Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The day is finally here!

• 18-07-2006 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭

Well hello,

I've been waiting to post this for awhile but for one reason or the other the horse didn't run!

My dad and I bought a horse back in January and he's finally running today. The name of the horse is peak of perfection and he's running in killarney at eight o'clock. We have him down in carlow with Pat Hughes and he seems to think the horse has a good chance. He's been going well in training and Pat is very happy with him.

I had a look this morning and he's priced at 3/1 which is a bit of a surprise! I expected the price to be bigger because it's his first run in just under a year but he might be worth a small bet.

I thought I'd share this info anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

The very best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Thanks Clusk007, that's how you talk about a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Best of luck clusk, I hope he romps home for you.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Best of luck boss. You cant beat that winning feeling and means even more when its your horse :D

Solid jock on board anyway so the rest is luck from there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

best of luck. just another 1/2 hr to wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

All the best Clusk, hope he goes well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Just threw a few quid each way on at 6/1. C'mon The Peak!
    Good Luck Clusks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Hard Luck Clusks and Peak Of Perfection. Shall keep an eye out for this one next time out. Pigheads off to count up his each way profits!

Well done, he had a good run looking at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Congrats clusk! You must've been very pleased with that run. Keep us informed of how he progresses and when he next runs, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭qzy

Well done clusk, a good performance against a well fancied horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭clusk007

Cheers lads for the support. I have waited so long to see him run and he did not disappoint. Were absolutely delighted with his performance as was the trainer. Fran Berry seemed to think that he would go well over 2 miles so we're looking at a race in galway. I'll keep you informed and let you know when he goes again. Come on the peak!

Okay just a quick update,

I'm 99% sure that peak will be running on the Monday, July 31 in the two-mile race. The race itself is worth €75,000 to the winner so it's some step up! Pat Hughes thinks he has a very good chance though and Fran Berry said that he didn't realize how good the horse was the last day and he could've won that race. Jesus the excitement that the horse is half decent. I'm buzzing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭samo

Only just saw this thread, the very best of luck to him on Monday and will be keeping an eye out for him ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 stuinn

Recently joined this forum, so best of luck clusk for Monday from a newbie:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

clusk007 wrote:
    Okay just a quick update,

I'm 99% sure that peak will be running on the Monday, July 31 in the two-mile race. The race itself is worth €75,000 to the winner so it's some step up! Pat Hughes thinks he has a very good chance though and Fran Berry said that he didn't realize how good the horse was the last day and he could've won that race. Jesus the excitement that the horse is half decent. I'm buzzing!!

i see hes entered to run tomorrow at 7.00. Whats your verdict on his chances?? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Best of luck with this clusk. I'm on Euro Leader already but I'll be having a dabble with Peak of Perfection too! Cheers mate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Best of Luck with it,

I was actually going for Warren's Castle in this one who has done well for me previously, but have put a couple of quid on a combination tricast with Peak, Euro and Warrens now also.

JAK.

hey,
    jesus big day 2day. Just heading 2 Galway now. Pat still very happy with Peak. Thanks 4 the support. Good e/w chances. Stay away from Spanish John. Keep an eye out 4 p'tit fute- the owners are very hopeful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

clusk007 wrote:
    hey,
    jesus big day 2day. Just heading 2 Galway now. Pat still very happy with Peak. Thanks 4 the support. Good e/w chances. Stay away from Spanish John. Keep an eye out 4 p'tit fute- the owners are very hopeful!

P'tit Fute hacks up at 14/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Keep an eye out 4 p'tit fute- the owners are very hopeful!
    Got him at 16-1
    Thanks for the tip.
    How did your own horse get on?

Thats what I get for showing loyalty...I backed your horse Clusk and not the winner ;)

There was no catching him so no disgrace!

Well done there clusk, 16/1 winner! Unlucky with your Peak, there was no beating P'tit Fute though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

Peak finished 13th, would be intersting to hear clusks taughts on the race, maybe the rain had an effect and hope she gets back to form in her next few races.

