Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who's going to what 2nite?

• 02-08-2006 12:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

SE one rebuy for me.
    looking to do better than last week and im hoping to see a couple of the regulars their to make it interesting.
    any one else?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭Washout

see ya there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

Is it the WEDNESDAYS
    €40 +€5+€10 Scalp Tournament
    "No Limit" Texas Hold'Em
    1 x €40 Re-buy or 1 x €40 Top-up

or

the 75 double chance?

I found two different schedules.

I'll head in gholi if you wanna sidebet on a last longer...20quid or even something smaller like a pint??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Is it the WEDNESDAYS
    €40 +€5+€10 Scalp Tournament
    "No Limit" Texas Hold'Em
    1 x €40 Re-buy or 1 x €40 Top-up

or

the 75 double chance?

I found two different schedules.

I'll head in gholi if you wanna sidebet on a last longer...20quid or even something smaller like a pint??

It's the first one P&P. Hot scalping action.
    I won't bother with a last longer but i'll probably be there. Going for three itm finishes in a row.... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

would love to but my work colleagues have organised a €100 freezeout - 12 players, I think 1 of them has played a tournament before....somebody has to take their money (sigh) :)

yes, they have more money than sense!! :)

best of luck in the real world

ollyk1 wrote:
    It's the first one P&P. Hot scalping action.
    I won't bother with a last longer but i'll probably be there. Going for three itm finishes in a row.... :p

funnily enough so am i altough the last one shouldnt count as i made no profit

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

How many runners are the usually in the scalps? (is it only one scalp per person? As in, if i get knocked out and then rebuy, and then someone knocks me out again, are two different people getting the scalp, ot is it just the first person? )
    What's on the the Jackpot tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

How many runners does this get ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Scalps for me aswell I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

would love to but my work colleagues have organised a €100 freezeout - 12 players, I think 1 of them has played a tournament before....somebody has to take their money (sigh) :)

yes, they have more money than sense!! :)

best of luck in the real world
    Feck the Scalps,can i come to this please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Seeing as there appears to be so much dead money heading into the SE I think I'll head along.....rude not to :p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Really wanted to go to this but im give poker lessons tonight!:rolleyes:

LOL....TBH you can probably make more money doing this than playing nowadays. I started a club at my work and got so much interest for the lessons...the first question everyone asked was how much I was charging. I probably could have got 10 to 20 a lesson. 5 lessons * 20 = 100 * 50people = 5k.

Gholimoli wrote:

I think Gholi is just scared of me now!:rolleyes:

Gholimoli wrote:

sorry Gholi private game....can't have you scaring the customers!!

having said that no doubt I'll be first one out

LOL....TBH you can probably make more money doing this than playing nowadays. I started a club at my work and got so much interest for the lessons...the first question everyone asked was how much I was charging. I probably could have got 10 to 20 a lesson. 5 lessons * 20 = 100 * 50people = 5k.
    That’s a great idea.
    Please set them up online as well so they can play and then i will pay you for their usernames and where they play.
    The thought of playing the graduates of this school.

Mmmmmmmmm

Gholimoli wrote:
    That’s a great idea.
    Please set them up online as well so they can play and then i will pay you for their usernames and where they play.
    The thought of playing the graduates of this school.

Mmmmmmmmm

:D LOL......Quite humorous!:p

At least I know your scared of me though!

However, I can start up a loan shop and charge 20% on loans when they come back broke. A thought there.

You should have charged!. Actually im giving lessons to my sister who im taking to a live game this weekend. I have to make sure she knows AK isnt what it once was when it misses the flop and theres betting going on. Unless its Gholi whos doing the betting!:p

AK??? For Gholi its he needs to know that K8os isnt what it once was when it misses the flop and theres betting going on!!!!!!:D

Bring your sister along Aidan and she can watch me take your money for an hour and then you can give her lessons on the way home after I bust you!! :p;)

Plus it'll help her more comfortable at the casino watching a decent game for a while.

ollyk1 wrote:
    Bring your sister along Aidan and she can watch me take your money for an hour and then you can give her lessons on the way home after I bust you!! :p;)

Plus it'll help her more comfortable at the casino watching a decent game for a while.
    yeah and she can see in real life what happens if i bet and you dont fold and she will know to take lessons from me next time and not you...:D

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

How many runners are the usually in the scalps? (is it only one scalp per person? As in, if i get knocked out and then rebuy, and then someone knocks me out again, are two different people getting the scalp, ot is it just the first person? )
    What's on the the Jackpot tonight?
    By definition you cannot rebuy after you get knocked out. You can lose all your chips and rebuy but you are not knocked out at this point.

The person who gets your scalp (if any) is the person who ends your participation in the tournament, be this after you have had your rebuy before the break or after the break when no rebuys are available. You have 1 scalp only.

I will let ye all enjoy this for now and I will probably go in a few weeks and then win it*

* idle boast no necessarily a guarantee

ollyk1 wrote:

lol. Good idea Olly and i would be willing to do that but she's wise enough not to be wanting to shell out nearly €100 on a game yet!. I want to introduce her into a slightly less buy in game there to acclimatise(Definately not going to the friday rebuy game though). Unlike me she would be terrified of her first real game being amongst you sharks!. Thats right she'd view you guys as sharks lol.

Gholi i dont think she listens to me too much anyway. lol

Enjoy the game whoever goes. I want to be hearing of nice cashes.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

ollyk1 wrote:

Decent game and Sporting Emporium = Oxymoron *

* I have to add I have not played the new scalp game in the Sporting Emporium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

SE is still 21's i supose?

i quit possibly played the worse poker ive ever played.

Gholimoli wrote:
    i quit possibly played the worse poker ive ever played.

ah come on now Gholi....cheer up

I'm sure you can play much worse!! :)

i cant believe im saying this but i won this...
    from the brink of extinction at the break and just after the break all in with pocket 6's against j9 with j hits the flop with two spades ,turn a spade, river a spade and i have the 6s for the flush.

A strange night of mostly rock and card dead play by me (I had my table reasons) resulted in my making the final table in shortish shape. I couldn't really turn it around and went out in 6th for my money back less the €5 reg lol

Washout was still flying the flag as I left but he was under pressure so I hope things turned around for him.

I was looking out for Poker & Pints but I don't know if I had the pleasure of his company at any stage.

Washout wrote:
    i cant believe im saying this but i won this...
    from the brink of extinction at the break and just after the break all in with pocket 6's against j9 with j hits the flop with two spades ,turn a spade, river a spade and i have the 6s for the flush.

Woohoo!!! Nice one Washout. You were on 15k with 5 players left and the blinds at 1500/3000 and 220k chips in play. Very nice comeback!

ollyk1 wrote:
    Woohoo!!! Nice one Washout. You were on 15k with 5 players left and the blinds at 1500/3000 and 220k chips in play. Very nice comeback!

thanks...can i remove myself from the category of bad players now and move up to average player status :rolleyes: