Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry V Armagh

• 05-08-2006 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭

Great match with a good fight too!

Delighted for Kerry so far! Hope Armagh don't come back.

If Dublin beat Westmeath do they play Kerry? Gulp! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

No. The winner of Westmeath v Dublin plays Laois or Mayo. The winner of the Cork v Donegal match play Kerry next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Ah thats grand, Kerry are lookin like a force to be reckoned with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

jesus some turn around at the half, i wonder is jack o connor available for team "consultations" ;)

edited cos i actually knew that but as listenin to the rte commentators while i was typin hence the brain fart

GAAman wrote:
    jesus some turn around at the half, i wonder is jack o shea available for team "consultations" ;)

Ha Ha indeed, jesus they where great! Armagh didn't know what hit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Blistering performance by the kingdom. Was badly needed this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Jack O'Connor is the Kerry coach, not Jack O'Shea. The RTE commentator had a mishap with the name at the end.

Tremendous match which shows that GAA is a man's game. I wasn't happy to see the fight though and don't think it should be encouraged.

Well done to Kerry. I've nothing against them but I hope Dublin, Mayo, Laois or Cork can beat them. I think the Championship loses some of its gloss when they win it. They've just won it too much.

It'd be great to see Mayo win it for the first time in fifty odd years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

GAA UN-RIVALLED.

What a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

it was disappointing to see the fight but it was also disappointed to see some blatant "diving". Kieren Donaghy was one example for Kerry's last free.

GAA without a punch up?! Madness :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

What a classical pure vintage at its best, bye bye armagh and hopefully Ulster "Puke" football for good. Donaghey on the verge of the square absolutly marvellous. Kerry V Dublin for Sam 34 please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

Lemlin wrote:
    Tremendous match which shows that GAA is a man's game. I wasn't happy to see the fight though and don't think it should be encouraged.
    agreed on all counts ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I was sitting a long way from the fight, so I could not see it. A disappointing result. I prefer to see Kerry out. Cork will need to improve a lot on today's performance if they are to win. I hope they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

A fantastic match. Armagh and the one all ireland brigade are gone for ever. Thank you Kerry for saving gaelic football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭michelle_ie

brilliant match- donegal girl myself disappointed but absolutly loved the armagh - kerry match- thats gaelic football how its meant to be played... speed and playing the game with all their heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I would not write off Armagh yet Ice Box. A lot of that team are still young. There are certainly a few of them that will retire, but there are plenty to fill their places. That second All-Ireland may not be that far off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

"A fantastic match. Armagh and the one all ireland brigade are gone for ever. Thank you Kerry for saving gaelic football."

Bit over the top don't you think? Awesome second half performance by Kerry though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

netwhizkid wrote:
    What a classical pure vintage at its best, bye bye armagh and hopefully Ulster "Puke" football for good. Donaghey on the verge of the square absolutly marvellous. Kerry V Dublin for Sam 34 please!

I don't know how Donaghy's so marvellous considering he's got family from Tyrone or something ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭wheelbarrow

TheGooner wrote:
    Great match with a good fight too!

Delighted for Kerry so far! Hope Armagh don't come back.

If Dublin beat Westmeath do they play Kerry? Gulp! :D

Yet another Dub shows they know nothing.

Hope that proper Dub fans gets a ticket next week instead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

A pretty good game of football, yesterday. Kerry deserved to win and the have finally beaten one of the Northern teams (I guess they would have liked it even if it was Tyrone ;) ) but now they will be instated as firm favourites for the All-Ireland.

Its shaping up to be a Kerry-Dublin All-Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Oiii, Laois/Mayo or Westmeath/Cork have yet to make their statement on where SAM is going this year, hands off Kojak... 140 minutes for you lads to go yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Danno wrote:
    Oiii, Laois/Mayo or Westmeath/Cork have yet to make their statement on where SAM is going this year, hands off Kojak... 140 minutes for you lads to go yet...

No we are out of it (Galway) and deservadly so. What I mean is that, on current form, I would expect that Dublin and Kerry would reach the final. I'd hope I am wrong, especially on your side of the draw. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Kojak wrote:
    No we are out of it (Galway) and deservadly so. What I mean is that, on current form, I would expect that Dublin and Kerry would reach the final. I'd hope I am wrong, especially on your side of the draw. ;)

Kerry, on current form, look set to take Sam home no bother.
    Dublin, on current form, just haven't been tested.
    We've faced poor teams up to now and made poor work of some of them.
    Laois are now at a different level than the team we faced earlier in the campaign, and Mayo will always be a force to reckoned with.... and we've yet to face a Westmeath side who are very much up to disrupting the Dubs at HQ next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

Kerry were awesome yesterday it brought glee to my heart to get the northern issue off our backs (hopefully for ever). I can't wait to see the kingdom blow the dubs out of it..

