Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who is going to what 2nite(wed)?

• 23-08-2006 8:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

now normally there wouldnt be a question for me as to what to attend on Wed night as SE has a very good one.
    but it seems Silk have done one better and with th introduction of the 100 FO with 30 min clock it is indeed very tempting.
    the only thing is i dont want to go there and play and STT if you want i mean so im just wondering if its going to get numbers?
    what ya all think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I Think you should stay at home and watch untied v charlton like a good lad...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Gholimoli wrote:
    the only thing is i dont want to go there and play and STT if you want i mean

I dont want to knock the place but i can see an stt type scenario imo. I mean there was E1000 added to the prize pool of their opening game and it only started with 18. I dont know what numbers have been like since though.

EDIT: Although if everyone doesnt go because of this how can it have numbers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Gholimoli wrote:
    i dont want to go there and play and STT if you want i mean so

a new low Gholi :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

musician wrote:
    a new low Gholi :p
    just noticed now ,what a classic...:D
    sometimes i even amaze my self...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭ligger

Thinking of going to the SE on a Wednesday for the 1st time (usually frequent there on Thursdays) Whats the starting stack and clock on Wednesday nite? How many runners usually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

It starts with 3500 chips and 3 or 4 20 minute levels. Topup is 4000 chips and clock 30 mins.

Cheers Ian. Will you be in attendace tonight? I like to give my chips away to people I know..:)

Not tonight. keeping myself fresh for Friday night. Only played a tiny bit online this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

What's happening Friday night? (been away for the past week and a half so out of the loop) - I think I'll hit the SE tonight, as I don't want to play an STT in Silks either and might wait a few weeks before showing up. I hear what rounders123 is saying too, it is precisely because of attitudes like this that new places find it hard to get their tournies off the ground!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

ionapaul wrote:
    What's happening Friday night? (been away for the past week and a half so out of the loop) - I think I'll hit the SE tonight, as I don't want to play an STT in Silks either and might wait a few weeks before showing up. I hear what rounders123 is saying too, it is precisely because of attitudes like this that new places find it hard to get their tournies off the ground!

Ditto. I'll see yourself and rounders at the SE tonight Paul. I'm running cold for the last fortnight so I need to get back in there and turn things around!! ;)

P.S. I'm not too worried about Silks either they haven't been too worried about poker tournies for the last two years so why should I go running to them now they decide to run a few now?? I can't be bought for a few cheap BBQ chicken nuggets unlike rounders :p (of course this is a total lie!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

barring another couch/boring soccer match on tv/failing asleep mishap ill see ye there.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Not tonight. keeping myself fresh for Friday night. Only played a tiny bit online this week.

Did you pick up something in Thailand??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

hi everyone i think silks is going to get a good turn out tonite in fact i know it will be so please make it better olly ionapaul and rounders. ive talked to about 8 people 2 day who are for sure going. com on give them a bit off support 1 good week there will see a great game started for when ever people want on a wednesday. ive also texted a few to say whats happening.

Washout wrote:
    barring another couch/boring soccer match on tv/failing asleep mishap ill see ye there.

Thats an ocallagh trait, you gotta kick it!.

ollyk1, maybe i'll donate some more chips to you tonite in AQo v AQs fashion again!. I'll See you fellahs down the pit later on for some hot scalping action!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

ligger wrote:

Nothing he didn't have before....

pppspecial wrote:
    hi everyone i think silks is going to get a good turn out tonite in fact i know it will be so please make it better olly ionapaul and rounders. ive talked to about 8 people 2 day who are for sure going. com on give them a bit off support 1 good week there will see a great game started for when ever people want on a wednesday. ive also texted a few to say whats happening.

I hope it does get numbers tonite and i will be back to silks very soon but ive made commitments for tonite for the S.E already. I hope i wasnt coming across like i was knocking the place in other posts. There was a pretty good atmosphere when i was there last.

im torne between SE and Silk.
    i know the one in SE is a good one with good turn out .
    the on in Silk sounds great but seen as every one seem to be going to SE i'm still not too sure about it.
    Hmmmm though spot this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

not at all chief sounds good tell me the sat for barcelona is on when in the se?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

For those of us in Galway and it's surrounds, there is the Boyle Sports/ Poker Events gig in the Westwood @8.00pm, Freeroll @ 7:00. €90 Double chance freeze out).

