Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance after ban with endorsement

• 16-07-2006 5:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Lads,

I'm just gettin back on the road after a bit of an accident. No one else was involved/injured but I was off the road for almost 9 months for dangerous driving (bloody wall jumped out right infront of me!)
    I was driving a Peugeot 406 coupe (2 litre) and if I never crashed I would be paying €680 now, HOWEVER I've been quoted €5008 as the cheapest yet...
    Has anyone any information of cheaper insurance companies than the yellow pages (one's that state endorsement/accident specialists) PLEASE!!!???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

I think ders one called Arron insurance that specilise with people with endorsements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

If I were you I'd sit down and ring every company and broker in the book. It'll take some time, but it might end up being well worth your while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kdevitt

€5k sounds about right I'm afraid. A good friend of mine had to fork out over €3.5K for a 1 litre starlet when he got an endorsement.

A lot of companies won't quote for people with endorsements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Darando

www.arb.ie

not sure if you go directly through them or a broker. Ring them and see. Think they do endorsed drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

wesoneill wrote:
    insurance......endorsement

Yikes. Unfortunately those two terms are like oil and water, they just don't mix. Try everyone, good luck with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

123.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I think I remember somebody on this board saying St. Paul's cater for people with endorsements/bans/etc. You might need to downgrade to a 1 litre shopping trolley for a few years though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This is a bit left-field but there an outfit in Wexford who do motor trade cover and they quote for convictions etc.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

www.123.ie or xsdirect.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 wesoneill

Just an update for you lads,
    I got a phone call from AXA (who I was insured with before my crash and afterwards).... They quoted me €4678, €350 cheaper than any other specialist insurance company. So I reckon, show a bit of loyalty to who you're insured with and it might pay off A LITTLE!
    On the downside... I wanted to buy another 406 coupe but they won't quote me until I have a full no claims bonus as it's a high performance car as far as they're concerned. This will take me 4-5 yrs as after one year I have a 20no claims discount
    My advise is to pay the extra and protect your no claims cover! Just incase!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sure a few years in a Micra will put manners on you! ;)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

wesoneill wrote:
    My advise is to pay the extra and protect your no claims cover! Just incase!

I would imagine its more to do with the ban/endorsement than the ncb

if its that much why not got with 123.ie?????

Mike... I've too much dignity to drive a micra!
    And as for manners I say scuse me after belchin! ;)

jhegarty wrote:
    I would imagine its more to do with the ban/endorsement than the ncb

That loaded the premium but what I was refering to was, I can't drive another performance car until I have a full no claims bonus. The underwriter told me that could take up to 5 years to regain. So in that respect it has nothing to do with the ban/endorsement....

okay here it goes

Buy a 406 coupe, pay 999 insurance and take a 4k excess

or just ignore me, whatever you like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

1. What others said. Buy a 1.0l car and drive it for a few years. It is your penalty for causing the accident. Don't drive beyond your competence. Be thankful you're still alive and well

2. What Anan1 said. Just ring ALL brokers and insurers to get the best quote
    wesoneill wrote:
    bloody wall jumped out right infront of me!

As walls do. Some people claim the same about trees, ditches, etc.
    Cyrus wrote:
    Buy a 406 coupe, pay 999 insurance and take a 4k excess

I don't think the likes of xsdirect will quote people with endorsements (not just penalty points but actual bans)

I'll ring 123 and see what they say. I tried Excess Direct (I think that's the name) and they wouldn't quote me. I'll get the Calibra back on the road for starters and keep trying so hopefully I have a bit of luck in the near future and find a decent Insurance company (if that's possible)
    Cheers for your help

sorry ur prob right unkel

We exclude drivers with convictions for drunk driving, dangerous driving or driving without insurance. In some cases, we can offer more favourable terms to drivers with no convictions whatsoever.

unkel wrote:
    1. What others said. Buy a 1.0l car and drive it for a few years. It is your penalty for causing the accident. Don't drive beyond your competence.

Very condescending words Unkel

In nine years I've had one accident where the back end of the car swung too far. Other than this instance I consider myself very competent. And with lesson's learned, very safe behind the wheel.
    The reason I was banned was a witness who was 100 yards from the crash was traumatised from seeing it. The judge deemed he was emotionally and phsychologically injured as a result and since no one else was involved other than me and a wall, I left the scene and was convicted of a hit and run type charge (Sect 106). The hit being his "injuries".
    It's just a case of bad luck and the judge probably used me as an example to others.... fcuk it though, I'll get over it ;)

if thats true then thats a load of crap

next time get a decent solicitor!!

Cyrus wrote:
    if thats true then thats a load of crap

next time get a decent solicitor!!

He cost me €750 so I presumed he'd be alright... Since I don't make a habit of being summonsed to court I wouldn't know a good solicitor from a bad one. I'll definitely research if I ever need one again though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

wesoneill wrote:
    Very condescending words Unkel

Well the info we had so far was in your own words that a wall just jumped in front of you :rolleyes:

And now you come up with this:
    wesoneill wrote:
    The reason I was banned was a witness who was 100 yards from the crash was traumatised from seeing it. The judge deemed he was emotionally and phsychologically injured as a result and since no one else was involved other than me and a wall, I left the scene and was convicted of a hit and run type charge (Sect 106). The hit being his "injuries"

Hit-and-run? I find that hard to believe. Was the witness paid damages for personal injuries too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you were convicted of a hit-and-run, I would tend to believe the hit was more the damage that you caused to someone else's property (i.e. the wall), and then you left the scene. I find it hard to believe that a witness can claim damages in such a situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

123.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

seamus wrote:
    If you were convicted of a hit-and-run, I would tend to believe the hit was more the damage that you caused to someone else's property (i.e. the wall), and then you left the scene. I find it hard to believe that a witness can claim damages in such a situation.

That would make more sence..... Did you leave a note for the owner of the wall ?

I never mentioned the witness claiming against me. If he does it would be through a civil case. The gardai summonsed me to court for section 106 & 53. The damages to the wall and my car were payed out by my insurance company within 6 weeks of the crash. The witness was not the owner of the wall so he wasn't rewarded any damages by the court.

And Unkel... Next time I submit a post I'll be sure to include every little detail so you don't think I'm trying to get one up on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭100gSoma

jesus lads. I can see it from all sides here. Im 27 now and drive a 2.0litre hothatch. Insurance is grand. under 600 fully comp with tesco.(they use hibernian as their underwriter). I have full no claims (5 years) and full licence for 5 years. My first car insurance 5 years ago was 3,850PUNT on a 1.6escort. I guess thats baout 5000euro. 3rd party.
    So I have done well, but all this talk about protecting my NCB has me thinking. do all of you do that? I didn;t bother. Im not a boy racer and don't tkae unneccessary risks anymore. (I acting like most other younglads when I started out, driving to fast and being unaware due to lack of experience).
    I guess it would really hurt me to lose my 5 years NCB, but the insurers wanted an extra 150euro I think to protect it. I just thought that was wasted money?
    suggestions or comments? I don't plan on 'causing' any accidents. (I guess nobody does though)

Yeah I'd advise you protect your NCB but in my case it's a worst case scenario. And €750 fully comp is still well affordable so weigh it up to what you could lose out on...