Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mark Vaughan has cheekbone broken by Mayo supporter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Can you copy and paste that?

I seen the Dublin team in the Sunnybank at about 11pm Sunday night, and there was about 6 Mayo supporters in there, including me.....so must have happened else where.

Would be a disgrace if he was hit because he was a Dublin footballer, but it could also have been a situation where 'it takes two to tango' so who know who is to blame?

It could also have been a Mayo supporter doing an impression of Ciaran Whelans tackle I suppose;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Dubs substitute suffers broken cheekbone in nightclub assault

DUBLIN football player Mark Vaughan had his cheekbone broken by a Mayo fan on Sunday night in an assault which could see him out of play for up to three weeks.

The Kilmacud Crokes star, who was on the pitch for Sunday's dramatic semi-final against Mayo, was with his girlfriend in Copper Face Jacks, a nightclub in Dublin's city centre when he was attacked.

Sources confirmed that he is due to have an operation tomorrow to reset the bone.

According to witnesses, Vaughan, who missed a free kick in the dying minutes of the game, was walking through the Harcourt Street nightclub when he was involved in an exchange with the Mayo fan. He reportedly struck Vaughan from behind, breaking his cheekbone.

Other unconfirmed reports suggested that Jason Sherlock was assaulted in a separate fracas at a pub on nearby Camden Street on Sunday night.

Kilmacud Crokes chairman Padraig McMenamin confirmed last night that Vaughan had been the victim of an "unprovoked attack".

Mr McMenamin said he had spoken to the club doctor who predicted Vaughan would be unable to play for a couple of weeks.

Former Dublin GAA county board chairman, Councillor John Bailey (FG), said he was very sorry to hear that this had happened to a young player.

Congratulating all the Dublin team for their effort during Sunday's match, Cllr Bailey said it was a terrible way for Mark Vaughan to get injured.

He said players should be allowed socialise in peace.

Vaughan made a second-half substitute appearance against Mayo in Croke Park on Sunday where he twice hit the upright while also missing a free which would have tied the game up for Dublin.

Maybe it was John Finn :D (sorry, bad joke).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

It had to have been somebody who is not local to Dublin, starting a fight in Copperfaced jacks is akin to holding up a doghnut shop in New York City. Thats where all the Garda's hang out ! :)

All joking aside - not good enough, any player who contributed to that game on Sunday should be honoured, paid and yes - left have a pint in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Shocking if true, again a case of GAA players being treated like soccer stars (see the Ros pool playing episode, D J Carey etc) but without the 50k a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

"struck from behind" shows what kind of coward that scumbag was.

Sherlock also received a box on Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

Thats a disgusting to be honest. Some scumbag to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

This is desperate if its true, but remember papers make headlines to sell papers. The Mayo fan part might or might not be true. It does add a bit of extra appeal to the storyline in the current climate.

If it was a Mayo fan, I don't know what was in his head. Poor Vaughn really did nothing in his less than 10 minutes on the pitch on Sunday to upset any Mayo supporters. So maybe its as has been said already in that it takes two to tango. Maybe it wasn't the "Mayo fan" who started the aggro. I understand that Vaughn has made no formal complaint so maybe it bears this theory out.

Still, if it were done in the name of football and particularly in the name of Mayo Supporters, I think all mayo football fans will join with me in unreservedly condemning it and wishing to disassociate ourselves from it totally. IF TRUE, I think this is far worse than the Whelan / McGarrity or Rock / Finn incidents referred to already. There is some justification (however small) for incident that happen on the field in a charged atmosphere with even a certain amount of 'accidental' input.

I really do think that Vaughn should make an official complaint to the Gardai. I also think that the true story might be slightly different from that in the papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Avns1s wrote:
    Still, if it were done in the name of football and particularly in the name of Mayo Supporters, I think all mayo football fans will join with me in unreservedly condemning it and wishing to disassociate ourselves from it totally.

Absolutely.

Accepting the two to tango theory, I think the onus is still on the supporters to stay out of the player’s way. The emotional roller coaster that player was on Sunday is something most of us will never encounter in our lives.

One of the highlights of GAA in general is that our hero's mingle amongst us. They don’t get isolated or placed higher than us. I can spend a whole year telling my three year old about Gooch, and then hopefully when they bring Sam back home, my 3 year old will meet him.

There is then a greater burden on the supporters to show some respect, give them some space and understand that we do not own them, nor do they owe us anything for them being in the public arena, they are simply not paid enough for that. No mayo supporter should defend this mans actions, this is outside the game, and your onus to support your own county men, he should form his own defence through legal channels.

