Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do with a foreigner for four days???

• 04-08-2006 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭

Ok.

Situation is.....a good friend is coming over to me tomorrow. She lands at 9am. She's never been to Ireland before, and is here until Wednesday pm.

So, I wonder what the best things are to show her?
    If you had one Saturday night to try to impress a foreigner with Dublin, where would you bring them?

Also - what other stuff would you show them?
    For a day outside Dublin - I was thinking of Glendalough. Best place?

Would appreciate any ideas or advice from anyone who can think of must-see things in our country.

Edit: Maybe it is relevant what age she is. She's 27.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye defo glendalough. maybe the zoo if its sunny.

drag her into Temple Bar. thats fairly standard. bring her around trinity and all tha malarky durin the day then home to get ready for a night out in temple bar. try oliver st john gogartys for all that trad music. its good for tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

Is she a friend or a foreigner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I dunno, I've been at a loss for something to do myself this weekend...

There's a street entertainment festival on in Dublin this weekend which could be fun but not really particularly "Irish"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Do the red bus tour or the Ghost Bus later on if that's still going. Then go into Abrekebra for a nice meal. Ye could check out some of the museums if yer into that sorta thing...if ye do go to Glendalough watch out for the poison monkeys!

[edit]thought i better add this lad --> ;) as my mention of Abrekebra as a place to have a nice meal seems to have been taken too seriously, the sarcasm was cloaked :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Sleepy wrote:
    I dunno, I've been at a loss for something to do myself this weekend...

There's a street entertainment festival on in Dublin this weekend which could be fun but not really particularly "Irish"...
    doesnt matter.
    Its still fun and is held in Ireland by mostly Irish people and there will be irish people at it.
    Not traditional, yes, but mabye it would be good.

Dont bother doing the trinners/book of kells/etc routine.
    Packed with tour groups of american and european tourists.
    Pass by them every morning and it does me head in! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Then go into Abrekebra for a nice meal.
    Are you serious?
    I see no sarcasm smiley or anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Sorry Fuzzy, he went out for a smoke...he's back now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

is she hot and eastern european??? i can think of plenty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

The world championships of street performers is on in Merrion Square this weekend, defo going to have a look myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Caryatnid

Is she a friend or a foreigner?
    Both. Or is that impossible? :confused:
    is she hot and eastern european??? i can think of plenty :D
    I knew someone was gonna say that. Yes and yes and :rolleyes: .
    Then go into Abrekebra for a nice meal.
    ARE you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

OP, I was in a very similar situation to you about 2 weeks ago. Two good friends (a couple) were coming over; one was from Israel, the other from London. We ended up having a great time, but 'twas no special thanks to Dublin, we just got on well etc.

Anyway we went to the Guinness storehouse (I'd never been, myself), which was good craic, got our pints o' Guinness after, etc. I'd recommend that, anyway. You'd be surprised how much entertainment foreigners and native alike can get out of a pint of guinness! :D
    A couple of nights out in temple bar we tried Doran's for some music (I never go there myself), but it was woeful both times and we ended up walking out.
    They went to the natural history museum by themselves which they said they really enjoyed.
    Em, what else...took'em to a hardcore punk gig, but that probably wouldn't interest you guys...
    I guess other than the above we just hit a lot of pubs and restaurants in the city centre. We never got around to it but you should try go see some comedy in the International Bar on Wicklow St. I've been told it's good. I would've liked to have shown them somewhere outside of Dublin but we didn't get time...:(
    Anyway, TBH I wouldn't worry too much about finding loads of things to do /places to go. Basically if you guys get on well, good company etc, you'll have a grand time regardless. Good luck with that!

TheGooner wrote:
    The world championships of street performers is on in Merrion Square this weekend, defo going to have a look myself :)
    Wow. Sounds cool.
    Could go to that and then Guinness Museum on Sunday.

I'm not mad for taking her to Templebar tomorrow night. It's always packed and is taken over by foreigners - not very Irish imo. What's the best club dyis reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

Not sure how up to date this weblink is, but I saw the Irish band "Sliotar" in the Porterhouse years ago, and they're incredible. I usually like rock and heavy metal, so I don't rave about traditional Irish music lightly. I even bought their CD directly from them, the second time I caught them.
    The Porterhouse is a great pub too. ( parliament st )

http://www.porterhousebrewco.com/livetemplebar.html

It's definitely a good Sunday activity, ring up the pub to check "Sliotar" are playing first. The ads say they play 5-7pm and 9-11pm every Sunday.
    They serve decent food too.

Other ideas..... Johnie Foxes do lovely food, and filled with Irish athmosphere.

10 pin bowling in Blanchardstown / Stillorgan.

The Liffey voyage thing, a cruise down the Liffey for 45 mins.

Trip on Luas to Dundrum shopping centre.

Jump on Dublin tour bus, and visit Guinness brewery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

As an American who wants to one day come to ireland, I recommend you ask your guest what places she would like to see and do.
    Personally, I would love to see Glendalough, The Cliffs of Moher and would also want to see Temple Bar, since it is famous the world over (and I adore Whiskey!).
    And shopping!!! You can't forget shopping! Take her where she will find things that are unique to Dublin and Ireland.

Are there any live bands playing any where?

As I say, just keep in mind she already has an impression of what she is coming to see. So ask her what she had in mind and just elaborate on that.

And you will probably have great fun seeing your home through her eyes!

L4L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I've been in a similar situation a few times, so places I'd recommend are the Guinness Storehouse (really cool place), definitely do a bus tour as she'd get to see a lot of places she might not see by walking, museums if she's into it, the zoo, Pheonix Park, and go out to Howth for some good fish and chips and a nice view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

The Importance of Being Earnest is currently on in the Abbey if shes into that sort of thing. Very uniquely Irish experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

OMcGovern wrote:
    Other ideas..... Johnie Foxes do lovely food, and filled with Irish athmosphere.
    So have you ever been to Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Samhildanach

I'd ask her what she's into first ... if she's into culture take her to Newgrange and Knowth - they have a big visitors centre there too and the countryside on the way out is beautiful.

Glendalough is also a good idea - again beautiful countryside, some history (the famous Irish round tower), and a beautiful walk up to the lake or waterfall.

Go to Enniskerry a very picturesque village and Powerscourt - fantastic views and a stunning garden.

Temple bar is a must see with loads of cool little shops followed by a walk through Crows Lane and Georges Street Arcade.

Christchurch Cathedral or St. Patrick's Cathedral are very interesting places to visit. St Patricks having interesting Templar/Free Mason connections.

Collin's Barracks Museum is fairly interesting too.

Check out some craft markets too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

If she's anyway interested in sports bring her to Croke Park, I brought a few foreign friends and they loved the auld football and the stadium is one of most impressive in Europe. Definitely agree with Glendalough, go there a lot myself with the Mrs. and it's quite handy to get to from Dublin. Somebody mentioned Johnny Fox's, one word for this - AVOID. It's rubbish, food is crap, service is worse, pints are expensive and bar closes at half past eleven.

Oh and the Dublin tour bus is quite interesting for tourist and native alike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

OMcGovern wrote:
    10 pin bowling in Blanchardstown / Stillorgan.
    No one ever mentions the one in Coolock... sigh...

Deadly advice guys. Defo appreciate all this. Has given me a good few ideas. Cary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

[sings]You can make love on Wednesday and on Thursday and Friday and Saturday,then chill on Sunday.[/sings]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

So? How did it go? Do tell!

L4L