Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork vs killkenny

• 31-08-2006 11:46am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭

The all ireland final is almost upon us and no thread.
    One would think this is a dublin gaa board only!:(

So who is it going to be?

I think it will be tight but I cant look past Cork.
    The loss of JJ Delaney is massive and Cork are going to expolit that.
    I think Sean Og will do a good job on Henry. Keeping him quiet will be half the battle. And with Tom and Jerry in midfield then Cork will have Liam McCarthy for the 3rd year in a row!

Come on the Rebels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Completely neutral.... Hurling needs a very good game though, that's for sure.

Hurling is becoming like Celtic V Rangers type competition at this stage which isn't good.

Really like the look of this 'Cha' lad in midfield for Kilkenny, reall classy and skilful player.

On the other hand, nice to see a team win a 3 in a row as well the odd time ... you need legends in sport, and this puts down a marker.

So... (as I lived in Cork for 2 years), hopefully Cork to win 3-25 to 4-21 :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Culchie wrote:
    Completely neutral.... Hurling needs a very good game though, that's for sure.

Hurling is becoming like Celtic V Rangers type competition at this stage which isn't good.

Really like the look of this 'Cha' lad in midfield for Kilkenny, reall classy and skilful player.

On the other hand, nice to see a team win a 3 in a row as well the odd time ... you need legends in sport, and this puts down a marker.

So... (as I lived in Cork for 2 years), hopefully Cork to win 3-25 to 4-21 :)

Cha is a good player but I think Tom and Jerry will rule the midfield. I predict a very tight match where cork will come out the victors.
    Cork 2-10 to 13 points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I tend to agree with Culchie regarding the need for someone different to be in the AI. Hopefully Galway and Waterford might be there next year.

I reckon Cork will win by 4/5 points. Can't see KK beating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

I'm going to be shouting for kilkenny. Fecken hate seeing Cork winning anything.

It is a bit predictable the hurling All-irelands in the past few years (bar Galway). Would have loved to have seen Waterford win but i think after there loss to cork they will feel they have a bit longer to wait

predictable

Coming from a kerry man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

jank wrote:
    Coming from a kerry man?

Well when was the last football double? 1989/1990. Kerry have been in a lot of finals but there also is mayo, tyrone, armagh, galway and Dublin almost made it this year too. So not very predictable.... coming from a kerryman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Culchie wrote:

If they do it, it will be the poorest team in history to have won 3 in a row.

Thats no offence to them because its hardly their fault the rest of the hurling counties are in dire straits.

Pat Mulcahy, Sean Og (great athlete but one sided and lacks the talent), Diarmuid O'Sullivan, Timmy McCarthy (gets more abuse from Cork fans then seems reasonable when you look at the other players on this team), Neill Ronan, even Niall McCarthy. They're not top class.

The Tipp or Kilkenny teams of a few years ago would wreck havoc on these guys.

Hurlings in a poor state when a team like that are going for 3 in a row. But we all know its in a poor state don't we.

Its Corks gameplan and their handful of top class talent that are dragging them there.

Pat Mulcahy, Sean Og (great athlete but one sided and lacks the talent), Diarmuid O'Sullivan, Timmy McCarthy (gets more abuse from Cork fans then seems reasonable when you look at the other players on this team), Neill Ronan, even Niall McCarthy. They're not top class.

So thats 6 out of the first 15 that are not top class

So a team with 9 top class players are still just "ok" and any hurling side a few years back would have taken them the dogs.

Sean og has won how many all stars now and the player of the year in 2004. Again only an "ok" player. Well in 2004 they must have been all $hit then!

What are you smoking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 LowTek

Dapos wrote:
    I'm going to be shouting for kilkenny. Fecken hate seeing Cork winning anything.

You and me both! I really hate those Cork feckers!!! Epecially since they knocked out Waterford again.

Would have loved to have seen Waterford win but i think after there loss to cork they will feel they have a bit longer to wait

Hopefully they'll do it next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

jank wrote:
    So thats 6 out of the first 15 that are not top class

Thats 6 out of the starting 15 that wouldn't even make the panel of a top class hurling team nevermind the team. Donal Og would be on the bench except for his puck outs and leadership, hes only a decent shotstopper as has being seen year in, year out and there has to be better in Cork.

