Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highest amount won on a Lottery Scratch Card?

• 05-09-2006 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭

People, I've just won a fiver on a scratch card....woop-di-do! But has anyone heard of anyone winning a serious amount, like greater than €25000 on a Irish National Lottery Card?

I'm only asking as most of the time I scratch the panel from the top down, and usually the first amounts that appear are 2 €25000s or 2 €50000, yet I know as I keep scatch downwards I haven't a snowballs chance of revealing that 3rd matching, elusive amount! It's obviously a clever ploy from the National Lottery to get you somewhat excited, so you'll race back to the shop and buy more! :mad:

*heading off to gamblers anonymous now!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

Won £15 before :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

I do know someone,well when they were alive anyway, that won £10000 on a winning streak. about 15 years ago probably. not sure.

other than that most Ive ever seen won was 40 by my mam on a card i bought her. she got 4 £20 things on the card. she gave me a 10. i was happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

I won €4. But I didn't claim it; decided keeping the card itself was of more importance, to prove that I actually did win something from the National Lottery. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

According to lotto.ie
    Largest Scratch Card winners:
    £1,000,000 won by Sligo woman Breege Carrabine on the ‘Millionaire’ TV game show - 1st September 1995.

€1,000,000 won by Therese Croarkin from Monaghan on the ‘Winning Streak Millionaire’ TV game show – 31 December 2003.

Methinks this is a bit of a cop out as they actually won the monies on a game show... and not an actual scratch card!

Anyone have any figures on the amount of Lotto Millionaires there are about these days? Cos I haven't met one :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Think the most I ever won on a scratch card was maybe £5.

The biggest joke is paying €2 for a card that you "win" €2 on.
    It's like you just won a trip back to the shop... whoopee :rolleyes:
    Poxy pointless things tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

I've won poxy amounts countless times but ive won 50 a few times and 100 once. i know sumbody who won 5K twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

€50. After two consecutive free-card wins (waht si the pointof those things...???)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

I work in a shop that sells them, and the highest amount ever won in our shop since I've been working is €100. And nothing else ever came close to that! Some woman did win £5k though in a shop down town about 10 yrs ago.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

8 quid :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Highest I saw was someone win €50, I always get the 3x€2 (I think) and go in and get 2 more tickets, then nothing. Thats what I get for being greedy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Ruu wrote:
    Highest I saw was someone win €50, I always get the 3x€2 (I think) and go in and get 2 more tickets, then nothing. Thats what I get for being greedy. :)

Are they not better over in the U.S.?

fade2black wrote:
    Are they not better over in the U.S.?

They have all sorts of different ones whether it be scratch cards or lotteries, massive cash prices (for individual state lotteries, they are all different but fairly high in Illinois) but I haven't tried any here yet and probably best I don't. :)

Do it! Take photos all the way along so we can share in your glory, or disdain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ruu wrote:
    They have all sorts of different ones whether it be scratch cards or lotteries, massive cash prices (for individual state lotteries, they are all different but fairly high in Illinois) but I haven't tried any here yet and probably best I don't. :)

What harm could one do you....

petes wrote:
    What harm could one do you....

Hehe it starts with one, then I'd end up selling everything I own. Might end up like the spinmaster in Father Ted. I'll stick to buying one around the Christmas time, that will do me.

"How many tickets will I put you down for?"
    "1,000!!"

:p

"i have eh...people that lend me money from time to time..."

Do it Ruu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

The mother won a grand a few years ago. Actually that must be 10 years ago at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

This the best I ever managed was €25. Even at that I'm not even sure. I prefer the bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

It's best to buy a few different types together (so i hear :) ) I won E4 on a ticket only yesterday.. went back and got two more and won... 10 EURO!!! I was feckin delighted. Took me tenner and got a taxi home. Only thing I've ever won on a scratchcard though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

that guy in, my name is earl, won $100,000... good show that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nobody ever believes this but I've won 500 (punts) twice on scratch cards. Both times within a year or so of each other. Didnt even do that many, just once or twice a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i've a friend who has won varying large amouints, up to about 5 grand. he's the type who seemingly always wins.
    personally, i've won 50 on a scratch card and 100 and something on the lotto. i had 2 lines in the same draw, one that bagged me 100 quid and i can't remember what the second was. 25 or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Highest I have seen is €25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

My mother won like £500 or possibly even £1,000 back in the day. I also worked in a petrol station last summer where we sold them (most types), and very occasionally someone would win some three-digit number - of course the people who'd buy about 5-10 cards a day got feck all!

My grandparents won the lotto jackpot in a syndicate some time around '99/'00, so they got about 50 grand between them.

Also, anyone know what the deal with that 5-4-3-2-1 yoke is? I never understood it, and again while I was working in a shop last year the only person who'd actually get tickets for it was the owner of the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I've several aunts etc who buy them on a almost daily basis, and have been doing so for years, none of them have ever won anything over 100 euro.

