Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus Lanes

• 26-07-2006 11:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭

When can we officially do it then? Obviously the papers won't bother printing it cos no one cares about bikes, but I heard it'll be officially legal very soon. Anyone got any more info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭rachymc

where did you get this info from? first ive heard of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

"Legal" soon? Hmmm... I find it hard to believe. Although it would make sense as bikes don't really cause congestion for buses and bus lanes are safer for bikers!
    Anyway it's "tolerated" right now isn't it? Has anybody here got stopped and fined for using the bus lane on two wheels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

i was cruising along on my moped (stop sniggering) and i saw a few bikers pulled over for driving in the bus lane, on the n4 at the lucan side of the liffey valley roundabout.

I heard Gay Byrne on the late late show, he said that legislation is coming to allow bikers in the bus lanes, but we all know we need a crisis to get legislation through in ireland and aren't the politicians on their summer break???

comer_97 wrote:
    I was cruising along on my moped (stop sniggering) and I saw a few bikers pulled over for driving in the bus lane, on the N4 at the lucan side of the liffey valley roundabout.
    Wonder if they got a ticket...
    comer_97 wrote:
    I heard Gay Byrne on the late late show, he said that legislation is coming to allow bikers in the bus lanes, but we all know we need a crisis to get legislation through in ireland and aren't the politicians on their summer break???
    LOL :D So true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

i have been done once in 5 years of driving & that was during christmas time by an old country guard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

i'd challenge any of the charges on the grounds of healt and safety

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Has anybody here got stopped and fined for using the bus lane on two wheels?
    I've been stopped a good number of times, although not at all very recently, but never got more than a "don't do it again". The last time I think i was going down past liffey valley where the bus lane disapears for a couple of hundred meters to become a hard shoulder and then reappars again and they said don't ride down the hard shoulder, but your OK down the bus lane. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

seen plenty of people stopped in clontarf just past the yacht.
    none recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

I was filtering through traffic on Chapelizod Bypass a few months ago and saw a bike cop going up the bus lane. Flashed the blue lights and pointed at me. I was like "WTF?", but obviously pulled over. Stopped behind gard and he started waving his hand pointing to ground beside him, so I pulled up beside him.
    Wondering what he was going to say, I was flummoxed when he said, "you know you'd be safer in the bus lane"!!! :eek: Told him that a cop had pulled me once near Liffey Valley for using bus lane. Bit of verbal from _that cop_ and "be on your way".
    Pity I didn't remember his lapel number to quote to other less enlightened cops...

Was hoping you'd post that story on this thread a_ominous ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

a_ominous wrote:
    I was flummoxed when he said, "you know you'd be safer in the bus lane"!!! :eek:

Either the same guy told me the same thing (on the N3) a while back or there is a general sense amongst garda bikers that "common" bikers really are safer in the bus lane.

When I drive in the bus lane I generally only do at most 40kmph (in an 80) and 30 in a 60/50 mainly because there are always *muppets* that dive into it to without looking.

If you do drive in it, be corteous to other drivers already in there, be very corteous to busses and taxis - always let them out in front of you, and be extremely mindful of cyclists.

All these people have "more" of a right to be in there than motorbikes do and if we are seen to "generally" behave in there then they will more than likely have little or no problem to motorbikes legally being allowed to use them.

L.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Taxis only have more of a right if they have a fare....mumble, grumble, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Garibaldi wrote:
    Taxis only have more of a right if they have a fare....mumble, grumble, etc.

indeed :mad:

I had a "discussion" with one once after he tried to run me off the road (on my bicycle) in a buslane a couple of years ago.

He "eloquently" (as only taxi drivers can) told me to get off the f****n road you f****n <snip> ... </snip> f****n cyclist.

I told him that he was more than welcome to overtake me when I was good and ready to let him past and that he wasn't carrying a fare.

"yeah? well im goin to f****n pick up my f****n fare now"

off you go so...

so he did, followed by a garda on a (motor) bike who had seen the whole thing and pulled him over.

I learned my lesson anyway, but at least he got a talkin to. He never did pass me by either so I guess his "fare" was not all that important to him.:rolleyes:

L.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

comer_97 wrote:
    So maybe Gay Byrne is useful for something (assuming he had some input in making this decision).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Gaybo said it would be done before the Dail summer breakup. It's useful to have bikers in influential places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

This might sound like a stupid question, but when is the summer breakup? Is he speaking of next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

Was hoping you'd post that story on this thread a_ominous ;)
    Feck, I'm getting old and repeating my stories :o Ah well there's a few newbies around, so I can recycle this for a few more years, LOL.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Although Im 100% for opening the bus lanes its unlikely going to happen in this country. Studies have shown that pedestrian accidents and fatalities have increased in cities where bus lanes have been opened to us bikers.

The main reason why the trial was agreed in NI was the Paisley's son was all for it, and he is of course a biker.

I was pulled over once for driving in a bus lane. She took my details and gave me a warning. It was day 1 of operation freeflow so it was one of the extra gardai drafted up for traffic.

