Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

left a letter on the 123 bus!

• 03-08-2006 9:20am

I'm a dead man!

Girlfriend gave me a very important letter to post for her this morning and I promptly left it on the 123 bus!!!

Please god let a nice kind person find it and drop it into a letter box for me and not a scummy knack that will wipe his a*se with it.

She's already got some bad news this morning and there's no way in hell I'm going to tell her as she will murder me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'm a dead man!

Girlfriend gave me a very important letter to post for her this morning and I promptly left it on the 123 bus!!!

Please god let a nice kind person find it and drop it into a letter box for me and not a scummy knack that will wipe his a*se with it.

She's already got some bad news this morning and there's no way in hell I'm going to tell her as she will murder me.

I reckon 90% of people will either post it or hand it to the driver. Dont worry too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭shotcaller

Ah man, hate that! Have you rang dublin bus? You might get lucky.

Best of luck with it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

oh god, it all depends on who gets it i suppose. Ring the person who the letter was supposed to be sent to tomorrow and ask if they got it, if they havent got it by mid next week , you will have to tell your girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ring Dubbo Busso!

Good luck to ye man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

If I found a letter on a bus that looked like it hadnt been opened or posted already I'd stick it in a postbox, did it have a stamp on it

Well the person who it is addressed to doesnt speak english so there's no point in me ringing them!

Thankfully there was a stamp on it so say a prayer a decent person finds it..

I'll give Dublin bus a shout so,nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Lone Wolf

I'd say any half decent person would hand it to the bus driver or throw it in a letterbox, hopefully it'll get sorted. Good luck.

I GOT THE LETTER :)
    Rang dub bus and they put me through to the garage and fortunately someone had already handed it to the driver. So I arranged to meet the bus at on thomas st at 11.10 and hey presto I get to live another day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

That's lucky. At least someone did the honourable thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Nice one! Your lucky there's still decent people around and some scumbag didnt get it and rip it open just for fun or to see if there's dosh inside!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

anyone elses faith restored in dublin humanity for the moment after this? glad your back in the good books mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 homogay

you're so bleeding lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

you are one of the luckiest guys around.

now send it be registered post so you can guarantee it will get there this time :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭shotcaller

Fair play ya jammie dodger! :D

Next time don't let it out of your sight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I GOT THE LETTER :)
    Rang dub bus and they put me through to the garage and fortunately someone had already handed it to the driver. So I arranged to meet the bus at on thomas st at 11.10 and hey presto I get to live another day!!

There are some decent people left then. Glad you got it sorted. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

As Monty Python would say "You lucky lucky Bastard!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

I'm actually really happy for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I'd recommend erasing this thread now incase your Girlfirend should read it. My imagination of your girlfriends thoughts about reading this:

What a langer he loses my very important letter, does he go look for it noo he whines about losing it on the internet.

Sorry couldn't help making a joke, :) I found a letter like this once and posted it the funniest thing that has ever happened with letters is my sister once got the tax credit entitlement slip belonging to a Person from Cork City in the Envelope belonging to her, God only knows where her own one went.

We sent the Cork person on his Tax Credit Slip to his address on it but no-one ever sent my sister back one, A quick call to the Revenue got it sorted though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Beans_On

i probably would have backed against you gettin that back.solely because passengers on the 123 usually looking like complete skanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

jesus man get out and do the lotto sharpish!!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Wow! I had a cold feeling of dread in my stomach reading this thread until I saw you got it back! I cannot imagine how you would have felt giving that news to your gf. :D

You see folks, all is not lost, there really are good people left in the world! Who'd have known? :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

now heres the thing, if you had have lost it would you have admitted it or pretend the letter was lost in the post??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

I'm a dead man!

Welcome to the world of single men :D, nearly anyway. You are some lucky guy getting the letter back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You jammy dodgahhh!!!

splinter wrote:
    now heres the thing, if you had have lost it would you have admitted it or pretend the letter was lost in the post??

lol, the thought was going through my head as to how do I explain it to her. Any other time of the month (hint hint nudge nudge wink wink) I would have told her and coupled with her getting some other bad news this morning meant that if I value my life then without a doubt I had to feign ignorance and curse the stupid Irish postal system for losing it!

Anyway the letter is still on my desk now and I'll post it on the way home. That is unless the letter doesnt like me and fecks off again on a trip around Dublin to really get me into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

You could have just blamed An Post... they are crap after all.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Lone Wolf

Glad to hear you got it back, my faith in humanity has increased just slightly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Am I the only one *not* surprised he got it back? People are generally good. Yes, even on Dublin Bus.