Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legend

• 04-09-2006 11:26pm

Just wondering what people thought of the new drama??? the jury's still out in my book. In contrast to pure mule, nothing happened the whole hour but ill give it a chance it is after all only the first episode.

im all on for new irish drama being introduced provided there is some sort of continuity or closure with the current dramas rather then investing in tripe american comedy (1 or 2 exceptions) or re-runs of american comedies or films repeated until were blue in the face as someone said on an earlier thread.

oh that ruth bradley is pretty hot too (she plays jacinta for those who dont know who im talking about). a pity she doesnt have the blond hair like she did in 'Love is the drug'.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,737 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

With 'Pure Mule' being a bit of sucess, I was looking forward to this but felt a little let down. By half way threw I really felt it going nowhere although it did pick up a bit by the end. I also felt the Dublin accents didn't sound right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭starman100

It was a bit dour and depressing in my book - not much humour in it either. But I suppose you would expect that as the first episode was set around a funeral :rolleyes: . Yer man the Elvis character looks like he could be a bit of craic.

Give it a few more episodes to develop I guess.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Base

Certainly didn't hit the ground running anyway. Maybe Scobie from Pure Mule could pay a visit to the neighbourhood for an episode;)

Can anyone tell me the song that was playing at the end of the 1st episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭postie

Base wrote:
    Certainly didn't hit the ground running anyway. Maybe Scobie from Pure Mule could pay a visit to the neighbourhood for an episode;)

Can anyone tell me the song that was playing at the end of the 1st episode?

Stick with it..;)
    The music at the end was The Eels-Trouble with dreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Didn't get any better tonight imo. Won't be watching it again. Some of the dialogue was cringeworthy. ie "Shut poxy up". ?????Just scanger phrases thrown into the mix in the most inappropriate of places where they would never be used. Whoever wrote it has no grasp or has never been exposed to real Dublin accent/phraseology. The story is going nowhere and there was also a bad attempt at toilet humour in the middle of it where the guy runs out of toilet paper.

This was toted as the next Pure Mule... I don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

Jury's still out for me.... There were a few scenes that were very good last week. Like the shot of Fridge walking into the funeral was done very well. This week was better overall. The acting and accents were a lot more consistent than last week, and the story is getting more interesting. It's no Pure Mule or Love is the Drug, but it's not half bad.

marie_85 wrote:
    Jury's still out for me.... There were a few scenes that were very good last week. Like the shot of Fridge walking into the funeral was done very well. This week was better overall. The acting and accents were a lot more consistent than last week, and the story is getting more interesting. It's no Pure Mule or Love is the Drug, but it's not half bad.

im with marie 85 on that one.

in my opinion the best dublin accent in it is that chap 'Ears'. An authentic skanger if ever was one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Whoever wrote it has no grasp or has never been exposed to real Dublin accent/phraseology.

Ironically he might have a bit more experience than you, the screen writer (one of the writers invovled anyway) is from Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I agree that the character of Ears has the most authentic accent.

The girl who plays Fridges daughter Zoe must come from the Doyle family in Fair city (you know the way every child in that family has a different accent). The girl is a good actress but her accent is real D4.

One of the characters said 'Cmon Hair oil' ... My dad used to use that phrase ... about 40 years ago.

That female character who lives next door to Fridge (willies ex) is a right cow.

Im going to stick with the show though... next weeks looks good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Jip wrote:
    Ironically he might have a bit more experience than you, the screen writer (one of the writers invovled anyway) is from Tallaght.

I'm Tallaght myself and found the first episode a bit off. Recorded it last night and will watch it later but from what I hear its meant to get better as it goes along.

Gotta love the Elvis guy though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

The ratings for the first episode was 309,000, clearly not as popular as Pure Mule was and that wasn't brought back.

I'm watching it purely for allen leech and the lead guy that was in that cillian murphy film , the wind that shakes the barley
    boy would I love a night with those two lads they are HOT!
    having said that it is good but the other two irish drama's were better RTE needs to start buying them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Haven't watched this yet and have no intention of. The commitments was 15 yrs ago and I am sure as hell not paying my tv licence to watch skangers on my screen. Skanger drama (The Van, The Snapper etc) has had its day, there is nothing more to say. RTE should learn this and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Haven't watched this yet and have no intention of. The commitments was 15 yrs ago and I am sure as hell not paying my tv licence to watch skangers on my screen. Skanger drama (The Van, The Snapper etc) has had its day, there is nothing more to say. RTE should learn this and move on.

The Family still holds up. IMO they should do the woman who walk into doors and the new book based on Paula Spencer from Rodey Doyle.

I think that this show is trying to be like Shameless (you know that award winning "skanger" drama from Channel 4) but lacks any of the surreal characters of that show and leaves us with only the nice characters doing well or trying to use the system.

I have only see the 3rd Episode and thought it was alright. I think Pure Mule was a one off thing but they might bring it back next year.

