Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Best of The Herald

• 22-08-2006 11:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

So Im in the newsagents the other day, and the main story on the Herald front page is in relation to the woman murdered in North Co. Dublin, the one whos husband has previously admitted hes a prime suspect

Talk of a new tip off?
    An arrest?
    A Garda search for evidence?
    A murder weapon find?

No. Front page news on the Herald is.......well, it turns out that whilst skulking around the dead womans property fishing for news, the best that they could get was to take photos of an ESB bill half hanging out of the letterbox, the name and address of which shows her husband hasnt yet bothered taking her name off the bill as a joint payer.

I can just imagine the scene

Editor "So, whatd you get from your trip to her house?"
    Journo "Ah, there wasnt anything really. Nothing to note, no neighbours in we could talk to, nothing really"
    Editor "Listen son, this paper doesnt give you a tenner in petrol expenses to drive up near the airport and come back with fcuk all. Ill ask you again, whatd you get?
    Journo "Well, Ive some pictures of her ESB bill....."

So, in this vein, whats your favourite Herald story? A few months ago they printed "evidence" that a Liverpool man jailed for an attack somewhere down south was one of the resettled killers of Jamie Bulger (the guy apparently made the claim himself, and was roughly around the age of the killers), but after dropping these hints did they actually follow it up? The guards denied he was one of the killers, did The Herald actually bother either trying to prove the guards wrong or else admit they themselves were wrong? Does anyone else agree that the free morning paper the Herald prints is actually alot better than the one that costs money?

However, possibly my favourite was the claim years ago that Osama Bin Laden had once visited Finglas :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

That piece on the ESB bill is without doubt (in my mind) the biggest non-story I've seen on the front page of an Irish newspaper... it's not even to be compared with complete fabrications, at least they're usually exciting... this is just boring, boring, boring.
    I know it's silly season, but c'mon!

It would be beaten by a piece mentioned in the Mirror today (Eva Longornia eating bread) if only for the fact that The Mirror had the decency to put that inside the paper so readers wouldn't find it until they'd gotten home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It is not often I buy the Herald, but I would agree that Herald AM is probably better. As for Osama visiting Finglas, you'd have to say that if he did, he is one brave man. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Great one again today, a picture of a stunningly beautiful blonde from the Pussycat Dolls holding the Herald aloft with a big smile of those gorgeous straight white teeth.

The headline on the front of the issue she was holding? Couldnt make it all out as it was a bit crumpled, but i saw the words "murder" and "husband" (though i think this referred to the housewife on the southside killed a while back)

Either the Herald hasnt a clue or blondes cant read.