Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

customer went to hit me!

• 28-07-2006 3:15am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭

hey folks. i need to get this off my chest as i'm really fuming. i work part-time in a supermarket as a checkout operator. i was working late on wed night, round 10.20, when a junkie and his girlfriend came through my till. i had a big queue and was already under pressure.

then as i was giving them their change, the guy started wavin his clubcard in my face. i nicely told him it was too late and then he started cursin at me under his breath. at first i bit my tongue and didn't say anything, but then he started shoutin at me sayin i was suppose to ask, cursing and calling me names.

so i very firmly told him to watch how he spoke to me. he then EXPLODED and lunged at at me with his fist held right back to hit me. but he stopped just short of a punch, probably because i was standing up and alot taller than him.

so then i completely flipped and went off the checkout after to him so i could beat the s**t out of him but his druggie girlfriend was standing between us so i couldn't. she was either protecting him or holding him back, i'm not sure which.

anyway in this few seconds, with several customers watching, i cooled off a bit and started to back away. i looked around for security to throw the prick out but - there was no one at all, not even a manager to help me. turns out there was no instore security that night, just a guy outside responsible for an entire carpark. its always this way.

in other words i was f**ked. so i just shouted aload of abuse at the guy (and he shouted back) and then i stormed off.

i went into work today and found out the same junkie had already been in, no one barred him or anything. i spoke to the assistant manager who spoke to me like i was a robot, didn't think there was any problem with security and then ran off to talk to a customer and said he'd "get back to me." he didn't, in fact he didn't seem to give a s**t. so i really feel like tellin the guy to go stuff his job.

sorry for the rant. but what does everyone think? am i right to be upset over this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

This chap obviously wanted to get a rise out of you and he did (I probably wouldn't have been able to hold myself back either). Keep at the management and write a letter to send to headquarters to let them know that you were threatened by someone, thats no way to be carrying on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I wouldn't fancy working there after that... roudy scumbag #1 gets away with it... tells his roudy scumbag friends that there's no security where you work and the staff won't step in (not that you should be expected to)... word gets around, and before you know it the place is crawling with 'em.

I worked in a resuraunt in templebar a few years ago for a summer, late opening hours, no security at all... no bother most of the time, but when you get loud drunk knackers in, things get very edgy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Although this is not specifically a martial arts discussion, there are a lot of guys over on MA and self defense under the Sports forum who would just love to give you pointers, as well as cautions about exposing yourself to legal and risk of injury consequences. Maybe it could be moved?:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pink Bunny

Yeah, I think I'd be looking for another job myself. If the management doesn't back you up about this I wouldn't count on them doing so in the future either. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Although this is not specifically a martial arts discussion, there are a lot of guys over on MA and self defense under the Sports forum who would just love to give you pointers, as well as cautions about exposing yourself to legal and risk of injury consequences. Maybe it could be moved?:cool:

Most of the advice we would give would be to do everything to de-escalate the situation.

The only thing you have going for you at times like this is to keep your cool and think clearly....and believe me i know how hard this can be.

Remember that the first form of self defence is the sprint. There are no quick and easy self defence moves, that stuff is for movies and shyster "self defence experts". Any of the better names in the industry, whatever they basic idea's, all advocate constant training, drilling and pressure testing, just like any other martial art.

Lets say you go into this scumbag in the shop. He never actually touched you so you can't claim self defence. He had pulled no weapon either so effectively he could claim assault and you know his GF would spin whatever yarn they needed.

This could result in the OP losing his job, a suit against the company and all sorts of other nasties.

The simple fact however is that not providing any security is more than likely a health and safety issue....and maybe even against the insurance policy that covers the store.

I would not advise to make any threats on your employer, but i would voice your concerns about this to headoffice.

At the end of the day you are an employee, if you have concerns and have come under threat and your management do not seem worried about it then just go over there heads.

What if the next poor guy or girl who goes through the same situation in your store comes out worse than you did? I suggest going to head office and finding there take on it. You gave your store management a shot and they failed in there role, so fu*k em!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Sorry to hear about the fight you nearly got in....

But this is funny... can you imagine the conversation with his mates!

