Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

really trivial problem!

• 10-08-2006 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭

My sisters and parents have gone away for a few days so I threw a party last night. Anyways in a moment of passion with a girl we spilt some beer on the carpet and its left a stain but I was too drunk at the time to do anything about it. It was about 18 hours later when I noticed the stain.

I tried scrubbing it with hot water but that doesn't seem to have done much. And then I broke my sister's hair-dryer trying to dry it out. I figure there must be some way to get it out!

I know this seems like a sub-par episode of Saved By The Bell but my parents are back tomorrow and they'll be really disappointed with me otherwise!

THANKS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

It was Stella Artois and the carpet is red btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Oxyclean will fix it, mix it with hot water and brush it gently into the carpet. Let it dry and should be ok, give it a going over the hoover also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Nina_Angelica

worst thing to do is *scrub*, you'd want to blot. otherwise, you can ruin the pile of the carpet.

try using a bit of soda water (carbonated water, not sure what ye call it but in canada it's soda water), poor over the affected area and blot. if the stain seems really stubborn, try a bit of baking soda (can buy it in the baking section of the grocery store). sprinkle some of the soda onto the wet area, let it sit for a minute and gently blot at it w/ kitchen towel.

shouldn't be that hard to get it off but not sure because it sat for a bit!

Good luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Dont forget to buy a replacement hairdryer as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Nina_Angelica is right on target! BLOT! Do NOT scrub!
    Keep blotting and blotting to soak it all up.

If her mixture/solution does not work, Baking Soda mixed with a few teaspoons of peroxide and 3 parts water will help.

I am technically stoll grounded for doing the exact same thing when I was 16! Ah, memories! Hee hee!

L4L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

While this may be causing you distress, it is really not a PI.

moved - dudara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Buy a plant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A new carpet will sort the problem, they'll be delighted with you too :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Buy a puppy.

Oh wait maybe that's for this stain:

http://www.snopes.com/risque/kinky/sofa.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Buy a puppy.

Oh wait maybe that's for this stain:

http://www.snopes.com/risque/kinky/sofa.htm

eeeeeewwwwwww :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

I got pollen stains (lily pollen, not just regular pollen) on my beige carpet recently and bought this spray stuff in a white bottle (can't remember the name of it though, sorry) which had a sticker on the gun part saying 'shock -this product actually works' - and indeed it worked a treat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Umaro wrote:
    My sisters and parents have gone away for a few days so I threw a party last night. Anyways in a moment of passion with a girl we spilt some beer on the carpet and its left a stain but I was too drunk at the time to do anything about it. It was about 18 hours later when I noticed the stain.

I tried scrubbing it with hot water but that doesn't seem to have done much. And then I broke my sister's hair-dryer trying to dry it out. I figure there must be some way to get it out!

I know this seems like a sub-par episode of Saved By The Bell but my parents are back tomorrow and they'll be really disappointed with me otherwise!

THANKS!!

Like you give a bollix about the stain, you just wanted to boast about scoring. Theres some type of carpet shampoo you can buy down any supermarket I think, it usually scrubs it out relatively well.

Anyway, it could be worse. Last party I had involved a 300% beer and bacardi and vomit soaked carpet, one broken door, prostitutes (well, slappers, but paid in prostitutes makes it sound classy), skangers looking at premium rate porn websites at 8am, some bitch taking a piss in my mams bedroom (it was her locking herself in there and then accidently breaking the key and crying that she needed out to go the jacks which led to us kicking the door in), and a loaded shotgun getting pulled in the early hours. You kids today dunno how to misuse a free gaff, pfft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

The carpet's gone man, just burn the house down. There'll be no evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Theres some type of carpet shampoo you can buy down any supermarket I think, it usually scrubs it out relatively well.

I dont know if its the same stuff, but I use 1001 in the yellow bottle, never had any problems with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Tha Gopher wrote:
    ... Last party I had involved a 300% beer and bacardi and vomit soaked carpet, one broken door, prost...

where can you get this 300% beer?

dannie want some NOW!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Like you give a bollix about the stain, you just wanted to boast about scoring.
    Was just about to post that!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Give your dad a can when he walks in and nudge him over in the vicinity of the stain. Problem solved.

Spike wrote:
    The carpet's gone man, just burn the house down. There'll be no evidence.

[arnie]"Do it, DOOOOO IIIIITTT!"[/arnie] :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Nina_Angelica

Lust4Life wrote:
    Nina_Angelica is right on target! BLOT! Do NOT scrub!
    Keep blotting and blotting to soak it all up.

If her mixture/solution does not work, Baking Soda mixed with a few teaspoons of peroxide and 3 parts water will help.

I am technically stoll grounded for doing the exact same thing when I was 16! Ah, memories! Hee hee!

L4L

I worked for my father for 5 years :) He's been in the business of 'carpet' for 30 yrs. now. He'd kill me if I didn't at least know a little something!! hhaaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I know of a man named barry scott. he can help you.

cilit bang!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Cillit Bang is for grease!! I don't want to burn a hole in the carpet!

Anyways, I used Oxyclean stuff and its worked a charm and there is no evidence of the stain now. I couldn't pin it on mum or dad because neither of them drink alcohol..

I hope it didn't seem like I was bragging about scoring - she wasn't a looker or anything and we were both in extremely dire states after some absinthe.

Thanks for all helpful comments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Vanish Oxy-action! Trust pink, forget stains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Hooray! Murder and mayhem averted!
    Another successful Happy Ending brought to you by BoardsIE!

L4L

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

BossArky wrote:
    Give your dad a can when he walks in and nudge him over in the vicinity of the stain. Problem solved.

lol :D

Another crisis averted by team Boards.ie! *flexes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

my solution was to nail the cat down over the stain.... but ..schucks .. not necessary now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

If all else fails, get a sharp stanley knife and a steel rule, and cut a square of the carpet around the stain.

Then move your main settee, and underneath where the sun don't shine much place the square of carpet down where it matches the pattern if it is patterned and cut neatly around the square, taking out a replacement piece of the exact same size.

Glue the beer stained one under the couch and glue the cleaner piece from under the couch back where the stain was.

Rotate it to make sure the pattern and pile direction matches, and give it a wee hoover after to fluff up the patch to merge the join.

To avoid the gap becoming revealed after daily hoovering and walking on the patch area, every other month cut a larger patch around the first one and repeat the swapping of cleaner sections from under the couch, until roughly after about after a year, depending on the size of your couch, if you have used up the under-couch area of carpet, then start using more carpet from under the single seaters.

By the time the patch has grown in size to about, 4 square foot and there is no spare carpet left under the couches, offer to decorate the lounge and strategically place a big pot of paint on a step ladder over the patch area, and when someone walks into the lounge when you are painting the ceiling, look surprised and knock the pot of paint off the step ladder.

Try falling off the ladder too to make it look more convincing and pretend to be a little hurt, to tone down the seriousness of it all.

I doubt, whether any blame will be attached to you, especially as you are appearing to be injured and offered to decorate the lounge, which should then result in a new carpet being fitted to replace the tatty old one.

If you are challenged, then to distract attention away from the carpet issue, put your boot through the television and call yer ma a whore, and storm out in a huff.