Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stopped by Garda

• 11-08-2006 10:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

1st time poster, looking for info.

Did something stupid the other day and ****ting myself whats gonna happen.

I was in a cycle lane on the motorbike when pulled over. Accepted the punishment ( dunno how much the fine will be ) as it was stupidity, but though insured I had no tax. He asked me to produce it at local station, so went to tax office following day and got sorted.

Presented it at station last night, but was informed that my provisional license expired on Tuesday 8/8 ( was stopped Wed morning 9/8 - how unlucky is that ).

Now i'm worried I could get done for no tax and invalid licence and not sure what the penalties could be. Has anyone any ideas?

Many thanks for any info, and if anyone knows anything else I can do please say ( apart from " Dont drive in cycle lane ").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

robbieb wrote:
    1st time poster, looking for info.

Did something stupid the other day and ****ting myself whats gonna happen.

I was in a cycle lane on the motorbike when pulled over. Accepted the punishment ( dunno how much the fine will be ) as it was stupidity, but though insured I had no tax. He asked me to produce it at local station, so went to tax office following day and got sorted.

Presented it at station last night, but was informed that my provisional license expired on Tuesday 8/8 ( was stopped Wed morning 9/8 - how unlucky is that ).

Now i'm worried I could get done for no tax and invalid licence and not sure what the penalties could be. Has anyone any ideas?

Many thanks for any info, and if anyone knows anything else I can do please say ( apart from " Dont drive in cycle lane ").
    Urgh. It's possible that you may get a summons for failing to present your licence at the Garda station. They're usually OK about tax as long as you haven't been blatantly dodging it.

Get a new licence. If you do receive a summons, bring your new licence and your tax disc to the court, and present them to the judge. There's a good chance it'll be struck out.
    In future, keep an eye on your expiry dates! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

No tax and no licence and you were in a bus lane :eek:

I hope you have a thick scull because they're going to throw the book at you.

What were you thinking driving with no tax ? Its not as if its expensive for a bike. The max you have to pay is €67. No excuse really for that.

The licence thing is an easy one to over look. But taking into account all of the offences I would say they might come down a bit heavy on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 robbieb

KTRIC wrote:
    IThe licence thing is an easy one to over look. But taking into account all of the offences I would say they might come down a bit heavy on this one.

what would you mean by heavy - lose license? i dont really care about that or a fine, but jaysus if they were to give me any sort of jail time / suspended sentence i could lose me bloody job.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I'd say you'll get a fine for one of the offences. If it was out by a day it's clearly a sign of someone making an honest mistake. With luck you'll be done for the bikelane and a couple of points. In theory you could loose the licence but if you've a clean record this would be strange. Was the bikelane on the road or a seperate path? Anyhow in future avoid cyclelanes and be a bit more careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

KTRIC wrote:
    No tax and no licence and you were in a bus lane :eek:
    robbieb wrote:
    I was in a cycle lane on the motorbike when pulled over.

Just to clear that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wow, I've been driving without tax for the past 10 months.
    The garage never gave me a form which shows I own it.
    Was told to follow up with Dept of Environment in Shannon

This thread has scared me so I better follow up

OP, all is not lost
    This is a link to a thread to the cycle forum
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054969927&page=2

Here's a quote-I suggest you do some research
    In 1998, the PDs changed the law on cycle tracks so that motorists can use them too.

Remember that when the elections come round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

You'll be grand on the tax front as you presented a valid disk at the Station. (thats one of the things of the 10 day presentaion, its to give you a chance to sort it out)

I'm not to sure on the licance front. You will need to get your new licance. You may be ok with showing them that and saying it was an honest mistake. It was only 1 day. I have been stopped before 20 days after I lost my licance. it had also run out in this time. During this I was trying to sort out getting a new one. The gards where fine with that. AsI still had the garda loss of licance document. Said I could display it once the Tax office pulled the finger out. (they where giving my the run around) I displayed it 20 days later and all was grand.

I guess it all depends on the gard you get really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

KTRIC wrote:

I hope you have a thick scull because they're going to throw the book at you.

The rest of the guys here were right, just get your stuff sorted and go to the station.

Don't mind me, I was just being grumpy and trying to put the sh!ts up you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,477 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If there's a broken white line between the cycle track and the road, then any vehicle can use it legally. It seems not all Gardai know this.

Same applies if there's a broken lane between the cycle track and a bus lane, but then (if the bus lane is during its hours of operation) you could, in theory, be done for driving in the bus lane. This rarely, if ever, happens for motorbikes though, but it is illegal nonetheless.

If you can get all your documentation ASAP and go to the station and apologise profusely to the guard concerned, it may never reach court. If it does reach court and you present all docs. and apologise profusely, you might get let off, or else be asked to pay 50 - 100 euro into the poor box, or you could be convicted and fined (I think) 300 euro or more. Unfortunately district courts are a lottery.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.