Early bird chips I assume before 7:45.....

pppspecial wrote:
    not at all chief sounds good tell me the sat for barcelona is on when in the se?

Tue Aug 29th 8.30pm. E150 with1 rebuy or top-up. Two E7,500 packages Guaranteed!. Satellites from 6pm onwards on the day.

ligger wrote:

Bubbling after six and a half hours of play on Sunday night, after making a horrific laydown that would have given me the chip lead with 12 left (9 getting paid) followed by pushing preflop with 88 after the CL limped (instead of a stop and go on an A/K less board) kinda killed my motivation for poker this week.

Added to this is 30th and 33rd in 2 Tribeca MTTs on Monday (27 getting paid)
    Same night playing an O8 STT. I have 9.5k of 12k chips in play 3 handed. I somehow come 3rd. I played 2 of 2/4 NLHE and made back my MTT buyins and a little more, so that's enough for me. Will play online tomorrow evening.

HalFBaked is also booked in for his weekly pool lesson....

pokah giveth and pokah taketh away.

I managed to luckbox my way to 3rd for €530 giving Ionapaul a nice kick in the stones by hitting a gutshot on the river along the way. Don't mess with me Paul Wednesday night in the SE is all about me!! ;)

Eddie the eagle and Paul (with the hat) were the final two.

Washout was the bubble boy and Ionapaul finished 4th.

Rounders amd Gholi didn't get going at all by the sounds of it.

you made the great comeback on the FT...that A7 V Myles KK....unbeliveable.

best hand i saw all night was AK.

with two tables left 7 handed our table had an average of about 12k i would say....didnt see the flop for the best part of forty minutes. i ended up going to FT with 12k.

i couldnt do anything as eddie was raising constantly to my right....and i have nothing but air everytime....was getting rather frustrated and almost pushed UTG with T4 i tihnk you had QQ that hand oli and what comes on the flop T4x :-(.

ahhh well embrace the bubble they say.

Well done olly and Paul.

I was ok at the break with just over 11k. The hand i went out on.
    A guy on my right who had just joined the table limps behind another limper. I decide to limp along with KQo and the two in the blinds are in. Flop JQK. Check, Check and i go all in. Everyone folds to the guy on my right who was second to limp and he insta calls. I know im beat so ask him has he got A10 and he says "No". Maybe theres hope yet!? I turn up my hand thinking/hoping perhaps he has a pair and a draw. So what was the insta call about? when he turned over QQ!. Long sigh.

On my way into work this morning im explaining the hand to my brother who knows nothing about poker more than AA beats KK etc about the perils of limping with QQ. He said "Jaysus thats like a sniper on the hill doing things right then getting gunned down on his day off by a gang banger working the local 7/11"!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

He said "Jaysus thats like a sniper on the hill doing things right then getting gunned down on his day off by a gang banger working the local 7/11"!.

who needs Sklansky anyway?? :)

i got a bad beat about third hand of the game which resulted both in me losing my stack and tilting after that.
    4 limpers and i raise with As Kh on the BB and make it 400.(blinds 25/50).
    flop comes 3 hearts with the A of hearts.
    now i know from the past this dude likes to bluff on scary flops and take ppl off hands to i check it to him.
    he bets 500 and i call.
    turn is a 6 and i check and he bets 1K and i think about it and call.
    river is a 4 not heart and i move in for my last 1.3K and he calls and shows 44.
    i was tilting after this.

Gholimoli wrote:
    i got a bad beat about third hand of the game which resulted both in me losing my stack and tilting after that.
    4 limpers and i raise with As Kh on the BB and make it 400.(blinds 25/50).
    flop comes 3 hearts with the A of hearts.
    now i know from the past this dude likes to bluff on scary flops and take ppl off hands to i check it to him.
    he bets 500 and i call.
    turn is a 6 and i check and he bets 1K and i think about it and call.
    river is a 4 not heart and i move in for my last 1.3K and he calls and shows 44.
    i was tilting after this.

LOL.

Many runners last night?

42 with 38 rebuys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

anyone got a report from Silks last night?

good turnout or was it effectively a STT as Gholi feared?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

Washout wrote:
    i couldnt do anything as eddie was raising constantly to my right....and i have nothing but air everytime....was getting rather frustrated and almost pushed UTG with T4 i think you had QQ that hand oli and what comes on the flop T4x :-(.

ahhh well embrace the bubble they say.