If you are driving in the bus lanes and dont want grief from the boys in blue heres my tips:
    Give Way to those who are rightfully there, especially cyclists.
    DONT Speed (this is actually what most bikers are pulled in for)
    Dont get smart or play dumb with the gardai.

Safe biking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,450 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

faceman wrote:
    Although Im 100% for opening the bus lanes its unlikely going to happen in this country. Studies have shown that pedestrian accidents and fatalities have increased in cities where bus lanes have been opened to us bikers.
    Got a source for this?
    The Bristol study showed that pedestrian accidents went down. I'm not aware of any reputable study done in the UK which contradicts it. As motorbike/pedestrian accidents are far far rarer than car/pedestrian accidents anyway, collecting enough data is a problem.

In any case, your point is moot as large numbers of motorcyclists in Dublin use bus lanes anyway. If bus lane use by motorbikes was going to lead to pedestrian carnage it would be happening already. It isn't.
    I was pulled over once for driving in a bus lane. She took my details and gave me a warning. It was day 1 of operation freeflow so it was one of the extra gardai drafted up for traffic.
    IOW a Templemore hatchling. Experienced Gardai generally know which laws are meant to be enforced and which are better overlooked...

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

a_ominous wrote:
    Feck, I'm getting old and repeating my stories :o Ah well there's a few newbies around, so I can recycle this for a few more years, LOL.
    You told me that story when we stopped (in Ferns?) on the ride back from Wexford. I was actually going to tell that story but I was hoping you would do it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I've never been stopped for it and I do it everyday - I decided to take my chances the other morning when there was a cop in Drumcondra and he just looked the other way as I was passing. People assume when they see a bunch of bikes pulled over that it's because they've been driving in the bus lane - I was pulled over one morning when they were just checking licence and tax on all the bikes, came into work and saw a thread on boards(i'm a grafter me :D) where somebody was laughing that the bold bikers had finally been pulled over for being in the bus lane :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

ninja900 wrote:
    Got a source for this?
    The Bristol study showed that pedestrian accidents went down. I'm not aware of any reputable study done in the UK which contradicts it. As motorbike/pedestrian accidents are far far rarer than car/pedestrian accidents anyway, collecting enough data is a problem.

In any case, your point is moot as large numbers of motorcyclists in Dublin use bus lanes anyway. If bus lane use by motorbikes was going to lead to pedestrian carnage it would be happening already. It isn't.

i know some high ranking gardai hence and it was them who told me. I have been unable to verify same online though. Im not making any claims here, just quoting reliable sources so dont shoot the messenger!

With regards to accidents, you will only read about fatalities in the media so dont underestimate the volume of accidents.

im curious about the bristol study, i dont understand how accidents went down just because bikers used bus lanes and i couldnd find it online in any report? Either way the bristol study concluded that bus lanes would not be open to bikers.

http://www.asyf99.dsl.pipex.com/info/cpag.html

its worth noting that a more comprehensive study is being done in london about bus lane use and bikers. A study is also being done in birmingham.

http://www.tfl.gov.uk/streets/blec_london_buses_qanda.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,450 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

faceman wrote:
    i know some high ranking gardai hence and it was them who told me. I have been unable to verify same online though.
    Ah, the old 'I know someone...' routine with no backup.

MAG Ireland have been told by the Gardai the precise opposite, that they would have no objection to changing the law. The obstacle is the DTO. Dublin City Council were able to give motorcycles access to 3 'bus lanes' (no blue bus lane sign, so not legally a bus lane, but still barred to private cars) in Dawson St, Sth Gt Georges St and Nth Frederick St. They would not have been able to do this in the face of Garda opposition.

Look at the NRA's Road Accident Facts. The number of accidents between pedestrians and motorcycles is tiny.
    im curious about the bristol study, i dont understand how accidents went down just because bikers used bus lanes and i couldnd find it online in any report?
    Accidents went down because bikes were clearly visible in the middle of the bus lane, not filtering through cars or trying to squeeze along the white line beside cars.

FFS, there are loads of Google results for 'bristol bus lane motorcycle', the first one is http://www.bmf.co.uk/briefing/motorcycleuseofbuslanes.html
    Motorcycle access to bus lanes has been a normal feature in many European cities for several years. i.e. cities in Italy and Spain, especially Barcelona , and Stockholm in Sweden .
    Bristol has operated a permanent motorcycle access since 1996 following a preceding experiment with Reading 's motorcycleaccess scheme made permanent in 1999.
    Motorcycle access to bus lanes has been made permanent in Birmingham , Colchester , Bath and Hull .
    Motorcycles have had access to the non-car lane in Moorgate in the City of London for some considerable time.

