Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ethnic Gardai and Ethnic Farmers?

• 07-08-2006 11:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭

Is there any other ethnicities in the Gardai in Ireland or does anyone know of any farmers here from foreign lands? Always wondered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I believe there's a decent few Polish police now, which is needed when dealing with, lets say a Polish immigrant who doesn't speak english. There's also some Nigerians in the Gardai aswell, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

Every credit. Is there any nigerian farmers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There are loads of, ahem, ethnic farmers mainly Dutch and German! Or is ethnic code for something?

Mike.

No, any farmers from other countries. So dutch and german, right on man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I remember reading there are around 3 or 4 immigrant descended Garda e.g black/Asians born in Ireland. I dont think theres any foreigners in the cops. Translators hired by them, certainly, but actual officers I think not. Sure isnt it only a few months since they got rid of the Irish requirement.

Id imagine there might be a farmer or two who is part Irish part Filipino mail order brought in 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

there's a dutch family up the road from me who own a farm. the father was in the luftwaffe during WW2. i think he was one of the soldiers who crashed here and ended up staying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

Well as far as i know there are 4 starting training tuesday, then i know a chinese person starting in november, also back when i did my exam there was a irish/african chap there sitting the test too, and in the years to come there will be a few more i reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

If I was a Dutchman who decided to fight for the German Luftwaffe I wouldnt fancy going back home either. Thats like a Falls Road boy joining the British army. I work with a few of them and the Dutch, who are a great bunch, still dont particularly like the Germans (although the Portuguese have probably knocked them off the most hated nation number 1 position after that rather ugly match)

Although the population is bigger in the UK, they appear to have a black police association, and there was a mention this week of a popular black farmer in the UK, poss a few of them, wearing the tweed and doing the english farmer bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

There are now a lot of Gardaí being trained from other ethnic backgrounds. Over the next few years you will see a lot of them from different countries, which is a good thing. We need people from other countries in the Gardaí in order to be able to deal with people in their own language and to also have an understanding of the new cultures and customs etc. which is important in dealing with people from different countries.

If new people from new countries are going to be living here, for them and the general population to integrate we need people from other countries in positions of responsibility. Some people will have a problem with that and we will get the usual people complaining that they should not be in such positions or trying to undermine them because they are from somewhere different. You can imagine some gougers giving out about being arrested because the garda was from some different country. If the offender has broken the law, it doesn't matter where the garda is from.

Top shout Flukey. That would be a cracker, right yer arrested fer bein pissed, - go home ye ** ** etc, - right add racist assault to that, - yer ma's a *** - right, down the cells for a bit of straightening out fer ye.

Indeed! :) In fact we could put the fear of God into some of the gougers by telling them what sort of interrogation and punishment tactics the police in those other countries use. :) They'd be on extra special behaviour when they saw some of those gardaí on the beat. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

I remember reading a while ago in the paper that in '04 or '05 (cant remember if it was last year or year before I read it!) around 700 Asians applied for the gardaí.
    TBH I think it'll be great to get a good cultural mix! As ye said above, I can imagine alot of tossers wont be happy with it though- "them comin over and taking our jobs" etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Flukey wrote:
    There are now a lot of Gardaí being trained from other ethnic backgrounds. Over the next few years you will see a lot of them from different countries, which is a good thing. We need people from other countries in the Gardaí in order to be able to deal with people in their own language and to also have an understanding of the new cultures and customs etc. which is important in dealing with people from different countries.

eh... no batman, thats the tail wagging the dog just to keep those damn liberals we all hear about happy. We dont need "ethnic" gardai to deal with people who no speakee english too good or to understand their cultural needs. This is rome and they should be doing as us romans. If you dont speak english (or irish lol) thats your problem not the states.

Anyway what kind of background check are the gardai gonna be able to do on some guy from nigeria applying to join them?

