Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Independent BMW mechanic - Cork

• 08-08-2006 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭

Could someone in Cork please recommend a good independent BMW mechanic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Give ma a pm xabi and i will give you a number to a guy in Monoghan road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Yup, Stephen Murphy in the Monaghan Road. Stephen is gifted, he's an Ex BMW Mechanic, and Service Manager, worked for 17 years with the garage I'm in. I've recommended him to a few friends, one of whom has a v12 750 and will only Trust Steve with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Yup thats the guy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

Thanks Lads,

Could you PM his number to me please?

X.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Not a Cork related quesiton specificaly, but in general, do independent BMW mechanics follow Inspection Service guidelines if you ask for them, ie book it in and ask for an Inspection II , rather than specific things or a 'general service'?

Also again in general, will they stamp a service booklet, or is it not advisable at all to have them do that even if they could/would?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

Ardfallen Motorcare
    5 Anderson Square
    Ballycurreen Industrial Estate
    Kinsale Road
    021 4322999

Know a few guys who use this place for their BMW's and can't speak highly enough. I believe the owner is ex-BMW too. Had occasion to use them once myself and they were great.

Any idea what these guys charge - BMW are quoting 170 for the Oil Service.

X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

xabi wrote:
    Any idea what these guys charge - BMW are quoting 170 for the Oil Service.

X.

We gave you the contact details - pick up the phone and ask them - i'm sure they won't bite! ;)

Tried calling, got the 'how long is a piece of string' answer. I know every service will be slightly different, but all i want is a ball park figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

spockety wrote:
    Not a Cork related quesiton specificaly, but in general, do independent BMW mechanics follow Inspection Service guidelines if you ask for them, ie book it in and ask for an Inspection II , rather than specific things or a 'general service'?

Also again in general, will they stamp a service booklet, or is it not advisable at all to have them do that even if they could/would?
    I only use Independent mechanics for the BMW & Alfa and they will all stamp the service booklet if you ask them. They will do excatly what you ask them to do. I find they all have the full list of what each service/inspection requires.

If I was buying a car, I would rather a car stamped by a reputable independent than the dealers as they generally tend to be better mechanics.

I find also they are about 30% cheaper for labor than dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

DukeDredd wrote:
    Ardfallen Motorcare
    5 Anderson Square
    Ballycurreen Industrial Estate
    Kinsale Road
    021 4322999

Know a few guys who use this place for their BMW's and can't speak highly enough. I believe the owner is ex-BMW too. Had occasion to use them once myself and they were great.

I bought my car in Kells & the garage there figured they wouldn't get much repeat business from someone in Cork so they recommended Ardfallen to me, been using them every since & don't have any complaints.

Just for comparison I once tried to order a part from the main dealer in Cork & gave up in annoyance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Vitamin C

Howya lads, I know this thread is ancient, but do any of ye know if that independent BMW fella on the Monoghan Road is still operating? Need a BMW Mechanic in Cork asap.

Cheers

C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Yup, Steve is still there, doing well too now, there's a team of 4 there.

Cheers PaintDoctor. Could you Pm his number please? Google's showing up nowt.

Got sorted with a fella, so no need, thanks PaintDoctor.