Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Charisma - how to be attractive

• 26-08-2006 12:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

I can't catch a break. I was a t The Dragon on Saturday at a friend's birthday. There was a colorful bunch of gay guys there, most had someone. No one looked at me twice. But I guess I look a little lame.:rolleyes:

Anyway. This thread is all about what makes gay people attractive and how you make sure they're gay. What is the Gay charisma factor? Why do some people get overlooked and others worshipped? I'm totally lost as to what makes attractive people attractive, what draws people to other people, what's the first thing that everyone sees?:confused:

I mean...why do some gay guys get laid at the drop of their pants and others don't get any for years on end!? Please don't bring size etc into it coz its not size that matters its how you use it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Well, what did you do to get noticed, did you approach anyone?
    No matter how good looking your are, if you just sit back, make no effort and wait for someone to just come find you... it ain't gonna happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Sapien

azezil wrote:
    Well, what did you do to get noticed, did you approach anyone?
    No matter how good looking your are, if you just sit back, make no effort and wait for someone to just come find you... it ain't gonna happen!
    I dunno. I'm not sure if I believe in any kind of Gay Charisma, but if pressed to it, I would tend to say the nonchalant approach has some merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

It depends on what kind of guys you're into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

Pretend to be loaded. In all variations of the meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭apprentice

i agree

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

damien.m wrote:
    Pretend to be loaded. In all variations of the meaning.

Surely that kind of pretence can be discovered very quickly ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

Beruthiel wrote:
    Surely that kind of pretence can be discovered very quickly ;)

true

but we're not all pretending :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

You can brag about your size on an internet forum but the OP was looking for positive examples of how to be attractive. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Freaky Angelo

Yep. See its different for gays and straights to hook someone outside of bars...well it is for me :mad: what makes it so easy for guys to catch others in and out of gay bars while fellas like me, try but...y'know don't even factor on a blip.

What is it that can make some gay guys so attractive or what do they do or say to be able to get guys anywhere EVEN if the guys are straight(er then them)!?

What makes a person attractive to people they aren't "supposed to" be attractive to?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Confidence is what makes people attractive, gay or straight.
    If you think they're out of your league, they are, if you think you look lame, you do.

Watch the movie 'Swingers' with Vince Vaughn - you are as attractive to other people as you want to be.

It's not some great mystery, really.

There is no silver bullet other than to just be yourself. Clichéd I know, but it means things don't fall apart the second your acting skills fall short. And just because guys don't approach you, it doesn't mean they don't think you're attractive. You might be sending out mixed signals whereas other guys might sending out "Try it with me, I'm easy" signals. Personally I think gay bars suck as regards picking someone up. I like to have half a conversation with someone without disco music blaring in my ears before I swap tongues.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

What makes a person attractive to people they aren't "supposed to" be attractive to?

Confidence, being yourself and a love of life always shines through, this will attract anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭rorobobo

I totally agree with the last few comments - confidence helps a hell of a lot.
    When I was younger I had little to know confidence but as I've gotten older I've learned not to care as much about what other people think of me. Just be yourself and don't be stressing. Try to talk to others and let them get to know you :D

I suck at confidence. In fact I have very little. Boys show an interest but never follow through beyond kissing. Its lame.

Well maybe you just gotta naughty it up a little... provocative gestures or actions while kissing. ;)

Maybe they're turned off by the fact I bite (I made a guys chest (and a little lower on the hips) look like a leprosy epidemic had hit). I guess I am pretty agressive but at the same time I amn't charismatic or confident. I amn't sure if naughtying it up works that well if they can see me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Vinnie69

Maybe they're turned off by the fact I bite (I madeyou sound as if you are too franti a guys chest (and a little lower on the hips) look like a leprosy epidemic had hit). I guess I am pretty agressive but at the same time I amn't charismatic or confident. I amn't sure if naughtying it up works that well if they can see me
    you sound as if you are too frantic!!
    Try taking your teeth out next time, it might help:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Maybe they're turned off by the fact I bite (I made a guys chest (and a little lower on the hips) look like a leprosy epidemic had hit). I guess I am pretty agressive but at the same time I amn't charismatic or confident. I amn't sure if naughtying it up works that well if they can see me

Agressive, not charismatic and lacking confidence...