I think the entire thing is a scam tbh. ONLY chance with them is to get the 3 stars or whatever and be picked on that insane "gameshow".

b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Flashraziel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Most I have won was a free ticket.

Actually I have won several stars but never collected them. what would I be doing with celestial bodies I asks you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

My mother won 8,000 once.

Most I've ever won is 20...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

On a scratch card I've won £50 twice. Punts not Euros that is. People do win prizes in the 1000s. Anyone on Winning Streak has got there by buying a scratch card and you can win a sizable amount on that. My cousin won £11,000 and a holiday a few years back. On the Lotto I got 5 numbers once, getting over a €1000. I've won lots of smaller prizes.

I've often won on Prize Bonds. The nice thing about them is that you can cash in the bond at any time and get your original money back. In the meantime they are entered in every draw. Even after they've won they will still be entered in future draws. In fact I have won on the same prize bond twice, so it does happen. I've never had a big prize, but I have often won, typically €75 or £100 pre-Euro.

A bond is €6.25 and you have to buy a minimum of four which is €25. Once you do that you are in for a draw every Friday. Each individual Prize Bond is entered into a weekly draw with many prizes ranging between €75 up to the top weekly star prize of €20,000. In the first draw of each month the top weekly star prize is replaced by the Monthly prize of €150,000. So if you have €25 to spare, buy some every so often. You can buy them in the post office or online.

People will often say "I have had Prize Bonds for years and I never won anything." You'll find they only have just a very small amount. I've bought them every now and then over the years, so I've a reasonable amount of them by now. For years I never won anything, but now that I have more of them and they have more prizes, I do get an occasional win. I won €75 last week in fact. First win in a while, but it was a win. One purchase, and you are in for every draw until you cash them in, even if that is years from now.

You'll get the same thing with people telling you that they never won anything on a scratch card or in the Lotto. They probably very rarely buy a scratch card or do the Lotto, and when they do the Lotto, they only do 2 lines. It is the same with the people who say that they have never won anything in their life. They probably rarely buy any tickets for anything. If you are not in, you can't win and if you are rarely in or only have a small go when you are in, you have not much chance of winning anything.

If you check the www.lotto.ie site later tonight, usually after 10pm, you will see that a lot of people have won something. You can check the Euromillions winners on that site too. If you go to the www.prizebonds.ie site, you will see lists of bonds that have won on that also.

Right folks, it is Wednesday. Go off now and do the Lotto and do more than two lines and don't forget to mark the box that puts you in for the Lotto Plus and Lotto Plus 2 draws. Chances are you won't win anything, and if you do that it will be very little, but you will have at least some chance. Start buying Prize Bonds every so often too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

Flukey, do you work for Prize Bonds or something!!?? I got a present of a few for my 21st birthday, years ago, and have still kept them. I know this sounds stupid but do they tell you when you've won or do you have to keep checking the codes every Friday?

No, I don't work for the Prize Bonds Flanzer. As I said, I just buy them every so often, and have had a few winners over the years. To answer your other question, yes they do contact you. When you buy them, they get your address and the cheque will be sent to that address. So on a number of occasions I have had a nice little surprise in the post. I think they follow it up if it is not claimed. Check the website for unclaimed prizes if you have changed address. You can also let them know if you have. I don't know how long ago your 21st birthday was, but maybe you have moved, and maybe it is time to buy a few more. :)

The Lotto draw has just taken place. I had 3 numbers in the Lotto Plus 1 draw, which means I get the choice of a scratch card or a line for the Euromillions. I won the same last Saturday. So you see folks, people do win. Now I may sound like some wild gambler, but I'm not. I do the Lotto and I have Prize Bonds and at nights when I'd be out at a function, and there are a few tickets for a raffle, I'd usually buy some. That's it though.

The only time I see the inside of a bookies is like most people, on the day of the Aintree Grand National. At that, I don't even do it every year, but I have backed the winner before. I have been at a horse race meeting just twice in my life, and not much more than that at the greyhounds. So I am not a gambler, far from it. Still, if you are not in, you can't win. It is always the people who never or rarely buy any sort of ticket that will say "You never win anything on those."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭deisemum

I agree Flukey if you're not in you can't win. The most I've won on scratch cards in €50, it's usually €4. I'm not a great one for doing the lotto, I only do it when I think of it which amazes anyone that knows me because I'm normally very lucky.

I love entering competitions and win something most weeks.:D :D I had 2 money wins today, total €77, I've won a hell of a lot of stuff in the last few years including such things as a holiday to Portugal, numerous luxury weekend breaks (4 this summer to 4 and 5 * places with treatments laid on), makeover on TV, money, Shoes, loads of vouchers for every sort of thing, clothes, meals out, concert and theatre tickets, flights, VIP trip for 2 to Anfield including flights, top class accommodation, meals including 5 course lunch in Corporate box), also won plenty of alcohol, passes for days out, cosmetics, books, the list goes on.

I enter other peoples names for things I'm not interested in and they often win. As I always say if you're not in you can't win.;)

You can use my name if you like. :)