It's far better the poshy Big Bow Wow Celtic Tiger ggggggrrrrr american wantabes :)

They couldn't make a second series Pule Mule as it would run out of steam very quickly. I didn't mention Big Bow Wow on purpose I would rate Bosco ahead of that. Ireland is just not that diverse and neither skangers or culchies are so interesting that you can base a tv series on. Just tune into Ray D'arcy to know how boring people are in general in this country. He has 150,000 listeners listening to what can be best described as a radio version of Friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Its shíte in comparison with Pure Mule. Found it boring and very much doubt I'll bother watching it again, it just didn't capure my attention or interest at all.

Ireland is just not that diverse and neither skangers or culchies are so interesting that you can base a tv series on.

Maybe they should just give you your own show :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Dutz

i've been watching it since it started and its picked up alot since the first episode - dont get me wrong love is the drug was class compared to this but the storyline in legend is starting to build a bit of momentum and a few unexpected twists so far so lookin forward to the final few episodes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭charlesanto

I'm not one who watches alot of TV, but watched this lastnight and i enjoyed it.
    It is very seldom that TV will hold my attention for an hour but Legend did !

Elmo wrote:
    Maybe they should just give you your own show :)
    If only nah seriously it would run out of steam after 30 secs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

Its shi-te full stop! I hate skangery dopes like that in real life so i suppose naturally i`d find it hard to watch a stupid programme about them especially with its crap acting and depressing opening show, i flicked it off after 2mins once i realised it was about a family of skangers.

Pure mule was completelt different and a bit of a laugh. Oh yeah, and it wasnt set in west scrublin :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

Nuttzy wrote:
    ...especially with its crap acting and depressing opening show, i flicked it off after 2mins once i realised it was about a family of skangers.

So, for anyone who HAS actually been watching it and isn't basing their opinion on a couple of minutes of the opening episode, what do ye think?? It's definitely going from strength to strength every week. I'm disappointed actually that there's only two episodes left.

Not to say that it hasn't got it's faults, some of the accents are still a bit shoddy but all the main characters (Fridge, Willie, Jacinta etc) are pretty good.

And on a side note.... Padraic Delaney has a pretty hot body :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

I've been watching it since the beginning and am totally hooked. The first ep wasn't great, but it has hugely improved since, and is getting better with every episode.

I am also really impressed with the acting. For such a young, Irish cast, they are very impressive, especially the newcomers such as the guy who plays Dancer.

I don't know how authentic it is, but I think it's nice to see something a bit gritty instead of the usual American claptrap.

And yes, Padraic Delaney is lovely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Have watched it all. Overall it's poor for me, plot and dialogue ropey, all the fringe characters are too cartoonish.

Not far behind Pure Mule though, which was OK but didnt rate that too highly either.

Love is the drug was better, but best of all in recent years was the first series of Batchelors Walk (which equalled or even topped This Life, and thats saying a lot). (Dont mention BowW...)

I also think its time to leave the minimumwage/twentysomething strata of society for a while before it really becomes stale. We could do with a little more variety. The Clinic looked promising, but very quickly descended to soap.

Overall though good signs for Irish TV drama in recent years.

And yes, Ears is the only good accent, the rest are only (mildly) acceptable impressions of the real accent

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, why do these threads on Irish Drama always end up talking about Accents :rolleyes:
    Love is the drug was better

Yeah I think this suffered because of the hype surrounding Pure Mule and the other drama that we won't mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Watched this last night while doing work on the lappy. I actually stopped working
    and watched it. Wasnt as bad as I thought. But there doesnt seem to be enough
    of characters in the show to keep me interested. But I thought that about Sugar
    Rush and thats still something I dont mind watching when there is nothing much on
    TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I'm a bit dissapointed with Legend really, contrary to what most people said I think most of the accents are pretty good. My only real problem with it is I've watched all the episodes and it is moving way way to slowly for a six part mini-series. I'm not sure if theres been four or five so far but the story has barely progressed at all, at least not in a way that couldn't have been done in two episodes. I saw the add for the next episode and it looks like something is finally going to happen next week, it's just a shame they have taken so long to push it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

slipss wrote:
    I'm a bit dissapointed with Legend really, contrary to what most people said I think most of the accents are pretty good. My only real problem with it is I've watched all the episodes and it is moving way way to slowly for a six part mini-series. I'm not sure if theres been four or five so far but the story has barely progressed at all, at least not in a way that couldn't have been done in two episodes. I saw the add for the next episode and it looks like something is finally going to happen next week, it's just a shame they have taken so long to push it on.

Agree with the above. I was shocked to hear next week's episode is the final. I thought to myself - "what? it's only just picking up". It's moved slowly, but I've enjoyed it I have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Finale disappointing. Too feelgood. Overall, probably a good series in there somewhere but it just didnt come off. Liked the top cut off the Merc (but really - as if he was wasnt going to have to pay), but where did he get the power to plug in the grinder?