Scumbag: "Yeah he woooden gi me me fùkin Tesco Clubcard Points"
    Scumbag eile: "Wha tha Fùck!!! I'da fùken decked him"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

**** the job! I'd never work in a place I didn't feel safe. Theres better jobs out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Jaysus, that's pretty crap security for that time of night - you really should say things to head management.

I've been in Dunnes in Jetland at about midnight on Friday nights (don't ask :D), and there were at least two security guards walking around the main part of the shopping centre alone and I think there was a guy watching the cameras - may have been some in the car parks as well.

Though saying all that, this place is about half an hour's walk from Moyross (Mac 10 country), so they'd want some security!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

hey folks. i need to get this off my chest as i'm really fuming. i work part-time in a supermarket as a checkout operator. i was working late on wed night, round 10.20, when a junkie and his girlfriend came through my till. i had a big queue and was already under pressure.

then as i was giving them their change, the guy started wavin his clubcard in my face. i nicely told him it was too late and then he started cursin at me under his breath. at first i bit my tongue and didn't say anything, but then he started shoutin at me sayin i was suppose to ask, cursing and calling me names.

so i very firmly told him to watch how he spoke to me. he then EXPLODED and lunged at at me with his fist held right back to hit me. but he stopped just short of a punch, probably because i was standing up and alot taller than him.

so then i completely flipped and went off the checkout after to him so i could beat the s**t out of him but his druggie girlfriend was standing between us so i couldn't. she was either protecting him or holding him back, i'm not sure which.

anyway in this few seconds, with several customers watching, i cooled off a bit and started to back away. i looked around for security to throw the prick out but - there was no one at all, not even a manager to help me. turns out there was no instore security that night, just a guy outside responsible for an entire carpark. its always this way.

in other words i was f**ked. so i just shouted aload of abuse at the guy (and he shouted back) and then i stormed off.

i went into work today and found out the same junkie had already been in, no one barred him or anything. i spoke to the assistant manager who spoke to me like i was a robot, didn't think there was any problem with security and then ran off to talk to a customer and said he'd "get back to me." he didn't, in fact he didn't seem to give a s**t. so i really feel like tellin the guy to go stuff his job.

sorry for the rant. but what does everyone think? am i right to be upset over this?

Course you're right to be upset, nobody should feel threatened where they work, especially not by some toerag who has probably never worked a day in his life. I used to work in McD's and the amount of crap you'd get was unbelievable, complete scum giving you abuse about where you worked and then nipping off to the jacks to bang up. Actually hit a guy there once, it's on another thread somewhere so won't go into it but it was self-defence and my boss did back me up although had to make a statement for the Guards because the guy hit his head pretty hard when he fell (more through booze than strength of my punch btw :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I have been assaulted in work by a the shopping centre terror. This is when I used to work in retail in the square. Full on right hook to the jaw. I managed to get him 6 months in Juvie for that :) along with 70 other offences.

Point is; perhaps you should bring up the legal ramifiacations of it all saying the store is liable if you are not protected in work. Bet he'll listen then.

They are required to insure your safety in work.

Collie, immensely satisfying. Nice work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

If you quit your job, junkie wins.
    Better idea: Wait till he comes in again, a few punches about the face, walk out battle-scarred, and win the girl...

<roll credits>

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

lol sinecurea. i like your plan.

mostly i'm annoyed that there was no security or anyone around to back me up. i felt like such a fool lookin around but -- nada.

the moron assistant manager said i should have walked away immediately. he said someone once pulled a knife on him and thats what he did. fool.

i don't care what anyone says. you don't ever turn your back on someone who gets aggressive with you. therefore either someone (i.e. security or a manager) is there to stand up for me, or i have to stand up for myself. which i did.

i'm still angry and feel like packin the job in, but i'll see what tune they're playing tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Arcadian

I think you should leave. If you can't keep your own temper under control when a customer blows up at you then you're heading for trouble, been there done that and ended up being jumped by a nasty customer on my way home from work one night;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Arcadian wrote:
    I think you should leave. If you can't keep your own temper under control when a customer blows up at you then you're heading for trouble, been there done that and ended up being jumped by a nasty customer on my way home from work one night;)

really? what happened?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Your employer has a 'duty of care' for you while working. This includes making reasonable efforts to make sure you are safe in the building. One guy patrolling the car park does not fulfil this duty.

