Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cell Phone Madness or Salvation?

• 26-08-2006 6:50pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭

How did the human race ever survive for thousands or millions of years (depending upon your viewpoint) without the cell phone? Comments?

My comment? The cell phone can save the human race from an encounter with a boring film in the cinema. By leaving their cell phone chimes, song, or tune function on, if a boring film occurs, we can all jump into the isles and dance to the tune while the cell user fishes in their pockets for their phone, just like we might dance to the 100th midnight rerun of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 ThunderDude

The cell phone can save the human race from an encounter with a boring film in the cinema. By leaving their cell phone chimes, song, or tune function on, if a boring film occurs, we can all jump into the isles and dance to the tune while the cell user fishes in their pockets for their phone, just like we might dance to the 100th midnight rerun of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

I think that might have been more funny in your head. I use the word funny without any real conviction there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I think that might have been more funny in your head. I use the word funny without any real conviction there.

Yawn.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Bean_Ghrinn

How do you define noobie? Or is it spelled newbie? I'm new. Still struggle with the term. It's too lofty for me, I guess.

OP asked "Cell Phone Madness?"

Was in the market buying fruits and veggies. Along comes this lass with a mobile stuck in her ear asking her husbund about what to buy. They ramble on. Moments later he shows with his mobile stuck in his ear, and they are still talking to each other on their phones, only feet apart!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

To answer your question, "cell phones" are both madness and our salvation.

I predict that 1000 years from now they will be twice as powerful and 20 times as big and one will be able to watch entire movies on them - hense negating the need to ever visit the local cinemaplex. They will also make popcorn btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Have wondered this myself often. Me, Ive had one since I was 14, back in 2000, so it was never an issue for me, but back in the day how the fcuk did yis survive? Like, if you agreed to meet a friend in town under the Spire (which wasnt there, where the hell did people meet :D ), if you showed up first yid hafta wait and wait, and for all you know theyve been held up a half hour. When you met some cracker in a club and you wanted her number, back then did yis carry a pen and paper when out on the pull? Was it not a pain in the bollix holding private calls on a landline as your family walk past every minute? Did everyone have a big list of phone numbers? And did people make near as many drunken phone calls they regret from landlines as they do from mobiles today?

Remember the days when the general public thought anyone with a mobile who wasnt a doctor or lawyer was just a flash twat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

they're handy,but sometimes can be a pain in the neck,
    ie annoying chav/scumbag/knacker who decide to answer there phone in the cinema

*** ring ring
    scumbag_in_cinema: hello?
    scumbag_on_phone: storreeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?
    sic: storreeeeeeeeee bud, im in the cinema!
    sop: ah right, ill ring ya later....
    sic: nah, it's grand, go on, i can talk...
    sop: aw right yea, what film ya wathcin in anyways?
    sic: aw some ****e film, sure i robbed the tickets anyways..
    sop: aw right, yea, deadly buzzz.....

etc.etc.. you get the idea

(note: yes i do have far too much time on my hands)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Have wondered this myself often. Me, Ive had one since I was 14, back in 2000, so it was never an issue for me, but back in the day how the fcuk did yis survive?
    paper cups and string. Like, if you agreed to meet a friend in town under the Spire (which wasnt there, where the hell did people meet :D ), if you showed up first yid hafta wait and wait, and for all you know theyve been held up a half hour.
    or the person just showed up on time and all was well. if they didn't show up, then you go on your way. much like today.
    When you met some cracker in a club and you wanted her number, back then did yis carry a pen and paper when out on the pull?
    back of a beer mat and written with a pen you got from the barman.
    Was it not a pain in the bollix holding private calls on a landline as your family walk past every minute?
    yes, it was. but people tended not to eavesdrop and were polite enough to give you space.
    Did everyone have a big list of phone numbers?
    yes.
    memory also came in handy.

And did people make near as many drunken phone calls they regret from landlines as they do from mobiles today?
    no. it was more a romeo and juliet sort of thing. going to the window and stuff.

Remember the days when the general public thought anyone with a mobile who wasnt a doctor or lawyer was just a flash twat :)
    yes. it was yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Pigman II wrote:

I predict that 1000 years from now they will be twice as powerful and 20 times as big and one will be able to watch entire movies on them - hense negating the need to ever visit the local cinemaplex. They will also make popcorn btw.

Yep here you go now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

So whats our excuse IvaBigWun?? :D

As for the topic, I've had a mobile for 7 years now, cant really remember them not being around...though I remember not having credit a lot so having it was fairly useless.

I do feel naked without it if I'm not at home though.

Ruu wrote:
    Yep here you go now. :)

Ah! What an age to be alive in. I'm still not seeing any popcorn tho :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

julep wrote:
    or the person just showed up on time and all was well. if they didn't show up, then you go on your way. much like today.

back of a beer mat and written with a pen you got from the barman.

yes, it was. but people tended not to eavesdrop and were polite enough to give you space.

yes.
    memory also came in handy.

no. it was more a romeo and juliet sort of thing. going to the window and stuff.

yes. it was yesterday.

