Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating on holidays?

• 26-07-2006 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Is it generally true that men cant be trusted when they go on holidays with all the Lads. I know this can't really be answered as every man is different. But i would like anybody with past experiences to maybe post and give me an idea about it.

My boyfriend is going on holidays soon and i trust him but i've heard so many bad things about 'lads holidays away'. He has never cheated on any girlfriend he has ever had but he has never been on an all men holiday so that could just change things straight away?

Opinions, experience and views all welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Why even ask about this if you trust him?

Youve answered your own question really.... every guy is different. We dont know your boyfriend so we cant tell you if he will cheat or not.

The people most likely to post here are the ones who have had bad experiences before and thus will only serve to make you worry and freak out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

I have to agree with Squall on this one.

I moved to Ireland from South Africa on my own in 2003 and was apart from my fiancee for 2 years saving up for the wedding and her relocation. I didn't cheat during that whole period and we're now happily married and living here. I was living with 3 irish blokes during that time who tried to get me to cheat for the craic, but I never felt the need.

It all depends on the individual guy.

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Squall wrote:
    Why even ask about this if you trust him?

Youve answered your own question really.... every guy is different. We dont know your boyfriend so we cant tell you if he will cheat or not.

The people most likely to post here are the ones who have had bad experiences before and thus will only serve to make you worry and freak out.

Excellent post.

Reckon this will be the best reply you will receive OP, so take heed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

relationship background? how long together? where is he going?

cant tell much from what you are asking.

yes its true alot of men cheat on holidays,

have i ever done it? yes.
    was i happy in the relationship? no
    would i do it to my current gf? never, not for all the tea in china.

its down to what you have waiting for you at home, if you love your partner, you wouldnt do anything to jeprodise it. trust him, its all you can do, and if you hear anything about it when he gets back, approach him about it. other than that, enjoy your time appart, go out with the girls and look forward to seeing him again.

Worrying is the worst thing you can do, giving him the vibe of mistrust and/or leaving on bad terms would be relationship suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You trust him, thats where it should stop and just forget what you hear or see on the television about lads holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Excellent post.

Reckon this will be the best reply you will receive OP, so take heed.

Yes i agree with SuperS ;):D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

what do you conisder cheating? a kiss, or the full ka blamo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

stp wrote:
    what do you conisder cheating? a kiss, or the full ka blamo?
    I'd be guessing she means either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭Sony

I know that amongst my own friends that Im one of only 2 of the lads that has never and would never cheat on their girlfriend...:eek:

But as was said before we cant possibly advise you on this as none knows your boyfriend ... innocent till proven guilty...just trust him and dont torture yourself with such thoughts theyll only make you paranoid and insecure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Is it generally true that men cant be trusted when they go on holidays with all the Lads.

What has gender got to do with this? Some PEOPLE cheat, some don't - statistics back up the fact that women cheat just as much as men, though maybe for different reasons.

For every guy that cheats, there's a girl taking part - so on the basis that every attached guy has a girlfriend, the chances are that the girl he cheats with has a boyfriend. It's simple logic - plenty of girls cheat on hoolidays too.

Also, if you're having separate holidays, how serious is this relationship? As a mature guy in a good relationship, I don't feel the need to go away on a 'lads only' holiday - to be honest I can't think of a worse way to spend my free time!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

"To trust, or not to trust, that is the question." (Shake-a-speare, revised)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭RandomOne

Ruu wrote:
    You trust him, thats where it should stop and just forget what you hear or see on the television about lads holidays.

Showing a bunch of lads just playing footy at the beach hardly makes great viewing does it!

Your boyfriend has never cheated you say - why on earth woudl he suddenly change for a week or two whilst on holiday when there's so many other opportunities right at home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

milod wrote:
    What has gender got to do with this? Some PEOPLE cheat, some don't - statistics back up the fact that women cheat just as much as men, though maybe for different reasons.

For every guy that cheats, there's a girl taking part - so on the basis that every attached guy has a girlfriend, the chances are that the girl he cheats with has a boyfriend. It's simple logic - plenty of girls cheat on hoolidays too.

Also, if you're having separate holidays, how serious is this relationship? As a mature guy in a good relationship, I don't feel the need to go away on a 'lads only' holiday - to be honest I can't think of a worse way to spend my free time!

i cant see the point of him going either, he will be very lonely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

milod wrote:

Just because you wouldnt like does mean he cant.

Your idea of a great holiday/way to spend your free time could be considered boring by other people. Its certainly not a sign that the relationship isnt serious.

event - i also dont understand how he will be very lonely.

Sony wrote:
    I know that amongst my own friends that Im one of only 2 of the lads that has never and would never cheat on their girlfriend...:eek:

But as was said before we cant possibly advise you on this as none knows your boyfriend ... innocent till proven guilty...just trust him and dont torture yourself with such thoughts theyll only make you paranoid and insecure
    Yeah right, your in a pub with a few pints in you, some good looking girl gives you the eye. This question is like, "do all guys masterbate?" Unless the answer is yes, the guy is clearly lying, unless he happens to fall into the .001% of the population who have no arms.

C'mon, you'd be in like Glynn sir! I would put any amount of money on that this lad would be on for it if it came his way, the only reason it doesn't happen is if the chance just doesn't arise. I've NEVER seen any lad who has a gf who is away with his mates, gets lucky with a girl and walking away, and I've been on loads of these holidays with different mates, all of them respectable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If it's a typical lads holiday in the sun he'll probably be too wasted for most of the week to even think about cheating!

Sadly, I've been there. My boyfriend cheated on me on holidays. We were together 7 months at the time. But he did have an eye for the ladies anyway and I hadn't really trusted him deep down. I couldn't care less about him now and it just proved how obnoxious he was. I've since been with far nicer guys and I'm glad he is kicked to the kerb at this point. These things happen for a reason! Now he appears to be kicking himself. What a turd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

All men cheat on holidays - didn't you know that!?!
    It's genetically programmed into us.
    Like cooties.
    We can't help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

& all ladies love shopping, doing their nails & watching Celebrity Love Island!!!

Nah, not all guys cheat while on hols. Some are mature enough to appreciate what they've got (if what they've got is worth appreciating)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Is it generally true that men cant be trusted when they go on holidays with all the Lads.

No, it's not true. No more so than women going away on girly holidays. If you don't trust him, end the relationship and stop wallowing in your insecurities I say.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Aren't women just as bad?!
    to be honest, its just a bit of fun - that adds to the holiday, i couldn't care less if my girlfriend a fella or two on holiers, just once she wore a comdom. women seem to easily get STI's, thus infecting me. and with a comdom don't really seeing it as good.. its just sex without love..

Lenny wrote:
    to be honest, its just a bit of fun - that adds to the holiday, i couldn't care less if my girlfriend a fella or two on holiers, just once she wore a comdom. women seem to easily get STI's, thus infecting me. and with a comdom don't really seeing it as good.. its just sex without love..

How old are you? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Men don't cheat. Women don't cheat. People do.

Are you going out with him or the generalised stereotyped male/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

women seem to easily get STI's,

This would be due to the fact women are penetrated and are for the most part receptcles for infected male bodily fluids if they are not using condoms.

Still Lenny there are sti's that condoms will not prevent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Lenny wrote:

Wow. So you wouldn't care if you're partner had sex with someone else as long as they used a condom? Ooooookay. :D

He is clearly either ridiculously liberal or ridiculously uneducated or both...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Guys and Gals back on topic.