Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought a new bike.....

• 28-07-2006 9:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭

Now I just need to go pick her up. Eligible for classic insurance on Jan 1st according to CN. It's a fair step up from my current 250cc yoke!

ebay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

Welcome to the world of big bikes :D

When you going over to collect?
    make sure you give us a rundown of how you got on & good luck & be safe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Jaysus, nice bike mate , well done and such a nice price too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Cheers lads. £920 is a very good price for said bike. I've been bidding on a few and believe me, worse bikes have gone for more money.

I'll be heading over asap. Have to see about getting a day off work to do it. The seller is sound, which is always nice.

I reckon all in all (plane, train and ferry ticket + fuel), VRT (just €116) paid and bike back here it'll cost me €1650-€1750 tops. You can't really get early TDMs second hand here at all and the ones that do come up are all in bits with big mileage and way overpriced. Looking forward to some 850 twin fun.

Yee-har.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭saobh_ie

Nice one. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Torq

murphaph wrote:
    Now I just need to go pick her up. Eligible for classic insurance on Jan 1st according to CN. It's a fair step up from my current 250cc yoke!

ebay

A 15yr old bike qualifies for classic insurance??? I thought it was 20 yrs.
    Keep well,
    Torq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

nope 15 years for motorbikes

Looks great. Thats exactly the kind of bike I hope to get after college.

baz8080 wrote:
    Looks great. Thats exactly the kind of bike I hope to get after college.
    You'll likely have to go to Britain for one too so. They are very rare here. Plenty of more modern TDM850s and TDM900s. Lookin forward to the ride along the A55 through those tunnels.

Just to give you an update.....collected the bike today! :D

Got 6.30 flight to Manchester (€29). Took train to Sheffield Central (£16), then taxi to seller's house (£10). Arrived there at 10am exactly so not too bad really. Checked the bike and it was exactly as described, maybe a little better actually. Seller was an absolute gent and made me most welcome. Departed there at 11am and took A616->M60->M56-A55 to Holyhead. Arrived there at 13.45.

Got a ticket for the 15.00 Irish Ferries sailing for £40.

Bike: £920. Expenses (inc. fuel): £82. Total cost including VRT: €1,580 :D

Fantastic bike btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Post some pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Nice bike, they've a 10 valve parallel twin engine so I've read, which is kinda different. I'd say it's fierce hard keeping the front wheel on the ground when you're in a rush, careful now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Looks like a cracking bargain... Well wear.

Fabritzo wrote:
    Nice bike, they've a 10 valve parallel twin engine so I've read, which is kinda different. I'd say it's fierce hard keeping the front wheel on the ground when you're in a rush, careful now!
    Yeah, it's like driving a diesel in a way-pulls in any gear. Very forgiving bike. It doesn't scream at you like a 4 cylinder sports bike It's a very different bike as you say. Still goes like the clappers though :)

Steffano mate, pics later today. Gotta get batteries for the camera!

p1010036nk6.jpg

p1010039vc3.jpg

p1010038hu7.jpg

p1010040vw3.jpg

p1010045ll5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Nice pics murphaph! Worth the wait! You got yourself a very nice bike at a very nice price there! ;)

When I'm fed up with my Bandit I think I'll be importing my next bike also (France or UK). But we're not there yet!

Cheers Steffano,
    Called CN today as my renewal is up next week. Get this:
    TPFT for this bike and my old 250 GSX is €1750.
    Wait until January and the TDM is eligible for classic (same cover, TPFT) and the total premium payable drops to €390 for both bikes! The system is truly fcuked folks.

Anyway, gonna garage her until January-I'm not paying the same as the bike cost again to CN for insurance for a few months!

Of course my policy allows me to ride other bikes so long as I don't own them and have the owners permission, maybe I'll register this TDM with a mate ;)