Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CA3 (Optional) Project Planning , IT Architecture

• 30-08-2006 9:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭

What is the crack with these optional modules? Any idea WTF IT Architecture is about? Are they new this year or do any 4th years have any input as to which one is the "better" choice?

This online registration jobby needs more work!

{EDIT} After a quick google this IT Architecture stuff seems like that rubbish subject from last year, the one with the boxes and lines, em, systems analysis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

They're new. We didn't have any optional modules last year. Are they for both SE and IS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Yeah I figured they were new :(. For both IS and SE that's why I just went with CA3. (I am in SE)

Well, I went with project planning for now. Will just do a change of mind yoke if I need to later in the year. (They are semester 2 optionals)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Carbon Blob

Well, I went with project planning for now. Will just do a change of mind yoke if I need to later in the year. (They are semester 2 optionals)

Semester 2 optionals?? Did they ditch the project or cut Intra down or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

That seems strange... got a link for this Smellyirishman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Project Planning could be a module like the IS Technical Writing one except broader to encompass other aspects of planning larger scale projects better and focus on all the issues that you could come across in something like your third year project?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

looking at the module descriptions page for CAIS, and there's no optional subjects for 3rd year, jsut the following mandatory ones...

CA300 Introduction to Artificial Intelligence 5 Semester 1

CA305 Project and Process Management 5 Semester 1

CA306 Database Deployment 5 Semester 1

CA314 00 Analysis and Design 5 Semester 1

CA325 Sampling Theory/Survey Design 5 Semester 1

CA348 Information System Strategy 5 Semester 1

CA326 Year 3 Project 20 Semester 2

CA366 INTRA 10 Semester 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Do all the systems analysis modules, as a CA grad of 2005, I can tell you that the only work I did there that has been at all useful in the workplace since has been the System Analysis, UML, Database Design and Design Patterns work.

All the rest is pretty much obsolete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

mate of mine says he registered for a 5 module semester one, then 2 modules in semester 2, plus the project and intra as semester 2 modules. Strange goings on all together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Well unless they've totally changed the setup for third year then I'd say your friend is mistaken. Up until last year it was the standard 6 subjects up until Christmas then we had no lectures in Semester 2 so that we could concentrate on the project. Then come April it was off on INTRA, thats the way it was for CA anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

looking at the module descriptions page for CAIS, and there's no optional subjects for 3rd year, jsut the following mandatory ones...

CA300 Introduction to Artificial Intelligence 5 Semester 1

CA305 Project and Process Management 5 Semester 1

CA306 Database Deployment 5 Semester 1

CA314 00 Analysis and Design 5 Semester 1

CA325 Sampling Theory/Survey Design 5 Semester 1

CA348 Information System Strategy 5 Semester 1

CA326 Year 3 Project 20 Semester 2

CA366 INTRA 10 Semester 2

Yep as it was for me this year, I imagine your friend is wrong, I doubt they have changed anything with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

the one with the boxes and lines, em, systems analysis?

ahhh yes, back in my day (2000-ish) we used to affectionately call those subjects "boxes and squiggles drawing"

Sorry for the delayed response, I thought the topic was dead ater my second post and was out of the office in the afternoon.

Try this link and tell me if it works, that's a list of all the modules, both core and optional. (Although on the online thing they are all marked as not compulsory and a friend was able to proceed after dropping a core module and taking both optional ones :rolleyes:)

I believe the whole thing is ****ed up, Online reg that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

yeah fecking online reg...what was i thinking! when i was registering i noticed all the modules were optional and could put in any combination i wanted (that added up to 60credits) the project credits have been dropped from 20 to 15. unfortunately i cut out sampling theory module...but i couldnt change it afterwards....so now im stuck with not having that core module! im sure ill be able to fix it come 25th september! Weird that the 2new subjects are in semester two...does that mean they are completely 100% ca? because we go on work experience in april

2nd semester is 3rd year project and intra, nothing else unless they changed and doubt they have or we would have heard about it. Just assume it's broken, seems lot of people have said the system is screwed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

with the module weightings does that mean you can skip INTRA (10 credits) and just do the 2 optional subjects instead? (5 credits each) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Step Number	Description	Compulsory	Completed	Preceding Step
    1	Rules and Regulations	        Y 	        Y	 
    2	Qualification	                Y 		Y	  Rules and Regulations 
    3	Subjects	                N 		Y	 Qualification 
    4	Proof Of Registration	        N 		N	 
    5	Add/Update Accommodation Type	Y               Y	 
    6	Payment of Fees	                N 		N	Add/Update Accommodation Type 
    7	Proof And Statement	        N 		N	 

You have completed all compulsory steps for this process

Is that what everyone else's looks like, I got an email today saying I didn't register for the modules. I probably didn't click confirm or something.
    I picked IT Architecture because it sounds less gay.

{EDIT} After a quick google this IT Architecture stuff seems like that rubbish subject from last year, the one with the boxes and lines, em, systems analysis?

Ok, I'll be switching that module ASAP.

