Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 1X16 / 1X17 - "Brother's Keeper" / "J-Cat" [* SPOILERS WITHIN *]

• 18-08-2006 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "BROTHER'S KEEPER" / "J-CAT" -

Episode Title: "Brother's Keeper" / "J-Cat"
    Airdate: August 21st 2006

TV.com Summaries:

Brother's Keeper:
    Flashbacks shed light on the past actions that led to the incarceration of Lincoln, Sucre, T-Bag and C-Note. Basis of Michael's ingenious break-out plan are revealed. Dr. Tancredi memorizes how she ended up in Fox River State Penitentiary.

J-Cat:
    Lincoln is worried about Michael's sanity while Michael has trouble remembering some parts of the prison schematics. Sucre has to conceal the hole in the guard's break room. Warden Pope transfers Michael to solitary after he declines his request.

Next Episode: 1X18 - "Bluff" - August 28th 2006

What did you think of "Brother's Keeper" / "J-Cat"? (avg for both) 24 votes

0%
    16%
    LucyBlissEndurance ManRancidmaniac13Umaro 4 votes
    16%
    PacificomurfieTobias Greeshmanpbsuxok1znja4r 4 votes
    33%
    GangstaweemcdCaked KarensqurmdjkeoghJelloBaby4coidi 8 votes
    25%
    BacchusSparkopokerwidowgustavoDMBanditHaven't a Clue 6 votes
    8%
    prospectRIRI 2 votes
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Off on holidays to Barcelona on Sunday morning so have to post this up early.. as i probably won't remember tomorrow.

Enjoy them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 AlexSummers

basquille wrote:
    Off on holidays to Barcelona on Sunday morning so have to post this up early.. as i probably won't remember tomorrow.

Enjoy them!

Enjoy Barcelona Basquille. Its a fantastic city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I've a funny feeling Timberlake's next album is going to be a lot darker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I'll got for a 7 overall. 6 for the 1st and 8 for the 2nd. Thought the first was a little boring, but necessary. The second was up to the usual high standards.
    Had to laugh at Muensch's Carpets. Classic! and the face when Michael went from crazy to sane in about 1/1000th of a second was very slick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Great to see a background story, ala Lost. Really enjoyed that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

First one was poor. As poor an episode as there's been this season. But I was warned by basquille so I was expecting it.

The second one was alright. Can't stand the stupid rapping eejit but Kellerman and the guard fella continue to impress as complete ba5tards. Gave it a 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

im undecided on the first episode it seemed far too lost like for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Great to see a background story, ala Lost. Really enjoyed that!

Actually, I thought the whole Lincoln bumping into Sucre bit was a little too Lost for my liking. Glad they kept the coincidences to just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Thought the backstory was good especially as I misssed the first episode or two :( .. second one was very good though. Had to laugh at T-bag's "taking one for the team" :D and glad to see the little rat f*ck finally got what's coming to him!!

I guessed a few mins before the end that Michael was trying to get into the pscyh ward, but I assumed that was to try and get down into the basement again..didn't see the Haywire bit coming at all! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Can't stand the stupid rapping eejit
    you don't understand him!

Tbag had his moments again in this episode! love him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

totally LMAO at when Bellick sniffed the panties - that's the sickest thing I've seen since the bit in Van Wilder where those posh guys eat the "cream" buns.

Really good double bill tonight. The first episode of flashbacks was well done, and MIKE JONES!!! was in it as well so that's always ace in my book. The second episode kicked ass too, I really had no idea how your man was going to avoid being accused of trying to escape.

XFD @ T-Bag as well, "You dont tell anyone about this!!!" "Take one for the team man!"

But omfg, when Bellick sniffed that panty hahaahhaha oh gawd. SO brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

I liked the backstory. Michael was a bit of a prick, the doc a junkie and the army guy is not as bad as I thought. And as far as T-Bag goes, I shivered when I saw him at the door. He has to be the creepiest looking ****er. That poor woman better move or hopefully he will meet a very slow painful end before he reaches her, if they ever bloody get out. The title of season 2 epi 1 kind of gave that away though.

And L.J. what a stupid bollocks. In season 2 is it LJ's escape they are planning. What kind of an idiot would go over there without telling the others. Quite funny when Kellerman said 'It's only you'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

pokerwidow wrote:
    In season 2 is it LJ's escape they are planning.

