Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any non drinkers here?

• 02-08-2006 10:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

Out of curiousity, many non drinkers on boards? Not me personally, with the shifts I work alcoholism is the only thing keeping me from suicide and even worse insanity, but how many non drinkers do we have here? Whats your reason for not drinking? Allergy? Religious beliefs? Just plain dont like the taste of beer? Do you have a hard time going out for a night and managing to have a laugh with people who are all locked, or do you try and stick with a group of fellow non drinkers so as you can keep listening to other peoples nonsense to a minimum? I know myself, if I arrive late for some sort of thing like a party, work do or just a general night out, and we`re all sitting in the pub and Im on my first [, I feel I have to play catch up to get on a conversational level with them, even though we could talk away as normal when both sober. Only know about 5 who dont drink- two because their dads are severe alcoholics (though theyve got siblings who all drink, and some of them are already alcos), 2 who dont for fitness reasons (theyve been drunk once or twice in their life, but generally they wouldnt even have a pint) and one girl who cant anymore for allergy reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

i dont drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

I might have a glass of wine every now and again or if it was a special ocassion but I don't drink as much as I used to. Hopefully my liver has repaired itself after what I did to it when I was younger.

Nowadays I'd be very aware of how it would affect my health and it is very fattening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I'm not a non-drinker but I'm pretty much a non-drunk. 4-5 bottles is all I'd have in one sitting, and since drying up, I couldn't stand to go out with a load of locked heads, so I just leave when the going gets rough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

Not a non drinker..just rarely anymore. Couple of times in the past 6 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Gave it up for a year at the start of the summer -- incredibly difficult -- had many things on, relationship breakup, move , work issues etc etc. i wanted to try life sober ... this summer has been a real challenge to stay completly sober but i have -- actually went out last friday .. and had sober fun ... even chattin up the ladies again is becoming easier ... on the plus side don't miss hangovers . but don't seam to be saving any extra dosh . comfort buying ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm an alcoholic, does that count ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

22 and havent touched a drop in my life, why? Just dont want to, I figure I've saved myself a good bit of money in the process too :D . Dont really plan on taking up drinking either, I've gone this long without it, so I'll survive a little longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I very rarely drink. Beer tastes like piss.Certain spirits though are nice, and white russians in particular are awesome. I'm going to London this weekend and most likely will be having a few, but I haven't been drunk in months, and have only had a couple of drinks in that time.

I'd definately have no problem giving up drinking altogether if I wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I'm currently trying to stay off alcohol for 2 weeks, I figure if I can't last 2 weeks I really do have a problem!!

Started Monday (2 days ago) and its bloody hard, friends keep asking me to go out for one thing or another, I can't avoid going out nor do I intend to but I can't stop thinking about how much I love to drink >_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i'd say most people who drink on a weekly basis have mild alcoholism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Non drinker here. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

gave it up when i started driving 2 years ago, feel tons better for it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Dont drink either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

Non drinker here also... Can't say it has been easy though... not that I find it hard not to drink, i find it hard to find other people who don't drink .. being stuck in Dublin doesnt help also where all passtimes involve drink, and social activities at work are the same...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

aloleary wrote:
    Non drinker here also... Can't say it has been easy though... not that I find it hard not to drink, i find it hard to find other people who don't drink .. being stuck in Dublin doesnt help also where all passtimes involve drink, and social activities at work are the same...

Invite your mates around for a tea party instead of going to the pub. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

zuutroy wrote:
    I'm not a non-drinker but I'm pretty much a non-drunk. 4-5 bottles is all I'd have in one sitting
    Ditto, it's enough to have fun, and yet be grand the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Wickedcat

I don't really have a serious reason for not drinking. In fact, I wish I do drink. Tried to get it into liking but then my taste buds probably don't like the taste of alcohol itself!..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

friend of mine(hes 17) has stopped drinking with us, hes says while he was in his home country(muslim) he becamse alot more religious :eek: ,and thus no more beerin sessions for him... to say the least we were all suprised, coming from the guy that used to pig-out during ramadan lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Im actually quite suprised by the feedback so far. I was half expecting most to say that they drink a bit. Im impressed thats there s a load that dont. Fair do s to ya, and well done for sticking to what you believe instead of following the pack :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭treefingers

drink at least once a week on average i would say. during the college term probably more. but i often make a conscious decision to not drink for 2/3/4 whatever amount of weeks and have no real problem without alcohol. the really hard thing is staying at home on a friday or saturday night when all your friends are in the pub.

have tried going out sober, and personally i can't enjoy it when i am the only person not drinking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

ferdi wrote:
    i'd say most people who drink on a weekly basis have mild alcoholism

...then by your definition about 90% of the population are alcos. Bit of an exaggeration maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I don't drink. I gave it up four years ago after 20 years of regular/normal drinking and don't plan doing it ever again. Its a mugs game, you don't 'need' it and apart from doing you harm it is also a stealth tax. If it hadn't been discovered until now, it would be impossible to legalise it due to how dangerous it is.