It don't think any Mayo supporter does defend this mans actions.

Leave it be to the Guards to sort out, for all we know sitting in front of our PC's, it could have been self defence.

The 'Mayo' angle is great for the newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Accepting the two to tango theory, I think the onus is still on the supporters to stay out of the player’s way. The emotional roller coaster that player was on Sunday is something most of us will never encounter in our lives.

Very well said.

It reminded me of an incident a few years back when a neighbouring county beat us and that night this little pr!ck wearing their colours spent quite literally the whole evening/night dogging one of our players, shouting abuse at him, coming up to him kissing the crest and waving it in his face. Despite repeated warnings to cool it down and cop on he wouldn't let up. Later that night on the dancefloor he was at it again and he got flattened by the player's friend ! There was absolutely no sympathy anywhere for him, not because of his jersey but his behaviour meritted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I don't care what county your from, those lads are sportsmen, who should be commended for their dedication to a sport that show's no monetary rewards, and should not have been the object of such violence and aggression.

I am absolutely sickened to think that someone might actually justify an attack like this based solely on the fact that they where lads playing for the opposing team - thats a fcuking joke!

I have the utmost respect for anyone, regardless of where they are from, who would put such hard work, determination and loyalty to a sport - lads who have worked hard to play for their county, and all for the love of the game.

They should be applauded, not attacked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

Coppers is a really silly place to go for a Dublin player any time but especially after the match on Sunday. Please don't misinterpret this as me saying he "asked for it" or anything as silly. If I was a Dublin player on Sunday though, if I went to Coppers I'd certainly accept that I was going to get plenty of verbal abuse.

Only a scumbag would hit anyone in the manner in which it was reported, but I've learned long ago not to trust the papers, so I think the running commentary and speculation that's going on here is probably best left until the full story emerges. There are plenty of scumbags around supporting every county, it shouldn't smear a whole supporter base / county.

If the full story doesn't emerge, that would be enough to me to suggest that the issue has been dealt with by Vaughn himself and he doesn't want to hear any more about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

In fairness it was in the Indo a paper not really known for strecthing the truth to much so its probably true.
    If it is true yer man should be thrown in jail it doesn't matter that Vaughn is an intercounty player to have anyone hit like that is disgraceful.
    If yer mans from Mayo then he's not a true supporter just like hooligans in soccer he should be disavowed by all other fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭charba

kevmy wrote:
    If it is true yer man should be thrown in jail it doesn't matter that Vaughn is an intercounty player to have anyone hit like that is disgraceful.
    If yer mans from Mayo then he's not a true supporter just like hooligans in soccer he should be disavowed by all other fans.

Agreed, its called GBH regardless who you are and a stint in a cell would perhaps give the person a bit of reflection time to see how stupid they were to hit someone especially from behind.

No true GAA fan never mind a Mayo fan, would go out and hit a player. True fan's understand the deidcation that is involved in being an intercounty player and the time that is involved without any moneary reward.

Its a sad day when a GAA "fan" decides he needs to celebrate a victory by hitting a member of the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Scumbag whoever did that.I hope Mark recovers well. If anything the fan should have been buying Mark a pint for blowing it with his last two frees. Maybe him breaking his cheekbone will be a blessing in disguise for Dublin. He may never play again

I do sincerely hope he's OK though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 justonepoint

"Coppers is a really silly place to go for a Dublin player any time"

Dublin players have being going to coppers for at least ten years. Regularly
    mix with people from all over the country after croke park matches. No problems.

"it takes two to tango"

The tango is a dance that does require two persons. Swinging at
    someone from behind and breaking their jaw requires one man only.

"I also think that the true story might be slightly different from that in the papers."

When you have slightly evidence to contradict cctv footage and hospital
    records fill us in on the True Story

I dont mean to be a smart b*stard but this individual should not be defended
    even in light of the temptation of defending a fellow county man on a week when the tribal blood has been stirred up. Better to disown someone like this.
    Theres scumbags everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

phil wrote:
    Coppers is a really silly place to go for a Dublin player any time but especially after the match on Sunday. Please don't misinterpret this as me saying he "asked for it" or anything as silly. If I was a Dublin player on Sunday though, if I went to Coppers I'd certainly accept that I was going to get plenty of verbal abuse.

Only a scumbag would hit anyone in the manner in which it was reported, but I've learned long ago not to trust the papers, so I think the running commentary and speculation that's going on here is probably best left until the full story emerges. There are plenty of scumbags around supporting every county, it shouldn't smear a whole supporter base / county.

