Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Fire Brigade Damaged

• 16-08-2006 7:08am
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭

According to the Irish Examiner, another fire brigade was attacked in Ballymun in Dublin last night. A number of windows were broken by rocks thrown while the firefighters were tackling a blaze and the unit is now out of service while being repaired.

Can someone please tell me the sense of attacking a fire brigade? :rolleyes:

I hope the little f*ckers who did this are caught in a blazing sometime and the twats are roasted alive, because the fire brigade that could have saved them is out of service having its windows replaced.

Pure scum :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

I think they should find out which kids did this and put them on a blacklist.
    i.e a "we're not going to help you if your house is on fire" list.

it only needs to happen once before the problem disappears :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Igy wrote:

QFT

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Maybe it was a planned arson attack, and the fire brigade were interfering? U know, it would make more sense to me than some scumbags just seeing a fire engine and thinking, rock, fire engine, rock, fire engine, COOL!
    If they have just randomly started bricking fire-trucks for no reason now as well as everything else, I am opening a hermitage atop a lonely mountain on the exact geographical opposite side of the world from Ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

Maybe it was a planned arson attack, and the fire brigade were interfering?

That would take brains on the little scobes part. I'll join you at the hermitage your proposing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Maybe it was a planned arson attack, and the fire brigade were interfering? U know, it would make more sense to me than some scumbags just seeing a fire engine and thinking, rock, fire engine, rock, fire engine, COOL!
    If they have just randomly started bricking fire-trucks for no reason now as well as everything else, I am opening a hermitage atop a lonely mountain on the exact geographical opposite side of the world from Ballymun.

I'd disagree! Senseless violence seems to attract skobes like flies to s**t! Wasnt there an incident a few years ago where they had to stop the 17 bus going through some areas near the Mun because it was getting bricked constantly- they wouldnt have any reason to brick a bus either it would seem!
    (Or perhaps they were pissed off with Dublin Bus for transporting people through Ballymun when the skobes would rather they walked and could be mugged by the little knackers!) :mad:

:EDIT: Bloody spelling- it's too early to be working!

OK. But Im a smoker, so U might have to take the next nearest cave upwind of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Instead of spending all that money moving, why don't you join me in the purchase of a small tactical nuke?
    That way we don't have to move. Unless of course you live in the vicinity of Ballymun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Seriously, wtf is wrong with these people? This crap seems to be happening more and more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

OK. But Im a smoker, so U might have to take the next nearest cave upwind of me.

It's grand - I smoke too.

However here's an idea.. we both could give up and then purchase an island off kerry, go undercover to all the scobey areas and kidnap the scobes little by little and imprison them on this island. As soon as they start to reproduce take their children off them so that they can't influence them....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Does it happen anywhere else? Or just in Dublin?
    Why someone would want to brick a fire truck, just mad.
    Next - ambulances, postal vans and before you know it, cop cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Ah but lads, these kids have grown up with a disadvantage.. poverty is to blame here :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

These attacks have become more common in the UK of late.

I cannot understand why anyone would want to attack a member of the emergency services.
    Now, not that I for one second condone it, but in the case of the Gardai being attacked in a scummer area, although completely wrong, you could imagine that there may have been some sort of motive.
    But in the case of Fire Brigade and Ambulance it is completely unprovoked and it baffles me as to why anyone would do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Why don't the brigade have a defender squad, blasting the little fukers teeth out with the high powered? :)

{edit} and yes, it has been happening in England and the north for a while, they actually have ads on TV asking people to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2003/05/23/story390984136.asp

This is from as far back as 2003

TWO ambulance men were treated in hospital yesterday after being attacked by a man they were trying to help.

It is the latest in a seemingly increasing phenomenon of attacks on ambulance crews and firefighters while on duty. In the early hours of yesterday, two ambulance workers were attacked after being called to an incident in Rathmines, south Dublin.

They were responding to a case where a man was reported to be unconscious outside a pub. When the crew went to help him, the man lashed out, punching at the medics.

The man was arrested by gardaí and taken into custody. The medics were brought to hospital, where their injuries, thought to be relatively minor, were treated. They were later discharged and placed on sick leave.

Ambulance workers are still on sick leave following another recent incident in Dublin in which a patient took a knife to the medics after discovering he had been brought to hospital.

