked about the whole Abruzzi thing was his line
    "i kneel only to God. i don't see him here." when he said that it was obvious what would happen. i thought the feds were going to get Tweener too

9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Good episode, missed the first 20 min though! Ya was sure twenner was the one for to be caught, but the girl he is with is a total airhead, just wanted to shake her into life! Shame about Abruzzi, was hoping for a big end of season hand to hand battle between him and T-Bag!
    Glad also they didn't have T-bag take the girl with him, I wouldn't like to see him get any darker than he is. He is likable now but if he starts any of that ****e, like raping young girls it would be a very bad move for the character.

Oh and Holly was looking unreal gorgeous in that tight tracksuit, hope she still has more of a part to play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Anam

This show just keeps getting better and better.Some really clever moments in this episode.Cant wait to find out more about this Shales guy,its seems really interesting.Haywire has to be in the next episode!

Another 9 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jArgHA

fantastic episode, easily my favourite of the new season so far, 9/10. wtf - previous poster saying t-bag is still likable, wouldnt like to meet your friends! t-bag's cunning and evil side coming out to the max now, the scene with him splashing his feet in the pool talking to the girl was very effective.

good to see tweener again he's cetainly getting all the luck since the breakout :)

john abruzzi RIP, peter stormware is the man.

ps. is it just me or are others struggling to figure out who is in the mugshot which the fed keeps looking at, and what's the connection with michael?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Anam

jArgHA wrote:
    fantastic episode, easily my favourite of the new season so far, 9/10. wtf - previous poster saying t-bag is still likable, wouldnt like to meet your friends! t-bag's cunning and evil side coming out to the max now, the scene with him splashing his feet in the pool talking to the girl was very effective.

good to see tweener again he's cetainly getting all the luck since the breakout :)

john abruzzi RIP, peter stormware is the man.

ps. is it just me or are others struggling to figure out who is in the mugshot which the fed keeps looking at, and what's the connection with michael?
    Thats Oscar Shales,not a lot is known about him yet other than he is an escaped con who Mahone couldnt catch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Ashamed to say I only figured it out when Abruzzi was in the car park of the motel,I should have figured it out when Mahone mentioned the rat.

But one way or another I knew Abruzzi would die. I think I mentioned before that he has been listed as a guest star ever since he came back after the neck slicing. Add that with rumours he didn't get along with the cast,you knew his number would come up sooner rather than later.

I loved the rest of it,with Bellick,Nikki and Linc not trusting anyone :) "Ah,Bellick you suck!" lol :D

Best episode of this season so far.

Both Kellerman and T-Bag are great characters because you love to hate them,evil SOBs :)

9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

HOLY SMOKIN' NIKA !!!
    Wow, that was Asstastic!!!

If only for the drool factor of Nika, this ep gets a 10...
    Kinda thought she held a bit of gra for Mikey, and since he isn't gonna return the favour, then i'll gladly be a shoulder for her to cry on...

Fair play to Linc, always on the ball, Bellick must feeling like a right muppet, I laughed when Geary came back and said (You really suck Bellick, you know that..)
    Can't wait to see how this Oscar Shales thread plays out.. maybe Mike has studied his case, maybe he already knows of Mahone, so many questions. I like how this added to the show, (instead of the usual cliffhanger) also read that 'Oscar Shales' is an anagram of ' A search loss'

I will miss you Nika.....
    untitled1qf9.jpguntitled2ns1.jpg
    .... and your pink tracksuit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

only nilkka can make that tracksuit look sexy...

brilliant episode, i love the way it dealt with more than just michael and linc.

t-bag is one of them love/hate type characters. his dialogue is brilliant and same with his mannerisms, although he is pure evil.

still no haywire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Holly Valance was unreal in this episode, my god!

Good episode. It was sad that J. Abruzzi died, really looking forward to his revenge or at least escaping with his wife and children.

Glad to see Linc is not as dumb as he looks and no AJ :):)

The doc is fcuked now, so the paper bird had a secret message on it?

I was wrong about the body parts in 0203, it was only blood.

Gave it a 7 as no C-note, Pope or Haywire and the fact that they did not kill Bellick and the other guy. Will they ever learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Yup excellent episode, roll on the next one :D

**lucky bellick too :P

CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

tbag gets an iron to head, fights a guy one handed and then cruizes off into the sun (guessing about the fight) LEGEND!

mike and linc aren't the killing kind

loved the way bellick was looking out at the car at the boyz earlier in the episode. It looked like he was floating. Class

Kellierman is becoming a legend to rival Tbag.