**** boxes and lines, gayest subject ever. Vote for renaming to gayology.

i presume people who did autumn repeats have to wait for the results to come out?

at the Qualifications part of the registration i'm getting:

The institution has not permitted the use of this option to you as yet.
    Please contact us with any queries.
    Thank You.

i presume people who did autumn repeats have to wait for the results to come out?

at the Qualifications part of the registration i'm getting:

The institution has not permitted the use of this option to you as yet.
    Please contact us with any queries.
    Thank You.

im getting that too. I would presume that we must wait for the results

cooker3 wrote:
    2nd semester is 3rd year project and intra, nothing else unless they changed and doubt they have or we would have heard about it. Just assume it's broken, seems lot of people have said the system is screwed up.

http://www.dcu.ie/registry/schedules/CAIS_3_01.htm

that link should show you that there are two optional modules for semester two.
    TomCo wrote:
    Ok, I'll be switching that module ASAP.

**** boxes and lines, gayest subject ever. Vote for renaming to gayology.

Yeah i voted for that too...you get a free lollipop?

Several.

http://www.dcu.ie/registry/schedules/CAIS_3_01.htm

that link should show you that there are two optional modules for semester two.

I stand corrected then, interesting that they change that, sem 2 will be less of a doss for you's then it was for us then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

cooker3 wrote:
    sem 2 will be less of a doss for you's then it was for us then!

:(

so when exactly are we supposed to be doing this Semester 2 module? our free time between the project and INTRA? :(

are they gonna just assign us a single hour each week for that lecture on it's own and then expect us to take a day off from INTRA to sit the exam?
    or is it a 100% continuous assesment? ie. get home from work and then do some study and work on an assignment?

sounds like a load of balls really...

Lets boycott this fascist module!

This calls for a, Dirty Protest!

I assume there is a lecture or two each week during our project period and it will end in a small exam in April (or whenever we pack our bags for INTRA) or 100% CA.

This calls for a, Dirty Protest!

I assume there is a lecture or two each week during our project period and it will end in a small exam in April (or whenever we pack our bags for INTRA) or 100% CA.

I'd also assume its one of these scenarios. Not Likely we have to take time off intra. My Money's on 100% CA

My moneys on black.

Go black!

semester two is looking like fun for all :p

im just hopin im in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

anyone who got their repeat results able to register online yet? load a sh1te this online registration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I cant register either. I was told to wait until tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 rockethamster

I cant register either. I was told to wait until tomorrow.

it's tomorrow since your post. i'm getting that too. i have this feeling us repeat students cant register online

Im thinking that too. We should be able to but I guess their system is borked.

Ill ring the registry at 2pm and try find out more.

I was on hold for 25min. I give up. Ill ring back later if I remember.

Anyone know when the closing date for registrations is?

Online reg wasnt working for me today but its working now. Seems they fixed it now for repeat students

Closing date is tomorrow (14th)

yeah, grand for me now, although i still have no clue about the subjects but **** it, i'll pick whatever and change them in 2 weeks if needs be!

yea same as meself, i went for IT architechture, and emailed howard duncan givin out about how theres no info on the two new modules anywhere

It never said any where core modules so I accidently on purpose dropped Jane
    Horgans topic. Had a look at the exam paper for it and I almost died. It's stats
    and probability all over again :( I refuse to do anymore of those subjects.

It never said any where core modules so I accidently on purpose dropped Jane
    Horgans topic. Had a look at the exam paper for it and I almost died. It's stats
    and probability all over again :( I refuse to do anymore of those subjects.

i know how u feel man, i hate the thought of doing this jane horgan subject :( i dropped it too but im pretty sure we have to do it because that sampling theory module is a core one. online reg says its up to us to register correctly and we cant go back onto it and change it. so im guessing we have to use that change of mind form when we go back to college.

it would of been cool if we could drop it..but its wishful thinking :mad:

Is the bar registration open until midnight tonight, or does anyone know the deadline? For a school of IT professionals their attempt at this online registration jobby leaves much to be desired. (Although I do not know exactly who developed it)

looks like its an outside contract job lads, its well bogey but it saves the hassle of filling out forms and queing up in the library so f*ck it

Is the bar registration open until midnight tonight, or does anyone know the deadline? For a school of IT professionals their attempt at this online registration jobby leaves much to be desired. (Although I do not know exactly who developed it)

yeah i agree, its not stated anywhere what time the bar reg closes at. but you better reg now bitch just in case!! yeah online reg was oretty messy.

On the portal page for online reg (Please note that the online registration facility has been extended. Please go and register now if you have not already done so.)

make sticky : register for bar quickly!!!

I won't be home tonight until about 11 so I may just get in my the skin of my teeth. Failing that you can probably pay at the little shack in Henry Gratten. I can't remember exactly how it was worded on the site, it sounded like register now or never get to go to the bar ever ever again, but I doubt that's the case!

Aww crap what subject does Horgan teach in third year?

I think it is an IS core. I hope so anyway.

Ah thats ok then. Was starting to worry there. Though I noticed we have Mark Humphrys again for A.I.

yeah hopefully he wont just read from the notes like with networks, very disappointed with that. i just know that the peeps from IS are screwed for jane horgans module...looked at the exam papers...ugh!

we've this complexity module to make up for having no horgan, and a few other absolute c*nts of subjects to make up for it, this year is gonna be a bitch till february