Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry V. Cork

• 21-08-2006 7:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭

Good day at the office for the Kingdom of Ciar

Like a shag with a tinker - it aint pretty but you would take it anyway!

Congrats to the Cork people. They probably figured that it all sucked yesterday but they are a coming team, this year and last only two big games away from Sam - They also should be solely credited with the ascendancy of Munster football over Ulster football this year. I hope this means something to them, hey were the authors of this revival and credit the Langers for it.

Props to Jack - good call leaving on Mike Frank, could have easily dropped him on last week’s display, especially when considering the sub bench he has.
    Mike Frank responded to the vote of confidence and credit both.

Another good day at the office for Star – learned a bit about himself yesterday, still building and not a bad way to go into an All Ireland Final.

What about Paul Galvin, should he be given a break, possibly swapped out for his club mate Eamon Fitz. - has he made himself a target man and is he worth the risk of leaving him on and possible facing the final with 14 men for part of the game... . ..

The thing I am most happy about yesterday was Shemo’s Man of the Match award from the Sunday game. This has to be near his swansong and knowing how he feels about the Red jersey, it has to be giving him that warm fuzzy feeling inside.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Like a shag with a tinker - it aint pretty but you would take it anyway!

Well maybe in Kerry you would take it!

At the end of the day the Cork forwards werent good enough and the loss of Canty was huge. With him in the team it would have been a different story IMO.

Anyway Cork's eyes are on Liam McCarthy. Here we go three in a Row!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Donaghy was not as effective as he was in hsi previous two games. They tried sending in a few early balls into him and he only had some success. It seemed early on that Kerry were trying to get a goal. At that point Cork were going well and taking their points. Kerry stopped their quest for an early goal and then they came into the game.

The Cork forwards showed some inexperience in the second half by going for goals when there were points on offer. Ulster counties may be out of the championship Aido C, but Kerry were doing the blanket defence bit that they picked up from Tyrone and Armagh, which made it more difficult for Cork. So you could say that Ulster football is alive and well in the Kingdom. Sam will be staying in the capital though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

jank wrote:
    the loss of Canty was huge. With him in the team it would have been a different story

Ill accept that, but you have to accept that ye might never have beat us in Munster if yer politically connected county board men had not marched in to the appeals and got Lynch off on a technicality. It was criminal that lynch got off simply because he swung and missed Donaghy :confused: , contrasted against the fact that Donaghy was than sent off for nothing :eek: (number evening excercise perhaps?) and than retained his suspension :eek: , it is even more grotesque when you consider he was on the fringes trying to make his place :eek: , completly GUBU when you see what he has done since :eek: .

re: Tinkers - dont knock it unless you have tried it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

How quickly the Kerry fans forget the Dara O'Se red/yellow card in a club game prior to a Munster final a few years ago.

I don't condone what the Cork Co Board did with the Anthony Lynch sending off but Kerry fans shouldn't pontificate on such issues when they have benefitted from something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

As far as i'm concerned drawing and losing to cork was the best thing for kerry. It's what they needed. Sure look at them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

And now that you beat Longford and Armagh and Cork,you're favourites.Lets be honest,it suited Kerry to lose to Cork in the Munster final so that they could take the picturesque view into the final because as they found out last year,its not good to win and not play so many matches against easy teams.

Not blaming Kerry but its a better strategy and you learned from last year.

I am convinced that Tyrone have being doin it for years, going out of Ulster to get the additional game practice against softer teams through the backdoor. Look who knocked them out !

blackbelt wrote:
    And now that you beat Longford and Armagh and Cork,you're favourites.Lets be honest,it suited Kerry to lose to Cork in the Munster final so that they could take the picturesque view into the final because as they found out last year,its not good to win and not play so many matches against easy teams.

Not blaming Kerry but its a better strategy and you learned from last year.

I hope ur not suggesting that Kerry intentionally lost the munster final! if u are then i would say it's fairly hard to stage a draw with a cork team who love beating kerry

Genetically very hard for any Kerryman to throw anything in the face of a red jersey (except maybe up), but It might be an idea next year to throw a bone to the Limerick/Waterford/Tipperary/Clare and take the more productive backdoor route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Aido c wrote:
    Genetically very hard for any Kerryman to throw anything in the face of a red jersey (except maybe up), but It might be an idea next year to throw a bone to the Limerick/Waterford/Tipperary/Clare and take the more productive backdoor route

That's quite possibly the most idiotic thing I have heard in my life! :p

Believe me, you wouldn't be saying that if Cork won the Munster year after year while the Kingdom slummed their way through the back door! I don't think Kerry were that impressive on Sunday to be honest and the more I watch Galvin, the more I'm convinced that despite his obvious talent, he's becoming a bit of a loose cannon and potential liability!

Dear god man wat are you saying, that's an awful idea. This isn't italian football. The problem is that clare/waterford/limerick/tipp are weaker and they need to improve. It would be a joke for munster if the munster champions get destroyed by a backdoor team. Kerry should try every year for munster, you never know when bad times may come around for kerry football.

dcr22B wrote:
    That's quite possibly the most idiotic thing I have heard in my life! :p

This is a theory I have long held, I suspected it last year when Tyrone went out to somebody like Roscommon, they did it agin this year and it bit em in the ass.

No the examples are numerous, it happened Kerry last year. Did it not happen Armagh this year against Kerry?

What about Mayo v Laoise last week, Mayo were anemic after all the time they had off, then in the replay, when there was only a week between games they steamrolled laoise. Match practice beats celebrating provincial finals. It does not pay to win provincials if you sit around for a month afters waiting for the qualifyers to sort themselves out. Tyrone know this

You dont probably have the same issues because there are so many compeditive teams working out of leinster, and Draw's are more the norm than the exception.

If Kerry had beaten Cork easily in the Munser final, they would have went down to Armagh, the match practice, pulling in Donaghy saved them

You had my agreement on the Paul Galvin thing at the very first post.

Still smiling at Dapos comparing the idea to the italian league :D (by extension me to an Italian) Ouch - point taken :)

Aido c wrote:
    This is a theory I have long held, I suspected it last year when Tyrone went out to somebody like Roscommon, they did it agin this year and it bit em in the ass.

Ah.. tyrone did not go out to roscommon last year!! i think ur theory is flawed mainly by a thing called pride. Last year tyrone got a fright against cavan but in the replay they demolished them. The three games they played against armagh were so close i doubt there was a fix involved. This year tyrone just weren't themselves and anyway the first games in a championship can often have favourites getting frights or losing (look at dublin longford this year). I think, no offence intended, u are blinded by the dominance kerry had in munster. I'm sure kerry would of liked to have won four in a row, but the way things turned out the qualifiers can often rejuvenate a team. I know if i found out kerry lost munster on purpose i would not waste my time and money watching them.