So true Julep.People got off there arses to meet people and talk in person besides the all too convinient text message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Well there's one thing I know about mobiles...I don't know how the Irish construction industry managed to get anything built before they became so widley available.
    Personally I can live without my mobile, since I'm not a "phone person" anyways, but there's no way I could do my job without it...or more importantly there's now ay my boss could organise his hair on a windy day without it...

Wertz wrote:
    or more importantly there's now ay my boss could organise his hair on a windy day without it...

A comb phone? :confused: I thought I was doing well with popcorn.

what's a cell phone?

julep wrote:
    what's a cell phone?

It's one of them mobiles they hand out to the inmates in the 'Joy...

ahh. so it's cell phone madness then, is it?
    prisoners shouldn't be given phones in their cells.

But then how they order in their gear?

the way the used to do it in the 80's.
    a football over the wall or their girlfriend bringing it in the babies nappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Lurk

padi89 wrote:
    So true Julep.People got off there arses to meet people and talk in person besides the all too convinient text message.
    People waffle on so much in phone calls that text messaging is a life-saver. In fact, I find it a violation now if the phone rings.

don't get me started on text messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Dreamer Girl

julep wrote:
    don't get me started on text messages.

I got dumped earlier by text. Dont get me started!!!"""!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Lurk

Ahh, the many benefits of text. If I were to be dumped, I'd prefer it to happen by text instead of an awkward phone call about how "It's not you, it's me" or whatever (unless of course if I was married to them for 15 years or so).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Lurk wrote:
    People waffle on so much in phone calls that text messaging is a life-saver. In fact, I find it a violation now if the phone rings.

For a "are you heading out for beers tonight?" texting is great.Im on about the people that expect you to have conversations with them by sending countless texts back and forth when its much easier to just call and meet up for a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

got my 1st phone when i was 12
    back in 1996.....
    was fairly poxy cos nobody else had one, and i had to ring peoples houses off it
    it was a 088 motorola

haha pretty much a brick with no sms or any of those hi tech features

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I resisted for a long time but eventually got one 7 years ago. I needed it for work. It is of course very useful for all sorts of things so I always have it with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Diarmiud

How did the human race ever survive for thousands or millions of years (depending upon your viewpoint) without the cell phone? Comments?

My comment? The cell phone can save the human race from an encounter with a boring film in the cinema. By leaving their cell phone chimes, song, or tune function on, if a boring film occurs, we can all jump into the isles and dance to the tune while the cell user fishes in their pockets for their phone, just like we might dance to the 100th midnight rerun of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Work in a large multinational? Bored?

Outside, in the smoking area, you may use your mobile to ring reception and tell them to put you through to Micheal (a rosy little cherub of a paper-pusher ripe for retirment who sits near to you) on extension **** for some urgent news regarding his family. Of course you are about as closely related to him as you are to the bonogo, but it helps to tell a fib once in a while. They put you through, it rings and you pinch your nostrils shut, assuming a life-like Australien accent.

You are from the company's Oceanic Dept. and need to verify the existence of a few dozen hard-copy files in good old Eire. Urgent matter (this is a healthcare organisation, and patient's lives are at stake-no time for email nonsense)

Off pops Micheal, downstairs to archives with his list of files and you sneak into his cubicle, take control of his extension and once again you contact reception. This time you tell them that you are Patrick, using Micheal's extension. Assigned there since Micheal had to leave abrubtly due to an urgent family matter. You need to get in contact with the Australien branch of the company. They put you through to that division. Tell them that you need to check the validity of their soft files against your hard-copies. They should ring extension **** of Dub branch in 20 minutes as you should have them then.

Hand up, pull your eat close to the cubicle and turn your phone to the Record function as Micheal answers the phone.

When Micheal has his retirement party in two day's time, you can use that one-sided converstion as a ringtone, or better still podcast it on the company's intraweb as a going away present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Diarmuid, that just sounds difficult and confusing!

Whatever happened to just peeing in somebody's coffee when they go to the toilet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Pigman II wrote:

I can watch entire movies on my current phone,

And so can lots of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Newaglish wrote:
    Diarmuid, that just sounds difficult and confusing!

Whatever happened to just peeing in somebody's coffee when they go to the toilet?

I prefer clingfilm over the toilet myself. A classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

julep wrote:
    the way the used to do it in the 80's.
    a football over the wall or their girlfriend bringing it in the babies nappy.

the girlfriend part still rings true today in the 'joy.not that i've ever been in there as an inmate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I'm still trying to figure out how they farmed before they had donkeys before I move on to the mobile...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Over here in OC most call them "cell phones" or just "cell" rather than mobiles. Come to think of it, "Mobile Madness" would have sounded much better as a thread title. Blue Lagoon missed the boat on that one!

Oh, "mobile" can also have another meaning for that contraption that mams put over the cribs to entertain their babies. *Blue pulls at chin. Looks at ceiling* Just think of the spin you could put on a thread about those things, and call it Mobile Madness?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

"Cell" comes from "cellular", which refers to the network of masts used to give coverage. Each mast covers an area, or cell, which overlaps with the next mast. Hence, a "cellular" network. Like a terrorist cell/network. Sort of :D