Beside the quality of the match did anybody think armagh were slow of the blocks for the 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

netwhizkid wrote:

You just had to go and do it. Did you see any "puke football" in Croke Park yesterday? Why bring it up? Armagh are a good footballing team who play good football and they showed that yesterday.

As for Donaghey, I was disappointed by him. The goal saved what was a pretty average performance for him. He was largely anonymous in the first half and for most of the second. Even O'Connor mentioned at the end how Francie did a great job on him.

As a sidenote, I suggest you change that stupid sig. It's got nothing to do with GAA but how about you go and ask someone what it was like to grow up in the 80's and they'll tell you about politicians really destroying this country and economic heartache.

Originally posted by wheelbarrow
    Yet another Dub shows they know nothing.

Hope that proper Dub fans gets a ticket next week instead of you.

I agree with you totally wheelbarrow. Didn't want to bring it up myself or I'll have the usual pro-Dub brigade on my back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

heh...BreakingNews.ie have Armagh as the winners. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

How many kerry fans made the trip?

I say around 10,000 - 15,000.

I presume they will complain when the final comes around at the only get 20,000 tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Trampas wrote:
    How many kerry fans made the trip?

I say around 10,000 - 15,000.

I presume they will complain when the final comes around at the only get 20,000 tickets.

Maybe if the Dubs sorted out their transport system than we would be more apt to travel to Croaker. Kerry people don’t mind the 4hr journey to Dublin, its the 2 hrs after that on the M50 or some other aesthetically disadvantaged bottleneck that means we cannot make it back to our beloved kingdom in the same day.

It would be grand if we only made it to the Quarters as often as ye, but with getting this far every year since the backdoor came in, I think you should gives us a freaking break.

I know - lets have the final in Kenmare, so instead of the M50 ye can take the N70, it will take around the same amount of time, you will still be ahead because you will be viewing some of the greatest sights on Gods great earth instead of ill-conceived industrial estates mixed with endless urban sprawl.

Or better still, not unlike our near neighbours, we will declare our own republic, get odd looking nordy number plates and we can break all the speed limits and travel in all the Bus-lanes from here to Mountjoy square.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Aido c wrote:
    I know - lets have the final in Kenmare,

Nah even better, lets have it in Kilgarvan, there were two or three thousand people here yesterday at the annual show so I think it would be able to accommodate the match lol!. I am thinking of driving up to the next game and leaving the car at a friends place in Kildare and taking the Arrow train in, you get the best of both worlds for a fraction of the robbery charged by Irish Rail.

I find the train ok but you are rushing for it once the match is over and generally can't get a bite to eat or nothing. I will probably overnight it in Dublin once we teach Cork a thing or two. I used to go by bus but the private buses generally only stop for food in some hell hole like the Dunkerrin Arms avoid this place like the plague. I once ate there on the way up to a match and can remember vomiting into the Croke Park toilets at half time.

Kerry for Sam.

Sorry for going a bit off topic a bit but they are just some of my experiences of the trip to Dublin to see Kerry play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Aido c wrote:
    Maybe if the Dubs sorted out their transport system than we would be more apt to travel to Croaker. Kerry people don’t mind the 4hr journey to Dublin, its the 2 hrs after that on the M50 or some other aesthetically disadvantaged bottleneck that means we cannot make it back to our beloved kingdom in the same day.

It would be grand if we only made it to the Quarters as often as ye, but with getting this far every year since the backdoor came in, I think you should gives us a freaking break.

I know - lets have the final in Kenmare, so instead of the M50 ye can take the N70, it will take around the same amount of time, you will still be ahead because you will be viewing some of the greatest sights on Gods great earth instead of ill-conceived industrial estates mixed with endless urban sprawl.

Or better still, not unlike our near neighbours, we will declare our own republic, get odd looking nordy number plates and we can break all the speed limits and travel in all the Bus-lanes from here to Mountjoy square.

So it's up to us to sort out our public transport system. Hmm, let me think about this for a moment. It's the Government who dreamt up that excuse for a ring road not us Dubs. Funnily enough, your three posts so far have been two pointless ones about Donaghy (see my opinion on him in the other thread, if he proves to be a consistent class act then I will swallow my pride and admit I'm wrong but I hope Derek Kavanagh has him for lunch in the semis) and a rant at the Dubs where you make a ridiculous comment that the AI final should be played outside Dublin. It's not our fault that Croke Park is where it is.

In any case, please God, we'll have a Dublin v. Kerry AI final and then we'll see whether Donaghy is the replacement for the Bomber that ye all hope he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Personally I thought Donaghy played well, even apart from his goal. He was very unseflish for most of the game and made a number of scoring chances for his teammates. But he does need high balls in, when lower balls were coming in, he tended to struggle. It also has to be said that Francie played well also - they probably broke even overall IMO.

Daragh and Marc O'Se were the two outstanding performers on the pitch IMO. And Kerry were the better team overall - Armagh had more passengers. But they're not gone. Stevie McDonnell and Ronan Clarke will be top players for years to come. Oisin needs to be pensioned off however, and personally I'd convert Aaron Kernan to a forward - decent wing backs are a lot easier to find than free scoring wing forwards, which is what he could be.

Kerry v Cork III will be most interesting.

Its not a ridiculous comment - its called Hyperbole and its ment to draw attention to the fact that an earlier poster was beginning to complain about poor kerry attendance without qualifying it in terms of the number of available fans, the number of journeys and the distance travelled. If you consider too that many of our women folk will not wear the jersey because it makes them look fat, I think that if you analyse it Kerry do not do so badly, certainly not as poorly as that urban myth which states that we only travel to all Ireland finals. Read Freakenomics, its all about crushing urban myths with impartial anslysis. thats all I am trying to do.

It is important too because its the start of push by the dubs to have all the tickets for the final, without which you simply cannot win.

Its also important that we Kerry people open up the salvos on what will be a historic final - Dublin V. Kerry - I would take the loss to the Dubs just for the trill of walking around Dublin that morning, like the Amstel ad : this is gonna be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Aido c wrote:
    If you consider too that many of our women folk will not wear the jersey because it makes them look fat, I think that if you analyse it Kerry do not do so badly, certainly not as poorly as that urban myth which states that we only travel to all Ireland finals.

Its also important that we Kerry people open up the salvos on what will be a historic final - Dublin V. Kerry - I would take the loss to the Dubs just for the trill of walking around Dublin that morning, like the Amstel ad : this is gonna be great.

Two things, I presume that you're having a laugh with the first comment. I wasn't aware that Kerry women were divas and will not wear their county jersey with pride out of some vain opinion that they'll look fat??????

Let's not get ahead of ourselves and naturally assume that it will be a Dublin v. Kerry final. There's a lot of football to be played yet and Cork will not be willing to lie down so easily like they did 12 months ago. Also, I still have my fears that we could be playing Laois again if all the pundits are to be believed and they will be wound up to 90 to gain revenge for the hammering we gave them back in June.

Its hope, I hope thats all - and no Kerryman will ever overlook the red threat to the east, not for any amount of hype. Its bread into those south kerrymen and their fathers before them. They hate nothing more than the sight of a red jersey. This is a fact and it will be in play so hopefully Kerry will overcome Cork.

On yer side of things, I want to see Dublin because of all the historic things I listed earlier, I feel that there is a real issue that some of the Kerry players may roll over to Laois, giving Micko the send off he deserves. This would be a real problem for Kerry v. Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

All this Kerry V Dublin, or Dublin V Laois talk is music to my ears:) and it is music to Cork's ears as well.

72 hours ago it was Kerry V Armagh, two months ago it was Armagh V Tyrone

I'm a sorta Dublin fan, in fact I like their football style, I like their attitude, and I like what they bring to the championship.

However, I don't see them as All Ireland winners this year, and with Westmeath and then (maybe) Laois/Mayo to come, I'd actually say they are odds against to make the final.
    I don't think they have a strong enough bench, and don't have heavy enough scoring 6 forwards. They rely alot on winning frees, the better defenders they will now come up against will be more disciplined.
    On the plus side, they do score goals, and use this momentum well.

They have played well so far, but they have alot of answers to questions that haven't even been put to them yet by the better teams in the championship. (Laois were asleep the first day, everyone accepts that).

They were poor against Longford (and trust me I respect Longfords effort), and they were poor against Offaly for the first half..... but really and truly were Lonford and Offaly ever going to win Sam?

No, the championship starts here for the Dubs, all that you have seen before is of no true value.

Westmeath will give Dublin a good game, may well even beat them.
    I hope the Dubs survive, and then there will be the mother of all battles against either Mayo/Laois, I believe it will be Mayo, time will tell.

Kerry deserve to be hot favourites now, based on their excellent performance, and their winning history.... also their brilliant coach and tactician Jack O'Connor.... he's is outstanding and ruthless.

Hoping and Praying for a Cork V Mayo final:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Greetings from Bari,Italy.

My friend was at the Kerry-Armagh match and said it was excellent.From what I have read,this has been the game of the championship so far if you are a neutral.

From the scoreline alone,it looks as if Sam is going to Kerry but I would not look past Mayo,Cork or Dublin.Kerry may be peaking now but lets not forget Mayo have yet to perform in a very convincing manner and I would be looking for them to put in a performance of a lifetime against Laois.

Heres hoping for a Dublin-Mayo semi-final.I think these two teams will want to face each other as a real test for the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

k i know this match is old news now but came across this picture, did a bit of editing to it, wat ye think?

U are indeed a talented youth