Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going for an interview..??

• 16-07-2006 12:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭

i have an interview next week for work in a warehouse fulltime..i am still in my teens and have not had a job before and ive only had one previous job interview ...

firstly i am not sure what to wear..i dont have a suit or shoes or noting like that ..and was jus wondering would this matter if i just wore some casual wear not sport clothes or noting but stuff youd get like in topman, river island etc..?

another thing is what would i need to know before going for an interview like this one taking into mind that i am still a teen and its mainly warehouse work...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I had to do the same thing for my previous job (I was 17, the job was in a warehouse).

I wore jeans, a polo shirt, and a zip-up top. I didn't look particularly formal, but at the same time I wasn't in a tracksuit. I looked like a college student (which I am! dunno if you are)

In the interview they literally just went through my CV, asked about my last job (which was actually an EXTREMELY exaggerated 10-minute job or 3 that I did for my dad on the computer :p), asked me why I wanted the job, asked about my college course, and then spent about 5 minutes telling me about the pay, hours, etc.

It lasted about 10 minutes in total, and was quite painless! I wouldn't expect any complex questions TBH. But at the same time it's good to go prepared, I was ready for about 20 questions, and got asked about 4!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭iggyman

thanks alot davemcg..that helped me alot..from what you have said im thinking about wearing a pair of baggy jeans, cotton sleevless top thing and a pair of converse..would that be ok..?

what did you answer when they said why did you want the job? cause i cant think of much to say for that.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

shirt and tie with trousers should be fine. Jeans are quite casual but its a warehouse so the dress code probably isnt too strict :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I'd say if your wearing blue jeans go buy a pair of shoes, you can get a cheap pair for a tenner, IMO they would make your causal look Ok, and show you have made an effort to look respectable.

If i were interviewing people, i'd look at footware. Runners give off a bad impression.

well converse aint exactly runners if you know what i mean ..there more casual wear..there neither formal like shoes or runners that get worn around the roads..there more going out to a party type thing..would they be o.k?

i dont actually have a shirt,tie or good shoes so thats why im worrying..and the blue jeans im wearing are baggy and more topman shop style stuff rather than formal tight ones so shoes would just make me look stupid..

i was thinking the same thing that it is a warehouse so i dont think there actually looking for me to wear real formal suit clothes..not sure doh..thats why im asking here? :D

you mean to say you don't own anything apart from converse runners and baggy jeans, sure you have to have something suitable, wheather they have a dress code for work or not isn't the point it's making an effort to make a good first impression.
    I'm currently working for a company that doesn't have a dress code, i knew in advance that you could wear what you like to work, this still didn't stop me putting on my suit for the interview.

I would strongly advise against baggy clothing for the interview, if money is an issue borrow 50 off your parents and go to dunnes, you'll get a shirt, no tie needed, a pair of black slacks and a pair of shoes for that, pay them back when you are working, what if you don't get the job? you will have another interview so the clothing will get used, if you do get the job it will have been money well spent.
    You can't be over dressed for an interview but you can easily be underdressed.

actually noelie that post jus mite have made me change my mind the way you said it..to be honest i was lying bout not having shoes, shirt and trousers..i do have them i just didnt wanna wear them cause i hate anything like that and only ever wore the trousers and shirt once..but now i actually mite just wear it for an hour or two..it just might make me have a better chance after all..

although me shoes aint in the best of nick,but suppose could give em a scrub..what would be the best type shirt to wear, a long sleeve white one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Long sleeve shirt is the best. Only wear a white one if it's actually white (and not old & grey), and don't wear a dark t-shirt underneath it.

In general, a good appearance at an interview gives the impression that you're interested in getting the job. This may not be a major thing for a warehouse job, but you could find six months down the line a manager thinks, "I remember interviewing him, he wasn't a messer. Perhaps he could do more here".

as for shirts i always wear long sleave shirts i just prefer them,but like Seamus said it doesn't really matter as long as its clean and looks decent.
    A bit of polish will have your shoes in a fine state, if you find them uncomfortable wear your runners but change into your shoes before you get into the building, this is what i did when going for interviews.

good luck with the interview

rite so im gonna polish me shoes tonite,get me white long sleeved shirt and black slacks out?

is it ok if i wear like an addidas zip up hoody over my shirt or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

jaysiz, apparantly I was way off :p I musta just been lucky, since I was practically in pyjamas ;)

haha..well thanks lads for the help..jus have to see how it goes now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

"the clothes maketh the man"

wear a white shirt, tie, black slacks and shoes.

you can't make too good an impression, but appearing to casual may, to the other guy, appear as if you're lazy and just don't give a ****.

ye ye..i know what ya mean man..dont have a tie doh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

A tie is a tenner , no excuse not to have one.