The second Google result is also from the BMF and is well worth a read. http://www.bmf.co.uk/briefing/PTW-use-of-bus-lanes.html
    6. Safety Issues.
    From the Booth Report, Characteristics of Urban Motorcycle Accidents, 1989, it was ascertained that in two thirds of multi-vehicle accidents involving motorcycles, the other driver was at fault. Motorcyclists are at risk from other road users and, therefore, all aids to reduce the risk and encourage the convenience of such a mode of transportation should be encouraged. Offering motorcyclists the facility to use bus lanes during peak periods has many advantages in terms of safety.
    These include:-
    - Using clear lanes to progress in parallel with traffic instead of filtering through it.
    - The avoidance of the potential for collisions with cars which manoeuvre from lane to lane.
    - Assisting pedestrians to cross more safely by moving motorcycles to a dedicated lane where they are more clearly seen rather than between slow moving cars where their presence can be obscured.
    - Being more visible in a bus lane so that the excuse, 'I didn't see the motorcycle,' has less credence
    Motorcyclists would also be distanced from full exposure to exhaust emissions and pollution in the congested lanes.
    Either way the bristol study concluded that bus lanes would not be open to bikers.http://www.asyf99.dsl.pipex.com/info/cpag.html

Bulls**t! That's a policy position from a cycling organisation. Motorcycles have been using the bus lanes of Bristol legally for the last ten years and will continue to do so. The number of UK cities following suit continues to grow.

So why spread FUD about it?

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

ninja900 wrote:
    Ah, the old 'I know someone...' routine with no backup.

Bulls**t! That's a policy position from a cycling organisation. Motorcycles have been using the bus lanes of Bristol legally for the last ten years and will continue to do so. The number of UK cities following suit continues to grow.

So why spread FUD about it?

Did you read the entire articles i sent you?

WTF is your problem? I never once said that i disagreed with the opening of the bus lanes. Im offering debate and information from my sources. Chose whether you want to take on board my points/sources or whatever. It makes no odds to me either way.

You'd want to calm down, we're all on the same side here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭darkbeatz

i hvae a couple of friends that work in the traffic unit and they tell bikers to use the bus lane always. He has told me of meetings the commisioner has with them and they are not instructed to enforce this law. i would challenge any garda that stopped me for using the bus lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 itchymarky

OFFICIALLY bikers can not use bus lanes.

UNOFFICIALLY the Gardai have indeed been instructed not to enforce this unless the bikers' actions warrants attention otherwise.

OFFICIALLY (you can say you heard ti from me!!!) we'll be a good while waiting for the law to actually change me thinks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 itchymarky

OFFICIALLY bikers can not use bus lanes.

UNOFFICIALLY the Gardai have indeed been instructed not to enforce this unless the bikers' actions warrants attention otherwise. Friend of mine teaches in Templemore and was a biek cop for years.

OFFICIALLY (you can say you heard it from me!!!) we'll be a good while waiting for the law to actually change me thinks! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I was pulled over by a bike cop while driving in wet condtions on the N4, just by the lucan exit going to Dublin city. He told me to drive in the Bus lane as the white lines where to slippy and the traffic was rather bunched up. I said thats cool. But what about other gards up ahead. So he signaled them and told them he was letting bikes in on the bus lanes. I passed 2 other cars along the way. Not a problem from them.

I know snaga got pulled over once with his g/f on the back while going to work in the morning. He was in the bus lane and the gard asked him "is he a bus"

I guess its all who you get really.

sutty wrote:
    I know snaga got pulled over once with his g/f on the back while going to work in the morning. He was in the bus lane and the gard asked him "is he a bus"

it seems a lot of us have had similar experiences. Does anyone know anyone who was actually written a ticket for driving in a bus lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Torq

Hi guys,
    On my way to work this morning. I saw 3 traffic corps bike cops in Donnybrook just at the end of a bus lane. They had 2 bikes pulled over to a bus stop as I was passing. Looks like the comissioner might have changed his mind.
    Keep well,
    Torq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

I saw that in Donnybrook this morning too, they had a lad on a silver sportbike bike pulled over in for a once over, he was getting back on his bike as I passed, they might have been doing him for going a bit quickly in the wet or just a tax check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I beleave they are doing an other crack down on bikes again. That would explane 3 bike cops pulling two lads over for driving in the the bus lane. IE: they where pulled for tax and bike details to make sure there not stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭raphaelS

Fabritzo wrote:
    I saw that in Donnybrook this morning too, they had a lad on a silver sportbike bike pulled over in for a once over, he was getting back on his bike as I passed, they might have been doing him for going a bit quickly in the wet or just a tax check.

I was stopped by them, they were only checking tax and insurance. Nothing about the bus lane.
    It was my 2nd day with the bike, first day commuting. I explained to the gardai that the bike was new, I had the tax form from the shop (waiting only for the insurance policy number to register online) and no proof of insurance though Carole Nash was setup in the shop the day before and the papers were in the post.
    The gardai was nice, he beleived me (the bike was still mint unlike after today's ride!), asked me few questions about the bike and he let me go, just saying to take care with that rain.

Another gardai was giving a ticket to the biker stopped before me...

Raphael