I didn't get frustrated, but I did get a little tilted and it cost me my tourney. Eddie was raising twice a round and he was showing quite a few good hands, but mixed in there was KJ and A rag. I picked up AJ in the SB and he raised again in ep, I came over the top AI. Unfortunately, for only a microsecond did I think of mucking or believe he had another good hand. Of course he had AK. I know it IS a bad call, but I felt that A) Someone had to make a stand against him and B) It just seemed so improbable that he could keep getting good hand after good hand.

GJ Olly

I didn't get frustrated, but I did get a little tilted and it cost me my tourney. Eddie was raising twice a round and he was showing quite a few good hands, but mixed in there was KJ and A rag. I picked up AJ in the SB and he raised again in ep, I came over the top AI. Unfortunately, for only a microsecond did I think of mucking or believe he had another good hand. Of course he had AK. I know it IS a bad call, but I felt that A) Someone had to make a stand against him and B) It just seemed so improbable that he could keep getting good hand after good hand.

GJ Olly

Oh your poker&pints, i suspected so!. I was on eddie's left.
    Just wondered why you came out betting so much on that KK6 flop that ionapaul had? You forked yourself up in that hand, needlessly committing yourself with such a big flop bet imo?.

I check-raised three or four times last night, really overdid it and was a little surprised it kept working on the final table (Paul with the hat doubled me up needlessly I thought when we were down to 4 and I was in trouble - I had KJ UTG and decided just to limp [blinds 2k/4k], as I was slightly worried about Eddie's giant stack on the small blind, Paul raised to 15k on the button, Eddie and Olly folded. I thought for a long while about folding or pushing, had about 40k behind, knew he liked his button raises, decided to flat call and push on a raggy flop and check-raise if I hit it. Flop comes J77, I check, he bets another 15k, I insta-push my 30k or so. Now at this point I think Eddie and Olly would have folded, despite the odds offered, as they had seen my move a few times that night, Eddie doubling me up at least twice. But Paul called with 98o and gave me a very decent stack)
    Quite disappointed about going out in 4th to a fairly bad beat inflicted by an infamous jambag - the final table was quite tough compared to usual in there, and of the final 4 the only person I thought I had fully figured out was Paul with the hat, Eddie is easier to read pre-flop but can mix it up with the best of them post-flop these days, Olly is a riddle wrapped in an enigma! I got $340 for 4th (including scalps) so although disappointing was an ok nights work.

BTW do yourself a favour and dont anyone pre-register if you are going to be late to a S.E tournament. Your stack will be ante'd away but if you swagger in an hour or so late without pre-registering you join the table with full stack in hand. This was confirmed to me by the TD when i queried it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

Oh your poker&pints, i suspected so!. I was on eddie's left.
    Just wondered why you came out betting so much on that KK6 flop that ionapaul had? You forked yourself up in that hand, needlessly committing yourself with such a big flop bet imo?.

LOL:D

Oh boy, let me see if I can even remotely explain. The table dynamics were quite odd and I felt that I needed to mix it up. So I raised. Then got a few callers. Flop comes KK6 and its checked around. So i figured if I put in a smallish bet, no one goes away and if someone had the K they wouldn't come over the top to a small bet anyways, looking to extract more later. Also, preflop with a rebuy still available I didn't think someone would slowplay AK or even KQ, KJ in a raised pot. So I made a big bet thinking that if someone had anything other than the K, they have to fold. I called because it was only a few chips.

Now that being said...there may have been a ton of faulty logic there...but I was also in a fairly bad mood last nite and wasn't going to play like a weak little girl at any point. I have had a bad run primarily because of a lack of agression on my part.

Anyhows I recovered and had a good tourney...should have been better, but I did cheer up by the end of the nite. :)

ionapaul wrote:
    Quite disappointed about going out in 4th to a fairly bad beat inflicted by an infamous jambag - the final table was quite tough compared to usual in there, and of the final 4 the only person I thought I had fully figured out was Paul with the hat, Eddie is easier to read pre-flop but can mix it up with the best of them post-flop these days, Olly is a riddle wrapped in an enigma! I got $340 for 4th (including scalps) so although disappointing was an ok nights work.

