Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Rules

• 16-08-2006 2:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭

Preliminary Squad

1. John Galvin - Limerick
    2. Johnny Mc Carthy - Limerick
    3. Gary Hurney - Waterford
    4. Karl O Keefe - Waterford
    5 Mark Brennan - Louth
    6. Kevin O Reilly - Meath
    7. Anthony Moyles - Meath
    8. Joe Sheridan - Meath
    9. Graham Geraghty - Meath
    10. Dermot Early - Kildare
    11. Tom Walsh - Carlow
    12. Brendan Egan - Sligo
    13. Eamonn O Hara - Sligo
    14. Sean Davy - Sligo
    15. Carl Mannion - Roscommon
    16. Seamus O Neill - Roscommon
    17. Michael Walsh - Down
    18. Brendan Coulter - Down
    19. Paddy Bradley - Down
    20. Kevin Mc Cloy - Derry
    21. Fergal Doherty - Derry
    22. Sean Martin Lockhart - Derry
    23. Anthony Gaynor - Cavan
    24. Sean Cavanagh - Tyrone
    25. Stephen O Neill - Tyrone
    26. Conor Gormley - Tyrone
    27. Enda Mc Ginley - Tyrone
    28. Ryan Mc Menamin - Tyrone
    29. Philip Jordan - Tyrone
    30. Conor Whelan - Clare
    31. Kieran Fitzgerald - Galway
    32. Damien Burke - Galway
    33. Joe Bergin - Galway
    34. Dermot Blake - Galway
    35. Niall Mc Namee - Offaly
    36. Karl Slattery - Offaly
    37. Paul Barden - Longford
    38. Brian Cavanagh - Longford
    39. Karl Lacey - Donegal
    40. Kieran Mc Geeney - Armagh
    41. Paul Mc Grane - Armagh
    42. Ronan Clarke - Armagh
    43. Stephen Mc Donnell - Armagh
    44. Ciaran Mc Keever - Armagh

Name your 15 (Including others not here)

1. Cluxton

2. Owens
    3. Bellew
    4. S M Lockhart

5. O Sé
    7. Sean Cavanagh

9. Eamonn O'Hara

11. McDonald
    12. B. Coulter

13. Clarke
    14. Donaghy
    15. Bradley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

6. Brian Cullen

8. Daragh O'Sé :: [trying to not be too biased and put in whelo]

Is Ronan Clark going to play? he said last year he didnt enjoy the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

DUB wrote:
    6. Brian Cullen

8. Daragh O'Sé :: [trying to not be too biased and put in whelo]

Is Ronan Clark going to play? he said last year he didnt enjoy the game.

doh, i knew i missed something obvious. Ciaran should definately be in midfield. Maybe himself and D O'Se in midfield ?

I'd still want Eamonn O'Hara in there, i know a lot of people don't rate him but hes a class act.

I'm surprised Matty Forde isn't included .. well maybe not that surprised.

That'd be a good midfield alright, if Canty gets fit in time you'd have to have him in there as well. I wonder how the aussies would get on with Donaghy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

monosharp wrote:
    I'm surprised Matty Forde isn't included .. well maybe not that surprised.

Well he is over-rated, and they might not have been allowed to include him due to his suspension!

I would have Cullen at centre back, and for me Dara O'Se and Nicholas Murphy would be in midfield!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

How in the hell did Anthony Gaynor get into it?

I would of said James Reilly but Cavan didn't have a good run this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Lemlin wrote:

Its probably because this is only a preliminary squad.

There are a few names I didn't expect to see on that panel (Damien Burke and Diarmuid Blake being 2 of them)

When the All-Ireland a lot of the players in the final will be drafted into the squad at the expense of the players that are already there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

20. Kevin Mc Cloy - Derry

should definitely get in the squad.. and maybe the starting team..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

An interesting squad there. A good mix of experience and new players. After last year, they needed someone to make things a bit tougher. So if Boylan can even bring a fraction of the level of filthy play that his Meath teams always played with, they'll put it up to the Aussies.

Flukey wrote:
    An interesting squad there. A good mix of experience and new players. After last year, they needed someone to make things a bit tougher. So if Boylan can even bring a fraction of the level of filthy play that his Meath teams always played with, they'll put it up to the Aussies.

80's Meath type filth and the Austrailians will be declaring a national day of mourning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Yeah, no messing please this year.

This is a team to play the Aussies - its not an allstar team so dont be just filling it out with good GAA footballers.

Lets get the muckers on the case, Gooch, Mike frank, take the winter off, forget about it. I think we should find that old Garda admissions book, nobody less than 5'-10''

There is no suprises as to what we will be up against, no handy forwards - mobalize the men from the midlands and the north - its war

Aido c wrote:
    Yeah, no messing please this year.