Bambi wrote:
    This is rome and they should be doing as us romans. If you dont speak english (or irish lol) thats your problem not the states.
    RRRRRRRRRRRRacist.

actually i completely agree with this.
    how on earth do immigrants expect to get by in a foreign country without speaking the native language?

chicken sandwich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

There's a Columbian farmer in cork. I was working for him. There's 4 poles, 1 other columbian, 2 bolivians, 3 nigerians and a guy from the conjo. I was the translator into various forms of pigeon english :) Great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Well said Bambi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

well i would imagine that farm *ownership* would tend to pass through families for generations hence few farm *owners* from other lands...
    Though i do knbow of alot of farm workers from other eu countries poland, germany, italy and lithuania included.

julep wrote:
    RRRRRRRRRRRRacist.

If that makes me a racist so be it..we all have our cross to burn
    ehh.. bear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

julep wrote:
    chicken sandwich?

Haha, Brilliant!

Bambi wrote:
    If that makes me a racist so be it..we all have our cross to burn
    ehh.. bear
    a few months back someone called me racist for making a similar comment.
    some people here will call you a racist for the most inane reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

julep wrote:
    some people here will call you a racist for the most inane reasons.

I have been branded a racist so many times also, last time I suggested we curtail immigration, holy bejabus there was comments flying in like the new time.

I stick to my guns with my opinions of immigration, heck I know loads of non-irish people and respect them as I would any other human being. I think it's the overly PC crowd who wouldn't let you talk about anything that offends certain people to be the ones who truly have a problem. "Ba Ba African-American Sheep" and "Winterfest" rings a bell.

Bambi wrote:
    eh... no batman, thats the tail wagging the dog just to keep those damn liberals we all hear about happy. We dont need "ethnic" gardai to deal with people who no speakee english too good or to understand their cultural needs. This is rome and they should be doing as us romans. If you dont speak english (or irish lol) thats your problem not the states.

Anyway what kind of background check are the gardai gonna be able to do on some guy from nigeria applying to join them?

The state has to look after all of the people. Gardaí have to deal with all sorts of issues. It is not just about enforcing the law. Things like people having been involved in accidents and dealing with them and their relatives. Or what happens if someone was the victim of a serious crime? "Sorry pal, we can't get the person who did that to you, or help you in any way whatsovever because you don't speak English!"

As for your liberals line, if anything it should work the other way. The non-liberals give out about crime being carried out by non-nationals so they should be even more in favour of getting people in who are better equipped to deal with them, as they know better how they operate. Someone from the same country will be able to provide positive help and support to the Gardaí from knowledge that they would have of the society that these people come from.

What about surveillance operations? Picture the scene: Garda Paddy Murphy comes back to his sargeant to make his report, having being spying on a group of foreign criminals and having bugged their centre of operations. "So Paddy, what can you tell us about what they were up to and what their plans are?" "Nothing sarge, I couldn't understand a word they were saying."

We also have people who are just here on holidays. I am sure you have travelled to non English-speaking countries. Were you fluent in the language before you did? Judging by some of your grammar, even English is a problem. Irish people have travelled the world and landed in plenty places where they did not know the language. They still were able to be helped and supported because there were people there who could help them. They became involved in society at all levels, including the police. The same has to be done here to satisfy the liberals and the non-liberals. It will also make for far better policing, or would you prefer that we deal only with crimes committed by purely English-speaking criminals and crimes carried out only on English-speaking victims?

As to background checks, there are strict guidelines for getting into the Gardaí and there are plenty of born and bred Irish people that we'd have to worry about too. Background checks can be done on people from other countries, and if there is any problem or information that they can't get to their 100% satisfaction, then they won't be let in.

Yeah, many of the cops in New York and Boston are probably from Irish decent, so the yanks were all for the influx of other nationals to get stuck in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

It's not about racism or liberalism. It's about picking the best applicants to become Gardai. If some of them are Chinese or Nigerian or Polish that's fine with me. I'd rather have a good Nigerian Garda than a bad Irish one who could speak cúpla focal.

