Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First ever LGBT Pride Northwest

• 26-07-2006 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

QUARE TIMES IN SLIGO
    FIRST EVER LGBT PRIDE NORTHWEST
    Sligo 25th-27th August.

A great chance for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered people in the northwest and our friends and supporters to get together, show off, make waves and make new friends! Full details will be available next week. Contact [URL="email:nwpride@eircom.net"]nwpride@eircom.net[/URL] or 087 907 5404 for info, or to volunteer. Tell your friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

You should post this in the North West forum and make muffler happy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Suzybie

Really Stark or are you stirring?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

You should post it there too.
    Jaysus, ther'll be uproar in sligo! :s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 northwest queer

Any particular reason to think there'll be more uproar in sligo than anywhere else?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I'm from sligo and making a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

Tar.Aldarion is one of the token straight folks around these parts. He is the ambassador to the world of straightness and pastel shades. He's one one of the good ones. So go easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Did I imagine it, or was there a thread about this in the NW forum yesterday? Seems to be gone now :confused:

Sounds interesting anyway.. if I can manage to get a few friends to go I might just head down. Don't think I've ever spent more than a couple of hours in Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

Goodshape wrote:
    Did I imagine it, or was there a thread about this in the NW forum yesterday? Seems to be gone now :confused:

Yes and she's been banned too.

For announcing an LGBT event? em.. wtf??

//edit
    no, apparently it was for being a persistent nuisance.

Actually I think the poster was banned for being someone who used the word queer in her name and annoucing a gay event which they could not believe would take place in Sligo so 'they had to check it out'. She was persistent in standing up for herself!

God forbid a queer would show their head in public and explain in very reasonable terms the use of the word queer, the background to northwest pride and in fact be reasonable throughout in the face of more than a bit of bigotory...

(I have seen the correspondence!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 crabapple

Glad to see this thread in place, and the comments. Slightly confused as I thought I had posted it around 10.45am on the 26th, but, there ya go. :confused:

I shall be heading to this, I think it's a great event to have on, and I'm actually rather thrilled at the thought of being part of a "first ever Pride" ... in 20 years time we can all say I remember the first ever NW Pride with Pride :)

Suzybie wrote:
    (I have seen the correspondence!)
    I haven't but I PM'd a NW mod and they seemed fairly uptight about me questioning their moderating techniques. Personally I only saw the initial post on the NW forum.. which seemed perfectly resonable.

As I said to the NW mod, I have no reason to believe that removing the thread and banning the user wasn't justifiable... just wish I new what went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I have made comments here and I urge others to do likewise

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054967999

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

Just though i would make a comment here..

The thread is open and seems to be getting some bad reviews here.

The moderator who closed it, was only doing so as he was not sure if this was the correct place for the thread, and since has been reopened.

In relation to the northwest queer, and i have to say this is my opinion, i was unsure of the name and wanted to make sure that all was in order.

Buy i have a question here, suzybie, you seem to be the one organising this, or alerting the people to the fact of the parade, how come you did not post it in the northwest forum,and it was a new member who started the thread.

Like i said before, the thread has been reopened and could do with some updates, northwest queer has stated there will be more info to follow.

I'm not organising it - just passing on the message. There will be more information posted in the next few days by myself or NWQ when the list of events is confirmed.

NWQ obviously felt as one of those involved that it is important to make all aware of Pride as its for everyone and straights have lgbt friends they can tell? One in ever family don't you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Vinnie69

Suzybie wrote:
    I'm not organising it - just passing on the message. There will be more information posted in the next few days by myself or NWQ when the list of events is confirmed.

NWQ obviously felt as one of those involved that it is important to make all aware of Pride as its for everyone and straights have lgbt friends they can tell? One in ever family don't you know?
    Looking forward to it! Sligo is my second home. Regarding your "One in every family don't you know?" Suzybie ...Ahh that it was so, the world would have a smaller population and all the better for it! :D

Well, I'm back! Although still unable to post in certain areas. Full programmme now available for northwest pride. Details can be found on GCN.ie, gaire.com and Sligo's own imouthere.org. Check them out for details. Also "mainstream" sites like USI etc. Hope you find the details and decide to join us. You will all be very welcome!

I'm reluctant to post details on boards.ie at this point, for obvious reasons. Very busy organising this event, which so far has been well received everywhere but northwest board on boards.ie. I really don't want to waste any more energy arguing the toss about things that should be easy - 9 PMs each way!- none of mine even remotely abusive, as has been implied.Have saved all the messages. if anyone fancies a laugh, PM me and I'll forward them. Peace and love to all of you...oh, and Pride too!

Draft Programme for First LGBT Pride Northwest 25th-27th August 2006.
    Info correct as of 15th August .

Friday 25th:
    Afternoon: Launch reception - waiting for final details, update asap.

Evening: Informal get together in Furey’s Sile na Gig pub on Bridge Street - from around 8.30pm.
    This is a gay-friendly pub with a nice warm atmosphere and a good pint of Guinness!

Saturday 26th:
    PARADE!!! Meet up at 1.45pm outside the Niland Gallery on The Mall, Sligo Town. Depart at 2.15pm, destination City Hall, where we'll finish with performance and celebration. Costumes, banners and flags are all very welcome!

Saturday night: Northwest LGBT Pride All Sorts Party in the Church at the Clarion Hotel, Ballinode (by Sligo IT). Live performance and music to dance the night away to with DJ Licky Lips. General all-gender grooviness from 10pm: tickets €12 (€10 concession with ID), bar till 1.30am.

Sunday: Picnic on the Beach: The place we’re going is Lissadell Strand, beside Lissadell House, originally the home of Eva Gore Booth, activist and publisher of Urania, which can be seen as a forerunner of our own community! Lissadell House are offering a discounted rate of €5 per head on a guided tour of the house. Parking is restricted, so join the party going down there!
    Gather up your towels and a bit of grub, there'll be car pooling and a bus from the Great Southern Hotel at 1.30pm, returning around 6pm. Kites and other beach games welcome!
    We hope that you’ll come and support us in our first Northwest LGBT Pride,
    bringing Pride alive in the Northwest!
    Joining us on the Parade will be a welcome gesture of friendship - looking forward to seeing you there!

Thanks Suzybie - you saved me a job there. Feeling distinctly unenthusiastic about posting here at present... but still very enthusiastic about Northwest Pride. Hope to see lots of ye there!