Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where Do i get a Ticket for SFC ?

• 06-09-2006 6:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

I've tried everywhere. Any idea's where I go to get a ticket. There's no sign of any on ticketmaster nor any indication where to purchase tickets on the gaa webiste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,639 ✭✭✭Blackjack

bbability wrote:
    I've tried everywhere. Any idea's where I go to get a ticket. There's no sign of any on ticketmaster nor any indication where to purchase tickets on the gaa webiste

You won't get tickets for a final from the GAA website or ticket master.

The allocations are given to the Counties competing and the GAA clubs throughout the country, as well as the past presidents etc etc.

Do a search on this forum, it will give an indication of the allocation, however tickets for a final are gold dust. Where are you from, can I ask?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Blackjack wrote:
    tickets for a final are gold dust.

qft.

Unless you know somebody in a club with good connections, the chances are very very slim of getting a ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

I'm struggling to find one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Even people with contacts find them hard to get for a final. All we can do is try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

bbability wrote:
    Did you try Tescos? Thats where I got mine last year.

They usually stock them - the 2nd last aisle (on the left) on the shelf under the Faberge eggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Did you try Tescos? Thats where I got mine last year.

They usually stock them - the 2nd last aisle (on the left) on the shelf under the Faberge eggs.

You've just given me an idea!!!

All Ireland Final Match day itinerary for Mayo fans:

Go to Tesco at about 5.30 in the morning (they're open 24 hours now you know); buy the rashers, sausages, pudding (black & white), beans (no, on second thoughts no beans - it's a long way to Dublin on the train with no toilet roll in the loos), sports final edition of the Sunday World so we can read Spillane and give out about him all the way to Dublin, Sunday Indo where we can get some balanced perspective on the match and maybe even have 1 analyst tip Mayo, 6 'tins' of cider for the journey up, another 6 'tins' for the way home, chequered Mayo flag (but no stick), a pint of milk to line the stomach before we tackle the cider, 40 benson (better make that 60 benson because we don't want to be messing with cigarette machines in a packed pub when we get home tonight), a headband (otherwise known as a Mayo rope - but it can only be worn around the wrist), **** it, better get 2 (we have 2 wrists) and last but not least, a Cusack Stand ticket (reduced to €19.99 because most people went to Dublin yesterday!!).

Home to cook the breakfast, eat all 8 sausages and 6 rashers and ALL the pudding (don't want to be hungry at 9.45 when we're passing through Castlerea because we're not giving Irish Rail €6 for a stale sandwich), go to 7.30 mass on the way to the station but leave at communion because the platform will be wedged; Get on the train and find a seat with a table where there are 3 other copies of the Sunday World on the table - all bought in Tesco's; decide not to open the 1st 'tin' of cider until Ballyhaunis and manage to space them out so the last one is being finished as we're coming into Dublin; Arrive in Dublin and be disappointed that it's Connolly Station (special train) instead of Heuston because we always wanted a go on the Luas into the 'City Centre'; walk to Quinns in Drumcondra and beat your way to the bar for a warm pint of Smithwicks in a plastic glass while holding onto the plastic bag with the 6 remaining 'tin's of cider for dear life; start heading to Croke Park about 10 minutes after the minor game starts and sing Moonlight in Mayo at every Garda we can find; cheer Roscommon for winning the minor match but really it's cos you've seen a glimpse of David Heaney in the tunnel; commence shouting, roaring, screaming for a full 35 minutes plus injury time, fall down the stairs on the way to the loo at half time in an effort to be first there but find there's six lines of people in front of you, eventually manage to have a piss and you're only half way back up the stairs when you need another one, not sure if it's the cider or the excitement; scream and shout for the second 35 minutes plus the longest 3 minutes of injury time in your life until eventually..........for the first time in 55 years, the Red & Green win Sam McGuire!! Climb over the security guards and hug and kiss everyone you can find on the pitch (doesn't matter whether it's man, woman or child - we're all Mayo); cheer the lifting of the cup and then sprint to Connolly for the special train (finding a car or a wall or something to piss against on the way back); give the Gardai a second, even better rendition of Moonlight in Mayo; get onto the train (no seats left but you don't want to sit down anyway), open the first of the second 6 tins of cider before the train leaves except this time they're all gone before you get to Tullamore; buy warm bottles of Harp on the train @ €8 each but sure they'd be cheap at twice the price; arrive back to town and head straight for the pub; fight your way to the cigarette machine forgetting that 60 smokes were bought in the morning; manage to make it to the nightclub but have to leave again and go home because you don't even recognise your own hand.

