Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do ppl take the chance?

• 27-07-2006 11:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

argh, Im from waterford meself, and was drivin home at about half five this evenin, next minute fella pulls out in front of me. I tried to go to the left but i couldnt cause of parked cars, and then he was turning right, so i had to lean the bike onto to the ground otherwise i would've went straight into the side of him.

He gets outta the car, and says ''Didn't you not see me indicate??'' I mean wtf. What good is that after he pulls out in front of me??? So anyway we pull in, and i goes to ring the guards, and he starts pleading with me not to, cause his licence was up for renewl the last two weeks and he has no NCT.

I said to him its becuase of fellas like you we're all payin so high insurance. Its not my problem you were stupid enough to drive illegally, and if i done it id be viewed as a typical young wreckless driver (im 18 btw) so why should you get away with it?

So anyway the guards came, told us to drop up our drivers licence and proof of insurance within the next ten days, already dropped em up this evenin. He addmited it was his fault. The bike now has a dent gear lever and a couple of scratches on the nsr sticker, not too bad, but still im goin gettin a quote of how much it is to fix it all.

I decided to deal with ur man directly about it, because since his insurance is void i'd get nothing outta that. The guards have his details anyway so if he dont pay up, they'll be after him. I just dont understand how people can be so careless on the roads, it wrecks my head :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

That's an infuriating story. I think you dealt with it very well though! Very mature for an 18 year old! ;)

I say bring him to the cleaners for driving with no license and no NCT! That'll teach him! :mad:

Hope you get that NSR fixed nicely too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Well done Finch. Hope the damadge isn't too bad.. Make sure you get it checked out for the damage thaat you may not be able to see.. And also claim for any damage to your protective gear (jacket, helmet, trousers, etc.).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

As for why people do things like that, well it because hes in a bigger vehicle so won't personally get injured, he might give way to a lorry but anything else would be doubtfull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

I had this sort of conversation with a mate of mine who has never driven a bike. I asked him can he judge how fast a bike is going and he said very rarely. He said its simply because he always associates bikes with going slower than a car.

People just dont see bikes on the road.. and the ad on the tv which shows the biker getting knocked off his bike by a guy coming out a side road is very true unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Finch-

Yeh I brought the bike out to waterford honda today and got it checked out. Theres damage to the gear change lever, the left hand hanger for the footpeg is dented in, clutch lever has a few scratchs on it and the fairing has to be replaced because of all the scratches on it. It all comes to 376euro :o fairly pricey, but sure it has to be done.

I was talkin to him on the phone, the fella in the car, and he said he'll pay for it, got a bit of a shock when i said 376 but sure even i did lol

So all is well that ends well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

That is a really good price, how much of the fairing did he destroy? Give us a few pics of the damage.

Most important is that you are ok, bikes are fixable / replaceable, bodies tend to take a bit more to fix!

MC

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

On my drive to work I see stuff like that every damn day.

People have a blind spot when it comes to bikes, its unbelievable. I was always more aware of bikes on the road, and especially reading this forum, made me aware of a lot more things. I'm forever looking at my wing mirrors and blind spot for bikes.

They could do with running This ad over here, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

Ouch, thats a good ad alright.

Silverfish wrote:
    Well I'm sure most people in Ireland have seen it considering most of us get British channels... Great ad to educate drivers IMO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Were you driving with your full lights on? (not high beam) I have noticed that it makes a big difference in whether a car driver notices bikes or not. Hence I drive with full lights all the time.

Yep I always drive with em on meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Silverfish wrote:
    On my drive to work I see stuff like that every damn day.

People have a blind spot when it comes to bikes, its unbelievable. I was always more aware of bikes on the road, and especially reading this forum, made me aware of a lot more things. I'm forever looking at my wing mirrors and blind spot for bikes.

exept the bike isnt actually in the first part of the video?????

subway wrote:
    exept the bike isnt actually in the first part of the video?????
    Mr. Picky himself! Never happy! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Christ, Unlucky finch. But yeah, cars are menaces of the road..well, to us, anyway. Unless the person in front of you is one of those fantastic drivers that dont even need to use indicators. Or one of those lads who drive mercs who also by definition, own the road.

Was that the NSR125, or the 75? And I'd say get a new helmet out of him too, helmets are no good after a knock.

Glad no serious harm was done.
    But Im guessing this backed up my theory - you never learn how to swear until you learn how to drive, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Mr. Picky himself! Never happy! :p
    it defeats the purpose of the ad.
    first time a cager sees it they go "ooh i missed that bike"
    second time theyre really looking for it and cop that there is no bike, then theyre back to
    "ahh, if the bike was there i KNOW i wouldve seen it, im very observant and careful on the road"

and the ad has no affect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Finch, well done and handled very correctly. I bet that guy will be giving bikers a bit of distrance before pulling out now. Good to hear that you are ok and the bike is fixable in the end. Plus its always nice to be able to get one up on a bad driver ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

There is a good article in the motoring section of the limerick post explaining about bikes and things and explaining the vulns to motor users.

One of the comparisons is do you fail safe in a car. Well what if there was a massive spike coming out if the stearing wheel. 2% road of the road users are bikers and 12% of the accidents involve us and usually its the cars fault...

Its very informative and even has the "Sorry mate, I just didnt see you" thing in it too

Yeh it was the nsr 75, wish i had the 125 lol I got the money off him anyway, met him about 10mins out the road from where i live, and he pulls up in the car again lol

Jesus only 2% of the traffic are bikers? thought it would be more then that! and only 12% if the accidents are us, and as u said mostly people in cars are responsible for it, then it makes me think why the hell i'm gettin a quote of 2500 for an nsr 75 and 2300 for a 1ltr car. It sickens me :(