Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin SFC

• 16-08-2006 2:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭

Well lads, what do ou think of the draw? Some seriously juicy matchups there. Vins v Brigids, Crokes v Boden stand out ...

[from hill16]

Draw: Dublin SFC fourth round

The fourth round draw of the Dublin SFC, which took place in Parnell Park on Monday night, has pitted reigning champions Kilmacud Crokes against southside rivals Ballyboden St Enda's.

Current Leinster club champions Crokes are aiming for a three in-a-row of Dublin SFC titles, champions prior to them, St Brigid's drew St Vincent's.

Na Fianna, the last club to achieve the three in-a-row (1999-2001) will face Ballymun Kickhams.

The matches are scheduled to take place on the week ending September 24 but are subject to change depending on Dublin's participation in the All-Ireland SFC series.

DUBLIN SFC 2006 FOURTH ROUND DRAW
    St Jude's v O'Toole's
    St Brigid's v St Vincent's
    St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh v Ballinteer St John's
    Ballyboden St Enda's v Kilmacud Crokes
    UCD v St Mary's, Saggart
    Round Towers, Clondalkin v Erins Isle
    Ballymun Kickhams v Na Fianna
    Raheny v Lucan

Dates - Fourth round: Week ending Sept 24, Quarter-finals: Week ending Oct 8, Semi-finals: Week ending Oct 22, Final: October 29.

DUBLIN SFC RELEGATION DRAW
    Clontarf v St Brigid's 'B'
    Trinity Gaels v Nh Barrog

Dates: Week ending September 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

No takers? ...

Here's my predictions anyways:

St Jude's v O'Toole's ::> Judes
    St Brigid's v St Vincent's ::> Brigids
    St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh v Ballinteer St John's ::> Plunkets
    Ballyboden St Enda's v Kilmacud Crokes ::> Crokes
    UCD v St Mary's, Saggart ::> Mary's
    Round Towers, Clondalkin v Erins Isle ::> Towers
    Ballymun Kickhams v Na Fianna ::> Fianna
    Raheny v Lucan ::> Raheny

Brigids - Vins should be a belter, could go either way
    Crokes will have to be on top form to beat Boden as well
    Ranehy might juist shade Lucan
    Na Fianna v the Mun will be close as well

Anyone know which games are on in PP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

What is this competition you talk about involving Dublin teams?

Where can I get tickets for the All Ireland, I'm a hardcore fan, I go ever summer yada yada!

On a more serious note I think the level of interest shown in this thread backs up a lot of the points people have made in other threads about 'Dublin GAA' and fairweather supporters. A debate about tickets seems to get more opinions than the actual club championship.

Anyhow Crokes should win again this year.

True enough, some great matches ahead and you'd have a choice of seats in the stand in Parnell Park for a double header ...

Crokes are the bookies favorites alright, they'll take some stopping but there's a couple of teams out there that could take them.

I see B.Brogan scored 2-5 in the AFL2 last night. He's some prospect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Im a boden man, pretty awful draw really. I cant see them turning over Crokes unless all 15 are on top form. Stranger things have happened tho i suppose. Brigids V Vincents will be an interesting one tho. I think Vincents will come close at least in that one and it should make for a cracking match.

I hear Hiney is back hurling for yez after his eye problem, great news for the lad and dublin, very good hurler.

On paper Crokes look very strong, seem to have got over their injury problems that saw them lose earlier [to towers wasnt it?]

Brigids - Vins is probably the pick of the round alright, looking forward to seeing yerman connolly again, he's some talent [in both codes]

Its great news that he is recovering from that alright. It looked like a horrific injury at the time and with such a future in front of him it would have been a shame if it ended his playing career. On paper, Crokes should be too strong but it all depends. Boden need to be more orginised and be on great form to contest that one but its possible. Vinnys V Brigids will indeed be a good un.

PS. I just figured how to add a photo to the sig so Pillars the man for my posts :D

He is still only 22-23 isnt he? It'd be great to see him back on the Dublin panel, at that age he'd be considered a seasoned pro on the Dublin hurling panel!

As for the SHC, anyone know when the next round is? Hill16 seems to cover the football grand but as ever hurling gets little or no attention.