John Gardiner, Ben & Gerry, and Brian Corcoran. Theres your top class players.
    Sean og has won how many all stars now and the player of the year in 2004. Again only an "ok" player. Well in 2004 they must have been all $hit then!

Never said he was an ok player, i said he was a great athlete who is one sided and lacks the talent of a hurler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

monosharp wrote:
    If they do it, it will be the poorest team in history to have won 3 in a row.

Thats no offence to them because its hardly their fault the rest of the hurling counties are in dire straits.

Hurlings in a poor state when a team like that are going for 3 in a row. But we all know its in a poor state don't we.

Its Corks gameplan and their handful of top class talent that are dragging them there.

You have pretty much just confirmed for me that you dont know what you are talking about in either code. Sean Og is undeniably a quality player. I also think Diarmuid O Sullivan is quality. Also Joe Deane is a top class player. I dont particularly like Cork, and would love to see Kilkenny beat them, but I try to be a little rational about what I post.

John Gardiner, Ben & Gerry, and Brian Corcoran. Theres your top class players.

LOL no mention of Ronan Curran probably Corks best player this year and given a good final a shoe in for the player of the year. Your talking out of your ass mate

Also no mention of Brain Murphy the best man marker in the game bar none. Kept the "unmarkable" Eoin Kelly to one point from play in the munster final.

Id love to know these vastly superior teams you are on about. Please name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

jank wrote:
    LOL no mention of Ronan Curran probably Corks best player this year and given a good final a shoe in for the player of the year. Your talking out of your ass mate

Also no mention of Brain Murphy the best man marker in the game bar none. Kept the "unmarkable" Eoin Kelly to one point from play in the munster final.

Id love to know these vastly superior teams you are on about. Please name a few.

Exactly.
    monosharp wrote:

A ridiculous statement:we beat Tipp on the last three occasions we played them: 2003, 2005 and 2006. If he is talking about the Tipp team that won the AI in 2001 then I would ask "if they were so good how come they only won one All-Ireland?"

The KK team of 2002-2003 maybe but even then we beat them handy enough in 2004. I don't think they measure up to this current Cork side.
    We are in our fourth AI Final in a row remember, KK made it to three in a row (2002-2004).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

jank wrote:
    Cha is a good player but I think Tom and Jerry will rule the midfield. I predict a very tight match where cork will come out the victors.
    Cork 2-10 to 13 points

I agree, Cha has looked the player that the hype would suggest he was, but we didnt see it till this year. What a gem of a player, mind you I think he'll have met his match on Sunday. Midfield will be just one of the facinating match-ups.

The Rock as been shakey enough this year by his own standards and I presume Shefflin will start at full forward where I think he could do some real damage. The key then will be for Kilkenny to find a way around that half back line, they just get on top of every game eventually and dominate proceedings.

All in all i think Kilkenny will need goals to stay in touch, no better team to get goals tho!

The loss if JJ Delaney is massive and as a result Brian Corcoran could give the Kilkenny backs a torid time, he always seems to up his game when Cork show signs of struggling, what a great player.

All in all I hope it'll be the match that the talents on the field are capable of serving up, I think it'll be close if Kilkenny are to win but I think Cork could do it comfortably enough if they stop Kilkenny goaling.

Cork to win, Kilkenny to get stronger and dominate for the next couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I am completely neutral in this (i'll be hoping we do our own 3-in-a-row in the minor ;) ) but I cannot look beyond Cork. They may have won their last 2 matches by one point but they always seemed in control. This said they got 2tough matches which can be viewed in 2 ways - is it going to take too much out of them when "push comes to shove" in the second half or will the tough matches have strengthen their resolve for the 3-in-a-row.

I think that, unlike Kilkenny in 2004, (who had a longer and tougher season that they would have wanted) Cork are very settled and don't look to be tiring as much as KK did in 04.

Cork's full-back line has been a bit more suspect than last year - especially O'Sullivan. This can be seen in the fact that Donal óg has had to make more saves this year than last year. Mulcahy, while being solid, can sometimes (if he decides to hit the sliotar) can be blocked down easily enough.