If the full story doesn't emerge, that would be enough to me to suggest that the issue has been dealt with by Vaughn himself and he doesn't want to hear any more about it.

To be honest i know it's awful and i am in no way trying to stick up for they scumbag supporter but Copper's was the wrong place for either a dublin or a mayo player to be in. There are plenty of scumbags all over the country in every county looking for any reason to start on someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

no no no..these are not high paid pros... they are not celebs... just bloks who play an amature sport. They can drink where they like... If Vaughan had of got a plane to knock and driven to westport he should not have expected to be attacked. I hope the guy is caught, I hope he is not a mayo man... but dont dare think for one minute that the dublin or any gaa team need to choose the bars they go to just cause there are people form other counties there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Alany wrote:
    no no no..these are not high paid pros... they are not celebs... just bloks who play an amature sport. They can drink where they like... If Vaughan had of got a plane to knock and driven to westport he should not have expected to be attacked. I hope the guy is caught, I hope he is not a mayo man... but dont dare think for one minute that the dublin or any gaa team need to choose the bars they go to just cause there are people form other counties there

Ok wat i ment to say was he shouldn't of been there that night only, i know wat ur saying and it is the way it should be but...

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Look, it's only a game. So the whole point about people getting so riled up about it is ridiculous. No one should get to the point where they assault someone on the losing side of a semi-final in an amateur sport. That just doesn't make sense.

It would make a bit more sense if it were a Dublin fan who hit him, but it's still not justifiable.

It's amazing where all this Mayo V Dublin sides of the coin has come from.

The match was brilliant, the supporters from both sides were brilliant ....before, during and after the match.

We all had our few pints, we all shook hands, there wasn't a bad word exchanged all day..... that's because the true supporters of the game appreciate exactly what Sunday was all about.
    The people that got tickets, got them through the clubs or club contacts, not sold on fecking ticketmaster.... they went to genuine GAA supporters.....and believe me it showed, the craic was great, the game started on time.

Then we get all the idiots from the pubs that weren't even there, the idiots on the internet slagging off the Dubs, others slagging off Mayo because of the Hill episode....it only added to the atmosphere inside the stadium.

As a Mayo person, the Dubs only went up in my estimation after Sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I finished up my night in Roddy Bolands down in Rathmines, and it was late enough, and people were obviously a bit worse for wear. I have to say there was a great atmosphere in there, although it looked more like a pub in Westport then Dublin on the night. I saw Dublin and Mayo fans swapping jerseys, there was a bit of freindly banter but it was all very good natured. I have always had a good deal of time for the Mayo fans, they have had to roll with some rough blows over the years. Your man who hit Vaughan was a scumbag not a GAA fan, whatever county he came from is largely irrelevant.

Alany wrote:
    They can drink where they like... If Vaughan had of got a plane to knock and driven to westport he should not have expected to be attacked.

L.O.L. - I love this attitude

I lived in Dublin, very early 90's. As a culchie you were always conscious of 'No go areas' - Gardner street was a tourist black spot for example, Other places in the inner city were also considered unsafe at night, where you should not go. I then moved to NYC, and was there for the 'Zero Tolerance' crime clampdown. A big part of this was individuals saying 'I have had enough' - I will not curb my lifestyle to accommodate scums. And this was accomplished, not by police, but through hundreds of little decisions, and little acts of bravery by ordinary people.

I never feared, walking through any neighbourhood in NYC, because this became, and still is the pervasive attitude amongst all New Yorkers. If all Irish people could experience this, just one time, there would be big changes in this country, I know I have seen it happen, that minority of scumbags would no longer dictate how we live our lives.

I know its a little off point, but I consider these footballers - our first citizens. They are in their prime physically. They are supposed to be our childerns hero's. And they are supposed to schedule a few beers around the possibility of some little scumbag hitting them from behind?

It is better to die on your feet than live on your knees.
    Emiliano Zapata
    Mexican reformer & revolutionary (1877 - 1919)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

Waylander wrote:
    Your man who hit Vaughan was a scumbag not a GAA fan, whatever county he came from is largely irrelevant.

Nail on the head. I wish Vaughan a full and speedy recovery. This could seriously effect Crokes attempts to retain the Dublin SFC title?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Aye, little mucker should be done for assault. Someone here at work had it that Vaughan had a Mayo flag and was tearing it up, that is why he got assaulted!! But hey don't stories grow legs!!!