How does that sound to you? I think you need to just relax in general. Stop worrying about things, stop trying so hard, let things happen as they will.

Or take some Valium, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

I suck at confidence. In fact I have very little.

Fix it or die alone and unloved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭speedy21

u wont score in the dragon - too bright - bad layout..

Drink somewhere darker - somewhere that when u spot a cutie, you have a chance of bumping into them again on ur night..

George is easier for all the above than the Dragon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭moridin

damien.m wrote:
    Fix it or die alone and unloved.

But at the same time, don't go overboard and become an arrogant prick, or you'll die even more alone and even less loved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

stalk Moridin and learn from a master. :D

You can but be yourself and hope there's someone else out there crazy enough to want to be with you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭moridin

stalk Moridin and learn from a master. :D

I'm not sure what to read into that... S&M, arrogance, no confidence... this is all getting horribly confusing.

Time for a cup of tea methinks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Vinnie69

EYES Its all in the eyes. You can tell if someone fancies you if you look at their eyes. Don't stare but smile with your eyes and see the result.

Vinnie69 wrote:
    Don't stare but smile with your eyes and see the result.

I tried it in a mirror and all I see is crows' feet. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

OP - advice from a straight guy here but tbh, I think attraction is attraction is attraction.

If you've a problem with confidence, just fake it. It'll come with time. Sure, someone will always be more charismatic than you, someone will always be better looking than you, someone will always be a better dancer/kisser/golfer/driver/cook/programmer/whatever than you but living a happy and successfull life ain't about being the best, it's about believing you're good enough to deserve what you want and going after it. Next time you're out, don't wait to be approached, when you see some guy you think is attractive walk over and say hi. What's the worst that can happen? Let's look at that:

He might not find you attractive. So what, you've just gotten some practice at making an approach and you'll be better at it when you try it next.

He might be straight. So what, in this day and age, most straight guys know to take an approach from another guy as a compliment and if they don't fvck 'em tbh.

Uhm, that's about it. That's the worst that can happen. What's there to be afraid of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Anicrus

If you're just looking for a lay it doesn't take a whole lot to score in the dragon. From what I can see even most of the guys who look like they're with someone would drop them for a few hours if somone else was half interested just for the fun of it. I know it sounds very black and white but there's a hell of a lot of guys out there just looking for a good time. If you pay some attention to who's putting themselves out there and make an effort to get noticed guranteed you'll pick up. chances are you'll attract attention from more than one guy if you're actively flirting. The difficulty lies in hooking up with someone who isn't completely wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Stark wrote:
    I tried it in a mirror and all I see is crows' feet. :)

I love you! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Stephanos

I am an OK looking guy and when I started going out on the scene I got no attention at all. I was nervous, hung my head low and stood far too close to my mates. I definitely gave off weird vibes. Now I am used to the scene and when I go out I stand tall and just be myself - laugh a lot and have a good time. Although I don't actively go looking for guys I find that I get talking to them easily. It's about being relaxed and being yourself.

In the paraphrased words of Marge Simpson 'if you wanna be sad honey, then you be sad'. I think Marge was trying to tell Lisa to be herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 ignite

Yep same deal. Went out to the purple-est place in town. Not only was the music terrible that night, but I didn't score. No interest whatsoever. How disheartening!

Of course, the whole, Am I attractive enough? thing came up. Then I realised, I'd been here before. You have some good nights, and some bad nights. Maybe next time...

I have to admit though, despite a generally sufficient supply of confidence cloaks me, when it 'cumes' to guys, yeah, I melt! Shy, and ... shucks! Twinkle! lol.

Can't seem to find many 'relationship' types either. Say, I wonder how many of ye I actually see out in town...any familiar faces...:)