Wake up in the morning and realise it was all a dream because Tesco don't do All Ireland tickets!!!

Tesco don't do All Ireland tickets!!!

Carlsberg don't do All-Ireland tickets, but if they did, they'd be the best tickets in Croke Park. :)

Rooster, they are not under the Faberge eggs any more. I checked. You know what Tesco are like for moving things around. We need to organise ourselves for a search. You do the frozen foods section and I'll do the fruit and veg. Threebeards can do the toiletries section. Blackjack can do fresh meat and deli section. Kaimera can do the sweets and snacks. Whassupp2 can do the bakery section. Bbability can do the off license and drinks section. We'll get some of the other regulars to do the other sections. If we have no luck, tomorrow we can do Dunnes Stores and then Superquinn on Saturday. If we keep at it, we'll have most of the big stores done before the final. :)

Flukey wrote:
    Threebeards can do the toiletries section.

Mmmmm.........toiletries section :D

With all those beards it was time you went to get a razor. Just don't let anyone see you searching under the tampons for a ticket. No one will believe your excuse. :)

Flukey wrote:
    With all those beards it was time you went to get a razor. Just don't let anyone see you searching under the tampons for a ticket. No one will believe your excuse. :)

LOL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

bbability wrote:

Instead of breaking off this thread in the direction of Tesco, Toiletries and such.... . . . . we should be discussing how its important to try and keep young people off drugs ! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Aido c wrote:
    Instead of breaking off this thread in the direction of Tesco, Toiletries and such.... . . . . we should be discussing how its important to try and keep young people off drugs ! :D:D:D

Feck me, was out Sunday night after midnight (late I know for an aul one like me in my mid-30's)

What I seen spolit the night really, some of our finest footballers from the town, indeed some of the best underage footballers in the county..... absolutely 'bombed' out of it, and it just wasn't the 'odd pint of plain too many' that put them in that state.

They don't even drink pints nowadays, fecking tall glasses of green diesel by the looks of it.

Sad sight to see really tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I've got dozens of the things. Seriously, what do you have to do to get rid of them? Already used 15 to light me fags with...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Culchie wrote:
    Feck me, was out Sunday night after midnight (late I know for an aul one like me in my mid-30's)

What I seen spolit the night really, some of our finest footballers from the town, indeed some of the best underage footballers in the county..... absolutely 'bombed' out of it, and it just wasn't the 'odd pint of plain too many' that put them in that state.

They don't even drink pints nowadays, fecking tall glasses of green diesel by the looks of it.

Sad sight to see really tbh.

As a young footballer, I know what state you mean. I've been in that state qutie a few times. One of the best upcoming footballers in the county (won an all-ireland u-21 medal) was on the lash (heavily) with me and a couple of others about a week ago. It's just part of being a youngster. To quote Bryan Robson, we live hard and play hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I think we may see a lot of big Guinness paiper mache pints on matchday...
    http://www.anfearrua.ie/ViewSectionDetail.asp?docid=1948

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

whiskeyman wrote:
    I think we may see a lot of big Guinness paiper mache pints on matchday...
    http://www.anfearrua.ie/ViewSectionDetail.asp?docid=1948
    Brilliant I'm going as an BOI ATM machine for the football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

patmac wrote:
    Brilliant I'm going as an BOI ATM machine for the football.

I'm going in a Dick Turpin outfit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,639 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Flukey wrote:
    Blackjack can do fresh meat and deli section. Kaimera can do the sweets and snacks.

thats actually my favourite section!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ChewyLuey

For finals involving Kerry, (6 in the last 10 years, 7 including replays) I don't know anyone whos ever really wanted a ticket and ended up not getting one. There are usually tons of them floating around in the 72 hours before the game you just have to cast the net a bit and find them. Maybe even travel up to Dublin without one.

I believe there is a record number of tickets going to participating counties this year so there shouldn't be too many problems for genuine....and not so genuine... supporters.

It doesn't matter who is playing, it is always hard to get tickets for the All-Ireland Final, even when you have contacts.