'cptr

(just say 'No')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭treefingers

I don't drink. I gave it up four years ago after 20 years of regular/normal drinking and don't plan doing it ever again. Its a mugs game, you don't 'need' it and apart from doing you harm it is also a stealth tax. If it hadn't been discovered until now, it would be impossible to legalise it due to how dangerous it is.

'cptr

(just say 'No')

its blatently obvious how expensive the stuff is. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Wow there is actually people like me. I do drink, but when I go out if I decide to drink at all, I'll have about 3-4 pints during the whole night just to have something in my hand.

Can anyone recommend places for people who dont like to drink.
    aidan24326 wrote:
    ...then by your definition about 90% of the population are alcos. Bit of an exaggeration maybe?

No not at all, I think the vast majority of people in Ireland genuinely have a problem and It seems that most people don't see that because its seen as a cultural thing. If you're drinking to get drunk then you have a problem. Kinda sad really... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Haven't had a drink in 2 years but was never a drunk anyway. just went out at the weekends and was severely disappointed with myself if I went past being merry to being stupid drunk. Very rarely happened. Usually abou 6 or 7 bottles of bud max was just right for me. I simply cannot understand people whos sole aim on a night out is to get as drunk as possible. Boggles my mind! Tbh I think the opposite is also a sign of an alchohol problem strangely enough. ie just having 1 or 2. Why bother? 1 or 2 means you can't drive but isn't enough to even start you getting merry and alcohol tastes rank at the best of times. Whats the point in 1 or 2? If thats all I had time for then I wouldn't bother having any at all and would drive and have a coke or two while the mates drank.

So basically, I can't understand those who can't just get merry but have to binge drink and also can't understand those who only have 1 or 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Not a drinker here, can't stand the stuff I am more of a Coca Cola type of guy, who prefers himself and his women sober, Now how many people have woken up next to a complete stranger (usually a minger).

Drink + attempts to get laid = the lollercaust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Yook wrote:
    No not at all, I think the vast majority of people in Ireland genuinely have a problem and It seems that most people don't see that because its seen as a cultural thing. If you're drinking to get drunk then you have a problem. Kinda sad really... :/

Not necessarily. It's really only a 'problem' as such where someone is drinking to the extent that it's effecting their life i.e can't get up in the morning, missing work, having blackouts, doing really stupid stuff, getting in trouble, getting sick etc. Even if someone goes out and drinks a bit much (ok it's bad for you but then so are alot of things) but it doesn't have any adverse effects on them bar the odd hangover, then that it isn't a problem in the stricter sense. That's the why term 'alcoholic' would not be used, that term is reserved for people with an addiction which is different. If you call everyone who has a few drinks alcos then what do you call the really heavy drinkers who can't stop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Dont drink (religion). I do go out loads though, alcohol has never held me back on that front:)
    Can anyone recommend places for people who dont like to drink.
    Not sure if you mean pubs/clubs or not, but if your in Dublin places like TramCo and Q Bar stand out. Comfy seats, loads of room to move around so youre not stuck with drunk people, good vibe good dancefloors, music is reasonable enough. Cant think of any other particularly good ones now... Bondi is alright imo.

If you're getting tired of pubs and stuff ask your mates to start the night off by going somewhere thats not just a pub, like to the international comedy club off Grafton St. A bit of compromise - they can drink away, and its still a good laugh for everyone.

People can be allergic to alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭sophya

Non drinker here, haven't touched a drop in all my 17 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Meh, I don't drink much. Have never seen the big deal with it. I'm happy enough to sit with water as alcohol. But on special occasion I do drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Im 28 now, stopped drinking when I was about 22 due to health, but I'd been drinking heavilly since a very very young age (11).
    My drinks of choice were always spirits, hated beer. Twas either Pernod & Black, Vodka, or whisky for me.

