Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gentlemen, your brutally honest opinions please.

• 23-07-2006 5:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, I am considering taking up Muai Thai. The consenus here seems to be its a great way of knocking yourself into shape, gaining fitness and picking up effective Self Defence know-how. Thing is, Im 30 and not in great shape,carrying a bit of belly even. I wouldnt describe myself as fit either, I dont get much exercise in a day. I suppose all I have is enthusiasm! Is it worth forging ahead with something like this? Or should I concentrate on something else?
    Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

Your never too old , your probably be not going to win any titles but it does all of the above! i say go for it! and have fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭kerinsp

Do it! I started MA at 32 and its great craic. At least try it out and see how you get on, You'll regret it if you dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

You're (probably) not going to die by giving it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Give it a blast, you'll be glad in the end! Having done Taekwondo as I kid I managed to to drag myself bacdk to training about 2 years ago at 23. I'm now a red tag (3rd Kup) in ITF Taekwondo, and haven't looked back yet. Am glad I'm back doing it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Hey DeBreno, I've been doing Muaythai since '83 and I'm 43 in September but still love it. Right now I've a couple of injuries (work related) AND a belly but can still train etc. so jump in there and give it a go. One thing though is that there are a number of different styles of Muaythai and different training methods, but I see you're in Dublin so you have the (great and lucky) choice of Bridgestone, Paddy Clints or Mike Dockerty. The vast majority of students DON'T want to fight so don't worry about this side of things unless its something you really want to pursue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

Hey,

I am 35 and have done 6 classes over six weeks and really like it. I have had to take a break to study for a tax exam on Aug 10th but will be back soon afterwards.

PM me, I can meet up with you, we can train together in Bridgestone and go for a pint after. You will want one. :D

Regards,

Michael O'Leary
    www.wingtsun-escrima.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Yes go for Muay Thai and do it.

Muay Thai I highly recommend!

I am 34 and I started MT about 18 months ago.

The training methods, are great for getting you in shape, and their fun to do,
    and very hands on.

Just start, take it at your own level and pace, and enjoy the journey, and the pint after training LOL!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

dave did you not get you numbers mixed up there :)
    Hey DeBreno, I've been doing Muaythai since '83 and I'm 43 in September

should it not have read

Hey DeBreno, I've been doing Muaythai since '43 and I'm 83 in September :)

I think this must be closer if you trained along side the fat buddha :)

paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Bridgestone Man

I think this must be closer if you trained along side the fat buddha

How Dare you Paddy, you know I aint a Buddha but yeah Dave is probably as old as the enlightened one.

I am only 42 i think, younger than. DJ I would like to highlight.

You still have time to train and even get a few fights if you wish. There are still quite a few fighters still competing in their mid 30s plus.

Regards
    Paul Kelly.
    THE BRIDGESTONE MUAY THAI GYM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

There are still quite a few fighters still competing in their mid 30s plus.

There is a division over here in Thailand for old fighters. On TV last week about some 68 year old man who is still fighting. showed him in the ring and all! :eek:

Ah theres hope for me yet!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

MA is for a lifetime. Let's see. Average age for men is about 72, so you still have about what, 40 years left to practice MA?:D*

*Not a gentleman, but still have an opinion. Oh, women typically outlive the men by several years, so they can practice MA longer. Ha!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭Miles Long

DaBreno wrote:
    Hi folks, I am considering taking up Muai Thai. The consenus here seems to be its a great way of knocking yourself into shape, gaining fitness and picking up effective Self Defence know-how. Thing is, Im 30 and not in great shape,carrying a bit of belly even. I wouldnt describe myself as fit either, I dont get much exercise in a day. I suppose all I have is enthusiasm! Is it worth forging ahead with something like this? Or should I concentrate on something else?
    Cheers!

Man just go for it. At worst you'll have a great laugh, meet loads of really nice people and get fitter and healthier leaving the best case scenario down to how you feel about what you're doing!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Ohh, yea, tag-team me why don't ye!! All ye need now is for Wayne to pipe in as well and we'll have the 3 wise Monkeys.
    There is a division over here in Thailand for old fighters.

Hey Gerry, don't you jump in on the bandwagon:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Mola.mola

I'm going to try some reverse pyschology - Don't take up Muay Thai you're too old.