Under Health and Safety legislation they haven't a leg to stand on. I'm presuming you're not in a union? If you are, your union needs a rocket up the bum for allowing such working conditions.

Your retaliation to his provocation wasn't a good idea, especially in a situation where you have no backup.

spurious wrote:
    Your employer has a 'duty of care' for you while working. This includes making reasonable efforts to make sure you are safe in the building. One guy patrolling the car park does not fulfil this duty.

Under Health and Safety legislation they haven't a leg to stand on. I'm presuming you're not in a union? If you are, your union needs a rocket up the bum for allowing such working conditions.

Your retaliation to his provocation wasn't a good idea, especially in a situation where you have no backup.

i am in a union. and if i told you which supermarket you'd probably be shocked.

i agree that i didn't handle the situation very well. i'm usually a very calm, easy going person, but i react very angrily to people who think they can walk all over me. if it were to happen again tomorrow i hope that i would just walk away.

i did talk to the assistant manager again yesterday and he was much more receptive this time. although he gave no promises about getting proper security for the late nights. from what i can gather its not his decision to make. but still he took the time to speak to me properly so i'm feeling alot better about the situation.

everyone amongst the staff was pretty shocked about what happened though. its good to have their support at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Arcadian

really? what happened?

I worked for the almighty Paddy Power and the abuse you have to take from drunks and druggies is crazy. One day i had to put the run on someone for being a nuisance to other customers (abusive) and staff. He said i'd better watch my back but as i was well used to being threatened i laughed it off and told him to get out before i called the guards. Anyway, he was true to his word and on my way home i went to Connolly Station, i just entered the station and went to the cash machine when he came up behind me and grabbed me by the throat, pretty much bouncing me back off the wall the fecker!!!

My boss at the time was one of those ''you obviously did something to upset him'' types:rolleyes: So it was my own fault according to them, i foolishly let the whole thing go and simply left shortly afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 molypiper

reading your article alone made my blood boil! that's no way to treat a man. they say a customer is always right but not with this kind of stuff! it's sad to know that some people think they have the right ot demand over their freaky wants! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Arcadian, working in a bookies can be damn rough, but good fun.

But support from management can often be missing. I have three incidents where I stood up for myself and my staff.

1. Slow counter (A black guy charged up to the counter at the off of a greyhound race, with a badly written scrawl). He called me every name under the sun after I refused to pay out. He said I took the bet. I said, write it properly. It was written in an up and down style with a dozen different meanings depending on the outcome. Of course, he was Nigerian. He called me racist, threatened to burn the shop, threatened myself and the shop girl. I said, thats enough, you can go out, and you won't get a penny out of me. I voided his bet, and said "We saw a warning on SIS about you, and myself and "XXX" are going to split your 88 quid, and have a few pints, so have a good day, if you have any problems talk to our head office".

2. I walked into the office to take over for the night shift, just after night racing had been legalised. There was a violent foul mouthed drunk threatening the girls who were intimidated. The night racing was'nt too popular yet, and the girls could not leave to go home for the night.

Solution, went to pub, obtained bucket of cold water, threw it over him, frog marched said customer out.

3. Former Secondary School teacher. The settler could hardly read his bets, neither could I, and after 6 months of eye strain, decided to cut to the chase.

"John, I believe you criticised my handwriting in (Name of School), and referred to it as Egyptian hieroglyphics"
    Mr D "Who do you think you are calling me John"
    "I could call you worse things, but I think we are on first name terms now John".
    Mr D "Ok, whats the problem"
    "Well, could you help us, we need you to write a bit larger, because we can hardly read the names of the horses, and could you just write the time and the meeting"
    Mr D. "grunts".

Things continued as they were for the next 6 weeks, and if anything, his handwriting was even worse. One busy Saturday, we agreed between us to deal with the said problem.

"John, I have better things to do than read hieroglyphics. Can you take yourself, and your tenpenny cross doubles out of my sight, and over to Corals"