Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you use Boards less now that...

• 28-07-2006 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭

..the function for viewing your previous posts has been disabled? I do.
    It used to be so easy to pop on and within a few minutes see any replies to your posts. Now it's hard to even remember where they are! I feel much more like an observer now and my rate of posts has gone down.

This obviously only applies to us non-subscribers. Is this what the future of a two tier internet feels like?!

Do you posts less since the "previous posts" function was disabled 42 votes

I post less.
    0%
    I post the same amount.
    45%
    Slutmonkey57bBigConressemembeeUser45701gary the greatchillywillyelekidxabiThe Free Man[Jackass]Unknown68 lost soulsAlvisPatricideGary ITRTheVansupergirl2Susannahmia 19 votes
    Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    54%
    rymusMossy MonkJohnny_the_foxRuu_OldChinafootBuffyBotOrielmonkeyfudgeJosephSteffano2002Tobias GreeshmanTerrorFirmerRhymemuckwarriorbiko#Smokey#Dave!Slippin JimmyInFrontaidan24326 23 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Can't you just go into your user profile and see the threads you subscribed to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Tis annoying alright but hardly impacting enough to affect my usage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Its irritating, but I wouldnt post less because of it. Its topical in feedback at the minute though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I post the same amount.
    actually when i read the title of the thread this is the issue that popped into my head...yes i find it really annoying not being able to access my posts which leads me to forget about the threads im interested in......

what can ye do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

I just hit the CP link in the top right of the start page. It brings me to my CP and in there its displayed what threads i've posted on that are updated since i last visited...

Jasus, you lot would moan about anything...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    No I rarely use the search anyway. Just add the forums you view most often to your Subbed menu or Subscribe to the threads you post on. The search will come back eventually, give the lads time. I would much rather no search than boards stopping every few minutes, what about you OP? Imagine the amount of complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Isn't it enough that you've posted? Unless you've asked a question that you need answering, checking back over previous posts is almost completely useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 supergirl2

I post the same amount.
    Yes, i do!! They should have a search engine for "members names" like other sites and then at least you can view your posts and posts you replied too. Too all the others who haven't noticed you can no longer view your previous posts by your CP - you need to remenber the topic and use the search engine now.

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    supergirl2 wrote:
    Yes, i do!! They should have a search engine for "members names" like other sites and then at least you can view your posts and posts you replied too. Too all the others who haven't noticed you can no longer view your previous posts by your CP - you need to remenber the topic and use the search engine now.

They do have it but the search was taking its toll on the server and bring boards to a halt. It will be brought back eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I usually click my name and choose "find more posts by astrofool" as it returns the latest threads I replied to at the top. It's a waste obviously as it does a full db search on my name, and they could actually lessen the query hit if they could store the last 10 threads (or so) for users to access.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Never even knew such a function existed! I use a tool called "my memory" for remembering which threads I posted in... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

Never even knew such a function existed! I use a tool called "my memory" for remembering which threads I posted in... :p

Well with all the talk round here lately of Salvia I reckon alot of Boardsers don't have your memory power!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Rhyme wrote:
    Isn't it enough that you've posted? Unless you've asked a question that you need answering, checking back over previous posts is almost completely useless.
    But you have to find out if someone has quoted your post and typed "lol"

It's vital information.

PS. "lol"

frobisher wrote:
    ..the function for viewing your previous posts has been disabled? I do.
    It used to be so easy to pop on and within a few minutes see any replies to your posts. Now it's hard to even remember where they are! I feel much more like an observer now and my rate of posts has gone down.

This obviously only applies to us non-subscribers. Is this what the future of a two tier internet feels like?!

get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I just use 'User CP'... and have always used it!

But i do use Boards.ie a lot less than i used to... not really sure why. Maybe it was the crazy final year i had in college or the 8 hour working days now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    But you have to find out if someone has quoted your post and typed "lol"

It's vital information.

PS. "lol"

LOL

Atari Bleedin Jaguar btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/subscription.php?do=viewsubscription

Umm, wtf? Why would you use a db search query everytime you want to see your threads when the subscrip does a much better job of it whilst not taxing runtime? I don't think I've ever used the "Previous Posts" function, although I do find that the "Find all posts by" for other users.... has it uses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

get over it!

Um, that's me told in a clever and witty fashion! PS Yer ma.

It's obvious from alot of the above posts that many users have more functionality than I do. Maybe it's a post count thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

frobisher wrote:

It's obvious from alot of the above posts that many users have more functionality than I do. Maybe it's a post count thing.
    Mods and subscribers (afaiu) have access to the advanced search script. The Admins are working on getting the full search back up and running for all though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

frobisher wrote:

You can turn on subscribtion to threads option in your User CP on the day you register; nothing to do with postcount, seniority or moderator status.

TBH I don't know why it isn't enabled by default, as many people don't know their way around vB when they first come to a forum.

*Step 1: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/profile.php?do=editoptions

*Step 2: Scroll to Messaging & Notification

*Step 3: Use the drop down list in the 2nd paragraph and select "No eMail notification" (unless you want an inbox full of thread titles)

*Step 4: Add http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/subscription.php?do=viewsubscription
    to your bookmarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Peace wrote:
    I just hit the CP link in the top right of the start page. It brings me to my CP and in there its displayed what threads i've posted on that are updated since i last visited...

Jasus, you lot would moan about anything...
    Ditto.

And if it bothers you's that much then just go and feckin subscribe and you can search all ya want!

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    Too add to Wertz's post, Click Here, if you don't know how to add your favourite forums to the subbed list for easy navigation. Yes ph33r my paint skillzors. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    frobisher wrote:
    Well with all the talk round here lately of Salvia I reckon alot of Boardsers don't have your memory power!
    Oh well that explains it then! You pot heads! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

The less of you fuckers use boards the better my browsing experience will be:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Ruu wrote:
    No I rarely use the search anyway. Just add the forums you view most often to your Subbed menu or Subscribe to the threads you post on. The search will come back eventually, give the lads time. I would much rather no search than boards stopping every few minutes, what about you OP? Imagine the amount of complaints.
    I agree. Subscribing to forums is better than searching for what you posted IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Atari bleedin Jaguar.
    I would subscribe but...no CC...my post count has dwindled by 2 posts daily.

this is indeed worrying.