LOL I didn't do nothing wrong but the way the cards came down was truly painful and I almost felt bad Paul! ;)

I played a few hands trappy to try and catch Paul and Eddie but not once did it work out so I had to resort to Plan B. I missed a crucial flop after I raised with 33 and Paul outflopped me and went all-in over my C bet so I had to lay down the hand. After that I was once again a member of shortsville and having to resort to open pushing.

I ran my K6 sooted into K8 sooted and finally miracles did not happen.

5 itm finishes in the last 6 wednesday games. Can we not just play this game every night?? :p

I really hope they run a league or something - you would have a nice lead in the Wednesday nights so far! It is amazing the amount of play left when this tournament gets down to the last 5 or 6, unless someone has all the chips locked up in their stack, a la Eddie at certain points! I love to play it every night - am half thinking of hitting the SE again tonight, but it is a real crapshoot in comparison.
    It was funny to hear him explain his puzzlement at his king-rag reputation - I distinctly remember him nailing a few unfortunately souls in January at the City West side event by hitting wonder flops with his king-rag hands :)

ionapaul wrote:
    I really hope they run a league or something - you would have a nice lead in the Wednesday nights so far! It is amazing the amount of play left when this tournament gets down to the last 5 or 6, unless someone has all the chips locked up in their stack, a la Eddie at certain points! I love to play it every night - am half thinking of hitting the SE again tonight, but it is a real crapshoot in comparison.
    It was funny to hear him explain his puzzlement at his king-rag reputation - I distinctly remember him nailing a few unfortunately souls in January at the City West side event by hitting wonder flops with his king-rag hands :)

Yeah I tried hard not to look at you at that point or else I'd have split myself laughing.

That's the first time I've played with him for an extended period and he's a nice fella and a decent player.

I was thinking the exact same thing about playing tonight but I know the game will only annoy me after last nights quality. I'm definitely not playing the Fitz game as its a pile of sh1te for the money.

Pity that Silks game isn't on tonight.

Are you going to buy in to the sat next week Paul?

Edit:
    Could always try the €20 FO in the jackpot and take on the students now that would be funny!!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Could always try the €20 FO in the jackpot and take on the students now that would be funny!!!

Hm, that sounds like fighting talk to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

ionapaul wrote:
    It was funny to hear him explain his puzzlement at his king-rag reputation

Eddie the Eagle is on my team for the Citywest tomorrow. Gonna have a word in the captains ear and get him to persuade Eddie to leave his King rag game at home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Didn't enjoy that tourney last night (SE), I've never been so card dead!! Wouldn't be such a problem only I had the biggest fishiest calling station to my left, playing every single hand (I only saw him muck pre flop three times), hitting most flops, calling every re-raise, I could do nothing.

The guy that tilted Gholi, tilted me. I had AQ on a Q high flop with two clubs, he checks I bet 500 (pot), he calls, I put him on a club draw. Turn is a blank, he checks, I push for about 3500. He says, "I'm callin ye buddy, but I'm on a draw". "I know" I said, "I'm tryin to price you out of it".
    "I never give up me draws, no matter what the price" :rolleyes: Don't have to tell you he hit. Still tilted me, even though I want him calling there all the time.

Very funny thing happened at the table last night, a new dealer arrived for the 75/150 level, (big guy with an english accent). I was in mp and was watchin the action as it got to me, UTG limps, +1 folds, +2 limps,dealer turns to guy to my right and says "four fifty", I asked him who raised, he says no one. I was sure I heard 450. Guy to my right limps and dealer looks at me and clear as day says "four fifty", I said "There's been no raise!" "I know, four fifty to call". I asked him what he was talking about, and it was then I realised he had a speech impediment and couldn't prenounce 150, felt a bit bad when the whole table cracked up laughing. Poor guy, should sit that level out.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

anyone got a report from Silks last night?

good turnout or was it effectively a STT as Gholi feared?

I popped into the Fitz at around 3.30am this morning to get some dinner. Had a brief chat with Conor Doyle, he told me he was one of only 4 players to show up for the Silks tourney, can't remember if he said it even went ahead or not.

Quality blog, btw, Stuntman. Keep it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 glenmc

Read the charter.