Good episode. By christ Holly Valance is some missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Could see the trap coming for poor old Abruzzi when he got out of the car and knew he was going to be killed. He already said he wasn't going to go back to prison and there was no way out. T Bag is still my favourite character and it's good to see him each week. Hopefully the chick tweener is with won't rat him out either. He's just a bit of a goon in the end but not a bad guy at all. Nice to see Bellick getting a piece of ass now that he's away from his Mommy. Looking forward to seeing Haywire soon and finding out what happens with Marie Cruz and the whole wedding thing next week.

HOLY VALANCE BATMAN!!!

What an episode! Best of the new series by a mile.
    Seemed a bit obvious that it wouldn't be Tweener gettin caught, given the general nature of the show, but couldn't think who else it would be, esp. when they said "rat" so that kept me guessing.
    Thought Abruzzi was in for trouble all right, but with the mob rather than the feds.
    Agree with Rollo, Bellick lookin at them in the car was cool.
    T-Bag is such a sick-ass mofo, but can't not like him, surprised he left the girl behind though - i guess 14 year olds put up too much of a fight

"a pinch of crack" that was funny, Kellerman's evil.

Michael, he's starting to make mistakes, especially calling Sara. I can see why he felt he had to, but as he said himself they could have been listening, not a good move. I also quote from a previous episode:
    Abruzzi: "your love is your weakness right now"
    Michael: "you just have to be smart about it"
    Well you're not!!!!!!

Mike gave Bellick a right boot to the head, that was pretty hardcore by his standards. In fact, the only other time I can recall him assaulting anyone he also kicked them in the head!

pokerwidow wrote:
    no AJ :):)
    somebody's been watchin too much Soprano's and not enough Prison Break!:p

and of course, Holly Valance, balancing out the eye candy from those hunky convicts, and giving the lads someone to (Go)ogle. Bless her cotton socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Excellent episode..

Copped onto Mahone setting up Abruzzi when Mahone was told they were minutes from the motel and i saw Abruzzi's limo pull up to a motel - knew it wouldn't be Tweener .. but excellently played out with Debra Jean actually ringing her father all along.

Will miss Peter Stormare - and his really odd accent (does anyone know where Abruzzi's accent originated? It's sometimes French / Italian! :D) and over-acting... but Abruzzi was inevitably doomed ever since i've been seeing "Guest Starring: Peter Stormare" since 2X01.

Holly did look fooking fantastic in the episode.. dear God, Bellick was one lucky SOB. Bellick has plenty of great lines.. the show seems to have injected a lot more humour from his character which i'm enjoying more and more. And the image of the episode (besides smokin' hot Nika and her pink tracksuit was Bellick's manic face while bumping into the car with Scofield, Linc & Nika. You know the face i mean.. the one slightly demented expression plastered on his face during every scene in the chase:

snapshot20060913003352if5.jpg

Finally get another appearance of T-Bag.. when he placed his arm around the little girl, i couldn't help but squirm and be very uncomfortable. The guy is morally unredeemable in my eyes but as a character has his undeniable charms and taking the little girl would have really lost the appeal he has.

Kellerman is turning into a very interesting character.. and see how the face lit up when Sarah said "Michael". Very interesting going-on's there.

I must admit i was skeptical about the series at first.. but i love the way it's going. It is a radical change from the first season but even if this was the show's first series, i could see myself enjoying it immensely. And i think the creators took a risk in the direction they're taking but it's paying off in my eyes.

Next, we need some feckin' HAYWIRE!!!

PS - also love the way Mahone gets a point across in every episode by first saying something quietly and then realising no-one is paying attention, he bangs the bulletin board and screams it... he must have done it at least 3 times already. Genius! :D

PPS - you know an episode is good when i write this much about it! /\ /\ /\ /\ /\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

Abruzzi nnnnnnnoooooooo!

That sucks. I love him.

T-Bag and Bellick each did a really great job of creeping me out in that episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

9/10.... superb stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

bellecks face is just priceless in the opening chase scenes!!!

great ep, cant wait for the next one

9/10

basquille wrote:
    Will miss Peter Stormare - and his really odd accent (does anyone know where Abruzzi's accent originated? It's sometimes French / Italian! :D) and over-acting...

he's from Sweden, and I assume he's been trying to put on a pseudo-Italian accent (mob boss and all that).
    I always felt that he sounded completely hammered when speaking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Such a good episode!!! Best of Series 2 anyway!