Some fixtures for Round 4 of the SHC:

SHC Rnd 4 O Toole Park : Lucan Sarfields v Faughs 22.08.06 Tues 19:15
    SHC Rnd 4 NA : Bye v Cuala 22.08.06 Tues 19:15
    SHC Rnd 4 Parnell Park : Craobh Chiarain v Ballyboden St Endas 22.08.06 Tues 19:15
    SHC Rnd 4 Broomfield : St Vincents v St Brigids 22.08.06 Tues 19:15
    SHC Rnd 4 Kiltipper Road : Kilmacud Crokes v Commercials 22.08.06 Tues 19:15
    SHC Rnd 4 Pairc Nh Uinsionn : O Tooles v Naomh Mearnog 22.08.06 Tues 19:15

Some fixtures for Round 5 of the SHC:

SHC Rnd 5 O Toole Park : Commercials v St Vincents 26.08.06 Sat 14:00
    SHC Rnd 5 Parnell Park : St Brigids v O Tooles 26.08.06 Sat 15:00
    SHC Rnd 5 O Toole Park : Naomh Mearnog v Kilmacud Crokes 26.08.06 Sat 15:30
    SHC Rnd 5 Parnell Park : Faughs v Craobh Chiarain 26.08.06 Sat 16:30
    SHC Rnd 5 O Toole Park : Cuala v Lucan Sarsfields 26.08.06 Sat 17:00

DUB wrote:
    He is still only 22-23 isnt he? It'd be great to see him back on the Dublin panel, at that age he'd be considered a seasoned pro on the Dublin hurling panel!

As for the SHC, anyone know when the next round is? Hill16 seems to cover the football grand but as ever hurling gets little or no attention.
    He would be 23 i think. He was in the team below me and im 24 so that would be about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

St Jude's v O'Toole's :: Judes
    St Brigid's v St Vincent's :: Brigids
    St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh v Ballinteer St John's :: Plunkets
    Ballyboden St Enda's v Kilmacud Crokes :: Crokes
    UCD v St Mary's, Saggart ::> the intercounty team
    Round Towers, Clondalkin v Erins Isle :: Towers
    Ballymun Kickhams v Na Fianna :: Fianna
    Raheny v Lucan :: Raheny

HC Rnd 4 O Toole Park : Lucan Sarfields v Faughs 22.08.06 Tues 19:15 <<faughs
    SHC Rnd 4 NA : Bye v Cuala 22.08.06 Tues 19:15 < bye
    SHC Rnd 4 Parnell Park : Craobh Chiarain v Ballyboden St Endas 22.08.06 Tues 19:15 << the NS scum
    SHC Rnd 4 Broomfield : St Vincents v St Brigids 22.08.06 Tues 19:15<< vinnys
    SHC Rnd 4 Kiltipper Road : Kilmacud Crokes v Commercials 22.08.06 Tues 19:15 << Crokes
    SHC Rnd 4 Pairc Nh Uinsionn : O Tooles v Naomh Mearnog 22.08.06 Tues 19:15

Some fixtures for Round 5 of the SHC:

SHC Rnd 5 O Toole Park : Commercials v St Vincents 26.08.06 Sat 14:00<<vinnys
    SHC Rnd 5 Parnell Park : St Brigids v O Tooles 26.08.06 Sat 15:00 << o tooles
    SHC Rnd 5 O Toole Park : Naomh Mearnog v Kilmacud Crokes 26.08.06 Sat <<crokes
    SHC Rnd 5 Parnell Park : Faughs v Craobh Chiarain 26.08.06 Sat 16:30 << the NS scum
    SHC Rnd 5 O Toole Park : Cuala v Lucan Sarsfields 26.08.06 Sat 17:00 <<cuala

You're not a fan of the Craobh then gerire? :D

Think 'Boden can take them this evening.

I hear Keaney will go back hurling with the club if/when the Dubs are out of the football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

DUB wrote:
    I hear Keaney will go back hurling with the club if/when the Dubs are out of the football.

I dont think thats true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Be The Holy

AFAIK, he has been named in the boden senior hurling panel at the beginning of the year. In an interview, he said that he still pucks around every day. Hes the man to lead the hurlers back to the promised land. Far better hurler than a footballer.

Bluetonic wrote:
    On a more serious note I think the level of interest shown in this thread backs up a lot of the points people have made in other threads about 'Dublin GAA' and fairweather supporters. A debate about tickets seems to get more opinions than the actual club championship.

Yea, it's shame more of our summer fans don't go along to club championship games. even if your not following your club, there's often great games of football and it's great to see the dublin panel members up against each other. Setanta televised some of it one time i wonder what happened to their coverage, i think it could do with more promotion around the place by the DCB.

AFAIK, he has been named in the boden senior hurling panel at the beginning of the year. In an interview, he said that he still pucks around every day. Hes the man to lead the hurlers back to the promised land. Far better hurler than a footballer.

He seems to say in every interview that he gives that he intends to go back to the hurling at some stage. Fair play to the guy, it'd be great to have him back hurling, but he'd now be a huge loss to the footballers as well. I can't remember where i heard/read that he would go back with boden after the dubs but he came on as a sub a few times last year after the dubs had been knocked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

He went back last year alright, once the dubs were knocked out of the championship, however he fell out with the hurling management towards the end of last season, and as far as i know they has been no reconciliation

He does indeed puck around regularly, and im sure he'll go back to the hurling eventually, i just cant see it happening for a few years

at the moment he's hell bent on bringing sam home!!!

