Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag Weekend In London

• 02-08-2006 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Hello all!

I am trying to arrange a stag night for my sibling! It's happening in London the first weekend this September.
    Now we are flying into Stansted as it most convenient, so we are looking for activities in the greater London area apart from the consumption of various fluids! London is the area selected as we have guys travelling from all over to get to it, if it sounds like a strange location to have said event.

Any experience's or advice would be appreciated if anyone has done similar in the past in London area.Average age is 25 and up.

Any clubs one would recommend for bunch of good natured lads? (yeah right...who am I kidding!)

Thanks in advance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

You could look to rent a whole pod (if that's the correct word) of the London Eye. There's bound to be a premiership match on somewhere in London, which would burn up an afternoon.

Perhaps booking a table in a restaurant in Chinatown would be a good idea. At least then you're in the middle of the West End and will have greater options.

To be honest, I'd never have considered London suitable for a stag as it's difficult to get in anywhere (pubs/clubs) as a large group, even if the group is mixed, let alone a stag party. Although the age old trick of going to the door in pairs should work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Dellas

Theres loads to do without travelling!!! Leicester Sqaure/Soho/Piccadilly Circus all within 10 minutes walk. Always buzzing at weekends. Lots of bars/clubs etc.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Leicester Sq/Picadilly area is fun but a little too expensive for my student wallet. Look into a few other areas, lots of bars/clubs around Angel, Camden Town is usually an interesting night out. And if you're looking for a Sunday afternoon with a difference check out The Church for some drunken worshipping.

Large groups get a lot of hassle, even groups of 7 or 8 can have a hard time getting into clubs. Some places in the City even enforce one guy/one girl rules to avoid having too many blokes. The Church shouldn't be a problem for that though, a lot of their "parishoners" arrive in groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Not sure what your wallets can stand, but you could look into hiring a boat - with a bar and food, naturally - for a trip on the Thames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭Darren

If the weather is nice head down to Richmond or Kew. There are some really nice bars on the river and the place is packed with high quality women. Richmond is a prosperous area, around this time of year you'll find loads of scandinavian girls (mainly aupairs) go out there over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thunderone

Thanks for the replies and heads up lads!Appreciate it.Richmond and Kew are going on the list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Go to Soho you'll have some craic there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Dellas

thunderone wrote:
    Thanks for the replies and heads up lads!Appreciate it.Richmond and Kew are going on the list!

Just be careful in Richmond it can be rough at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 englishineire

Haven't been out on the juice in London for a bit, but one thing that did hit me pretty hard was the time that everything closed.

I'm so used to heading out at 10pm in Dublin and stumbling to get a taxi at about 2-4am, that when I was last in London (about 1 year ago) I was shocked to see SoHo/Chinatown dead to the world at 11.30pm on a Saturday !!

Dunno how much the 24-hour drinking laws have affected some of the bars and clubs, but I'd say to find & get in a club at around 10 ish to avoid any disappointment.

I always used to head out to the pubs pretty early (7ish) over there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

... one thing that did hit me pretty hard was the time that everything closed.

Dunno how much the 24-hour drinking laws have affected some of the bars and clubs, but I'd say to find & get in a club at around 10 ish to avoid any disappointment.

Very valid point, I live in London at the moment and I have the same problem. The trend here is to go straight to a bar after work instead of meeting up a few hours later - this was hard to handle initially as normally in Dublin I wouldn't go out till about 11pm.

The 24 hour drinking laws haven't changed things much. There are very few pubs which are open 24 hours but they do exist. Often they aren't in the nicest areas or don't have the nicest clientele - some friends of mine work in one near a well-known meat market in central London but I wouldn't dream of being around there after 10 at night.

At weekends there are nightclubs which stay open till 3/4 in the morning - expect to pay for it though. Last weekend a trip to Fabric cost £15 at the door and circa £5 per drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

xebec wrote:
    At weekends there are nightclubs which stay open till 3/4 in the morning - expect to pay for it though. Last weekend a trip to Fabric cost £15 at the door and circa £5 per drink.
    Fabric's open until at least 5 or 6. Good thing about it (it's actually a very good club apart from being expensive) is you can book tickets in advance on the web - if ye are a gang of lads and paranoid about getting turned away from clubs it's made a bit easier when ye've payed already.

Others I've been to are End Club and Cargo. Cargo's a bit smaller but ye can eat there too and then it's free into the club (it's not open as late as Fabric or End though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thunderone

thanks again for the replies lads. I have been to london on a number of occasions although I didn't really venture out in "town". Kept more to the suburbs.

Thanks for advice though. any other pub/club recommendations?