Funny thing though, if your man is done for assault on Vaughan, will Whelan be done for assault on McG???? Its funny how what happens on the playing fields is handled differently, when in truth is should not.

As some said already, my respect for the Dub fans after Sunday has trebled, the dignity they took the defeat was commendable, it is a shame that the media make such a huu haa over the Dublin team which generates this "anti-dublin" stance, because from what I say on Sunday and the phone calls on Monday the Dubs are as desperate to win an All-Ireland as we are down in Mayo.

I think/hope the Dubs fans can look forward to a good welcome when the visit us in the league this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

yop wrote:
    Aye, little mucker should be done for assault. Someone here at work had it that Vaughan had a Mayo flag and was tearing it up, that is why he got assaulted!! But hey don't stories grow legs!!!
    please read the story quoted on the main page which states cctv footage proves the scumbag was shoving the flag in vaughans face and vaughan didn't raise his hands at all. your colleagues "exclusive" souds like BS :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

yeah, the knacker was charged. Vaughan did'nt retaliate which I guess the CCTV shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

yeah, the knacker was charged. Vaughan did'nt retaliate which I guess the CCTV shows

Proper order. I hope the scumbag gets what he deserves and a bit more for good measure. A credit to Vaughn too if your post is factually correct and he didn't retaliate, though I know how hard it is to be level headed at the time, and now allow temper to take over!!!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Seámus-Púbach

rite.... just let me clear EVERYTHING up for EVERYBODY right now.....

Kilmacud Crokes chairman Padraig McMenamin confirmed last night that Vaughan had been the victim of an "unprovoked attack"..........................................complete and utter bull****

in fact, as was already mentioned in this thread coppers was full of mayo fans at the time.
    As a dublin player what did he expect but to get a bit of stick.

one mayo fan waved a flag in his face to which vaughan responded by head-butting(several times) his mate....who in turn smacked him in the jaw.

why hasn't vaughan pressed charges??? because ALL of this was caught on CCTV + he knows he hasn't got a case. + the plentiful supply of witnesses present.

O and for all you condemning this mayoman....**** YOU! self defence!

rite.... just let me clear EVERYTHING up for EVERYBODY right now.....

Kilmacud Crokes chairman Padraig McMenamin confirmed last night that Vaughan had been the victim of an "unprovoked attack"..........................................complete and utter bull****

in fact, as was already mentioned in this thread coppers was full of mayo fans at the time.
    As a dublin player what did he expect but to get a bit of stick.

one mayo fan waved a flag in his face to which vaughan responded by head-butting(several times) his mate....who in turn smacked him in the jaw.

why hasn't vaughan pressed charges??? because ALL of this was caught on CCTV + he knows he hasn't got a case. + the plentiful supply of witnesses present.

Seamus, if you tone down the auld lingo, you might enjoy yourself posting on the boards.

Regarding incident, as was said at the very start ... it's all hearsay (including your account of what happened).

The proof will be in the pudding if charges are pressed.

Culchie wrote:
    Seamus, if you tone down the auld lingo, you might enjoy yourself posting on the boards.

Regarding incident, as was said at the very start ... it's all hearsay (including your account of what happened).

The proof will be in the pudding if charges are pressed.

okay soz bout that just got carried away!! but that is a 100% accurate account of what happened and take it from me... no charges will be pressed.

the lad in question went to the Gardai straight afterwards himself to make an official statement against Vaughan.....so the way i see it is the only charges that will be pressed will be against vaughan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

but that is a 100% accurate account of what happenede
    you really don't have a clue

For the sake of fairness Jayo was hit by another Na Fianna player, not a Mayo person

Again, all hearsay, the CCTV will show all ... I have heard from someone who was there as well, someone I trust 100% ....but won't add further to the speculation.

As I said we'll see what charges, if any, are brought

tell me..... when did i mention Sherlock??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

That there is all I need for a ban.

Tread carefully for the next while Seamus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DiscoHugh

In fairness to Seamus from what I've heard about and seen of Mark Vaughn that version of events seems very reasonable. Vaughn is basically a hot head always getting in fights on and off the pitch

My friend was in a fight with him about 6 months ago. he took his top off in the middle of street and was ranting on...it was pretty amusing stuff

but still tho waving a flag in a guys face after such a hard match like that is a bent thing to do. I was surrounded my Mayo fans for the match and there was only one annoying prick who kept on talking in my ear and even poking me yelling "We've got ye now boy!!" (that was after about 6 minutes of play :rolleyes:) there's always a couple of idiot fans for every team but everyone else was in good spirits. many a handshake after the game etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

Leaving aside the 'who did what' debate, did anyone see Vaughan pictured in yesterday's papers at the launch of the Kilmacud Crokes 7's?

