Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesday

• 22-08-2006 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

Folks

Anybody know what number draws are railside in Bellowstown? Are the high numbers away from the rail or closer to it?

I know logically you would expect the low numbers are close to the rail but some courses its the opposite :confused: So just wanted to check what was what for tomorrow nights racing....cheers :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

The lowest draw numbers have the advantage if I remember correctly, low numbers are on the inside if I remember correctly.

Hopefully the two days up on the hill will be well attended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Alexandrovia is 7/4 on AFAICS. The odds are far too short for me, but Kinane will win. I'll eat my hat, with a side plate of humble pie if he does not.

The one to watch for me is Elhamri in the 2.15. This fillie has been improving race after race and is well priced at 5's in a fairly open race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Hobart wrote:
    Alexandrovia is 7/4 on AFAICS. The odds are far too short for me, but Kinane will win. I'll eat my hat, with a side plate of humble pie if he does not.

The one to watch for me is Elhamri in the 2.15. This fillie has been improving race after race and is well priced at 5's in a fairly open race.

I've taken Alexandrova at 1.67 on betfair. I can't see it being beaten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭oceansize

1.45: York. Bahar Shumaal. Hasn't had much going for him but he seems bred for this kind of ground and will be a decent price for an each way bet. He's sibling Rainbow dash went well in the soft/good ground.

2.50: York. Elusive Dream. Won last time out by around 14Lengths i think. And before that on similar ground to as today. He should be a good enough price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭oceansize

What do you think of Black Rock in the 4.35? Coupla of Classy sprinters in the immediate lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Yeah just had that confirmed, lower the better....there goes my tip for tonight so :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

1.45 - futun
    2.50 - river alhaarth
    3.25 - short skirt / lay alexandrova (ground worry)
    4.15 - elhamri

In fairness Elusive Dream was THE class horse last time out so I wouldnt read too much into that victory. I do think 10/1 is a value price though and I will be having a few euro on the place.

The 4 o clock at York is an interesting one...

Me aul mate Karl Burke has 2 runners in this race, Holdin Foldin and Zanida, the latter has only been out twice but holdin foldin has got a few runs under the belt so has a little more experience.

Very interesting to see that Burke's stable jockey Pat Cosgrave has gone for Zanida out of the two and at 7/1 I think that could be the value bet for this race, I for one wouldnt be backing Smart Instinct at 5/4 to win this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 thardy

The one to watch for me is Elhamri in the 2.15. This fillie has been improving race after race and is well priced at 5's in a fairly open race.[/QUOTE]
    does anyone think the the 6f will be too much for elhamri

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Signatory
    Futon
    Brave Tin Soldier
    Wi Dud

EDIT: I wrote a write up for these but somehow boards shat on it as it was waiting to be posted. I'm not a happy bunny. They're not that original to be honest and for that I apologise but they have decent chances on a fairly tough day's racing. (What day's aren't tough?)

1.45 Kamanda Laugh
    Ran well last time out in it's first effort over this distance. According to the RP it finished a head behind London Express over at Ascot which gives it solid placing claims today.

2.50 Young Mick && Glistening
    So, after watching Young Mick beat Glistening twice my thinking was that to beat Young Mick Glistening needs an extra furlong and it gets it today. Also, they are alot closer on the weights which weighs in Glistening's favour - however, the downside of all of this is that Glistening is untested over this going so only god (and possibly the trainer ) knows how Glistening will handle it today. It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Young Mick and have been following it for a long long time, but watching it defeat Glistening it was obvious that Glistening needed an extra furlong. This is the race of the York festival for me, and providing Glistening can take to the ground then these two should be the two battling it out. My heart says I want Young Mick to win, my head says Glistening so I'm going to dutch on both of them.

3.25 Alexandrova
    Will take all the beating. Ground and trip not an issue. Should win comfortably enough.

4.00 Holdin Foldin

Bellewstown 5.25 Breaker Morant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

My selections for today are:

2.15 Wi dud
    2.50 River alhaarth low weight/like going
    3.25 alexandrova
    4.35 brave tin soldier - only 7/4 but only one of 2 in the race with the benefit of a run

has to be better than yesterday!

SAW WI DUD ON THE DRIFT SO LEFT IT.
    WENT FOR RIVER ALHAARTH WIN AND PUBLIC FORUM E/W IN THE EBOR.

Lads, I tell you. That Emma Spencer on Channel 4 could have my babies any day.
    Nina, if you're reading you have a contender on your hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

suprised no one has mentioned this

York 510
    Buachail Dona WIN
    absolute savage horse, quality. very strong finisher, just failed to get up lto by nk (baulked at start didnt get clr run) expect this to win it.
    only prob is that hes up agaisnt Fantasy Exp and Loch Verdi, both v useful and main danger is FE but having seen BD run twice have to go with the Boy Dona!

+ Breaker Morant has an excellent chance off nice weight in the 525 Bellewstown. (tealeafing from SJ as usual) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

sjones wrote:
    I've taken Alexandrova at 1.67 on betfair. I can't see it being beaten.

