Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traveller Fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Budo.Judo.Kev

is this martial arts or self defense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

Have seen this kind of stuff on the web before, usually combined with an English racism towards the Irish, but take the fear of the dreaded “Bare Knuckle” away, compare it to professionals and it doesn’t hold up to much skill-wise? If it did they would fight professionally! If people paid for this it’s sad. For myself I grew up in Mayo, and this kind of tuff is part of the culture, from the time you were kids, some people might find it barbaric but just think about this… Usually it amounts to two people having issues with each other. Instead of taking a barstool to the confrontation a fight is organized down some back lane. There is honor in this, and there are witnesses who also act as refs to keep things in hand. It’s not about skill and martial prowess but about a grievance. Think about this, when I first moved to Dublin, I was horrified at the cowardice of people in disputes smashing beer glasses into each other, in a bar in Mayo, if someone started swinging fists, no one would bat an eye, (let the lads at it, and sort it out) however if someone smashed a glass into another’s face every man in the place would beat the s**t out of the offender. Which is more honorable, the coward who seeks surprise with a weapon and hopes to cause enough injury to prevent any retaliation, or the man willing to “fight fair” and settle the dispute?
    Just my 2c,

Niall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

a load of mayo lads I knew...all working in building. drank in my local in harolds cross. Belmullet lads. I tell you , they were hardy men! Good Lads...but hardy hardy men!

Drink all day sunday from lunch time to 2am, and be out on a buildings at 7am working like a horse!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

They're a rare breed in Belmullet :)

I've seen plenty of the "tinker fightin" dvds floating around and it's neither clever nor funny to post it on this forum. As said, it's not about martial ability, but settling a score.

I got some of those Traveller Fights DVDs too, they are funny or entertaining to watch for about 10 mins. then it just totally boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

The link isnt working....

But if its Belmullet I will prob know them all.........

If you can't out drink us...........Join Us.....

As the local hotel says

Another World...Another WONDERFUL World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭topdog8

I work with many traveller groups and youths in my line of work u could say i have an easy way in to view there culture which many settled people dont get to see.
    Niall K is right in many respects that sometimes traveller familys have grieveances agianst eachother. But usually these disputes are not sorted out by organised fights its usually the van is loaded up by one family, drive to the other familys site and there is an all out brawl and need i say that its not only bear knuckle these lads use any weapons they can get there hands on..
    Bas Rutten style..

The fights you see here are pretty lame compared to the organised fights that arent filmed where anything goes.
    The fights are mostly for big money ive heard figures between 10k and 60k mental money. Its also about family hirearchy aswell obviously a family of better fighters are more feared and more respected..

And there not Tinker Fights there traveller fights there is a big difference..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

topdog8 wrote:
    And there not Tinker Fights there traveller fights there is a big difference..
    The word tinker comes from the old irish word for traveller Tincéir, so the two are the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I've seen a few DVDs around the place, the funniest one was this massive fat knacker fighting this slight small guy, it went around in (boring) circles until the fat guy got the slight guy into a grapple....and the slight guy bit him on the nipple.

Fat knacker "Ah jaysus! I'm dyin', I'm dyin'!

You'd have to see it...

but I've also seen some more serious fights with two well shaped and decent fighters, but that said, they don't get past the stage of dancing or light jabsmost of the time to be honest...have seen a few where a few nasty shots were landed though and a bit of blood split

HavoK wrote:
    I've seen a few DVDs around the place, the funniest one was this massive fat knacker fighting this slight small guy, it went around in (boring) circles until the fat guy got the slight guy into a grapple....and the slight guy bit him on the nipple.

Fat knacker "Ah jaysus! I'm dyin', I'm dyin'!

You'd have to see it...

but I've also seen some more serious fights with two well shaped and decent fighters, but that said, they don't get past the stage of dancing or light jabsmost of the time to be honest...have seen a few where a few nasty shots were landed though and a bit of blood split

I know this isnt really the place to talk bout this here but havok do you actually know what the term "knacker" means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Seemed like a bit of a tame fight for the reputation bare knuckle boxing has. I only saw yer man land one good punch on the pudgy bloke, the last one. They both seemed rather reluctant to get into the spirit of things in the beginning.

Had to admit, had a cheap laugh at the biteing though. "he bit me tayto!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Wow, this is descending into a wonderful racist discussion. In keeping with it, can I just add that They are everywhere, there goes the neighbourhood, they take our jobs, they're all on the welfare etc etc. :(

we could sit here and argue social policy all day, but at the end of the day travellers are part of our culture and the oldest living part of our culture at that. Prejiduce and racism that comes from settled people not understanding different aspects of the travelling culture, goverment defo needs a reform on social policy. but as that is years away from happening..
    Could people just be sensitve around minorty and ethnic cultures..
    At the end of the day this is a martial arts forum..

I hope your not insinuating that I was being racist, the "he bit me tayto" quote was infact a....wait for it.....joke. I have no problems with the travelling community as long as they dont ask me to pay rediculous amounts of money to build them a brand new house in a better area than I live, or extort money from us all by setting up camp in a public park and start throwing rubbish everywhere.
    Then again thats neither here nor there. Especially considering this isnt even a suitable forum for this kind of discussion.
    bottom line is, I'm not racist....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Are people actually asking how this is related to martial arts?

THEY"RE FIGHTING!

If it was two old Chinese dudes nobody would say a word.

Blackie from the TV series Glenroe was great for the Travellers.

He made travellers look cool, and also how he integrated into local village life.

There is some very tough men in the travelling community, as in the guys that fight in the matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

The noise from the punches at 6:14 and 6:32 made me laugh. Street fighteresque.

Hellm0 wrote:
    I hope your not insinuating that I was being racist, the "he bit me tayto" quote was infact a....wait for it.....joke. bottom line is, I'm not racist....

No man that wasnt a racist comment the term "Knacker"and stuff like that.
    I dont mean to be uptight about it but when u work in the social industry and ur try to stop social exclusion its like all the work you do is for nothing.

No worries, I'm all for social equality.

Blackie from the TV series Glenroe was great for the Travellers.

He made travellers look cool, and also how he integrated into local village life.

There is some very tough men in the travelling community, as in the guys that fight in the matches.

Good observation.. not that i watch Glenroe:) :) that is..
    But if you look for real ambasadors for the travelling community the likes of Martin collins of pavee point etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

topdog8 wrote:
    No man that wasnt a racist comment the term "Knacker"and stuff like that.
    Would you agree that its not racist because they are the same race as us? Discriminatory ... yes, racist ... no.

Also what rules are they fighting by? Takedowns, armbars and chokes out of the question then??

Hellm0 wrote:
    No worries, I'm all for social equality.

Respect. I think you should sign yourself up for voluntary youthwork with young travellers.. LOL :)

kodute wrote:
    Would you agree that its not racist because they are the same race as us? Discriminatory ... yes, racist ... no.

Also what rules are they fighting by? Takedowns, armbars and chokes out of the question then??

well ur right in sense in what ur saying but it is actually deemed cutural racism.

Basically this is just bear knuckle boxing. i stumbled across an organised fight one day in work which there were no rules as such anything went from eye gouging to biting head butting etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Budo.Judo.Kev

Yeah that was me CLive. i know it's fighting. In the same way, I don't think a CCTV capture of a street fight outside a chip shop equals martial arts but may be reelvant to self defense.

Only if i get to show them lady-boys how to fight like a real man.

Hellm0 wrote:
    Only if i get to show them lady-boys how to fight like a real man.

Im sure i could organise that for you if you wanted