If there was a quota system of non-national/ethnic Gardai then I'd object.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I know an Afghan guard although hes not exactly Afghan, His Dad is from Kabul and his Mother is from Terenure. You see a few Asians/ Africans alright though.
    Its not like the UK where the Met actively recruit people from Asian African and Carribean communities. They do encourage it though, AFAIK.

Not sure about the farmers. But they are all European now, with their grants, EU Aid and and $$$ incentives!

Flukey wrote:
    The state has to look after all of the people. Gardaí have to deal with all sorts of issues. It is not just about enforcing the law. Things like people having been involved in accidents and dealing with them and their relatives. Or what happens if someone was the victim of a serious crime? "Sorry pal, we can't get the person who did that to you, or help you in any way whatsovever because you don't speak English!"

As for your liberals line, if anything it should work the other way. The non-liberals give out about crime being carried out by non-nationals so they should be even more in favour of getting people in who are better equipped to deal with them, as they know better how they operate. Someone from the same country will be able to provide positive help and support to the Gardaí from knowledge that they would have of the society that these people come from.

What about surveillance operations? Picture the scene: Garda Paddy Murphy comes back to his sargeant to make his report, having being spying on a group of foreign criminals and having bugged their centre of operations. "So Paddy, what can you tell us about what they were up to and what their plans are?" "Nothing sarge, I couldn't understand a word they were saying."

We also have people who are just here on holidays. I am sure you have travelled to non English-speaking countries. Were you fluent in the language before you did? Judging by some of your grammar, even English is a problem. Irish people have travelled the world and landed in plenty places where they did not know the language. They still were able to be helped and supported because there were people there who could help them. They became involved in society at all levels, including the police. The same has to be done here to satisfy the liberals and the non-liberals. It will also make for far better policing, or would you prefer that we deal only with crimes committed by purely English-speaking criminals and crimes carried out only on English-speaking victims?

As to background checks, there are strict guidelines for getting into the Gardaí and there are plenty of born and bred Irish people that we'd have to worry about too. Background checks can be done on people from other countries, and if there is any problem or information that they can't get to their 100% satisfaction, then they won't be let in.

Thanks for that short essay on why it's a really bad idea to have a huge influx of people who don't speak english into an english speaking country, proves my point nicely :D tail wag's dog yet again

As for background checks, what kind of background check would you carry out in one of the most corrupt countries on earth?

Judging by some of your grammar, even English is a problem

oh dear, someone had to go and make it personal, what grammar is that flukey? Sure you're based in Dublin why not meet up somewhere where we can discuss my grammar over a nice cup of tea? Or do you only do insults through the medium of a keyboard?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Very positive idea in my view. The major advantage such people have, as already posted is an insight into the culture they come from. But integration requires that people learn the local language. If only to give themselves the best opportunity to exploit their own skills. Incidents within immigrant communites as well as some troubling stories of immigrant difficulties are testament to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I've never seen a black Garda. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Although the population is bigger in the UK, they appear to have a black police association
    Get this...a couple of years ago the Association of Black Police Officers in the UK asked a senior white Chief Superintendant working in the Met to address one of their meetings. Guess what he did when he went up to the podium? He started his speech with a 'rap'. Cringeworthy.

AFAIK, there's quite a few ethnics in the current Garda intake, but you won't see them hitting the streets as probationers for at least another six months until they finish their Phase I training. About time too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

First we did away with the Ban Gardaí now we are doing away with the Bán Gardaí.
    Soon we'll just have blackguards...;)

* I know it should be Gardaí Bán but a bit of poetic licence here folks.

Hagar wrote:
    First we did away with the Ban Gardaí now we are doing away with the Bán Gardaí.

* I know it should be Gardaí Bán but a bit of poetic licence here folks.

post of the week :D

Well there are some right blackguards out there and that is why we need good Gardaí to deal with them, wherever they come from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Hagar wrote:

Very clever :D