Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Open Invitation: August 24th: MMA Sparring Night (League Rules)

• 25-07-2006 11:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭

We had such a great laugh during our grappling session with Roper and the subsequent "open mat night" at KO Martial Arts was such a success, I thought it would be a good idea to arrange an "open mat night" at Kokoro. :D

This is not a grappling night. This will be a sparring session (rotating 3 minute rounds, over a course of a few hours) under the MMA League Rules.

It's also an excuse to get some training in with Colum before he sods of back to Scotland! ;)

Pics from the grappling training session here: http://forum.mmaireland.com/viewtopic.php?t=117

So here's the deal;

Date: Thursday 24th August
    Place: Kokoro Mixed Martial Arts ( www.mmaireland.com )
    Duration: 19:00 - 22:00

Facilities:

Almost none. We have 6m x 6m mats with holes in and a pool table in the corner that you should try not to land on. :D No showers but a small kitchen with radioactive water.

Typically TWO fights can take place at one time without toooo much of a problem. This isn't a "pro night", it's just a chance to spar with people in safe-ish environment. :D There will be NO INSTRUCTION on the night. It's a sparring session only.

Setup:

- Sparing will be full contact under the MMA League Rules (so, ANYONE can participate!).
    - Since it's "no head contact" - sparring with or without gloves/shin pads/groin guards etc is allowed PROVIDED BOTH PARTICIPANTS ARE HAPPY. However, gumshields are HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    - Each round will be THREE minutes in duration (so that we can keep them moving/rotating).
    - Anyone that wishes to go for a second round of sparring may remain in place.
    - No more than two rounds back-to-back for any one participant (to allow for plenty of sparring sessions for all).
    - No weight classes, just a mat and some people to spar with. :D

It'll be a spot of fun but in the unlikely event that someone gets hurt, each participant is responsible for his/her own injuries.

So, who's up for this????

SBG, TMA, MMA, PCC, TKMMA, KOMA, NG, PB... ....all are welcome. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

push it to a sat morning at 12 or so and I will be there, afraid my vacation time is well swallowed up now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭ShaneT

columok wrote:
    I'm in.
    Great Stuf. :D
    push it to a sat morning at 12 or so and I will be there, afraid my vacation time is well swallowed up now!

The hall isn't always available on Sats. We'll see how many people can make it and if it needs changing, we've a got a month to play around with the date/times. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

So Shane, Mark has converted you to the joys of league rules! :)

Sounds like a cool idea. A few from down here might be interested, but probably more so if it was on at a weekend.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    So Shane, Mark has converted you to the joys of league rules! :)

Sounds like a cool idea. A few from down here might be interested, but probably more so if it was on at a weekend.

We could well end up changing it to the weekend Tim. Let's find out the level of interest first. We don't have the space for tooo many people. As for the rules, I'd rather see kicks to the head allowed.... ....and they always will be during training. But, for this night, I'm sticking with what people are used to. :D

is there another venue we could pick?

On a larger scale, sure.

But, this isn't a big thing. This is our club, warts 'n all, with limited facilities, inviting people down for a sparring night. If only 3 people from outside the club pop down - no problem at all. If you show up on your own, again - no problem. I'm sure we'll have a laugh. If people are queueing at the door... ....also fine. :D As it stands, I'm just opening up one of our nights as an invitation to all. But, if LOADS (not just one or two) wanted to make it the weekend, I'd ask.

For now; the invite is: Thursday 24th, MMA League Rules on our Dojo Mats. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

columok wrote:
    is there another venue we could pick?
    You want to ask me Colum, you know you do, so why don't you?

Seriously,
    Sounds like an excellent idea, its always good to get together. Unfortunately, I reckon it might be out for me. College is swallowing my time right now until the end of August. I'm currently trying to wriggle a few hours on Saturday for Rodrigo Medeiros and having trouble.:mad:

Get it together though and I'll see what I can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Sounds like a great idea.

If you need a weekend spot we could use my place in Firhouse. Hopefully we'll be getting new mats soon as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭soretoe

Yez just can't wait to hit eachother again can yez..

I'm an outsider, not with a club yet, allthough fully intend on joining the lads at KO soon but count me in..

If you need a weekend spot we could use my place in Firhouse. Hopefully we'll be getting new mats soon as well.

Cheers Colm. Appreciate the sentiment.
    soretoe wrote:
    I'm an outsider, not with a club yet, allthough fully intend on joining the lads at KO soon but count me in..

Great stuff. You'll do well training with Barry. Of course... ...you'd do better training with us... g015.gifp046.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

I'd consider turning up. Likely I'd be more definite closer to the actual date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Mola.mola

great stuff shane, sounds like we have an unofficial extra leg of the dublin mma league!!