From my experience of people with broken cheekbones, he didn't seem to have one. I could well be wrong, just an observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Vaughan is hardly a shrinking violet. I've heard plenty of stories about him and his antics in the Dublin camp.

For example, winding up Brigids players during the year where he was supposed to be suspended for Crokes and played. Apparently he offered Brigids players on the Dublin panel €500 each if Crokes weren't reinstated, telling them he was that sure they would be and winding them up.

As for links, I haven't got any but ask any Brigids player on the Dublin panel at the time and they'll confirm it. If he's that bad at winding up his own team mates, I'd like to see what he's like with the opposition or opposition fans.

Lemlin you are one of the first people to criticise players who strike out. You are now seemingly now saying it is okay for other supporters to break a players cheekbone if that player is a bit mouthy. How do you reconcile those two opinions?

Waylander wrote:
    Lemlin you are one of the first people to criticise players who strike out. You are now seemingly now saying it is okay for other supporters to break a players cheekbone if that player is a bit mouthy. How do you reconcile those two opinions?

Where did I say it was okay for the supporter to hit Vaughan? I made a comment that he was hardly a shrinking violet, would you disagree?

I never said that what the supporter did was right.

Read my points please before you jump on the pro Dub brigade again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

DUB wrote:
    Nail on the head. I wish Vaughan a full and speedy recovery. This could seriously effect Crokes attempts to retain the Dublin SFC title?
    A guy who comes on as a SUB, fresh as a daisy and kicks two wofle free kicks. One can't even make it to the target and the other a mile bleedin wide and your pinning our hopes on this. What damn chance have us Dubs got with this mentality???

Lemlin wrote:
    Where did I say it was okay for the supporter to hit Vaughan? I made a comment that he was hardly a shrinking violet, would you disagree?

I never said that what the supporter did was right.

Read my points please before you jump on the pro Dub brigade again.

If that is the case your point is off topic and irrelevant, but we should be used to that from you at this stage I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

This whole incident has been completely blown out of all proportion by the papers. Anyone who believed what was originally posted in the paper on Monday should have read it the following Wednesday when it said in the report that initial parts of the original article were incorrect, they mentioned specificilly the unprovoked part.
    The papers have sensationalised the incident and have glossed over some facts which would have made a certain someone else, and not the Mayo supporter, look like the guilty party.
    The Mayo supporter, has been called a scumbag now by a hell of a lot of people, without anyone having any more evidence than what appeared in the papers-which a lot of people will admit could have been sensationalised.
    I dont think its fair to speculate at all about the incident.
    I have heard from a number of people who were there what actually happened however saying it here is pointless, as people will not believe it "unless it ends up in court" but they will believe it if is appears in a national paper???
    Anyway-this will never end up any where near a courtroom and the truth will not be excepted by many people-so I suggest this thread be closed as no more good can come of it.
    Kippy

kippy wrote:
    This whole incident has been completely blown out of all proportion by the papers. Anyone who believed what was originally posted in the paper on Monday should have read it the following Wednesday when it said in the report that initial parts of the original article were incorrect, they mentioned specificilly the unprovoked part.
    The papers have sensationalised the incident and have glossed over some facts which would have made a certain someone else, and not the Mayo supporter, look like the guilty party.
    The Mayo supporter, has been called a scumbag now by a hell of a lot of people, without anyone having any more evidence than what appeared in the papers-which a lot of people will admit could have been sensationalised.
    I dont think its fair to speculate at all about the incident.
    I have heard from a number of people who were there what actually happened however saying it here is pointless, as people will not believe it "unless it ends up in court" but they will believe it if is appears in a national paper???
    Anyway-this will never end up any where near a courtroom and the truth will not be excepted by many people-so I suggest this thread be closed as no more good can come of it.
    Kippy

here here

Waylander wrote:
    If that is the case your point is off topic and irrelevant, but we should be used to that from you at this stage I suppose.

Here's a little lesson for you:

Name of thread : Mark Vaughan has cheekbone broken by Mayo supporter

Who was my post about? Yes, that's right, Mark Vaughan. HOW THE HELL WAS IT OFF TOPIC?????????????

The only thing we should be used to is hypocritical comments from you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Pointless at this stage and really going nowhere.