Ryan Moore was on ATR a short while ago, he said his ride Algretto will handle the softer ground better than he handles the good to firm and with the exception of his first race over an inadaquate trip hes ran some fine races improving race on race and i think hell go very close today if he improves again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

sjones wrote:
    2.50 Young Mick && Glistening
    So, after watching Young Mick beat Glistening twice my thinking was that to beat Young Mick Glistening needs an extra furlong and it gets it today. Also, they are alot closer on the weights which weighs in Glistening's favour - however, the downside of all of this is that Glistening is untested over this going so only god (and possibly the trainer ) knows how Glistening will handle it today. It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Young Mick and have been following it for a long long time, but watching it defeat Glistening it was obvious that Glistening needed an extra furlong. This is the race of the York festival for me, and providing Glistening can take to the ground then these two should be the two battling it out. My heart says I want Young Mick to win, my head says Glistening so I'm going to dutch on both of them.

Youre thinking on this one is very similar to my own. Young Mick has won a cool 9 races this year, up total 42lbs for this. Isnt proven on the ground, was withdrawn a couple of times already this year over ground concerns but i think another big run is on the cards as hes still improving. Ive backed him e/w.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

3:35 leicester - THE SNATCHER. has a great chance here. won off a similar wieght and in the same class in its last race that he won. ground is different but shouldnt bother too much. the horse he beat went on to win its next class 3 race off top weight.7/1

york 2:15 - ELHAMNI - won its last race on soft ground. 6 furlongs is ideal. 7/2

york 3:25 - SHORT SKIRT - i know it was back in may but he beat alexandrova in pretty much the exact same conditions and off equal weight. 9/2

york 4:00 - SMART INSTINCT- should easily win - 6/4

What a finish!

Mudawin...eh!! Who is he/she 100/1??? Great finish, hard lines on the Dutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

young mick 3rd with mudawin 100/1 winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,179 ✭✭✭samo

Didnt see that coming!! Still least Young Mick was 3rd!

Hobart wrote:
    Mudawin...eh!! Who is he/she 100/1??? Great finish, hard lines on the Dutch.

Great finish indeed. Was sure I had the 1, 2 with 50 yards to go, but Mudawin was closing with every single stride. The dutch was successful with the place betting on betfair. 200 staked with 345 returned. Could have been so much better though!

Well done to Young Mick in fairness. Lots of people saying the ground was against it but it proved otherwise. Rates even higher in my book after that performance. Glistening very unlucky, beaten in the last couple of strides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

i give up

Of course, I'd forgotten you had told me you had done the place and win. I guess, well done then :D .

Sheer class by Alexandrova. That has to be one of the most confident rides I've ever seen, up there with Black Jack Ketchum at Cheltenham.

What a horse and what confidence. She looked as if she did not break into a sweat. First to last in a matter of yards and simply cantered over the line. Respect to Kinane aswell, a beautiful ride. I'll put my hat and humble pie away for another day. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

4.00 York - Holdin Foldin ran a great race at the weekend. I wouldn't say Smart Instinct has this one sewn up. Been an interesting race to see.

Just got Choreography in so I'm not going to chance my arm on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

ouch! well stuffed.

Either something wrong there, or Not For Me is to be noted.

Must be something a miss indeed. Very surprising run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Was tipped in the PP Race Overview which I normally take with a pinch of salt...usually goes with the favs
    Smart Instinct and Holdin Foldin fought out the finish of a conditions race at Ripon last Saturday and if they take part here they will be involved in the finish, however our idea of the winner is Not For Me. Tim Pitt's colt has shown progressive form throughout the summer, landing races at Wolverhampton and Chester, before running well in the Robert Papin in France. This represents a drop in class for this son of Mull Of Kintyre and he should be up to the task. Smart Instinct is unbeaten in two race and comfortably disposed of Holdin Foldin at Ripon. The runner up is three pounds better off and should get a lot closer, but Smart Instinct should again come out on top. Resignation was well fancied for the Supersprint and should appreciate this smaller field, however Not For Me was only beaten three lengths in that Group two contest, and that should be good enough form to win a listed event of this nature.

Holdin Foldin never even got going according to the text comments

Holdin foldin fell out of the stalls and was hanging all over the place in the first 2f and by that time it was too late.

Thought Zanida was going to push the button but was no match for the places.

My old mate Victoria Night runs in Bellewstown in the 625 tonight.
    PJ on board and at 8/1 might be worth a shout for a place in what seems to be a fairly tame affair.

Bad draw though so will defo have her work cut out trying to make up the extra few lengths round the bend.Very similar course to her only previous win (Navan) so I'll stick my neck out and follow her again tonight ;)

Someone give me smelling salts if I even attempt to tip that horse again :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Holy moley jus wathced teh 100-1 winner of the Ebor......how the feck did he do it!!!! WHAT A RACE!!!
    Glistening and Young Mick are class acts. Mudawin will porb never trouble races of that quality again.

plus Glistening was running in different colours to last time, used to run in red with green diamonds(like Herny Cecils colours)