I didnt realise he fell out with the hurling management at boden, shame that.

I hear boden beat craobh handy enough, anyone go along? How'd Hiney play? Not a sniff of a fixture, let alone results or god forbid a match review like the football gets on hill16 ... :(

from hill16 ...

SHC Round-UP

Faughs guaranteed their senior status next year with a win over Lucan Sarsfields at O'Toole Park last night, 1-17 to 0-19.

Mikey Ryan starred for Faughs and it was his crucial first half goal strike that gave his team a first half lead .

Lucan had made a blistering start but excellent displays from Damien Burke ,Cathal Heavey ,Conor McCann Tom Brady and Chris Bonar ensured Faughs Senior A status for next year .

Ballyboden St Endas had an eight point victory over Craobh Chiarain in Parnell Park ,2-16 to 1-11 with the Boden goals coming courtesy of Emmet Carroll and Paul Ryan .

St Vincents had a brace to spare over St Brigid's , 1-12 to 0-13 . Kilmacud Crokes accounted for Commercials with O'Tooles advancing against Naomh Mearnóg.

St Patrick's Palmerstown were victors against Crumlin by four points in Glenaulin Park.

th groups now stand as:

Group A

Boden 6
    Craobh 4
    Cuala 3
    Faughs 3
    Lucan 0

Group B

O'Tooles 6
    Vins 6
    Brigids 4
    Mearnog 4
    Crokes 4
    Commericals 0

Remaining fixtures...

SHC 5 O Toole Park Commercials St Vincents 26.08.06 Sat 14:00
    SHC 5 Parnell Park St Brigids O Tooles 26.08.06 Sat 15:00
    SHC 5 O Toole Park Naomh Mearnog Kilmacud Crokes 26.08.06 Sat 15:30
    SHC 5 Parnell Park Faughs Craobh Chiarain 26.08.06 Sat 16:30
    SHC 5 O Toole Park Cuala Lucan Sarsfields 26.08.06 Sat 17:00

results from the last round of SHC group matches mean ... [from hill16]

Boden and OTooles into SHC A semis

Its down to the knockout stages of the senior hurling championships following the weekend's action.

In SHC 'A' Ballyboden St Enda's and O'Toole's booked semi-final slots with Craobh Chiarain v Kilmacud Crokes and St Vincent's facing Cuala in the two quarter-finals.

The semi-final line-up is O'Tooles v winner of Chiarains/Crokes and Ballyboden v Vincent's/Cuala.

Eoghan Dunne was the hero for Cuala as his 0-10 helped them to a 1-16 to 1-9 victory over Lucan at O'Toole Park.

Brian Motherway hit two goals for Crokes in their victory over Nh Mearnog, 2-17 to 1-9.

Some great matches ahead ... No better way to get over the disappointment of last sunday then head up to a double headder in parnell park to see members of the present, past and future dublin panels battle it out with their clubs ...

Wed 20.09.06
    Parnell Park: Round Towers C v Erins Isle @19:00
    Parnell Park: St Brigid’s v St Vincent’s @ 20:30

Thur 21.09.06
    Parnell Park: Ballymun Kickhams v Na Fianna @ 19:00
    Parnell Park: St Oliver Plunketts ER v Ballinteer St Johns @20:30

Fri 22.09.06
    Parnell Park: Raheny v Lucan Sarsfields @19:00
    Parnell Park: St Jude’s v O’Tooles @20:30

Sat 23.09.06
    Parnell Park: UCD v St Mary’s @ 15:30
    Parnell Park: Ballyboden St Endas v Kilmacud Crokes @ 17:00

IFC Final @18:30
    Parnell Park:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I am also a 'Boden man. Think I might head along to the match on the 23rd and cheer them on. Very tough draw for them though.

As tricky a draw as they come but should be a cracker of a match, I hear O'Mahony is back in form for yez after his injury nightmares, will be interesting duel between himself and Magee in midfield.

I think Liam Mcbarron is still out injured, with Vaughan possibly out of action and they lost to Towers again last night so i think you've every chance ... well worth the trip across town even if the first match isnt all that enticing, mind you marys beat vins well last night in league so hopefully they'll knock the students out.

Anyone else coming in with predictions?

Wed 20.09.06
    Parnell Park: Round Towers C v Erins Isle @19:00 Towers
    Parnell Park: St Brigid’s v St Vincent’s @ 20:30 Brigids

Thur 21.09.06
    Parnell Park: Ballymun Kickhams v Na Fianna @ 19:00 Fianna
    Parnell Park: St Oliver Plunketts ER v Ballinteer St Johns @20:30 Plunkets

Fri 22.09.06
    Parnell Park: Raheny v Lucan Sarsfields @19:00 Raheny
    Parnell Park: St Jude’s v O’Tooles @20:30 Judes

Sat 23.09.06