Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'The Hill' and the support.

• 28-08-2006 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

Regular posters know that I'm not having a 'pop' at Dublin for the sake of it.... but I think this has to be said. I'm sure it may come up on Des Cahills football phone in tonight anyway.
    Anyone that was there yesterday will bear me out on this as well.

The Dublin team really needed their supporters yesterday when the going got tough.
    They were singing 'Dublin in the rare aul times' when they were 7 points up, but went absolutey quiet as Mayo clawed themselves back into the game.
    Mayo supporters never stopped shouting their team on.

It was then that the team needed the supporters.

Interested to hear views on this.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

I have to agree , I though the Hill were very quiet yesterday .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Opinions will differ when you take different views into consideration.. I genuinely thought that the Hill was as noisy as ever and that the Mayo supporters were quiet. But that was probably due to the fact that I was right behind the Hill goal..

I will say that in the 2nd half there were times when parts of the Hill crowd tried to get a roar going but to be honest most people were in too much shock to join in. Several times we sang 'your not singing now' to the Mayo support when they were down.. as they really weren't singing.

Again, your view will all hang on where you were in the stadium. I thought the Hill support did it's job well. But thats me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I am genuinely surprised to hear you say that you felt the hill fans were a bit quiet.
    I have no voice at all today from all the screaming, shouting, singing and chanting, my Mam, Dad and sister are in the same boat.

I love the GAA and I am a big believer that a bit of vocal support can really help turn things around for a team. From where I was standing it seemed to me that the Hill was as electric as ever - but obviously I don't know how ti came across on TV, or from the other stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmoney

i didn't think the hill were their usual noisy self although i was in the canl/cusack end corner

but i even taught when mayo went down to warm-up there that the hill would have at least started singing but they didn't not even their regular songs... 'come on you boys in blue'

even noticed over the last few dublin games that the players don't even go down to applaud the hill after the games (apart from the leinster final during the pitch invasion so that was impossible to do anyway) cos it used to be a regular thing up to recent years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

cmoney wrote:

but i even taught when mayo went down to warm-up there that the hill would have at least started singing but they didn't not even their regular songs... 'come on you boys in blue'

We did sing when the lads start warming up at the Hill end... people where belting out the ususal - Hill 16 is Dublin only - Come on ye boys in blue, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

I was in the upper corner of cusack at the canal end and seemed to be surrounded by Mayo supporters. Certainly from that vantage point it seems like Mayo were out-shouting the dubs, but even when I knew the hill were chanting I could not hear them. It's definitly hard to start singing when your down and I think the dubs did fail in that perspective (at least up at my end), I thought even a bout of "clap-clap---clap-clap-clap---clap-clap-clap-clap---Dub-Lin" would have served to get more "relaxed" chanters involved but I don't think that one ever did the rounds, meanwhile mayo have the simplistic but very powerful "May-O clap-clap-clap".

I know I was shouting my head off and chating along, but certainly from where I was sitting the Hill was errily quiet when Dublin really needed them. I think, just like the team (perhaps more so), the supporters were expecting a walkover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Everytime Dublin started singing their songs Mayo fans started chanting "May-o, May-o" to drown them out.

Did anybody else see John Morrison getting all the fans to stand up and chant with a minute left. Something else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Everytime Dublin started singing their songs Mayo fans started chanting "May-o, May-o" to drown them out.

I was in HQ for the final in '97 & '04, That MAY-O, MAY-O chant is the most painful thing I have ever heard in my life, it would bring a tear to a glass eye. Please stop singing it. :(

Does anybody know, is it taken from that musical, the 'South pacific' ? :confused:

''Day-o, day-ay-ay-o Daylight come and he wan' go home
    Day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day-ay-ay-o
    Daylight come and he wan' go home'' :cool:

Can ye not sing something a little less carribean, possibly more hibernian, the 'Fields of Athenry' or something, ye are closer to Athenry than the Munster Rugby team !

Culturally it is more confusing than the silly Mexican 'Ole, Ole, Ole' that the Irish soccar supporters do. :confused:

(Culchie, before you get started, I did the 'You are right' and 'I am wrong' routine on the Mayo v. Dublin thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Aido c wrote:
    I was in HQ for the final in '97 & '04, That MAY-O, MAY-O chant is the most painful thing I have ever heard in my life, it would bring a tear to a glass eye. Please stop singing it. :(

There was a song released to that tune in 96 or 97 - and now that I know that it winds up the Kerry fans, I'll be singing it even louder should I be fortunate enough to get a ticket to the final!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Aido c wrote:

(Culchie, before you get started, I did the 'You are right' and 'I am wrong' routine on the Mayo v. Dublin thread)

LOL, I'm not in a position to tell any Kerryman anything about football he doesn't already know, but appreciate your sentiments.

I just felt that we had the narrow beating of Dublin if we played to our true potential.... there's also some cracking players coming through the system at the moment as proved by the Under 21's....but we had to produce it.

I knew the hunger was there.

Beating Kerry isn't about revenge anyway, it's just that Kerry stand between us and Sam at the moment, that's what we're after.

My head says Kerry, my heart says Mayo...... but as I've said since last May on these boards.... there's just something in this Mayo team that is different, and maybe our name is on the cup, simple as that.... I hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The Hill wasn't that quiet. Mayo livened them up when they headed down to that end of the pitch before the game. That set the tone for the rest of the match. I hope Mayo bring Sam back west now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Figment

Being in the vicinity of Croke park I can tell you that there was now dip in the volume coming out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Aido c wrote:

Does anybody know, is it taken from that musical, the 'South pacific' ? :confused:

''Day-o, day-ay-ay-o Daylight come and he wan' go home
    Day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day-ay-ay-o
    Daylight come and he wan' go home'' :cool:

Can ye not sing something a little less carribean, possibly more hibernian, the 'Fields of Athenry' or something, ye are closer to Athenry than the Munster Rugby team !

Culturally it is more confusing than the silly Mexican 'Ole, Ole, Ole' that the Irish soccar supporters do. :confused:

I think your confusing your Mayo chants. That song is indeed terrible and as a Mayo supporter i never go near it. However i do chant Mayo - clap - clap - clap and May - O (accompanied by claps) at differnet stages and will join in in any rendition of "The Green and Red of Mayo" that does the rounds.

We can't sing "The Fields of Athenry" at a Gaelic match. Thats a Galway song:eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I was on the hill . We were louder and sang a broader range of songs than we have all season.

The hill only went quite when mayo went level...at that point I was too nerous to sing, and on top of that the game was so fast paced that there was no real breakdowns in play at that stage to build it up if you will ( I for one am to interested in the action to sign and clap a lot of the time).

Mayo were very loud at times, but also very quiet when dublin were 6 points ahead (maybe I couldnt here them cause the dubs were so loud???)

anyway I felt the Dublin support was excellent as was mayos and I think you can understand if nerves, excitement and mayo's excellent comeback shut us up for a bit.

Im horse today from shouting and singing and I will be again..but not for a few months :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

kevmy wrote:
    I think your confusing your Mayo chants.

In retrospect, I think Kerry might have been keeping that going for a while.

♪ MAY-O, MAY-O, SAM MAGUIRE IS NEVER GONA MAYO ♪