The loss of JJ Delaney for the cats is a huge loss. Added to that the fact that John Tennyson (if he plays) will not be 100% fit after his shoulder injury against Clare in the semi-final. If KK get a few early goals then I would say that they will probably hold out for the win. However, if KK cannot get many goals (1 or less) they wont win the final - they cannot, IMO, win an All-Ireland on points alone. Cork, on the other hand could go the whole year without scoring a goal and still win the title.

The match will depend on how each team's defence copes with the oppsoitions forwards/midfield. On that basis I am going for a Cork win as the KK defence is not as secure as Corks.

Prediction for Sunday: Cork 0-21 Kilkenny 1-16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭slinky

Cork deserve to be hot favourites and rightly so however it's a long time since I've been so bedivelled with ifs and buts regarding a final. Sheff will start FF I'd say and see what damage he can do there. My feeling is da rock will give something away. Sean Og to tail him everywhere else. KK will need goals to win and my feeling is they will get goals. Enough to win? Ifs and buts again.

Cork HB line is the launching pad for them - KK HF line will be crucial in hassling harrying and disrupting. No-one can afford to have Gardiner&co strolling out and offloading at their will.

Midfield will be a humdinger. Tom and Jerry are the best in the land and if they get away you will find it hard to catch them. Cha and Lynger are an interesting combo - the physicality of Lyng with the craft and guile of Cha. Will need to pick up some points, break the rhythm of Tom and Jerry show, stop them breaking away and hope the HF line work back and don't allow Cork HBs stream out unhindered.

KKs defence is unsettled and jj's a huge loss but then this is not the greatest Cork attack I've seen. I'd prefer to see Tommy in the HBs he may well start in the corner or end up there. No probs with Tennyson going hard at it in training though he might be tested again! Again there are so many ifs and buts and the game may be swung by one of the co-stars. Just hope it's one of the cats!

At least the weather forecast seems decent enough which will help the game. A low-scoring game and da rebels will be singin'. A higher-scoring game and the cats will win. I'm going for KK 2-18 Cork 1-17 with plenty of uneasy moments in my seat...but sure what's new!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Cork all the way (even if they beat us in the semi :mad: :D) from Waterford but have big family connections with Co. Cork. absolutely no connection with Kilkenny plus when they beat us in the semi final a few years back some of their supporters were so ungracious about their win it was sickening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Congratulations to Kilkenny!!!

They completely outplayed the Rebels today and deservedly won.
    They showed greater determination and a greater desire to win.

The 3-in-a-row bid fails again.

The game wasnt a classic, but had some great play and scores.

Fogarthy in the corner scoring 1-3 was immense, added to Shefflin's 8 points contributed to a terrific win for the Cats.

I'm disappointed that Cork didnt win, but lets take nothing away from Kilkenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Cork beat Cork today

stupid short passing, short puck outs

Well Done Kilkenny, deserved winners, terrible game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,957 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Corks forward line was completely stiffled today.
    Unbelievable amount of bunching and no ground hurling.
    Cork persisted with their silly short passing game which should be abandoned now.
    Kilkenny were very dogged but alot of their fouling went unpunished by the referee who was very poor.
    The length of the grass was too long ,that pitch should be dug up ,it could be relayed and playable in under 3 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭nuttz

Culchie wrote:
    terrible game.

Please elaborate

nuttz wrote:
    Please elaborate

Why? .... you disagree? or just disagreeing for the sake of diasagreeing, like Black is White sort of thing?

It seemed to me, even though I am from the Hurling stronghold of Mayo that the game was terrible and doesn't need elaborating on, however .......

Very little ground hurling, the long grass didn't help that.
    How many times did the ref have to step in and throw in to restarts .... how many times were players fumbling around for the ball.

Players all bunched up, game plan by Kilkenny but didn't make for a good spectacle.
    Very little crowd atmosphere, until Cork scored their goal 4 mins from time.

Alot of poor wides, alot of missed passes, very few 'moves' of any duration?

It was a poor poor match, with the best team on the day winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Culchie wrote:
    Why? .... you disagree? or just disagreeing for the sake of diasagreeing, like Black is White sort of thing?

It seemed to me, even though I am from the Hurling stronghold of Mayo that the game was terrible and doesn't need elaborating on, however .......

Very little ground hurling, the long grass didn't help that.
    How many times did the ref have to step in and throw in to restarts .... how many times were players fumbling around for the ball.