Thanks for the word on both, i had both peak and fute backed to win and place so came out with a few bob, hope you had a good day out in Galway, must be some buzz just having a runner in Galway nevermind a winner.

Good afternoon,

Well it was a disappointing day yesterday after all the hype. The only consolation was that I had p'tit fute at 22/1 but it was the worst winner that I ever had! I was talking to pat after the race and he was also quite disappointed. He said the trip might have been too far so he's going over 1 mile6 on Friday. Hopefully this will suit him better plus he will have a lower weight and Fran Berry will be back in the saddle. I had a look at the race when I got home last night and he didn't get a good run at all. He seemed to get boxed in three or four times and the jockey had to keep pulling him up, although he wouldn't have beaten the winner anyway.

Here's a link for the declarations on Friday
    http://www.irish-racing.com/v3card089200608041740.htm

Here is a small bit of information. Do with it what you will!

On Thursday ptit fute is running in the hurdle. He is currently 40/1 with VC. Now I don't know if he'll get in or not but if he does that would be a nice ew price at those odds.

So there you go. I let you know on Friday about my fellow. Hope you made a nice bit of money off ptit fute. Gluck today.

Best of luck today Clusk, looks like a tough enough race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ronan.h

Fair play Clusk, well ran and a good 2nd. Had ye in an €20 exacta @ 7.10

Nice one clusk, 2nd @ 12s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

congrats clusk..
    great result, ran a very good race.. you must be so proud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Bullensroad

Well done Clusk was there and won a tidy sum without the favourite Euro Leader in the bet.

Nice one mate :D Totr result. She wont be up against Prescotts horses every week so you will be very hopeful next time out Im sure ;)

Yes we were very happy with the run. He was unlucky to have come up against 2 very good horses. The horse that beat him in killarney, shandon star, finished second in the Galway hurdle which says a lot for our horse. I'm glad a few of you made a bit of money from him. I hope it made up for Monday. I can't wait until he runs again. There is a win or two in him it's just a matter of choosing the right race. I will let you know when that race is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

I see the peak is out again on Wednesday in Gowran, best of luck again and hope you get that well deserved win.

My dad was on to the trainer this morning and he won't be running on Wednesday. He said the horse is a bit stiff. I think the next time peak will run is in tralee in about two or three weeks. I will keep you updated.

clusk007 wrote:
    My dad was on to the trainer this morning and he won't be running on Wednesday. He said the horse is a bit stiff. I think the next time peak will run is in tralee in about two or three weeks. I will keep you updated.

I'm no trainer or anything but I think sending Peak to Listowel might be a good idea. What's the chances of it running there?

sjones wrote:
    I'm no trainer or anything but I think sending Peak to Listowel might be a good idea. What's the chances of it running there?

We leave that up to the trainer. Just out of interest, why do you think listowlel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Because Sjones is obsessed with listowel. I think he lost his virginity in the shadows of the first fence.

fade2black wrote:
    Because Sjones is obsessed with listowel. I think he lost his virginity in the shadows of the first fence.

Quiet you!

In my opinion, Listowel is a good festival for a horse who does well in Galway to compete in. For a horse progressing, Listowel is a fine place to send it - alot better than Tralee tbh. Sure, it could pick up a win in Tralee, but if you want it to compete in a good enough race I'd be looking towards Listowel as opposed to Tralee.

Well he is out again today in tralee in the 415. I am not too sure about this race today as it is very similar conditions to the bad race he ran in Galway. The trainer thinks he will be in the top three but it's a tough race and I wouldn't be too confident! I feel myself that the distance is too far and 1 mile six would be ideal. Also he is carrying 10 stone 3 and he's not that big of a horse. Anyway the trainer would know better than I would so we will see what happens. Possible each way!

Not a bad 4th? Didnt see the race but sounds like there was some headway made to get up to there.

Will only improve for the run ;)