Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smashing Pumpkins?

• 07-09-2006 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

Does anyone know if the newly-reformed Smashing Pumpkins will be coming to Ireland? I so wanna see them.........:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Does anyone know if the newly-reformed Smashing Pumpkins will be coming to Ireland? I so wanna see them.........:eek:
    You might want to let them finish the new album they're working on with Roy Thomas Baker, producer for Queen, The Cars and The Darkness first...

Chances are when/if they do come here, we won't be able to discuss it on boards.ie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Is there any updates on the album yet or is it even the original lineup? The original would be sweet to see live but as long as Jimmy provides the drumming and Billy does the lyrics, Id be happy. All i want to do is see my favourite band in Dublin. Would be frekin sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Isnt this the same band who played in 1996, told a crowd in the Point to stop moshing, and a young girl ended up being killed at one of their concerts? I remember reading that somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Isnt this the same band who played in 1996, told a crowd in the Point to stop moshing, and a young girl ended up being killed at one of their concerts? I remember reading that somewhere

It is indeed. A 17 year old girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

petes wrote:
    It is indeed. A 17 year old girl.

so tragic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

I don't care where they play, i will be spending all my money following them about various countrys.

so tragic

Yes it is. A mate of mine was actually at the gig. He said it was mental with all the pushing. The girl was at the front of the crowd I think and got crushed.

I don't care where they play, i will be spending all my money following them about various countrys.

If they play here I will be at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Smashing Pumpkins have played here since the Bernadette O'Brien incident though I cant see them ever playing in The Point again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Billy and Jimmy are in the studio now. Whether James or (highly unlikely) D'arcy are there with them is unknown at present.

The Pumpkins have played here twice since playing the Point, Billy Corgan has played the <snip> and the Jimmy Chamberlin Complex have played the Village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

what's Melissa up to these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Toast wrote:
    Smashing Pumpkins have played here since the Bernadette O'Brien incident though I cant see them ever playing in The Point again.

wasn't it that tragic incident the motive for sticking them great big fecking metal bars on the floor of the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

though I cant see them ever playing in The Point again.

Dont see that as too much of a bad thing! And if they were to play the <snip> again...*drools*. I missed Jimmy Chamberlin Complex in the Village due to other commitments. I was all set to see him at some big summer festival thing but he had to pull out. Was disappointed to say the least.

I second that myself. Am already saving up for the hopeful possibility that their first gig back in the U.S will be next July so then I can go for it. If its anytime before that...ah crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

what's Melissa up to these days?

Melissa is currently in the process of recording her second solo album. As far as I know, she is almost finished it. I'm really looking forward to it, I thought her first was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

i've seen this band 4 times twice in the sfx in 95 - which personally i think was when they where at theit best. the point was nasty affair to be true.

After they released Adore i lost interest and havent given thim much thought since, Zwan had a pretty good album but corgans solo stuff just didnt do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

odhran wrote:
    Melissa is currently in the process of recording her second solo album. As far as I know, she is almost finished it. I'm really looking forward to it, I thought her first was great.

me too, she's been ages at it though! haven't heard any info about it other than she's in the studio.

would love to see her over here sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

They probably will. Billy was always excellent for that; back when Ireland was a pre-Celtic-Tiger backwater which most other bands skipped over, he still played here. Fair play. Now if only I had been a few years older..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

me too, she's been ages at it though! haven't heard any info about it other than she's in the studio.

would love to see her over here sometime.

She's been posting lyrics on her blog, which you can access from www.aufdermaur.com. Some interesting stuff, no question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

petes wrote:
    Yes it is. A mate of mine was actually at the gig. He said it was mental with all the pushing. The girl was at the front of the crowd I think and got crushed.

My cousin was at the gig. She was only fifteen and she was right up at the front and herself and all her friends had to be pulled out by the bouncers not long into the concert. It wasn't the moshing actually (although it was reported that the crowd went mad when tey played 'Zero'), but a huge crush and the people at the front were getting squashed up against the bars in front of the stage I think.

I'd love to see them play here, although I can't imagine the playlist having any of my favourite songs. If they ever play a gig like their last one in the metro I think I actually would sell my soul to go to it. I doubt James will return because he seems to hate Corgan, so the best line-up we can realistically expect is Billy, Jimmy and Melissa. Jerry Cantrell could well fill in for James as Billy has been doing the AIC tour with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i was at that gig (and i was only twelve). It was absolutely nuts. The place was packed to well beyond it's capacity. It was the reason the pit system was employed at gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

I was at that gig. It was my first ever and at the time I thought it was great. I didn't know any better and thought that crowds were like that for every gig. Thinking about it since though it was pretty crazy. I remember losing my footing a few times and ending up with about 20 people on top of me.

Saw them twice in the <snip> since then. Didn't really enjoy either of them. Sitting down is not the way to see the Pumpkins (gonna be sitting dowm for Pearl Jam in November too but I'm older now so I reckon I'll appreciate the seat more).

I'd love to see the Pumpkins somewhere like Vicar St. That would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

I was at the gig too.

I'm all aboout sitting at gigs now myself, I think it's the old age! I much rather just sitting back and enjoying the show.

when they tour the album id say they'd come for sure, maybe for festival time...? hopefully not id perfer to c them in an intimate venue....anyone catch billy when he played the <snip>.

^^^^^^^^strange
    i didnt know i couldnt mention venues... maybe i should read the sticky..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭-Lithium-

Saw them twice in the <snip> since then. Didn't really enjoy either of them. Sitting down is not the way to see the Pumpkins (gonna be sitting dowm for Pearl Jam in November too but I'm older now so I reckon I'll appreciate the seat more).

I'd love to see the Pumpkins somewhere like Vicar St. That would be great.

I was sitting down at the <snip> gig in August, it was....painful.
    But only because we weren't even allowed stand. At least at the Pumpkins' gig in 2000 they let everyone stand at their seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Since the majority of you cannot adhere to the ban on MCD concerts and venues, this discussion will have to end.

Thread locked.