Players all bunched up, game plan by Kilkenny but didn't make for a good spectacle.
    Very little crowd atmosphere, until Cork scored their goal 4 mins from time.

Alot of poor wides, alot of missed passes, very few 'moves' of any duration?

It was a poor poor match, with the best team on the day winning.

Dont get so touchy you were only asked your reasons.I disagree with you too and no not because of Black is White sorta thing.Looking at it from a neutrals point of view from Galway ,its not what i saw.

While it wasnt exactly a spectacle of hurling it was by no means a terrible game.It was one of the toughest most intense games i have seen in a long time, there was absolutley no time for any player to steady themselves before shooting or you were dispossesed or blocked down.The marking by Kilkenny and the relentless work rate knocked Corks running game completley off balance.Cork were pretty much beaten all over the field by grit and determination ,and this is what made it a good game.Everytime it looked like Cork were coming back ,Kilkenny would answer back with another score.Its All Ireland final day no team wants to give the other an inch , making a spectacle certainly isnt on the minds of the players or management,winning is what matters.

As for the pitch this problem has been an issue for a good while in both hurling and football with players loosing their footing and not suitable for ground hurling , something definitley needs to be done about it.As for the atmosphere
    if you were there in person at the game fair enough but if you were watching on TV, then you cannot really make a judgement.After all it seemed majority of the crowd were Cork supporters is it any wonder they were quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

the ref destroyed the match when he wouldn't allow the match to flow.. cusach wasn't allowed to take quick puck outs whats the story with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

cusach wasn't allowed to take quick puck outs whats the story with that.

The last time Cummins went to take a quick puck out against Kilkenny, Tipp scored from it and then the play was brought back and cost Tipp the match.

Cork couldnt clear the ball on their weaker sides. Whenever they had the chance to clear by striking the ball with their left sides, they tried to cut back in, then clear with their strong sides and that didnt work. And many of their clearences were very weak, some not even makin it halfway and that was under little pressure. O Sullivan should just retire now. Every forward has the measure of him by now, and he's bein made a fool of...easily. O hAilpin was just shoulder barging many players out of the way to try and clear. The performance didnt deserve the win and Im happy that Kilkenny won it. Over the season, I didnt think Kilkenny were good enough this year. I dont think there was any stand-out teams that fully deserved to win it. The standard i felt wasnt as good this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I thought yesterday's match was very exciting - I think its an easy remark to make "ah, poor game" etc. etc. when there aren't huge scores (like last years All-Ireland semi-final between Galway and KK) or points being scored from all angles. It was a tough, hard game of hurling. As ger Loughnane said afterwards "Maybe not a classic, but it was hard tackling, tough - a game I enjoyed" and I'd agree with him 100%

Cork were on the "last legs" for most of the year, although I thought they were playing within themselves. It will take them a long time to get their minds right after yesterday. Kilkenny had a specific game plan, not unlike Portumna when they played Newtownshandrum in this year's All-Ireland club final, and they were able to stick to it for the full match.

Once again the pitch was very poor - the grass was too long for hurling. It may be fine for the football in 2 weeks, but long grass cancels out any hope of seeing ground hurling.

Kilkenny will win the All-Ireland next year, IMO. That is going on the fact that most of the rest of the teams, my own (Galway) included, in the championship are of a certain level and at this moment in time KK are far ahead of any of them, with Cork being the only team anywhere near them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The ref pulled up a few of the puck outs Johnnyc, as he is entitled to, but there were a lot of quick puck outs too.

It was an intense game but not that exciting. Cork needed that goal to come a bit earlier. Kilkenny always kept just enough ahead to keep Cork at bay. When the goal did come Kilkenny had stretched their lead, so it made little difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

johnnyc wrote:
    the ref destroyed the match when he wouldn't allow the match to flow.. cusach wasn't allowed to take quick puck outs whats the story with that.

I'm pretty sure that was a directive given to Barry Kelly by Croke Park. And quick puck-outs are technically against the rules.

I'm surprised to see the ref getting some stick. I thought he did well in what was one of the hardest games I've ever seen to ref. John Allen himself said that he thought he did well generally, except for the one decision where he pulled up Donal Og in his own square. Admittedly I'm biased as I know Barry, but I thought he did fine.

I'm pretty sure that was a directive given to Barry Kelly by Croke Park. And quick puck-outs are technically against the rules.

