Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 1X08 / 1X09 - "The Old Head" / "Tweener" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 25-07-2006 9:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "THE OLD HEAD" / "TWEENER" -

Episode Title: "The Old Head" / "Tweener"
    Airdate: July 25th 2006

TV.com Summaries:

The Old Head:
    Michael finds out a storeroom fundamental to his escape plans has been converted into a break room. Veronica and Nick are being threatened, where Nick has a place where they can go which is off the radar of the secret service.

Tweener:
    Abruzzi's demotion in the prison hierachy puts the entire escape plan at risk. Michael finds himself in the uneviable position of trying to protect T-Bag's new "fish" and facing the threat of T-Bag exposing the plan to the guards. The inmates dig themselves into a hole.

Next Episode: 1X10 - "Sleight Of Hand" - July 31st 2006

What did you think of "The Old Head" / "Tweener"? (avg for both) 21 votes

0%
    9%
    Mossy MonkBaby4 2 votes
    23%
    FaithNecronomicon[Deleted User]Jellosugark 5 votes
    47%
    weemcdTobias GreeshmanRollo TamasiirlrobinsAliasFan47pokerwidowhotnippleskevmyDMBanditkir18sty 10 votes
    19%
    BacchusEKRIUQprospectfobs 4 votes
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

prison break, the tv show that makes you want to go to jail!

i'm looking forward to seeing Tbag putting the finishing touches on his phish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Is this the episode where
    LJ's mom and her boyfriend are killed?
    Terrific episode if so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

yes this is the one

fantastic episode

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Un-fúcking-real. I want to give it 10/10 again, but I know I shouldn't. It wasn't as good as last weeks, but it was still perfect.

I can't decide whether I prefer TBag or Abruzzi. All the characters are so well done! I love them all!

I'm starting to live for Tuesdays now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

again great episodes. Not as fast paced as last week. but still very good. Quality production.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Earthworm Jim

I criticized this show at the start, I'm happy to admit I was wrong. Shame it clashes with the new series of Curb Your Enthusiasm over on TG4 though.

tbag! gotta love him!

one problem i had with the first episode is the hanging. No way could you break your neck on those sheets. Did you see how much he had wrapped around his neck....it was fully supported nearly.

Love tbags walk in the shower and the bit where he is getting a rise out of Tweener coming back into the cells "i'm gonna get ya, i'm gonna get ya" (patting his legs) :)

The story about Charles Wesmorlan (sp?) is too fast paced too i think for most viewers to follow first time.

Plus what exactly did the SS want with LJ? The black lady threatens Linc regarding him persuing his appeal with LJ's life...then the SS call around to him and pull a gun on him. If they were to kill him then the bargining power that the lady had over Linc is gone as LJ is dead.

Makes no sense. I think they were most likely going to kidnapp him and tell Linc to stop his appeal or else they would kill his son, his mother getting in the way was an accident...They never explained what the motive was.

Gave it a 8. Love tweeener calling Tbag "Alice". The look on his face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Christ.. i love this show!

Haven't watched any of them on RTE really but caught the end of tonight's episode - it's stuff like Bellick coming in standing on top of the hole that always got me... heart-pounding stuff!

Oh... and two more episodes next Tuesday of course!
    I think they were most likely going to kidnapp him and tell Linc to stop his appeal or else they would kill his son, his mother getting in the way was an accident...They never explained what the motive was.
    I think that's exactly what their plan was all along..
    Love tweeener calling Tbag "Alice". The look on his face!
    "You trippin' on sumthin, Alice?!" :D

and one other thing that bothered me was Aburuzi taking his cellies eye ball out....eh.....what happened about that? Did he tell the COs' that it just fell out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Two excellent episodes, I'm loving the double bills. Great ending as well.
    and one other thing that bothered me was Aburuzi taking his cellies eye ball out....eh.....what happened about that? Did he tell the COs' that it just fell out?
    I was wondering that too! Do they still share a cell? It would be a tad awkward if they did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Line of the night:
    "Do you think he found the hole?"