(only messing give it a shot)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Thanks for the reply folks, looks like I'll give it a lash. Good to hear so many of ye have taken it up at my age and really gotten into it. Im moving out of the capital soon but hope to take it up in the new spot. New beginnings and all that but I fully intend to make a go of it.
    Cheers!
    Not a gentleman, but still have an opinion. Oh, women typically outlive the men by several years, so they can practice MA longer. Ha! :cool:
    Ive heard wives generally Outlive their husbands but the husbands are more willing to die. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

Lets take a second to think about this... your thirty.

Okay so still young then, why would that even be an issue?

Male athletes often peak in their 30s and getting in shape (especially if your training Thai Boxing) is easy. Just work hard and eat well. Since this is a "getting in shape" thread look at crossfit.com.

Good luck with it and remember that Thai Boxing is hard, but rewarding so don't be put off... Thai Boxers are like spartans, they like to weed out the week early so stick it out!

Peace

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

DaBreno wrote:
    Ive heard wives generally Outlive their husbands but the husbands are more willing to die. :p

Well, husbands used to outlive their wives until medicine improved to where they didn't die so often giving birth to their children.

Hey, DaBreno! Start MA and stay with it, and you just might outlive us all!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Sugar_Ray

DaBreno wrote:
    Cheers!

30, carrying a belly and unfit. Maybe you should first visit a doctor to get the all clear. As for Muay Thai?, surely you could find another activity to improve your health and fitness rather than juming straight in at the very deep end.

Sugar_Ray wrote:
    30, carrying a belly and unfit. Maybe you should first visit a doctor to get the all clear. As for Muay Thai?, surely you could find another activity to improve your health and fitness rather than juming straight in at the very deep end.

I have tried other activities like Gym work or long walks, Im hoping MA proves a bit more fun and engaging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I reckon you should jump in, but Sugar Ray makes a good point about making sure you're okay to train first. I

I'm not sure Sugar Ray has ever trained MT just seen it on TV so I don't consider him an expert to be giving advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

Thai Boxers are like spartans, they like to weed out the week early so stick it out!

indeed we shall, indeed we shall

paddy

Mola.mola wrote:
    I'm not sure Sugar Ray has ever trained MT just seen it on TV so I don't consider him an expert to be giving advice.

30, overweight and unfit wanting to engage in Muay Thai. Doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that a health check would be pretty much essential......Does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Sugar_Ray wrote:
    30, overweight and unfit wanting to engage in Muay Thai. Doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that a health check would be pretty much essential......Does it?

Regardless of age, being overweight and unfit and wanting to engage in ANY physical training or activity should be preceeded by a trip to the doctors to make sure that it's only "overweight and unfit" that is the problem.

I really don't see why there would be any issue with the advice given by Sugar Ray to be honest...it's just common sense.

Dragan, I too think it would be so obvious. Getting back to the original POST.
    Muay Thai to me is a serious competitive sport and for a young man. Now 30 is still relatively young, but that is if you have been involved for a number of years. That 30 would feel like 50 if you are starting out. I would advise this person to take up some other activity. Unless of course the Muay thai club has no problem with him using their facilities to maybe work out, skip, bit of bag work, ground exercise, running etc. Though would a Muay Thai club be that accommodating to someone who they know is never going to be a competitive skilled fighter. Let's be realistic, fighting and even heavy sparring are only going to put this POSTER in unnecessary danger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

What you expect the doctor to do? Give him a full medical, tell him he has high colestrol and that if he engages of 1hrs MT training he'll die?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

IMO its the coach at the gym who should be consulted about whether or not you should start training in Muay Thai. A good coach will be aware of the risks of training at particular ages and levels of fitness. Unless a doctor has training him/herself in Martial Arts, I dont think theyll have anything positive to say about training in a full contact style.

OSU,

Dave.

What you expect the doctor to do? Give him a full medical, tell him he has high colestrol and that if he engages of 1hrs MT training he'll die?

I would expect that doctor to give him a full medical and tell him how different levels of activity might affect his health. Anyone who thinks that the doctor is there to merely check cholesterol is being a bit short sighted....and anyone who things because the do a MA that the won't have health problems is also being a bit short sighted.