It's question time so:

Clear ups for myself and anybody else...

1) Are all spars to be 100% or are they at the discretion of the participants in the individual match?

2) Does the three minutes continue until a submission or is it three minutes against a person with restarts (stand-ups) if theres a tap out?

3) Will you have some rotating referees to keep the action going/ensure safety (particularily if its 100% and 2 fights on a mat)?

Cheers,

Colum

columok wrote:
    1) Are all spars to be 100% or are they at the discretion of the participants in the individual match?
    3) Will you have some rotating referees to keep the action going/ensure safety (particularily if its 100% and 2 fights on a mat)?
    Hey I'd be interested in the answers to Qs 1 and 3 myself. Leaving strange guys off at each other where there might be an experience difference can be bogey! Worse if they're both beginners.

Still, I'm sure there'll be plenty on the sidelines willing to shout stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Think I might be over in holland training on 24th.. Not sure yet. I'm still trying to wing 2 weeks unpaid leave from work. if I get it and I'm not in holland - I'll try go.

why and where you going in holland JOB? Wanna be MT super star now?

Ah just going over to do a bit.. A bit of travel and I get to train with a black belt and get a bit of MT under the belt. Will be in Amsterdam. Not even sure if I'm going yet - I need to get unpaid leave from work.

poor job THE MAN is always on his back.

Mola.mola wrote:
    poor job THE MAN is always on his back.

And if I don't stop being fat, I'm going to be like a turtle on his back and not able to ever get back up again! :(

*gets motivated*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Lawrence_O

Hey guys,Shane hasn't got access to the net at the moment,and just asked me to find out how many people were interetsed in the invitation eve....
    Will ask him about the questions in training tomorrow eve and post them up on friday,but in the meantime just need a rough idea of who is gonna be joining us....

Cheers.....

I'll be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

ill show i guess:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

columok wrote:
    It's question time so:

2) Does the three minutes continue until a submission or is it three minutes against a person with restarts (stand-ups) if theres a tap out?

Cheers,

Colum

Hey Colum. I was discussing this Shane last week and he said that what he meant by 100% was a 100% sparring class with no instruction of any kind, just a continuous flow of fights. Level of power used by fighters is up to themselves. Im really looking forward to this :D

OSU,

Dave.

I'll try to get along with a few lads but I'll have to see how the study is going!

Other then that I'd like to hop off a few of y'all!:D

Cheers,

Colum[/QUOTE]

Hi Colum,

I have the answers to your questions,was speaking to Shane....

At the discretion of the participants. However, this is MMA League Rules - so, I don't really see how the contact can be reduced any further....

This is a sparring session NOT a competition. There will be three minute slots, restart as often as you like.

3) Will you have some rotating referees to keep the action going/ensure safety (particularily if its 100% and 2 fights on a mat)

No need for rotating refs. Again, this is a sparring session. I will however be keeping my eye on all matches. It's a small area - so, watching two sessions isn't a problem.

Hope to see you guys down there,will be great training session....

Lawrence_O wrote:

At the discretion of the participants. However, this is MMA League Rules - so, I don't really see how the contact can be reduced any further....
    With respect, I don't know of anyone who spars 100%. Max we ever go is 70% and thats a hard spar. The only time we'll go 100% is competition, so I think some clarification is in order given what you've said in the last line of that quote. Rules are fine, contact is another question.

3) Will you have some rotating referees to keep the action going/ensure safety (particularily if its 100% and 2 fights on a mat)

No need for rotating refs. Again, this is a sparring session. I will however be keeping my eye on all matches. It's a small area - so, watching two sessions isn't a problem.
    I'm sure there'll be plenty of people around to watch out for lads who are in danger. More experienced guys can watch less experienced guys and so on I'm sure.

Rule No.1 = Common sense.

If I'm sparring I don't want the **** kicked out of me so I'll communicate that to the guys there.

It's not going to be a session where the guys are going to use eachother for target practice,in training if a guy isn't as strong as his opponent in stand up or on the ground,we don't go 100% at them,we lower our strength,but still stay at a stronger level so that they can learn and get stronger,it's all about helping eachother in the end,not a point of trying to prove who can kick harder or who is better.....

Look forward to seeing you guys down there.....

I'm always on the look out for extra sparring partners of different shapes, sizes and styles so I'll try to make this and drag a few along. Seems the place will be jammers from what I was hearing at the league on Saturday.

Hey guys,sounds like there are a few more interested parties coming along,could you just let me know who will be there,so i can let shane know then we can organise what we need to...

It will be great and i sure look forward to it....
    To those who were in Antrim on saturday,well done guys,it was a fun event,and great for experience as i am still new to all this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Budo.Judo.Kev

Bump.