Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Judo Class

• 09-09-2006 1:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Judo's back on saturdays in Coolmine from last week.

5:15 - 7:00 in the minor hall for anyone who's interested or has been missing the judo over the summer!

Hope to see some of you there.

All welcome

-Luke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Morse

I've been meaning to get out for along time. I hear its a fantastic club. Best of luck and probably meet you on the mat sometime soon.

Btw, you competing in the Leinster open?. Its Sept 16th?.

I won't be myself this year, as I'm on duty (I'm in the defence forces). But I'll get out for a few hours spectating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Hey Luke,
    Is your Saturday class for Judoka only or can someone drop in to have look see and train?

Barry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Barry, I'll stick my nose in and answer this, if you bring your Gi and are willing to do judo Luke and Foley will have no problem with you coming down and training. If you come down in ur rashguard I'm sure you can still train but you'll look a bit odd. You can come and watch too but that would be a waste of time. Today's class was 60% technique, throwing and submission techniques and about 40% rolling.

You know the difference in the rules you should come down when you have the time but remember your breakfalls cos some of the guys there can really throw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭LukeyJudo22

Roper,

You're more than welcome to come and train! Bring a judogi or pm me and I'll rustle up a spare top if you want. Coolmine's policy is the door is always open for anyone who wants to train.

Hopefully see you soon.

-Luke

Morse wrote:
    I've been meaning to get out for along time. I hear its a fantastic club. Best of luck and probably meet you on the mat sometime soon.

Btw, you competing in the Leinster open?. Its Sept 16th?.

I won't be myself this year, as I'm on duty (I'm in the defence forces). But I'll get out for a few hours spectating.

It's for juniors only this year :( so no, I won't be competing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Morse

It's for juniors only this year :( so no, I won't be competing!

Dammit I didn't know that. I've been out of training recently and on a course of physio and Difene. Old age is finally catching up on me!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Luke,
    I have a BJJ gi if thats ok? I might be able to make it out next Saturday all going well

Barry

Roper wrote:
    Luke,
    I have a BJJ gi if thats ok? I might be able to make it out next Saturday all going well

Barry

Sound. Thats perfect. Sure we often get sambo wrestlers wearing their sambo gi's in training. It's grand. And you're more than welcome anytime Barry.

-Luke

Morse wrote:
    Dammit I didn't know that. I've been out of training recently and on a course of physio and Difene. Old age is finally catching up on me!.

Dunno when the next regional is on, but the Irish Open is on in October. Thats gonna be big this year! Dunno what you're level is... unless your a black belt I'd say give it a miss!

Think Leinster Closed is on in December!

Anyways you're more than welcome to train in Coolmine anytime you want. And don't worry bout old age, there's a 60 year old black belt in Coolmine that's still strong as an ox! :eek: :)

-Luke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭NeiloMac

Hey

There is the waterford open in November, its a bit of a laugh, nothing to serious, get your judo in and then out on the town on the Sat night, Its good for all levels more so for the beginers, there is plenty down there in the Kyu comp,

Will have to get back to the Sat class and get my ass kicked by lukey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

what date please

Think its the 11th but im not 100% sure, maybe contact someone down there, IJA dont have it on there web site, but there is nothing new there,

Dose anyone elso know the Exact date, Seniors are usually on the Sat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Trained in Coolmine this afternoon/evening.

Great bunch of lads, but dammit that hall is stiffling, must be a killer in summer.

Left me belt behind me too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Belt is only good for strangling people with..

dlofnep wrote:
    Belt is only good for strangling people with..

I use mine to keep my belly in!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

fatty!!

jk, me too :(

Well I missed ye mairt, I was in Wales! :) And won't be back in Saturday class for another three weeks!

Yeah I love the hall it's great for fitness... I close all the windows and the doors when I take the class by the way... You get used to it pretty quick and you don't know yourself when you compete in a big arena!

Later

-Luke

Well I missed ye mairt, I was in Wales! :) And won't be back in Saturday class for another three weeks!

Yeah I love the hall it's great for fitness... I close all the windows and the doors when I take the class by the way... You get used to it pretty quick and you don't know yourself when you compete in a big arena!

Later

-Luke

Dammit I didn't mean to chase you guys all the way to Wales!.

Yea I was wondering about the lack of fresh air there, would it be good or bad for conditioning?.

To be honest, making the Saturday class would be hard for me on a regular basis but I do intend going on a regular basis.

Oh, I called over this morning and got my belt back!.

Its great for that bit of fitness, (Which i dont have), ya get so warm and dont get injuryed that much, cause your well warmed up,

and like luke said, training in other halls and fighting, its so easy to breath, The summer can be so warm some times, ya be dripping putting on your belt,