This is a team to play the Aussies - its not an allstar team so dont be just filling it out with good GAA footballers.

Lets get the muckers on the case, Gooch, Mike frank, take the winter off, forget about it. I think we should find that old Garda admissions book, nobody less than 5'-10''

There is no suprises as to what we will be up against, no handy forwards - mobalize the men from the midlands and the north - its war

Lads, any chance of getting some Rugby players who also partake/partook in GAA ? Paul O'Connell was a GAA player wasn't he ? And Denis Leamy.

Not talking about a lot of them but maybe a couple to sure up midfield.

yerman eric miller came on for boden the other day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Anyone planning to go to the matches this year?
    A bit of advice if your going to the one in Salthill
    1)arrive by either boat into Galway Bay or parachute onto the field itself
    2)arrive at the ground at least an hour early to avoid the crush at the turnstiles (or just break down the gate like the Westmeath/Galway game and get in free)
    3)bring a wind break (a large friend or an Aussie should to the job)

If everybody takes these few simple pieces of advice a good day out for everyone should be ensued and traffic jams kept to a minimum (ie. ~4 hours):p :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Aido c wrote:

qft.

lmao. :v:

I won't be in Salthill, but I do plan to go to the Croke Park game.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Lemlin wrote:
    Because Gaynor is the right man to deal with the Aussies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Lad's what dates are the international rules on this year and are they held in croke park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Because Gaynor is the right man to deal with the Aussies. :D

What? You mean a footballer with a lot of talent who wastes it by getting endless bans and missing important games.

Lemlin wrote:
    What? You mean a footballer with a lot of talent who wastes it by getting endless bans and missing important games.
    Yes. He gets stuck in, that is what Ireland needs. He should cop on a bit for both Cavan and Ballinagh but there is no doubt that he has the physique to take the game to the Aussies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

In fairness, i would agree with the general idea of forgetting about trying to beat the Aussies by playing ball, beat them by sending out some big players who are not afraid of a scrap. Thats what they do to us and a player like Gooch would not stand a chance when some 6 foot 5 inch Aussie is out to floor him. Send in the big boys and hammer them as hard as they do to us.

PS. Im gonna be in Aus for this, odds on i make some sort of "You Dirty Aussie....." comment at the TV after some around the neck tackle and i end up unconscious in an alley ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

DUB wrote:
    yerman eric miller came on for boden the other day
    Indeed he did. Throw a few people like Roy Keane and Damien Dempsey also for the hardness factor and i think we have a shot this year :) Stephen Collins and Michael Caruth could also do us some good i think. Once they have put a few dents in the Oz players, sub em off and bring on the footballers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭GreenDoor

Forget about winning. Pick the dirtiest team possible. I'm not talking about a team that will stand up to the Aussies, I'm talking about a traditional Irish team that will start the fight.

That may sound bad but the Aussies are coming here to kick the sh** out of the small Irish players and gloat about it. Lets pick a traditional Irish team to restore some pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Ive been to the last 2, 2 years ago in Croker and the 2nd game last year in Melbourne and they fooked up not putting Kenneley into the team. He should have been there just for his knowledge of the aussies if nothing else.

I also note he is not in the preliminary panel above. Whelan although the best fielder of the ball out there has passed up the international team for the past 3 tests so one would assume he will not take it up this year either. Yes I agree BC for the #6 jersey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭observer

Gaynor from cavan should be in cos he loves the physical battle! tough as boots he is and will not cry off!

Now all we need is Trevor Crowe to come back... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭GreenDoor

Most of the team should be made up of midfield players.

Did anyone see Seán Boylan on the Sunday game tonight? They showed some of the nasty stuff from last year. It was funny watching him saying there was no place for the tactics like that in the game, when the Meath teams he sent out over the years would make those guys look like angels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

monosharp wrote:
    Lads, any chance of getting some Rugby players who also partake/partook in GAA ? Paul O'Connell was a GAA player wasn't he ? And Denis Leamy.

Let’s go the whole hog, who's that paddy who knocked out Tyson, Kevin McBride.

Bring Collins and Carruth out of retirement. Where did Andy lee go?

Was anybody down in Puck Fair, did ye see any bare knuckled boxers from our friends in the travelling community - sign em up.

Come back Francie Barrett - all is forgiven, who is that pint sized Dublin boxer that keeps winning all his fights, we will use him as bait, they will never catch him.

Don’t mean to over react, but I saw the clips again on the Sunday game last night and started getting flashbacks. :eek: