Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What will I do for my debs??

• 22-07-2006 1:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

rite,
    i am royally fcuked up the @$$ for my debs this september.
    i need help on this sit coz its driving me crazy!!!!i dont have many female mates, nor do i have a girlfriend at the moment, and i dont want one at the moment because i dont want her on my consience when i leave for a 6th year holiday and take a walk on the wildside with hopefully many a hot girl!!!

this however presents me with the problem of who i will take to the debs,
    i was going to ask a old friend i have known since the year dot ,but however there is a messy history there and i dont want her to think i want her(i wish!!)
    now i havnt spoken to this girl in months and dont know if she has a boyfriend and to be honest i dont care if she does.
    she did tell me a few years back that if i was stuck for a date she'd fill the vacancy so to speak, but is it a bit sad for me to say to her 'rem ages ago you offered to be my date well......will you??'
    this is a desperate situation and btw i dont wanna bring some girl i meet while away, unless shes amazing(unlikley where i am heading!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i think you should just ask that old friend. theres no need to say anything about what she said before. just call her up and ask her would she like to be your date.

or you could go on your own (not being smart, i know people who have done this).

or if there are a few of your mates who have still not got a date, all the lads could go as a group??

imo, i think you should ask the girl, but make it clear you have no hidden intentions and you just want to go as friends.

have a great night

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

i think you should just ask that old friend. theres no need to say anything about what she said before. just call her up and ask her would she like to be your date.

Agree!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

When you come back will you be working or doing a 3rd level course? Lots of people meet potential dates that way. I know someone who asked a guy to her debs 3 days before, so you have plenty of time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭Tyrant^

Get yourself a blow up doll and go with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭nikolaitr

I say go alone and save the 70-odd Euro. College will be exepensive and that 70 Euro s worth abut 3 nights out. Don't just bring someone so you can fit in with the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

nikolaitr wrote:
    I say go alone and save the 70-odd Euro. College will be exepensive and that 70 Euro s worth abut 3 nights out. Don't just bring someone so you can fit in with the crowd.

Dont you mean one? :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Go on your own. It saves you a few bob but it saves any girl you would ask a whole lot more. If she doesn't have a dress, your 'go as friends' will end up costing her a large amount of money.

Better still, save your money altogether and don't go. Your debs is not the be all and end all, indeed for many people it's an expensive disappointment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭MagnumForce

My date cancelled the day before making me completly dateless and i couldnt get anyone else on such short notice. went alone, spent €100 on drink for me alone then got a €90 taxi home from Meath(for reasons still unknown!), so not bringing someone isnt nessicarily going to save you money. ask yer one, she offered didn't she? so she's not gonna take it the wrong way once you explan your situation, but dont make it sound like your desperate for a date or anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭nikolaitr

Dont you mean one? :eek:

I see you've never been to the Pav

spurious wrote:
    Go on your own. It saves you a few bob but it saves any girl you would ask a whole lot more. If she doesn't have a dress, your 'go as friends' will end up costing her a large amount of money.

Better still, save your money altogether and don't go. Your debs is not the be all and end all, indeed for many people it's an expensive disappointment.

i have already bought the 2 tickets e90 each, tbh i dont give a **** about the debs i think its a load of **** i mean ive a limo and all that **** too, and if i did bring her id just **** off with my mates anyways.
    i dont want her to lose out on anymoney so ill have to go for a girl that is going to her own one so she will have a dress or whatever.
    still dunno why i spent e180 on tickets!!!
    i suppose all is not lost!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

i was going to ask a old friend i have known since the year dot ,but however there is a messy history there and i dont want her to think i want her(i wish!!)
    now i havnt spoken to this girl in months and dont know if she has a boyfriend and to be honest i dont care if she does.
    she did tell me a few years back that if i was stuck for a date she'd fill the vacancy so to speak, but is it a bit sad for me to say to her 'rem ages ago you offered to be my date well......will you??'

Go with this person. I brought a friend to my debs, didn't have to worry about her, she went off with her group and I with mine, we just showed up together really. We haven't actually talked since that night :p, but that was because of unrelated matters. Just bring a friend, the night is about havin a laugh with schoolmates (at least it was for me, that's all I was after).

Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭SingingCherry

and if i did bring her id just **** off with my mates anyways.

Wow...whoever goes with you is a lucky girl...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Bring anybody, bring a male friend even, a guy in my year did that. He seemed to have fun.

....Or bring your mam :P

Just bring anybody, and then **** off with your own mates, that's what 90% of the people will be doing. The debs isn't all that big a deal.

I was in the same place as you 6 months ago I had lost touch with most of the girls I knew outside school. I was going to ask this one girl who I knew quite well and was very good looking but I decided to go on my own because she woudn't have known anyone in my year and didn't fancy staying with her most of the night. I had a class debs one my the bests nights I have ever had out & for the fact that it started at 7pm and ended at 6am no house parties after it tho. Also at about 1am two of my male m8s came down who knew most of my school m8s well enuf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

You seem not to care about it, can you get refund.
    I didn't go and never bothered me.

Go on your own if you can't find someone, not a big deal just try to enjoy it.

My debs was on during the last week.

I have just finished LEAVING CERT and hadn't asked anyone until the week before it started.

I was in a similar situation. I had a few people to ask but left it too late and they were asked before i got a chance by others.

In the end i asked someone i barely knew....well i knew well about 5 years ago but had hardly spoken since.

After picking her up, the night was great. We didnt even talk much.
    The point is nobodys going to say no unless they have a good reason. Ur not gonna be stuck with that person al night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

i have already bought the 2 tickets e90 each, tbh i dont give a **** about the debs i think its a load of **** i mean ive a limo and all that **** too, and if i did bring her id just **** off with my mates anyways.
    i dont want her to lose out on anymoney so ill have to go for a girl that is going to her own one so she will have a dress or whatever.
    still dunno why i spent e180 on tickets!!!
    i suppose all is not lost!!!

Maybe casually ask a friend of one of your friends dates?!
    That way if you fcuk off she won't be alone and can still enjoy the night. Just make sure she knows its just a casual "as friends" thing!
    As for her expenses-if shes not your gf, or impossibly vain chances are she'll only re-wear the dress for her own debs anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Just ask anyone, girls have to buy dresses anyway. Never heard of someone being turned down without a genuine excuse e.g. holidays/own debs/boyfriend etc.,

Ask your friend tbh the worst she can do is say no.

If not i'd ask one of your friends girlfriends friends, that way she will have someone to hang about with when you '**** off with your mates'

god what a lucky girl to be going with you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Tyrant^ wrote:
    Get yourself a blow up doll and go with that
    Tyrant^ please read the charted and only post constructively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭GretchenWieners

I'm sorry but I feel sorry for whoever you bring if you're going to **** off with your own friends. I'd say take this "friend" but really take into consideration the fact that she's going to be there for the night, will she know anybody else going etc.

ye well, thats what happened at a debs i was at last year the girl went off with her mates!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

ye well, thats what happened at a debs i was at last year the girl went off with her mates!!!

Oh well then you clearly have to do it too.... :rolleyes:

I'd go with the suggestion of a friend of whoever one of your mates is bringing, that way whoever the poor girl is she won't be left on her own.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

girl in college asked me to go with her as a Last minute thing, she ****ed off and got back with her boyfriend.

i sat and drank myself into submission.

it happenes

Oh well then you clearly have to do it too.... :rolleyes:

I'd go with the suggestion of a friend of whoever one of your mates is bringing, that way whoever the poor girl is she won't be left on her own.

jesus christ listen to myself i sound like a right prick!!!! on second thought i will stay and talk to the nice lady, i suppose shes doin me a favour!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

i hope you swiped a 50 from her perse(sp?) so at least you didnt have to pay for the drink?

thats teh point, her dad gave us money
    either night cost me about a score, for ciggerates and a flower thingy

she paid for bus fare to donegal, bus fare home, and drink money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

a score

Is this a new saying now that is going round the country?

a score = €20 right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

this however presents me with the problem of who i will take to the debs,
    Just ask some girl you know. Nobody thinks that being someone's debs date means that someone wants you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

eamoss wrote:
    Is this a new saying now that is going round the country?

a score = €20 right?

I think it's an old saying, not a new one

very old,

"4 scores and 7 years ago"

a score being 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

just go on your own, thats what im doing, few people actually stay around who they came with unless they are a serious couple, you can go alone and hang around with friends

Ask a friend man. Girls take it as a compliment, not as a "omg he's coming onto me".... Ya dig?

Good luck man!

And if all else fails....

www.dates4debs.tk

Well, as some ppl have already said, ask some one u know, could be a few years older than u, theyd be flattered,
    Or just dont go, you'd be happier with the dollar! lol
    You could go on yer own, and Hiijack one of your classmates dates at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I brought one of my male friends, as did alot of my other mates. We ended up getting everyone from our own "pub" group to come. Best night ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭GretchenWieners

Yeah but if he's the only guy to bring another guy it might give the wrong impression if you know what I mean! A lot of guys/girls tend to come out @ their grads too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Surrender

Ask your friend, if she says no, ask another. Go on you own, it dosen't matter. You'll soon realise how pointless and forgettable the debs are once ya hit 3rd level. Its only one night in a suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Yeah but if he's the only guy to bring another guy it might give the wrong impression if you know what I mean! A lot of guys/girls tend to come out @ their grads too!

well if thats the case, skip the dinner part, I think thats over early if I remember correctly. Then everyone splits up and has a laugh.

Then again who cares what everyone thinks, school is over, won't have to see most of them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

take me.... i love debs'...hehe