Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

speed camera-maybe caught-

• 03-09-2006 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Was on the summerhill to trim road.Two garda nearly in a hedge .just outside summerhill.With speed cameras.There was two pionting to the on comming traffic.They were looking into them.It was to late when i seen them.So i dont know if im in for a fine.Are these new cameras.Or do they have an enter and exit.So they measure your speed over a distance.Any one on a motorcycle get fined from one of these mobile speed cameras.

whats the damage for speeding and when do i get the bad news.
    how much will my insurance go up.

cheers........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Is the "-" key stuck on your keyboard ?

Maybe you could edit your post and it would make it alot easier to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭rgfuller

If they were pointed at the on-coming traffic they could not have gotten your reg, your probably ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Drax

edit: no personal abuse Drax or else!!!

@nednedned
    Not sure about these cameras. I've found that cops sometimes give bikes bit more leeway. I remember coming off the N11 at Stillorgan and cops had some checkpoint. I think due to the speed I was doing I startled them and they just kind of waved me through. I also thought that they would have to pull you over. The fact that bikes dont have plates in the front means they would have to have a rear-facing camera. Fingers crossed you'll be grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Drax wrote:
    And maybe you should learn to spell 'Moderator' before trying to act like one.
    Anyway, I'll ignore your stupid post. There's nothing worse than having someone ask a plain and simple question only to be answered some smartarse who provides absolutely no help whatsoever. :mad: Fecking wannabe mods.

I was just offering some advice, be it on or off topic. The over use of exclamation marks, text speak and bad punctuation make it hard for other users to read a post.

I'm not a "moderator" and don't claim to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ANTO D10 DUB

mobile units use RADAR so it has to be pointing at you.

but as far as i know with a mobile unit they still have to wave you down on the spot or have someone futher down the road to pull you over to take detail's .
    i think it's only the fixed position GATSO type camera's that can bypass all of that .
    but i could be completely wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

GATSO's only shoot out of the back of the van now, this from a very good source (Inspector) when asked nearly the same question as the OP.

MC