I think it's save to say that, yep, he found one alright, but not the one in the floor, that's for sure! ;):D

That line had me cracking up. Perfectly timed! Brilliant!

basquille wrote:
    I think that's exactly what their plan was all along..

But did they actually say that at any time? It's a bit misleading if they didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

:D:D

Surely the new PIs are going to find the partial hole in the ground and obviously the black guy has figured out that the famous 5 are up to something since he noticed them dropping the rumble in the yard. Another one on the books then.....

LJ's mum getting shot was unexpected, I thought SS2 was a good guy deep down. Glad to see who is behind it all, the VP. All we need now is why.

Brillant episodes, compared to last nights Lost they are faster and packed full of action. Don't get me wrong, I love Lost but Prison Break rules.

pokerwidow wrote:
    :D:D

Surely the new PIs are going to find the partial hole in the ground and obviously the black guy has figured out that the famous 5 are up to something since he noticed them dropping the rumble in the yard. Another one on the books then.....

LJ's mum getting shot was unexpected, I thought SS2 was a good guy deep down. Glad to see who is behind it all, the VP. All we need now is why.

Brillant episodes, compared to last nights Lost they are faster and packed full of action. Don't get me wrong, I love Lost but Prison Break rules.

there is a big renewable energy thingy wingy going on. Her brother was heading up some organistions and they were taking a tumble. It's been touched on in previous episodes...only a little bit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

Again another great double episode. The only thing that bugged me a bit was the way the shrink gave up all the information to the doctor surely that wouldn't happen in real life?? Loved the ending haven't a clue how they will get out of this one surely the new PI group will find the hole. Role on next week!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The only thing that bugged me a bit was the way the shrink gave up all the information to the doctor surely that wouldn't happen in real life??

as the doc mentioned there is some sort of agreement in place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Damn! Forgot to set the recorder for this, anyone know when its repeated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

She said somethin' bout the Hippocratic Oath. The shrink was a gossipy ould hoor at any rate. Couldn't wait to spill the beans.

Pacifico wrote:
    Damn! Forgot to set the recorder for this, anyone know when its repeated?
    You can catch these two episodes on UKTV Gold this Sunday from 9pm - 11pm!

basquille wrote:
    You can catch these two episodes on UKTV Gold this Sunday from 9pm - 11pm!

Nice!

Thanks for that. So RTE dont show repeats at all?

Pacifico wrote:
    So RTE dont show repeats at all?
    Nope.. they don't seem to. I half expected them to do a 'Prison Break' recap type night where they'd show the first 5 - 6 episodes (like they did when 'Lost' started) but no sign of it!

Unlike UKTV Gold who show new episodes on a Sunday and repeat the same two episodes every night that week! :D

basquille wrote:
    Unlike UKTV Gold who show new episodes on a Sunday and repeat the same two episodes every night that week! :D

Ah well, at least i'll get to see it on Sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

I think the ending was very predictable however I still enjoyed it. Another problem for our hero to solve..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I'm loving this show but don't know why RTE are insisting on showing it in double bills. It's not like I'm in a hurry to get it over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Earthhorse wrote:
    It's not like I'm in a hurry to get it over with.
    Prob to fit it into it's schedule. Prehaps they have plans to show series 2 in their autumn listings so need this to be dfinished in time. I'm not complaining either way! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭Bacchus

yay. Prison Break rules. Last week I was thinking how they could keep the pace going but they really pulled out all the stops to make this exciting television. For once, I was more interested in the outside world than inside the prison. The whole LJ & the SS guys stuff was great. Such a shock when the parents get killed. The stuff in the prison wasn't quite as action packed or devilishly clever as it has been in previous weeks (no cool use of tattoos :( ) but it moved along nicely, reshuffled the characters a bit (Abruzzi & T-Bag in particular) and we got some insight into Michael's past.