Are you for Real???? I hope you are just guessing and did not give out a big spoiler!! :mad: :mad:

Not cool man. Not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Very enjoyable, but once again, to much obvious stuff to ignore....

When Bellick searched the room before the carpet was laid... Sucre, was able to blend in his patch job perfectly, in the dark and in a rush, I don't think so!!! Also, if it was only a couple of inched on plywood it would have sounded different when Bellick stepped onto it.

Also, when the Cells are locked, we see that a head count is done, so Sucres name would have been checked off, yet this was not checked when he was found in the Yard!

Stuff like that lets down an otherwise excellent series.

I laughed when Haywire said, "Who are you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Are you for Real???? I hope you are just guessing and did not give out a big spoiler!! :mad: :mad:

what? Read it again, it was said in a type of question "Is it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

most dissapointing double bill so far - not as mad tense as the last few eps.

I enjoyed the first ep but was hoping for some abbruzzi backstory too. No mention of whether he's even still alive or not. Hope he is, he was my fav. Loved seeing t-bag buzzing with the kids! Evil fooker, and that mad evil head on him talking to yer wan through the glass. Deadly. Thought this ep was better than the second

the only bad thing was, that after this, we only got one "prison" episode and it just seemed too short. Not a whole lot happened really. a bit unbelievable that sucre did such a sweet job on the cement. We are so spoiled by RTE having a double bill every week. What would we do if it was only one episode. Lost etc should learn from this. One ep a week is just too little. Prison Break would only be on ep 8 now - back around the riot or something.

Roll on next week - 18 and 19. Does anyone know is the final episode (22) the usual length or feature length, and is it being shown on the 12th sept? (I'm away for 6 months from the 13th).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

Lame attempt at a joke :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭Bacchus

My God that flashback episode was a waste of an hour. The only positive I could find in it was showing how Michael came to the idea of the prison break and the tattoo. Everything else in it sucked. Wow! All these inmates are so nice and misunderstood :rolleyes: I was getting really pissed off when they started giving T-bag some sort of redemption story. Thank God they cut that out sharpish. Completely unnecessary episode revealing nothing of interest (except the Michael stuff) and was very poorly put together. 5/10

Ep 17 was much better, in fact it was great. Cliffhanger after cliffhanger for the last 10-15 minutes. I kept getting up thinking "That's the cliffhanger for the week, time to make a dash for the jacks". Loved Sucre's plan, great twist having him caught and delighted to see someone besides Michael think ahead and do something clever. They're really fecked now though with 2 in solitary and Michael in the Psyche Ward with Haywire having a touch of Amnesia (no doubt Michael will get him off his meds next week). Poor little Tweener though. He's in for some rough lovin :( :eek: Good stuff on the outside too. Linc's son is screwed now. 9/10

Overall 7/10. Ep 17 was fantastic but the flashback episode has been the worst episode of the season for me.

Yeah, the bit where the wigger was locked in the cell with the 7 foot tall tree trunk of a guy. I actually felt a lil sorry for him. But he's a snitch so..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

are these 2 episode repeated anytime on RTE? i was in scotland all week and only just got back..hope i havent missed the repeats too...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

The episodes aren't repeated as far as i know on RTE but they are on UK Gold (sky 109) every sunday from 9 i think it is. its that or 10 not positive so check to be safe.

i enjoyed the episodes. cant wait for next week. the action will really have to spice up as its coming to the end of the season. cant wait.

wonder how long we will have to wait for season 2. it just started there the last day in america. suppose it will be late enought knowing RTE!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

had to rewind to see michael's eyes change in the psyche ward a second time, it was just priceless!

thought the flashback ep was ok, but boring tho, though it filled me in on sum stuff, i think, cos i missed the first 8(i think) episodes
    second one wasnt the best episode so far, but still quite good

6/10 for Brother's Keeper
    7/10 for J-Cat (who's JCat btw? and in an even more stupid question, why do Linc and Michael have different surnames?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

SumGuy wrote:
    (who's JCat btw? and in an even more stupid question, why do Linc and Michael have different surnames?)
    The term "J-Cat" i can answer - it's a prison term describing an inmate who is mentally unstable and needs psychiatric medication.

The reason for the different surnames is Linc got their father's surname, but their father left before little Mikey was born, so Michael got his mother's surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

thanks basquille,
    thats what i would have thought about the surnames, didnt have a clue bout the J-Cat, figured it was someone's name (like T-Bag, C-Note, J-Lo, etc.)