A doctor could spot ANYTHING that the person themselves or a Coach would not spot. Onset of diabeties or celiac's disease, possible heart murmurs, improper liver or kidney function....and yes, the old cholesterol as well to name but a few.

I got to the doctor every 6 months and get full check ups done...once a year this invovles a more detailed trip to the hospital for EKG's and blood work.

Good medical insurance will cover this nicely ( they would rather payout for testing than for ops after all ) and should be done by everyone.

And Dave, a doctors training in MA , or lack there off, would have nothing to do with it....phsyical activity is what it is, regardless of how you get your heart going, it is still going after all.

kenpo_dave wrote:
    IMO its the coach at the gym who should be consulted about whether or not you should start training in Muay Thai. A good coach will be aware of the risks of training at particular ages and levels of fitness.
    Sounds like good advice. Can anyone recommend a training center in the (Dub)city center?

Ive also been in and out of hospital for years, theres very little they havent seen of me :D . Ive no problems with the Heart or cholesterol but my laziness levels are quite high.

Dragan your point is people should get themselves checked out from time to time to make sure everything is going fine. If he is doing this already, as we all should, what difference does it make if he's going to pop down to bridgestone muay thai off blessington lane (dublin 1, near dorset street) to his long term health.

Q: I'm thinking of starting playing tennis again. Any advice
    A2: Find a club and start training.
    A2: go to the doctor, you could be thicking timebomb.

Mola.mola wrote:
    If he is doing this already.

Exactly , if. That word i believe is the crux of the matter. The OP said nothing about whether he had or had not, hence the reason why Sugar Ray point about maybe checking it out would be valid. Don't you agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

DaBreno wrote:
    Sounds like good advice. Can anyone recommend a training center in the (Dub)city center?

Ive also been in and out of hospital for years, theres very little they havent seen of me :D . Ive no problems with the Heart or cholesterol but my laziness levels are quite high.
    In the city centre, you only need one address:

Bridgestone Muay Thai,
    Blessington Lane (behind City Honda)
    Dublin 1 (I think its D1 anyway!)

Anyway, just on a few of the points above:
    IMO its the coach at the gym who should be consulted about whether or not you should start training in Muay Thai. A good coach will be aware of the risks of training at particular ages and levels of fitness
    That's just silly. Coaches ain't doctors, and shouldn't pretend to be. Most are amatuers and have trouble enough coaching healthy people.

99% of the time people should have no problems in starting an exercise programme, but there's always the 1% chance you might damage yourself (doesn't have to be a bleedin heart attack!) and put yourself off training for good. A doctors check up is a good idea in general once you hit thirty anyway. Go to one, get your prostate checked and have him feel your nuts too. That way you'll be starting something healthy by doing Thai and minimising your risk of male cancers and hernias.

Thank you Ireland, goodnight, God Bless, I've been Roper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

Sugar_Ray wrote:
    Dragan, I too think it would be so obvious. Getting back to the original POST.
    Muay Thai to me is a serious competitive sport and for a young man. Now 30 is still relatively young, but that is if you have been involved for a number of years. That 30 would feel like 50 if you are starting out. I would advise this person to take up some other activity. Unless of course the Muay thai club has no problem with him using their facilities to maybe work out, skip, bit of bag work, ground exercise, running etc. Though would a Muay Thai club be that accommodating to someone who they know is never going to be a competitive skilled fighter. Let's be realistic, fighting and even heavy sparring are only going to put this POSTER in unnecessary danger

The lads in bridgestone im sure,would welcome him weather or not he wished to compete! As im aware there are plenty of people training there who just enjoy the training.
    Lets be realistic indeed, i doubt any good club training would put him in danger, i accept the point about getting checked out, if he himself has concerns about his health and fitness, its a personal choice that relates to any exercise really.:)

Roper wrote:
    That way you'll be starting something healthy by doing Thai and minimising your risk of male cancers and hernias.

Thank you Ireland, goodnight, God Bless, I've been Roper.

And don't forget to start the Pumpkin Seed Oil!!! :D

I've been turning into a proper freak since i started that, thank you Pearse!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

Dragan wrote:
    And don't forget to start the Pumpkin Seed Oil!!! :D

I've been turning into a proper freak since i started that, thank you Pearse!!!

Hey hey whats this?
    Good stuff is it?