I'm surprised to see the ref getting some stick. I thought he did well in what was one of the hardest games I've ever seen to ref. John Allen himself said that he thought he did well generally, except for the one decision where he pulled up Donal Og in his own square. Admittedly I'm biased as I know Barry, but I thought he did fine.

What's the problem with quick puck outs?

Ball is out of play, i.e Dead ..... Goalie pucks out .... ball is live again.

All this rule does is slow down the game.

its not actually against the rules to have quick puck outs. But apart from that kilkenny deserved to win.The referee was from westmeath what the hell does he know about hurling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Culchie wrote:
    What's the problem with quick puck outs?

Ball is out of play, i.e Dead ..... Goalie pucks out .... ball is live again.

All this rule does is slow down the game.

I'll rephrase, Culchie. All players have to be outside the 21, and the goalie has to wait until the ref blows the whistle. So while quick puck-outs are not against the rules, it sometimes isn't technically possible for the above conditions to be met. But I agree it slows down the game.
    johnnyc wrote:
    its not actually against the rules to have quick puck outs. But apart from that kilkenny deserved to win.The referee was from westmeath what the hell does he know about hurling

Very insightful. You from Limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭slinky

Predicted a 4 point win but we were at least 6/7 points the better team it's a measure of this cork team that they kept it to 3(allied with some KK wides).

This was fierce and ferocious hurling played with intelligence. KK pulled midfield back with HFs and FFs too and left very little room. Cusack has to wait for the refs whistle before he can puckout it's not exactly rocket science. He delayed on the puckouts many times because he had no options and had to go long bread and butter stuff for the KK backs as a result. Cusack was very poor on the puckouts and KK management won this tactical battle hands down.

Hickey cleaned BC out of it a huge part of the win, but they hurled like the driven team that they are - tommy brill as usual, tennyson dominated after a good start by niall mc, kav kept deano to 1 pt, tyrrell and ryall stepped up to the mark great to see ryall knocking the ball off jerry's hurl!

cha and lyng dominated midfild, no space for the cork short handpassing and runners.

gorta did great caught loads of ball, taggy had a great game was hoping one of the co-stars would step up and boy did he! sheff did well missed a couple easy ones though. larkin quiet but got a bad belt off gardiner didnt help. eddie quiet too but kept at it and played a part in the goal(da rock and pat mul gave a goal away as expected sherlock should be on that team). power kept at it too and all hassled and harried as expected. Cork overdo this handpassing and running game - should have mixed it and let the ball in quicker but that's their choice and their brand of hurling - not my cup of tea. The sweetest all ireland I can ever remember.

It was ferocious stuff when you looked at it up close - I loved it! Fair play to cork team and john allen gracious and good banter with cork fans - have huge respect for cork hurling. The stewards were a disgrace won't go in to what I saw, the pitch was shocking what's new. Till next year... GWAN DA CATS!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

It was indeed an eerie feeling watching kilkenny playing hurling and hoping they would win :confused:

Fair play to kilkenny, They deserved to win. Had too much hunger in them.
    The grass was waaay too long. Slowed the game right down which aided the in your face kilkenny game.

Sure you cant win them all. Hopefully Cork can find a few new forwards over the winter! There is life in this cork team yet!

I'll rephrase, Culchie. All players have to be outside the 21, and the goalie has to wait until the ref blows the whistle. So while quick puck-outs are not against the rules, it sometimes isn't technically possible for the above conditions to be met. But I agree it slows down the game.

Very insightful. You from Limerick?

No thank GOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Lads, thankfully, I am lucky enough to live in Cork. I can tell ye now that people are already talking about next year. Can't wait for the league and can't wait to get stuck in again. As Brian Corcoran put it "There's nothing like a defeat to give you a kick up the arse."

We're all very proud of this Cork team, and we owe them so much for the four years of happiness and joy they have brought to us, the supporters. So here's to them, THE LEGENDS. And by God, will we be back next year refreshed and with all guns blazing!

Obviously, there's going to be a few changes: Pat Mul will probably lose his place. Sully is just going to have to go, although there has been the suggestion that he might go up full- forward, and thats where our problems are. Our forwards. However, all 6 of the forwards that played on the minor team this year are potential players with the seniors so ye definitely haven't seen the back of us yet