Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Morocco/Tunisia

• 21-08-2006 9:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭

Anyone been to either Morocco or Tunisia? Would they suit three 25 year old guys. Not into the Ibiza style holiday but some good night life would be good. Trying to plan a week in September somewhere. Last minute deal maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Eglinton wrote:
    Anyone been to either Morocco or Tunisia? Would they suit three 25 year old guys. Not into the Ibiza style holiday but some good night life would be good. Trying to plan a week in September somewhere. Last minute deal maybe.

You won't find much alcohol in Tunisia outside of your hotel compound!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Not really a place for three lads. By all accounts it's a great destination for couples/families.

Why not try Nice or somewhere along the Cote d'Azur. There's loads of cheap hotels and plenty of night life, plus it's nothing like Ibiza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Travelled a fair bit and the worst place I ever went was Tunisia.....Kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Dellas

You need to be careful where you go in Tunisia, its very the lo key the nightlife but there is a good nightclub in Sousse which goes on all night. I was there in May. The best resort is the new one called Hammamet Yasmine its got a theme park aswell. There were plenty of things to do but its not really a ''lads'' holiday but its a nice place. The reason why you have so many mixed reports from Tunisia is because each resort is totally different and the majority have nothing outside the hotels. Hammamet Yasmine however is different than the rest and the ONLY one to go to. Its quite cheap too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Been to Tunisia twice. Not really a lads place to go. Very much for couples and families. They've got lovely hotels right on gorgeous beaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Consider Spain outside the resorts. Great nightlife. If you haven't been to Barcelona I would put that top of your list, great food, nightlife, on the beach (and with Tarragona, the old Roman capital, just down the road.) Would still be nice and warm in September. Cheaper than the Cote d'Azur or Italy.

Madrid is also very good but not on the coast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭nellieswellies

Went on a half board last minute jobbie to Tunisia once, it was SH1T!!, no nightlfe, a mate went to a bathroom in a Pizza place and dissapeared for the night and when we found him again he would not speak of what happened.

The beer is muck (that which you can get!)

the half board dinners were rediculous - could'nt recognise the meat. When the holiday rep came to have a meal with us (she came along to see for herself after the complaints) she could not touch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Myself and the gf were in Morocco a couple of years ago. Based in Agadir and did a couple of trips out on buses to other places like Essouira and a couple of touristy folk trips. It wasn't exactly a party kind of place, I'd go there more for the cultural experience.

Agadir has very little going for it, so I'd advise staying away. It was levelled by an earthquake in the 60's and there's not much left of the old style houses, they've all been replaced by soul-less concrete. It's a big fishing town so when the wind changes the smell of fish wafts over the whole place.

Essouira is a great wee town, but we only stayed there for one night. Granted, there was a world music festival on and the atmosphere was great, but I'm not sure if it would have been that good without it.

Never made it to Marrakech but if I ever go back, that destination number 1.

Hope that helps.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Was in Tunisia last year Sept with wife.We stayed in Port el Kantoui.On the plus side the weather was good, but that was about all.The food and booze were terrible.