God, t-bag really gave me the creeps when he sitting next to the girl!!

Then i was cringing when Nika was kissing/dancing for Bellick..urgh!!

Thought Abruzzi was going to kill himself infront of the guards tbh..why did he go, he such an ejit, leaving his wife and children like that..just for revenge..he was away and free lik!!

Ya, Kellerman trying to get close to Sarah..wonder what he up to!

Hmm..message in the swan, wonder what it is...its in dots right?!

Ya, we need some Haywire indeed!! wonder is he still on the bike:D

Roll on next week!!!! ahhh!!

Fast_Mover wrote:
    Ya, we need some Haywire indeed!! wonder is he still on the bike:D
    !

:D:D Bet he reaches Utah before the rest of them.

somebody's been watchin too much Soprano's and not enough Prison Break!

:o:o:o Even AJ is a better actor than LJ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

I kind of knew it wouldn't be Tweener to go first because of the way all the signs pointed to him but nobody was mentioning names. Mahone mentioned the 'rat' and a motel, but didn't name names. Also didn't mention what airport they were coming from. The clues to Abruzzi's demise were also fairly prominent, saying we wasn't going back to prison and would rather die and an all to convenient informant on where Fibonacci was going to be. Still, I was half expecting the feds to barge in on Tweener and he wrapped in a towel. Having the girl actually telling the truth about the phone call was genius.

Nika: Don't come any closer or I'll shoot you.
    Linc: No you won't. :D
    Too cool for school all together that guy.
    And a final farewell to Holly's fine pink trackie
    goodbyenp7.jpg

Chalk up another kill for T-Bag too I suppose. How does he manage to over power a fairly big man, armed with an iron too, when he only has use of one hand and I'd imagine is in constant pain from that other being re-attached? I guess it's just part of his character, he doesn't care about the pain and it doesn't effect him. Evil and dark, but oh so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

whos the guy the fbi head is matching with mike he seems old and a beard??

jorel wrote:
    goodbyenp7.jpg

what a lovely bottom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Great episode altogether, as already mentioned, bellicks face in the car scenes are hilarious, holly is extra sexy, and Linc is deffo to cool for school :)

8/10 Lost marks on the account one of my favorite characters got killed :(

there really were a lot of ass shots in that ep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

SumGuy wrote:
    there really were a lot of ass shots in that ep

Nothing wrong with that as long as you are talking about Hollys.

Just watched it there. Very enjoyable. 9/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

9/10.. Very good episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

He is Swedish and using his own accent. He comments on his character in the making an episode feature on the Season 1 DVDs. He says he plays a new world gangster and was ditching the cliched mob boss accent and using his own.
    basquille wrote:
    Will miss Peter Stormare - and his really odd accent (does anyone know where Abruzzi's accent originated? It's sometimes French / Italian! :D) and over-acting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Can't believe Abruzzi's gone. :( He was one of my favourite characters and that's really saying something in a show full of great characters.
    I could hardly watch when T-Bag started putting moves on the girl. I've never seen a sicker character on tv, not even in Oz.
    I think Holly's little lapdance scene might hold the key to future plot developments. I stayed up all night watching it over and over again, looking for clues as to what way the plot will twist next. I've gone blind in one eye but I think I'm close, so I'll keep ye all posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭billstraighten

my god holly looked good!

brilliant ep..
    kinda knew that abruzzi would die when he said that he wouldnt go back ..although i did think that it would be tweener gettin caught
    kellerman was gas and is really evil but loveable
    nobody commented that they found contents of the HD .i say the next ep ..they will find more clues
    People were talking about the "note" i musta missed that part ..gonna watch it again for that (its not for nika ..I swear!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

something is really weird about the guy mahone let get away, wonder what his connection to the series will be.

good episode 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

He looks a bit like Scofield tbh, maybe there is some connection?

hmmm.
    the other FBI guy said that Shales was just a criminal Mahone couldn't catch.
    maybe he's just thinking that he won't let the same thing happen again?
    Mahone seems pretty insecure, what're all those pills he's poppin out of his pen??
    but shales' face has appeared too many times for it not to become something significant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

it was kinda morphing both scofield and shales face together tho..

interesting NONE the least.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Abruzzi, a shame, damn shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Sillyaspie

Mahone is the saviour to the serious he is a great clever little man,
    he's the man the bureau love to hate etc.,
    I'll get my coat...