“I don’t know what the answer is. We’re trying to work hand in hand with management to try and highlight it,” said SIPTU fire brigade convener Tony McDonnell.

“People who assault people in uniform need to be brought to court and punished. Once they start being convicted and that’s published in the papers, people might stop.”

He added: “we are there to help people. To be asked to render assistance and then when you get there to be assaulted, it’s literally a smack in the face.” There are no firm statistics on the actual number of such incidents in the country. But an internal survey in Dublin City Council found that more than eight out of 10 ambulance workers and firefighters had experienced physical violence.

Nine out of 10 said they had been threatened with physical violence and had experienced aggression from others.

The survey was conducted by the Fire Brigade Department in the council late last year and recently compiled.

In Dublin, the fire brigade also operates the emergency ambulance service.

Ambulance crews tend to be more at risk, given they typically operates in twos, while fire crews who operate in greater numbers.

A spokesman said Dublin Fire Brigade is currently drawing up a strategy to deal with the problem.

He said this will involve pursuing attackers in the courts.

Union members have complained at the slow pace of action at management level to tackle the problem.

They want a public campaign spelling out that violence or threats of violence against crews will not be tolerated and will be pursued in the courts.

But you only have to search - http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=FIRE+BRIGADE%2C+AMBULANCE+ATTACKED&meta= - to see that this behaviour is becoming increasinly common

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

There was a stolen car tearing up and down popintree last night as well,so it might hav ebeen connected,little scumbags.There was a way of dealing with that in belfast not too long ago,first time you got a warning,second time you ended up on crutches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

It's only a bit of harmless rioting. Sure what else have the kids to do these days? It's not as if they haven't got much more than we did to keep them occupied. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Fire engine != "fire brigade". Learn this.
    bateman wrote:
    It's only a bit of harmless rioting. Sure what else have the kids to do these days? It's not as if they haven't got much more than we did to keep them occupied.
    Just give them the heroin and speed up the inevitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Bateman wrote:
    It's only a bit of harmless rioting. Sure what else have the kids to do these days? It's not as if they haven't got much more than we did to keep them occupied. :(

Let the kiddies have their fun eh?*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Seems to happen everywhere- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ED7mAeIL3g

I cant understand how knackers can do this when all they're trying to do is help people- hopefully what goes around comes around and they will be the one's in trouble because of mindless vandalism and attacks. Worst thing is it's usually innocents who are on the recieving end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Igy wrote:

Would be a nice idea, but they have to respond to every call; even, for example, from numbers that they have logged as prank callers.

This is not a new thing at all; it's just that the media have started to report it more often. I wouldn't really include Mrs_Doyle's article in it though, as the two attacks mentioned seemed to be by people who were off their tìts, which is an inevitable risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

We need Garda to beat the **** out of one a group of them. You know proper trip to the emergency room (wher they sit on a trolyl for 24 hours before being treated). Send the message out thet bricking a fire engine =Trip to hospital.

I would be in favour of this, but after it happens there would be some aul'wan on the radio giving out about police brutality when it's clearly needed.

As I have read from this and many other threads no one has sympathy for these little ****s.

Communism ftw

Stalin would know what to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

F uck em up..call round to thier houses and batter the crap out of them in front of everybody.Somebody needs to be made an example of,for instance go up to some "senior" scumbag and say:"Listen you little ****head,if anymore anti-social activity occurs in this area we're going to ASSUME it was you who did it and pay you a little visit.If anything happens to me,my friends are going to ASSUME it was youa nd pay you a little visit.If a bird ****s on a car in this area we're going to ASSUME it was you and pay you a little visit.Do you understand the situation of respinsibity that you've been placed in?Good,now go spread the good word!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Caco wrote:
    Seems to happen everywhere- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ED7mAeIL3g

those little ****s deserve a beating

I guess you could instruct the firemen to just not bother anymore.
    Surely if the whole area erupted in a massive fire the problem will eventually solve itself.
    We could also use the charred corpses to feed the poor and homeless.

And it would be better than any fireworks display I have seen in Ireland in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

or maybe just catch the little ****s and fine their parents every time they do something.

Or we could just start arming the emergency services. Screw the "we help anyone, regardless" attitude. Change it to "Yeah we'll help you, but if you piss us off we'll f*ckin shoot you."