These days I dont miss it, if I were at somthing like a wedding I would have a glass of somthing, however when I say one glass I mean one glass.
    My health removed the option of drinking to excess from me and Im glad about it. :)

b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭watsgone

Rarely drink myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

I don't NEED to drink

So I usually have 1 or 2, or as many as i like

I only drink drinks that taste nice

Not into the whole "aquired taste" jazz

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I drink.
    Plenty.
    And its not an accidental thing either, I do think deeply about how much I drink. There are a lot of pub-owners in my family so it was always an issue going back as far as I remember.
    And I was a non-drinker up until the first year of college, and it sucked ass. And drinking lots doesnt suck ass. If u are stupid enough to drink enough to fall down and pass out drunk then theres a problem, other than that, drinking? its great!!!!!!!!!!
    If its good enough for Winston Churchill, the Queen, Queen, Steve Mc. Queen, Led Zeppelin, Neil Young, JAnis Joplin and most of our greatest artists / writers, then thats good enough for me. Sobriety can be a harsh mistress, and she is always pissy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I clearly need something like alcohol to take, to make me think it will help when depressed, but it never will.
    Anyway, I love being tipsy, so I'll keep at it.
    I know a few non drinkers, some feel uncomfortable out, some don't.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I'm a cheap date. I drink rarely, and when I do, it's typically a glass of wine or a half pint. On the rare occasion, it does not take much to push me over the edge.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭cue

Used to drink. Loved it. If I could have just stayed half drunk all the time I would still be at it, but I kept sobering up when I least wanted to and that made me thirstier. Ended up a right mess. Had to get help in the end. Haven't had a drop in over eight years now. If sobriety was no good I'd be back there like a shot, but its a grand auld adventure for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

I dont really drink but wouldnt be a "pioneer"

If i want ill have a few but generally dont see the point in getting totally **** faced and waking up in a jock the next morning.Some of my mates spend 200+ on booze on a weekend night,id personally rather spend the money on something for my car and at least have something to show for it other than a scorpy face and hangover!

Whats annoying tho is when all your mates are drunk and your sober joe and get blabbered to all night,it goes through my head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Dont drink never been drunk, dont plan to start either,

Anyways it gets in they way of my other hobbies cars!!!! cant drink and drive can ya!!

It saves ya money and you and your liver will be here alot longer!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

"I'm not dead... I'm just taking a break..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Ragazza

I don't drink.
    I used to, but I never liked it, I really hate getting drunk because I would sometimes forget everything past the second drink. (I wouldn't even have to drink more than five drinks for this to happen)
    Still have no recollection of lots of nights out, special occasions. Bit scary waking up the next morning in my own place or a mates house with no idea who took me there.:eek:

I can't drink now, I got sick and I will never be able to drink again.
    Couldn't be happier. :D
    I love going out with my friends, I don't do it very often so I don't mind the slobbering!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

I used to drink 7 nights a week but now I only have a drink at Christmas maybe. I never liked the taste of the stuff anyway so it wasn't really hard for me to give it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i'm half drunk now. it's great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

same going out in a mo to complete teh job, oh yeeeeeeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

Edgar Allan Poe wrote ' Eat, drink and be merry...for tomorrow maybe too late'
    i eat, i do lots of fun but i just couldn't drink!..HELP me learn it will ya?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Just wondering, for all of you drinkers, why do you drink? Is it for the taste, the feeling of being drunk, habit?
    Of course some people need to drink to chat up girls and thats fine, but most dont need it. Sorry if it sounds naive, but its so expensive, and the after effects cant be nice, is the buzz really that good? I have never understood it. Why?

I have loads of confident, really funny friends who are great to be around, yet they never come out without drinking, and drinking quite a lot. I just dont get it.

EDIT/ disclaimer: not supposed to be a lecture, just genuinely wondering

I never miss a night out and recently due to money and or work issues i've been the designated driver(which is very ****ing handy if you go miles to a bad club as in thank **** i didn't just pay 30 quid to travel there)

I LOVE drinking(to the point some people would say I've a problem) but can't see the difference really.

You kinda can get a bit mored tired/irratated but a lot of laughter
    What surprised me most was a couple of (not close mates) finding out I was driving and saying stuff like your great craic when your sober as well
    FFS little bitches :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I stopped drinking when I was pregnant and didn't resume after my son was born as I need all the energy I can get and can't afford hangovers and also, because I don't think it's right to be tipsy/drunk when you have a young child or baby in your care. I don't miss drink at all tbh and although I may drink the odd drink again in the future, no more bingeing for me!