Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Morning Roll: NOrth Side

• 10-08-2006 3:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭

Sunday 13th August KO Martial Arts Glasnevin
    www.ko-martialarts.com

11 til we're tired and don't wanna train anymore (some say 1 o'clock, some say never)

Involving: Standup clinch and ground open mat.

Usual sunday morning roll buzz. No instruction (apart from peer instruction) and solid sparring.

Loadsa fun and maybe ice cream and pop after ;)

Also Clive'll probably be hanging and will likely have scaldy stories to tell.

All welcome. Bring gumshield and cup if you have em. Also bring boxing gloves, shin pads etc. if thats your kinda thing.

Colum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Hi Colm,

I might see if I can swing a weekend pass from the Missus & come down to get tapped every 5 seconds as usual:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭Miles Long

Crap! I can't go lads my shoulder isn't up to it yet, :( , gutted. Meh, these things happen I guess... Live to fight another day and all that. I've never faught with leg kicks (the only thing being sweeps) or against a Muay Thai orientated person before. It's definatly on my to do list though.

Have a blast! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

cool lads.

Stephen we will see you sunday ;)

Rory you have til Sunday to heal that shoulder. Be there. It'll be a great laugh. You can spar really lightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

columok wrote:
    You can spar really lightly.

Need too ! my right shin still in bitz from saturday, and most of my left side is now purple - feel sore-er now than did last sun/monday

must be age !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Miles Long wrote:
    Crap! I can't go lads my shoulder isn't up to it yet, :( , gutted.
    Excuses excuses. My foot looks like it had a golf ball sewn under the skin and I'll be there. Come along and do what you can, it'll be a laugh.

This is the last Sunday morning MMA session of the summer at KO. There'll be a break until September as real life is intruding again. :mad:

NEWSFLASH: Pro MMA Superstar Clive "The Baaaaaad Man" Staunton has confirmed attendance of this prestigious one of a kind event. Irish MMA Superstar Mick "The King of the Slam" Leonard while remaining mysteriously absent in Korea has offered these choice words about Sunday's upcoming event.

"No comment. Actually I do have a comment. Buy my new Mick Kwon Do 12 DVD set. Also, No comment."

Day after a Dublin game (Hungover! Is it ok to mention GAA on this board or am I banned? :) ) I'll really try to come down, I do want to. K, **** it. I'll be there, and I'll take the abuse if I don't turn up. This way I'll have another reason to go rather than a million not to!

*sits back and ponders what he's just gotton himself into* :(

Well you were grand at the last MMA open mat so this one won't be any different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Miles Long wrote:
    Day after a Dublin game (Hungover! Is it ok to mention GAA on this board or am I banned? :) ) I'll really try to come down, I do want to. K, **** it. I'll be there, and I'll take the abuse if I don't turn up. This way I'll have another reason to go rather than a million not to!

*sits back and ponders what he's just gotton himself into* :(

"Slams on a hangover" ! ouch...

columok wrote:
    Well you were grand at the last MMA open mat so this one won't be any different.

That's precisley what I'm worried about man. But like I said screw it as long as I don't break a finger, (god help the person who breaks my finger before my repeat maths exam, not sure what I'd do to 'em, probably nothing TBH, I'd probably just cry), just make it my left hand. I didn't go for any stand up last time :o so I'll make up for it this time twice over!
    Loz wrote:
    "Slams on a hangover" ! ouch...
    Yeah the last time I got a bad one, I'd have just shut down had I had a hangover! :eek:

Good man Rory...

*changes out of his emporers robe and grabs light sabre* ;)

No come on Barry. There's a boards.ie ban against robe dropping in tandem with sabre grabbing*. :D

*This is not projecting. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Miles Long wrote:
    Day after a Dublin game (Hungover!

That's what scaldy morning roll is all about!

Clive wrote:
    That's what scaldy morning roll is all about!

Nice, Tonight I'll raise a toast to regurgitation of alcohol (God the irony is gonna kill me way before the session) then in the morning I'll raise some toast to rolling session number two. :D

*goes and gets a slice of toast to practice*

I'll go at a reasonable to hell-for-leather pace until one part of me cries "No More" and then I'll bail out the fire exit and kip out for a bit. After all my Doctor did say, "Rory, The best thing for your shoulder is go drinking all day Saturday, get no sleep, eat a Fry (and toast) for brekkie and go for a 2 hour session of MMA on Sunday".

I don't recommend my doctor. :)

Barring any major catastrophes/hangovers, I should be there tomorrow. Will bring a mate too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭topdog8

is there room for 2 more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

topdog8 wrote:
    is there room for 2 more

Knowing Columok it's definitely the more the merrier, I'm sure they'd love to have you along.

Colm

Just want to say thanks to the lads this morn for hosting the open mat session was well worth while look forward to the next one when ur having it.
    Thanks Lads

It was nice talking to you Keith. You're welcome down our way any time for a session!

sweet defo going to take u up on that barry cheers

Yeah session the second down brought on my first submission :) . Again I had a blast and learned alot, a few sweep techniques and what to do if's, good stuff lads, thanks. Guess one can have a hangover and train the next day... Well back to study now. :mad:

BTW thanks for not slamming me that time Keith. That'd've killed me. :eek:

No worrys rory at the end of the day its only a training session and last thing u need is an injury.. but fair play u almost had that triangle locked in tight u seemed to have picked things up very quickly, look forward to rolling with u again

Miles Long wrote:
    Guess one can have a hangover and train the next day...
    Don't know if you'd call what I did training, but I was very surprised at my ability this morning..... considering. Poor Clive though... (stop a sec... *burp*... okay keep going):o

Hey lads,

sorry after all of the arranging that I couldn't make it but because of a death in the family on saturday night I had other commitments. Seems like everyone had a good time. And judging by the "come out drinking with me" phonecall I got from Clive on Saturday night it seems like a typical SMR experience was had by all. :)

Colum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Sorry for your loss Colum & thanks for arranging the session.

Thanks Barry for the venue & showing me that throw, I'll try to catch you with it on Tuesday.

I really enjoyed the session even though I usually tapping faster than Michael Flatley's feet.

It was a good learning experience, keep me posted it there's gonna be anymore.

Sorry to hear that Colum.

Really enjoyed the session. Kev got very good since I last rolled with him. Thanks to Colum for organising and Barry for hosting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Budo.Judo.Kev

Hope things are ok colum. :(

Yeah, Kev is quite good now, he used to be **** :). Then he started training a couple a times a week with Colm and know he owns me. :mad:

Good work.

Thanks lads.

Blinky does indeed rock the casbah...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Budo.Judo.Kev

Yeah. He's obviously been watching a few lee morrison dvds.