I think I'm going to be stricter with my marks out of 10 from now on. Last two weeks have been 9/10's and I'd probably do the same again this week. Instead, I'm giving this a 7/10. It was still a great episode and is the best thing on TV at the moment but it just didn't have the edge (action, cleverness) that previous episodes had. Also there were a few flaws this week, the psychiatrist divulging confidential info on Michael and the bed sheet hanging thing.

Oh, and the cats dead! That poor man's cat is dead :( So, now that we know he doesn't have the million and a half (unless he was lying) does this not screw up the escape plan?? Didn't Michael need that money.

Baby4 wrote:

who are you talking about here? The new phish...is that Tweener? He never said anything about bringing him....and the eyeball guy? Are you referring to the black guy in the yard? C-Note?
    Oh, and the cats dead! That poor man's cat is dead frown.gif So, now that we know he doesn't have the million and a half (unless he was lying) does this not screw up the escape plan?? Didn't Michael need that money.

he seemed rather disapointed alright when he got hit with the maths! Best acting Justin Timberlake did all night. It doesn't seem to be too much of a problem though as Abruzi has 30G set away for his wife. I know he said he didn't want it touched but if push came to shove i'm sure he would withdraw it to aid his escape.

he seemed rather disapointed alright when he got hit with the maths! Best acting Justin Timberlake did all night. It doesn't seem to be too much of a problem though as Abruzi has 30G set away for his wife. I know he said he didn't want it touched but if push came to shove i'm sure he would withdraw it to aid his escape.[/QUOTE]

I never thought that Michael needed this money, didn't he hide money in the pilot or am I dreaming...

OK enough is enough, what is the story with Justin Timberlake? :) Do you think that he really looks like Michael or is there some inside joke?

i can't remember him stashing any money..unless he was allowed to keep the money he robbed. :)

"Let's see...one gold watch, one pair of shoes. a wallet, a big brown bag, 2.6million dollars, a copy of the The Fiancial Times....take him away Bellick"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭AliasFan47

irlrobins wrote:
    Prob to fit it into it's schedule. Prehaps they have plans to show series 2 in their autumn listings so need this to be dfinished in time. I'm not complaining either way! :D

They are showong double bills in order to finish the series before the Complete season 1 DVD set comes out and channle six are probably pressuring them to finish it so they can show it. RTE have been sitting on it for a full year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

Mossy Monk wrote:
    as the doc mentioned there is some sort of agreement in place

Yeah I remember that but I still don't think a shrink would give out information like that especially to someone he does not know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Surprised no one has mentioned the whole evil vice president who is behind everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭AliasFan47

tvnutz wrote:
    Surprised no one has mentioned the whole evil vice president who is behind everything.

Yeas, I tottaly forgot the excellent Patricia Wettig who has also been in Alias and won three Emmy's for Thirtysomthing. They relly need to have more of her in every episode.

Great episode thiugh i can't wait for next week after last weeks so-so episode last nights were great.

i can't remember him stashing any money..unless he was allowed to keep the money he robbed. :)

"Let's see...one gold watch, one pair of shoes. a wallet, a big brown bag, 2.6million dollars, a copy of the The Fiancial Times....take him away Bellick"

Smart as s :D

pokerwidow wrote:
    Smart as s :D
    thanks, at least someone appriciates my posts. Unlike those wagons who seem to be ban me...a lot!

Baby4 wrote:

ah yes, sorry!

maybe since it's mob related he let it go
    it could get real messy real quick if he got involved and maybe his "end of the month" payment might not cover "union" disputes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Did anyone else notice when Nick & Veronica first went to the hideout, Nick mentioned that they tapped into the electricity & water so they would stay off the grid, i.e. no record of the building or its occupants.

But later on, possibly in the second episode, he said that the hideout got its power from a generator and its water from a well.....